Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine

NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine

Item# 1114
This powerful 37 ton NorthStar Log Splitter will split any log that gets in its way in either in a vertical or horizontal position. Powered by a Honda GX270 engine with an exclusive idle down feature that saves fuel and reduces noise while you load the next log. The Concentric hydraulic pump intelligently adjusts flow and pressure by delivering high flow/low pressure when there is no resistance and low flow/high pressure when cutting through a log to reduce travel time and increase productivity. Add the 4-Way Wedge Wings Item #1143 to quarter logs with one split instead of three. Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Tire Size 4.80 x 8, Gross Torque 14.1 at 2,500 RPM, Ball Coupler in. 2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 43 x 42, Lights No, Ram Force Tons 37, Pump Concentric 16 GPM, 2-stage, Hoses Yes, Cylinder 5 in. x 24in., Wedge Yes, retracting wedge, Jack Stand Yes, Log Lift No, Continuous Force Tons 34.3, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Log Cradle Yes, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Pre-assembled No, Engine Honda GX w/idle control, Cycle Time sec. 14, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. PSI 3,500, Engine Displacement cc 270, Fenders No, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Oil Reservoir gal. 9. Auto idle/throttle control for extended engine life, improved fuel economy and reduced engine noise 2-stage pump allows the log splitter to achieve the same pressures as a single stage pump, while using less horsepower Patented log stripper clears log from retracting wedge Industrial-grade full beam construction A log cradle centers the log on the wedge and prevents it from rolling off of the beam Coupler for 2in. ball High speed tires for towing 9 gallons hydraulic oil required not included Included engine guard protects engine from split logs Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.626 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(179 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (179 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
25
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
2
167 of 179(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Likes / Dislikes

,
April 18, 2014
By DWaite
from Weare, NH
"What I didn't like about the assembly process:
1) Parts were hidden in the packaging for the front and rear outriggers.
2) Wheel bearing caps had to be beaten on, finess didn't work.
3) Nothing in the instructions said that the automatic engine idle feature has to be adjusted.
What I like about the 37 ton splitter:
1) I have been splitting wood for 13 years and haven't ever used a splitter that split wood as well. I split twisted, knotty, oak and maple some more than 24 inches in diameter.
2) Has the finest engine regardless of price of any splitter this size. The Honda has always started the first or second pull.
3) Haven't had any hydraulic leaks.
4) Contrary to what other users report, the Tip-Up Pivot hasn't caused me any problems.
5) The idle down feature.
Why did I rate it a 5 when the assembly didn't go perfectly? Because assembly takes hours whereas I expect to be running this splitter for many years.
DW"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

,
April 7, 2014
By retired2tired
from Fredericksburg, VA
"I wanted to give the splitter a 3.5 star rating, but didn't see any way to do that.
When I started looking for a new splitter, I wanted to buy a different brand of splitter because the local dealers of the other splitters did the assembly and testing. However, after looking at all I could find, it was clear the Northern was the best designed and built that I could find.
That said I find several serious shortcomings in the design. I've only used the Northern to split about a couple of cords so far, but I've got almost 40 yrs experience with all sorts of other log splitters.
My complaints:
The assembly instructions were not always consistent with the condition of the shipped hardware. While the instructions are quite adequate as far as giving the steps in the assembly, there were some inconsistencies.
In a couple of cases the instructions referred to fasteners already installed in a particular piece of hardware. In reality, those fasteners were included in the bags of assembly hardware. You waste time looking for fasteners that aren't where they were supposed to be and having to count inventories to make sure you have enough of the right kind in the bags.
While it's understandable from a shipping efficiency point of view, the instructions should point out that various parts are tucked in hidden locations within the confines of the palleted equipment, or, at the least, the instructions should warn you to completely unpacked each and every individual part before you start. I've forgotten which parts they were but I was certain that I had been shorted until I unwrapped the two support legs which were bound together and found the missing parts stuck in the hollow of the two legs.
The wings attached to the beam of the Northern to form the log cradle are nothing but an afterthought. I have a 30 yr old Robush log splitter,no longer made, but one of the models that pioneered the log cradles. The wings on that splitter are made of heavy welded plate, instead of formed sheet metal on the Northern.The Robush's wings are about 10" wide. Far better than the miserly 2" on the Northern's wings. Working in the horizontal mode, the Robush's wings will support the split halves of large logs much better than the Northern. It makes rotating logs for further splitting a much safer & easier operation. They're also heavy enough to take the beating from dropping 300#+ chunks from a loader all day long. The Northern's would be wiped out in short order.
Northern seems to be quite proud of their patented wedge design. I find two problems with it. One, it should extend further forward so that on the end of the stroke there is less of a gap between it and the sole plate.
The second issue I have with the wedge is that Northern uses the same size wedge on all of their splitters. There is no reason in the world why the 37 ton splitter should be limited to using the same height splitter that they use on the 22 ton splitter. A 30% increase in height would allow splitting through larger logs on a single pass and would also make the 4-way splitter wings much more useful. As it is, the 4-way splitter wings usually only split off small splitters of wood instead of useful size wedges.
The cycle time is unnecessary long. My old Robush has a cycle time of 10.5 s. That makes a difference over a day's worth of splitting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

