Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"

"NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"

Item# 1131
"This NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter's multi-patented design gives you premium components and exclusive features that let you save time, increase performance and work effectively. You can count on NorthStar to bring strength, durability and innovation every time. The backbone of this log splitter is an industrial-strength I-beam with heavy plate steel reinforcement. The patented wedge design, made with alloy steel, maintains consistent split and has a unique curve that reduces initial contact area for maximum penetrating force. Add the optional NorthStar Wedge Wings Item# 110910, sold separately to make each stroke more efficient. Auto-return wedge saves time and effort when splitting. The premium hydraulic system is protected by a quad filtering system that uses four different components to protect the hydraulic system from contaminants. Large hydraulic oil reservoir allows fluid to cool, reducing wear and allowing fluid to last longer. Slide-action self-leveling pivot makes it simple to switch between horizontal and vertical split. Designed to be easy to use in both orientations. Some assembly required. Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Hoses High pressure w/wire braid, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Lights No, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Engine Honda GX270, Log Lift No, Cycle Time sec. 14, Fenders Included, Engine Displacement cc 270, Jack Stand Yes, Wedge 8 1/2 in.H, Tire Size 8 in., Log Cradle Yes, Gross Torque 13.1 ft.-lbs. at 2,500 RPM, Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 45 x 45, Pre-assembled Assembly required, Cylinder 5 in. x 24 in., Ram Force Tons 37, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Oil Reservoir gal. 9, Ball Coupler in. 2, Max. PSI 3,500, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Pump 16 GPM, Continuous Force Tons 34.3. Honda commercial GX270 series engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve, low oil shutdown and steel fuel tank American-made Concentric pump and Brand valve Heavy-duty steel-reinforced hose NorthStar hydraulic cylinder with premium Halite seals Auto throttle control to save fuel, reduce noise and prolong engine life Patented log stripper clears logs from retracting wedge Engine guard protects against falling logs and debris Heavy-duty log tables prevent logs from rolling off when split Adjustable jack with oversized wheels and 2in. coupler"
Average Customer Rating:
4.892 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(167 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (167 reviews)
5 stars
151
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
165 of 167(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-T

,
March 4, 2016
By
from Arlington, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Owned this machine for three months and it's one of the best pieces of equipment I've ever bought. Already split 6 cords of wood in half the time. Start first pull ever pull since out of the box. Thank you to all the previous customer reviews led me to my decision to purchase and it's worth every penny. I recommend the four way attachment kit, cuts splitting time in half. Spend the money the first time and you won't be disappointed. Awesome machine, safe design. Only thing negative is turning your friends and neighbors away from borrowing it. Get yours today.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Crusher

,
February 23, 2016
By
from Connecticut
This thing is a beast and is a blast to use. I 'split' some 30" wet oak trunk pieces that I have been whacking at with my splitting axe but barely dented. The pieces that were left after going through this machine were crazy- whorls and knots through and through, no real grain and hard as a rock. (Now I now why they would not split with my axe). Great machine, seems safe design, and easy to build and ton of fun to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

37 ton spliter

,
February 16, 2016
By
from Ripton Vt.
Great Splitter ,very powerful! Will not stop for any wood
including Elm. How ever it will twist the I-beam and bend the end plate (11/4" thick) when it dose go slowly into a split, if you don't stop when it dose slow down. So my feelings is this splitter is built to light for the power it will build up, So Don't Push It, When it slows down - Back OFF and cut that chunk with a chain saw! If you bend it, you will pay for it!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW! Nice Piece of Equipment

,
February 8, 2016
By
from Western Pennsylvania
Did a vast amount of research on splitters before deciding to purchase this one. Yes is costs $300 to $500 more (including the shipping which for many competitors was free) than what I considered comparable brands, but after unpacking, assembly, and my first use I've no regrets what so ever. I found the assembly instructions easy to follow and the Honda engine fired up on the third pull. Split the pile of knots and manually undoable pieces that have been accumulating in less than an hour without missing a beat. This is definitely a well made heavy-duty item. A great addition to my tool inventory.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy Piece of Equipment

,
November 14, 2015
By
from Edinburgh, IN
In shipping, a handle grip was damaged and a nut was missing. Northern Tool + Equipment quickly sent replacement parts. This is very nice, heavy duty log splitter for the homeowner who burns wood for heat in the winter.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving This Beast!

,
October 30, 2015
By
from Ohio
I purchased this log splitter for personal home use. I unpacked it, but must admit, I did let my husband and a family friend put it together. They completed the task in several evenings.
I filled it with the appropriate fluids, set the controls, and
BINGO, this machine started up the first pull! I was amazed and impressed!
Then I put it to the real test...this BEAST split logs that all other splitters I have used would get stuck in. I love it.
I am a small female and have no trouble operating this splitter. In 2 afternoons, I split over 3 cords, and stacked it, by myself.
My only problem (which is due to my size and strength), is not being able to lower the I beam singly if I've been using it and the foot is somewhat embedded in the ground.
I need to do this when I want to move the splitter to another pile of logs. BUT...I just get my husband and make him help me move it!!
AND, a few other family members who regularly use log splitters and have their own, are VERY impressed as well with this NorthStar log splitter!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

