Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine

Item# 1114
This powerful 37 ton NorthStar Log Splitter will split any log that gets in its way in either in a vertical or horizontal position. Powered by a Honda GX270 engine with an exclusive idle down feature that saves fuel and reduces noise while you load the next log. The Concentric hydraulic pump intelligently adjusts flow and pressure by delivering high flow/low pressure when there is no resistance and low flow/high pressure when cutting through a log to reduce travel time and increase productivity. Add the 4-Way Wedge Wings Item #1143 to quarter logs with one split instead of three. Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Continuous Force Tons 34.3, Cycle Time sec. 14, Max. PSI 3,500, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Gross Torque 14.1 at 2,500 RPM, Engine Honda GX w/idle control, Engine Displacement cc 270, Cylinder 5 in. x 24in., Pump Concentric 16 GPM, 2-stage, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Hoses Yes, Jack Stand Yes, Ball Coupler in. 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 43 x 42, Fenders No, Oil Reservoir gal. 9, Pre-assembled No, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Lights No, Log Cradle Yes, Log Lift No, Ram Force Tons 37, Tire Size 4.80 x 8, Wedge Yes, retracting wedge. Auto idle/throttle control for extended engine life, improved fuel economy and reduced engine noise 2-stage pump allows the log splitter to achieve the same pressures as a single stage pump, while using less horsepower Patented log stripper clears log from retracting wedge Industrial-grade full beam construction A log cradle centers the log on the wedge and prevents it from rolling off of the beam Coupler for 2in. ball High speed tires for towing 9 gallons hydraulic oil required not included Included engine guard protects engine from split logs
Average Customer Rating:
3.46 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
2
27 of 37(73%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

37 ton with honda

,
February 28, 2014
By filletboy
from Ma.
" I have had this machine for over a year now and work it very hard. The honda is impeccable. The machine itself loosens at the hinge (stated already) and the hinge has already been replaced (recalled) by factory but it doesn't help the loosening. Also piston loosens up- and on return, the wedge hits the side (evident by viewing) Even with best lock tite. i Have also replaced front stand with a trailer jack so I can adjust the height for unlevel ground. Also replaced the cheap cleavage pins with bolts as I didn't want vibration on travel. Something factory should consider cuz those pins bend like twigs. Some leakage at hoses and YES, I installed a hyd filter system (can't believ they didn't have) on the return line (like every other splitter in the world has and I believe the new Northstar included). I change oils religiously. AND I find that there is NO log that I cannot break up. Once I get all the loose bolts fixed, this is a great machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log Spliter

,
February 5, 2014
By Jsobel
from NH
" I have been using this machine for 5 years and have split 40 cord of wood. Good powerful machine . This is a heavy unit and its not easy to move around without a truck or tractor. The mounting bracket that holds the i beam to the chaise is a bit flimsy so when standing the splitter up right to the vertical position it is awkward. And cumbersome. The honda engine is a jewel great engine starts on first pull 99% of the time. After I modify the Bracket it will be a 5 star machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Midgvojk
from York, PA
" Overall I love this splitter. I burn about 8-9 cords of wood a year. The honda engine is superb compared to others. Very fuel efficient. I haven't found a piece of wood it can't split. Return times are as advertised. Very fast. My only problem with this product is the design of the pivot point. It is not built heavy enough to support the heavy I beam/cylinder. The bolts that hold the hinge to the fame are constantly coming loose. After I replace the bolts with a weld I will have a great splitter. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