37 ton with honda

,
February 28, 2014
By filletboy
from Ma.
"I have had this machine for over a year now and work it very hard. The honda is impeccable. The machine itself loosens at the hinge (stated already) and the hinge has already been replaced (recalled) by factory but it doesn't help the loosening. Also piston loosens up- and on return, the wedge hits the side (evident by viewing) Even with best lock tite. i Have also replaced front stand with a trailer jack so I can adjust the height for unlevel ground. Also replaced the cheap cleavage pins with bolts as I didn't want vibration on travel. Something factory should consider cuz those pins bend like twigs. Some leakage at hoses and YES, I installed a hyd filter system (can't believ they didn't have) on the return line (like every other splitter in the world has and I believe the new Northstar included). I change oils religiously. AND I find that there is NO log that I cannot break up. Once I get all the loose bolts fixed, this is a great machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log Spliter

,
February 5, 2014
By Jsobel
from NH
"I have been using this machine for 5 years and have split 40 cord of wood. Good powerful machine . This is a heavy unit and its not easy to move around without a truck or tractor. The mounting bracket that holds the i beam to the chaise is a bit flimsy so when standing the splitter up right to the vertical position it is awkward. And cumbersome. The honda engine is a jewel great engine starts on first pull 99% of the time. After I modify the Bracket it will be a 5 star machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Midgvojk
from York, PA
"Overall I love this splitter. I burn about 8-9 cords of wood a year. The honda engine is superb compared to others. Very fuel efficient. I haven't found a piece of wood it can't split. Return times are as advertised. Very fast. My only problem with this product is the design of the pivot point. It is not built heavy enough to support the heavy I beam/cylinder. The bolts that hold the hinge to the fame are constantly coming loose. After I replace the bolts with a weld I will have a great splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

,
February 4, 2014
By jeepboy
from Park City, UT
"I've used this splitter for a few years of hard fall seasons. It works like a champ. We've had some hydraulic hose leakage after really working it hard. The gas tank and cap have also been bent/ripped off by larger jobs, but it's just due to the location of the tank- not much can be done. Overall a good machine that gets it done!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

If it fits it splits

,
February 4, 2014
By MRC4609
from Fairmont, MN
"This is an amazing splitter. By far the best I have ever used. The set-up was okay, took me about 2 hours. But once it was set up I couldn't believe how good it was. Any log that will fit between the wedge and plate will split. I can easily fill a pickup in an hour of splitting. The reason we went with this splitter over all the other brands is because of the Honda engine and the idle down feature. Definitely the best splitter on the market."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME MACHINE

,
February 4, 2014
By Hunterf350
from South Carolina
"I bought this to split my yearly load of wood. After many years of splitting with a maul I decided to go big or quit.. I made the right choice.. Very strong machine and splits perfectly even with larger logs. I immediately cut them to its maximum length and put it to work. It never skipped a beat.. I would highly recommend spending the money and get the big unit over smaller ones.. I will be using this at my hunt club and it pulls perfect behind my Polaris ranger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 ton logsplitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Onard
from Grayson, GA
"I have had pleasant experience with this machine. I especially like the automatic return to idle at the end of splitting stroke. Only downside is positioning the stands during setup and end of splitting session. I plan to take the tips from other reviewers and look into the seal ring retainer. I have not had that trouble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 Ton Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By jackfarm
from Hinton, WV
"I have had this splitter about 2 years now. It does a great job splitting the wood for sure. Bought the 4 way split attachment but didn't like it. Split pieces too small for my big stove. There is a problem with the retraction of the wedge and I contacted the company about that but they fix they gave me is not on my splitter. So you just have to be sure to hold the retraction handle the whole time till the wedge goes back to where it is supposed to. Other than that flaw it is a great splitter to me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply... Awesome!

,
February 4, 2014
By Hugh1K
from Rice County, MN
"Starts easy, Reduces idle speed when wedge is fully retracted, and has huge reserves of power. Very well balanced so it is easy to move around by one reasonably strong person. Easy to attach 4 way wings to reduce splitting time, with amble power for 4 way splitting.
My only two complaints, and they are very minor, are these:
1. Base plate could be larger. When splitting a very large round in the vertical position, a log of more then 18 inches has to be held in place until the wedge cuts into the face of the log.
2. While it is well balanced for moving by hand, it doesn't have enough tongue weight for towing, and tends to bounce a lot. Adding supplemental weight to tongue (50 or 75 lbs of sand is cheap and easily obtained) should solve the problem. This may not be an issue for everyone... I tow with a front wheel drive minivan.
Love this product and can't recommend it enough. After suffering with a poorly designed, cheap no name brand for 5 years, I actually enjoy firewood production again!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent splitter

,
February 3, 2014
By TN321
from West Tennessee
"After researching splitters, in December 2013 I decided to buy the 37 Ton Northstar splitter from the Memphis, TN store.
The unit was in stock, & "David" worked with me to answer all questions I had- loading went very smooth & fast.
When I got the splitter home, about 2-1/2 hours assembly time was required, instructions were easy to understand & hoses were color coded for simple connection. As others have noted, 2 people are handy when connecting the beam to the axle/tank assembly.
The Honda engine started on the FIRST pull!
Operation in knotty, tough oak, sweetgum,cherry has been amazing.The logs this unit doesn't split, it just shears thru.(Crotches, limbs, etc.) Very stingy with gasoline, the Idle-down feature is a great improvement over constant high speed operation. I looked at other brands, double the price, which were not built as well or as high capacity- low cycle time.
I did add fenders and the 4-way wing splitter attachment, then removed wings- I had one piece hang up & had to beat it out with a hammer, the machine splits faster than I want to load without the wings!
If anyone is serious about a splitter, this is definitely the machine to get...
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NorthStar37 ton log splitter lemon

,
February 1, 2014
By Downtime
from jacksonville, FL
"I bought this product in June 2013 at the Jacksonville store. The store assembled it. It's back at the store for warranty repair because it does not demonstrate 37 ton wood splitting capability. When the splitting blade comes down it presses into the log but will not split it. The store claimed to have repaired it only to have me leave and use it to learn the problem still existed. It's back at the store now. I asked if they had any way to measure the 37 ton capability and was told "no". Apparently the mechanic has no way to test the repair. It's just a guessing game. The complete valve assembly was replaced the first time. Now the mechanic thinks it might be the pump. UHMM!! Maybe the company should read some of these posts for pointers on how to fix what they sell."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some repair required before use

,
November 9, 2013
By Wes1
from Wyoming
"This is a great machine but I would recommend you buy it in like June so you can work all the bugs out of it before you need wood to keep warm. I got the thing about 3 weeks after I ordered it got it all put together split about 5 logs & the cylinder started leaking so I called in they sent me a new cylinder 10 days later after I finally got it ( they won't overnight parts) got it put on started splitting about 15 min. In I hit a hard long and it blew the seal out of the pump ( North Star forgot to put a snap ring in to hold the seal in) they sent a new pump. 10 days later put the new pump on it blew out also at that point I just tore into the pump to see what was going on. So if you buy this machine make sure you run to the parts store and buy a $.55 snap ring it takes a 1 1/8 you just unbolt the pump slide the coupler off takes a Allan wrench take a punch and tap the seal in put the snap ring in to hold the seal re assemble and you should be good to go"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Filter