,
February 4, 2014
By jeepboy
from Park City, UT
" I've used this splitter for a few years of hard fall seasons. It works like a champ. We've had some hydraulic hose leakage after really working it hard. The gas tank and cap have also been bent/ripped off by larger jobs, but it's just due to the location of the tank- not much can be done. Overall a good machine that gets it done! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 ton logsplitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Onard
from Grayson, GA
" I have had pleasant experience with this machine. I especially like the automatic return to idle at the end of splitting stroke. Only downside is positioning the stands during setup and end of splitting session. I plan to take the tips from other reviewers and look into the seal ring retainer. I have not had that trouble. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 Ton Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By jackfarm
from Hinton, WV
" I have had this splitter about 2 years now. It does a great job splitting the wood for sure. Bought the 4 way split attachment but didn't like it. Split pieces too small for my big stove. There is a problem with the retraction of the wedge and I contacted the company about that but they fix they gave me is not on my splitter. So you just have to be sure to hold the retraction handle the whole time till the wedge goes back to where it is supposed to. Other than that flaw it is a great splitter to me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NorthStar37 ton log splitter lemon

,
February 1, 2014
By Downtime
from jacksonville, FL
" I bought this product in June 2013 at the Jacksonville store. The store assembled it. It's back at the store for warranty repair because it does not demonstrate 37 ton wood splitting capability. When the splitting blade comes down it presses into the log but will not split it. The store claimed to have repaired it only to have me leave and use it to learn the problem still existed. It's back at the store now. I asked if they had any way to measure the 37 ton capability and was told "no". Apparently the mechanic has no way to test the repair. It's just a guessing game. The complete valve assembly was replaced the first time. Now the mechanic thinks it might be the pump. UHMM!! Maybe the company should read some of these posts for pointers on how to fix what they sell. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some repair required before use

,
November 9, 2013
By Wes1
from Wyoming
" This is a great machine but I would recommend you buy it in like June so you can work all the bugs out of it before you need wood to keep warm. I got the thing about 3 weeks after I ordered it got it all put together split about 5 logs & the cylinder started leaking so I called in they sent me a new cylinder 10 days later after I finally got it ( they won't overnight parts) got it put on started splitting about 15 min. In I hit a hard long and it blew the seal out of the pump ( North Star forgot to put a snap ring in to hold the seal in) they sent a new pump. 10 days later put the new pump on it blew out also at that point I just tore into the pump to see what was going on. So if you buy this machine make sure you run to the parts store and buy a $.55 snap ring it takes a 1 1/8 you just unbolt the pump slide the coupler off takes a Allan wrench take a punch and tap the seal in put the snap ring in to hold the seal re assemble and you should be good to go "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Filter

,
October 16, 2013
By Candlewick
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I did not like using the splitter without a filter for the(Hydraulic oil) so I added one, purchased one from Northern Tool, been using splitter for several years it' works just fine,I split a lot of wood for my outside wood boiler After I put filter on I give the splitter a hard 5 stars Fantastic machine!!!!!!!!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decision Pending

,
September 23, 2013
By HondaFan039
from Sutton, MA
" Received the splitter and during the assembly noticed we were missing cotter pins for the wheels. Not a big deal, they are easy to find. I can understand that shipping a product with motor or hydrolic fluid is a Hazardous material also. Once assembled and filled with fluids the Honda started on the second pull out of the box(sputtered and almost started first pull). Got to love those Honda engines! Started using the piston without any wood, checking everything out, the line-up, any leaks, and it all looked good. Flipped the unit vertically to split some small stuff first and moved onto some bigger items. About 1/2 a cord in I had hydrolic fluid pouring out of the coupling between the engine and hoses!! Upon a closer look it is foaming up and some is even leaking past the filler cap. A call has been placed with Customer Service on our 1 day old splitter. I do have some positive things to say about the unit and hopefully this is just a one time issue. fingers crossed.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Twisted I-beam

,
April 23, 2013
By Parrish
from Thompsonville, Il
" I would have to say log splitter has worked well so far. The Honda Motor has always started with one pull. Its has plenty of power to take on any log. The thing I noticed right away is the main I-beam is twisted, not a minor twist either. It makes the whole unit look crooked when sitting horizontal. Not sure how this will affect the performance of the unit in the long run but I do plan on contacting Customer service about it. I'm sure this is an isolated event but when I pay over $2,000.00 for something like this, I expect it to be made to a high quality standard.
Overall, I would recommend this to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 Ton Log Splitter