,
October 16, 2013
By Candlewick
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I did not like using the splitter without a filter for the(Hydraulic oil) so I added one, purchased one from Northern Tool, been using splitter for several years it' works just fine,I split a lot of wood for my outside wood boiler After I put filter on I give the splitter a hard 5 stars Fantastic machine!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

37 Ton

,
October 16, 2013
By Bourbon
from Mich
"Shipped fast ,removed from truck with skidster. Assembled alone in 2 1/2 hours. Directions were clear. Honda engine started second pull (after i found the on/off switch on engine, 2 on/off switches!) Have split about 20 face cord so far. Have split lots of 24" white oak with gnarly crotches and did not skip a beat! The idle down feature is great, you can run about 4-5 hours on 1 1/2 gallons of gas. This is my third splitter & I'm impressed!
The only thing I could suggest for improving is a taller wedge & end plate.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

37 ton north star log splitter ..

,
September 26, 2013
By hulies
from ma
"i got this because i sold my 16 horse 28 gallon log splitter of 5 years it was a great splitter.. this does not compare to it but is a great log splitter it has some great features like idol's down when ram returns and mainly that and the fact that it swings down so you dont have to lift the big big logs... well right after i sold my splitter to some one wouldent you no it we got a huge load of wood.. ahhh and there is just no way i am splitting all that with a mall.. so this out of all the log splitters that swing down i liked the fact that this one idled down so i got this, and i am happy i did... i will be building a table for one side is the only thing i dont like about it it would be great if they sold some thing for that problem.. but i am capable of fabricating some up... this one has a way faster cycle time than the 30 ton and is worth the extra money so cheek out the video"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decision Pending

,
September 23, 2013
By HondaFan039
from Sutton, MA
"Received the splitter and during the assembly noticed we were missing cotter pins for the wheels. Not a big deal, they are easy to find. I can understand that shipping a product with motor or hydrolic fluid is a Hazardous material also. Once assembled and filled with fluids the Honda started on the second pull out of the box(sputtered and almost started first pull). Got to love those Honda engines! Started using the piston without any wood, checking everything out, the line-up, any leaks, and it all looked good. Flipped the unit vertically to split some small stuff first and moved onto some bigger items. About 1/2 a cord in I had hydrolic fluid pouring out of the coupling between the engine and hoses!! Upon a closer look it is foaming up and some is even leaking past the filler cap. A call has been placed with Customer Service on our 1 day old splitter. I do have some positive things to say about the unit and hopefully this is just a one time issue. fingers crossed.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 37 Ton Log Splitter

,
September 19, 2013
By Irvv
from New Fairfield, CT 06812
"Hi All, Irv, from Connecticut here, to review the Northstar 37 Ton Log Splitter.
I purchased the Northstar 37 last September, during Northern's Autumn Logging Equipment Sale.
It was truck shipped directly to my door, within a week of purchase.
It was relatively easy to assemble, with hand tools, and the instructions given were clear, and easy to follow.
The machine always starts with the very first pull, and the Honda 270 cc commercial grade engine is smooth and powerful!
This beauty has split ANYTHING/ANY DIAMETER that I can get the machine near, even 3 foot wide, narly, knotted, twisted-grain branching out sections, of large trees.
I especially like the 'auto-idle down' feature, and it was one of my main reasons for buying this machine. It is a bit tricky, and must be adjusted every so often, as I think the cable must 'strech' going to the throttle, but it's just a minor adjustment, so it's no big deal!
Northern's Customer Service People are just the best, most frendly/knowledgeable and helpful, when ever I needed to call them for some question or concern about the machine.
I did a lot of research before I decided to purchase this machine, and I would still buy the same one again, after useing it for nearly one year now!
Purchase this machine, and you won't be disapointed!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Twisted I-beam

,
April 23, 2013
By Parrish
from Thompsonville, Il
"I would have to say log splitter has worked well so far. The Honda Motor has always started with one pull. Its has plenty of power to take on any log. The thing I noticed right away is the main I-beam is twisted, not a minor twist either. It makes the whole unit look crooked when sitting horizontal. Not sure how this will affect the performance of the unit in the long run but I do plan on contacting Customer service about it. I'm sure this is an isolated event but when I pay over $2,000.00 for something like this, I expect it to be made to a high quality standard.
Overall, I would recommend this to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.