,
February 15, 2013
By papajoe1943
from So. Ill.
" Picked up my new log splitter in Tenn. about a week ago and love it. The only thing that I would even comment about is the return, when it is coming back after splitting the log the handle sometimes will stop midway back but that is the only thing that I have found wrong with it and not a big deal.
One other thing that I would like to commend about is the service that I got at the store So. of Nashville.The people that where there where very very good and I can't say enough about them. If you live near there have whatever you by have it sent to the store that way it is free shipping and if you do ask to a man named Tony, he is very very good there.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 TON SPLITTER

,
January 10, 2012
By Adam1234
from Pomfret CT.
" I have owned this splitter for 2 years now. The reason I chose this splitter is because I bought a NorthStar splitter 15 years ago for my father and it still runs today with zero maintenance since new. This splitter works great. I really like the auto idle because I can split a small pile of logs and then buck up some more logs without shutting down the splitter. The one thing that should be changed is sometimes if a piece of wood is stuck on the wedge it will damage the gas tank before the log stripper pushes it off. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 Ton Log Splitter

,
November 6, 2011
By Bob62
from Minnesota
" I have only used this splitter a few days now and I think it will be a great splitter. One thing to watch for if you buy one, Make sure the hydraulic cylinder isn't pushing on the bolt that attaches the cylinder to the spitting wedge. The first one I had would shear the bolt attaching the wedge to the cylinder. The wedge wasn't cast quite right. and the 7/16" bolt was taking the force. With a little bit of hassle I got it exchanged. The second fit pretty good ,but I still had to grind off some of the nut on the bolt attaching the wedge to cylinder as it would have come against the wedge before the cylinder did. If you check this out, it may save a disappointing trip back to Northern Tool.
Also I have noticed that wood shavings will back up behind splitting wedge and effect the automatic Idle. Just have to clean out once in awhile.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

37 ton logsplitter

,
October 24, 2011
By homebrew
from Pascoag, Rhode Island
" recieved logsplitter assembled and began using, cycle time is slow, auto throttle continues to not function properly, bolt between wedge and piston seem to fit loosely, wedge not fixated far enough off I beam to adequately split large logs, I beam splitting base could be larger. I purchase this splitter to be able to split large diameter logs which it does but requires multiple cycles and repositioning of wood. motor runs flawlessly like Hondas normally do, overall machine has great splitting power. . As far as using horizontally one must be careful if wood is stuck in wedge that it does not damage fuel tank. I lent machine out and that was the first thing that happened. A few design changes like mounting piston farther away from I beam, larger base splitting base,and better stop when operating horizontally to prevent damage to fuel tank ect. it would be a great machine. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
distancehiker
Tennessee 
 
Please wait while more information about distancehiker is loaded.
Additional information about distancehiker could not be loaded.
Right on!
January 16, 2012
" We were in the path of one of the EF-4 tornadoes that hit the southeast on 4/27/11 so I have had plenty of wood to split with this splitter from 20 acres of downed hardwoods. I agree with this reviewer more than the other reviewers -- although would probably rate this splitter with 3 stars. Cycle time slow. Takes a lot of time splitting larger diameter logs (although I have the 4-way splitter head and this helps). Have to be careful when used horizontally --possible fuel tank damage. Lots of power -- I've never had a piece of wood it wouldn't split although I've had to try different sides/angles/approach. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

37 TON plenty of power - wedge not wide enough tho

,
September 8, 2011
By vertsplit
from MN
" The 37 ton force rated log splitter has plenty of power, but the wedge does not get close enough towards the center of larger wood. Look at the video and see how small that piece of wood is, both in diamter and length. The split might go all the way across, but it rarely separates the split pieces. Watch the video and you will see what I mean. Especially on twisted grains I find myself trying to tear the pieces apart, or get out the chainsaw and cut it veritcally. 7.5 inch wide wedge x 2 (double for flipping the piece of wood around the other side to finish the split = 15 inches diameter. That diameter of wood this splitter wedge without the wings might separate a 15 inch piece in half, that is if you turn the piece to the other side and split it again. Any wood bigger in diameter I don't get a split that separates completely. So, I find myself bending over more than I like for a longer period of time trying to get the wood to split AND separate by rotating the piece of wood to different sides, handling it and wrestling with it over and over. And this is especially true for larger heavier logs. Harder to wrestle. Also, logs are rarely uniform. They usually have knobs on the side. This will keep the wood even further from the wedge. I ordered the 32 ton horizontal splitter. That wedge is 12 inches wide, as compared to the 7.5 inch wide wedge on the 37 ton vert/horz splitter. So, a 24 inch diameter log/stump should splt OK, again turning it to the other side to split and separate.. I will be selling the 37 ton vert/horz machine if the 32 ton horz machine works better. Im not rich to own both.
I rated the 37 vert/horz machine 2 stars because I dont use the horz. position, and its a real pain to bend over that much for vertical splitting. I do split some on my knees which eliminates leaning over having my head down so much. I only use the vert pisition to split because its the logs you dont want to handle that need the most splitting. One nice thing about the machine though is that it tows and sets up really easy and quick when it is attached to my polaris sportsman 500 hitch using a 2inch ball. The height of the hitch is such that the machine is tilted with the front lower than the back so the I-beam clears the ground when swinging it upright for vert split. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Factory Assembled?

,
June 29, 2011
By AAW0257
" I participated in the purchase of this splitter on behalf of a friend's wife. We wanted to get him a top of the line piece of equipment. While the machine operates well, we have had nothing but problems with the factory-assembled hydraulic fittings and the overall design of the machine with regards to ease of fixing factory mistakes.
All of the hydraulic fittings, pre-assembled, blew leaks....all at different times. The nature of the design and location of the fittings requires extensive disassembly just to tighten the fittings. On a relatively expensive model, one would not expect such poor design.
I would not recommend this product, on the basis of the inadequate design. "
+2points
14out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Idle Control and Honda Engine Problems

,
April 26, 2011
By Jack166
from Cashiers, NC
" Recently purchased the 37 ton log splitter on 4/20/11. After assembly and starting the engine, the throttle lever would not adjust above the minimum level. I had to screw down the screw on top of the lever to make it stiff enough to hold in a higher engine RPM.
The idle control does not work . At first it shut the engine off and after fixing the throttle control - the idle control doesn't work. So much for Honda technology. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-13points
4out of 21found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Sparky747
Milwaukee Wisconsin 
 
Please wait while more information about Sparky747 is loaded.
Additional information about Sparky747 could not be loaded.
The idle control does not work .
June 19, 2011
" Once properly adjusted upon completion of assembly, mine works perfectly. It appeared to be a well built and easy to understand mechanism to me. Perhaps yours has a flaw, if so they stand behind their equipment, and will replace any damaged or flawed parts. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

,
March 14, 2011
By WMATREE
from West Brookfield, MA
" I own an outdoor wood stove so splitting wood will be a part of my life for awhile. I looked long and hard for a splitter that had a lot of splitting force, and I found one at Northern Tool. 37 Ton splitter is great.
The home handyman will need buddies with tools and strong mechanical abilities to get this thing together. Gas tank is a little too close, will be dented during the first day of splitting if your not careful, I would suggest fabricating a shield.
I wish I listened to the other reviews when they said the 4 way wedge was useless,, I would have saved a few bucks.. That is the only thing about the splitter that Im dissapointed in. Is it too late to return them??? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaking

,
March 14, 2011
By ToolGuru1
from Harmony, NJ
" Owned spliter for about 5 months now. It has split about 5 cord of wood. Used it yesterday and Hydo fluid was leaking out of ram and 1 other connection. I'll let you know how the warantee goes... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.