,
October 19, 2015
By
from ohio
Great splitter. My son put together only a couple of issues:
1) fuel tank had a dent but called and they are shipping a new one
2) Power staple stuck into Hyd. Hose so I went and bought a new one so we could use machine.
3) 4 bolts missing.
My thoughts are whoever is in quality control needs to look at things better before they leave. Machine itself is super I really haven't found a piece of wood it can't split
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I hoped and expected

,
October 16, 2015
By
from Minneapolis, MN
Although I am not a professional we (my wife and I) cut and split an enormous amount of wood. We heat 75% of our house with wood in a traditional fireplace insert. We just replaced our 20 ton Northstar Log Splitter which we have been using for 12 years. The power and ease of use on this splitter is the best replacement we could have hoped for. To know that it starts within two pulls every time and there is not a log it won't split makes this splitter worth every penny. I paid to pick it up assembled and immediately began splitting wood when I arrived home. I have a hard time imagining a log this couldn't handle. If you want to risk being underpowered or have a less reliable engine than the Honda you shouldn't buy this splitter. I look forward to another dozen years of reliability out of this Northstar splitter.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Year Review

,
September 5, 2015
By
from Avon, CT
I have split 8 cords per year for the last 5 years. Same Honda engine and construction as current model, with some minor changes. The only service I do is to change the oil once a year. Still works as well today as 5 years ago. I only cut, split and burn oak (red and white) from my property. This machine will split it or cut it. I can't imagine that you would want more from a machine!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor Assembly

,
September 5, 2015
By
from North Carolina
Let me start by saying this is a great machine for what it is designed for. I have had two issues with it before I ever split the first piece of wood. It was assembled at the store, The first issue was the coupling for the motor and pump was not aligned properly I spent close to an hour repairing that. The second was a hydraulic fluid leak. It was where the filter housing connected to the tank. That took me another hour to repair. I hope the rest of the life of this splitter is more productive. Very disappointed with assembly quality.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolSeptember 8, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our products. We apologize for the issues with the assembly which in turn caused you extra work. If you have any questions or need assistance please contact our Product Support Team at 1-800-222-5381.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beast of the East

,
June 12, 2015
By
from Pennsylvania
Bought the machine based on two things: my old 22 ton splitter finally died, and I believe in overkill with machinery. I figured for the price, a 37 ton splitter would be more than enough (though, calculated, the total pressure is "only" about 33 tons). So.. ordered, and picked up at the shipping dock as there was no way for a delivery vehicle to access my home.
Anyway.. a couple observations....
The unit ships in two pieces: the engine is separate and in a cardboard box, and the rest of the splitter is embedded in a steel framework rather than a crate. This causes two issues: one, the engine has a high probability of potential damage from being dropped or sat upon by something else and two, the crate package can only be picked up one way with a forklift - from the side. That created some issue when trying to load into my truck, as the shipper and I had to figure out how to load it "lengthwise" into the truck bed. We got it, but it was an unnecessary trouble spot.
Once home, I disassembled the crate in situ and was able to remove 99% of the components by myself. Assembly was fairly straightforward for the chassis - pay attention to the wheel bearings as another poster mentioned - and make sure you have a variety of wrenches and sockets available. I found that not all the components were metric... several fasteners later in the assembly were ASE. Once the chassis was together, then the beam and ram get installed, and this is where you need a helper or two. It's heavy, no two ways about it. And make sure you're on solid, level ground, as the beam is assembled to the chassis in the vertical position. It's not hard, just very awkward.
Plumbing is straightforward; one fitting on the valve assembly will not go on with the valve assembly in place - it hits one of the bolt heads on the ram mount. Remove that bolt temporarily and it'll clear. The oil filter.. is huge. Most homeowners won't have a pipe wrench or filter wrench big enough to tighten it, so be prepared to borrow or purchase a tool. I could only get mine tightened so far by hand (and rubber gloves) and it still vibrated loose when it ran (making a huge oil spill... oops).
Otherwise, the thing is a beast. In the upright position you'll find that larger logs will not want to balance on the pad due to the teeth on the pad and the height difference of the pad itself versus the ground. I placed 1" pieces of plywood around the pad so I could slide the wood into place without fear of it being kicked out for being off-kilter. Oh, and that's another thing... the blade. From the factory about as sharp as a bag of wet hair. It'll split, but only by definition. It mostly crushes it's way through, so take an angle grinder and put a decent sharp edge on that sucker.
So far nothing has stopped this thing. Even a knotty, elbowed chunk of oak merely slowed it for a moment. Once past the initial setup issues, I see lots of use in the near future for this machine. Once I get a year or so of use under it, I'll report back some more!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best wood splitter on the market

,
April 27, 2015
By
from Northern Utah
We have used wood splitters for a long time and this is the first that lives up to 37 tons. It is scary how strong it is. didn't bog down or bypass on any of the hardwood stumps that we split yes stumps about 36" through the center.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new log splitter

,
February 5, 2015
By
from Wantage,New Jersey
A little tricky putting it together A two man job for sure. Electric hoist also a plus to get beam in place. A little tricky getting throttle control in right place. Move slide foreward and it's a piece of cake. This machine is a beast.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Splitter!

,
January 21, 2015
By
from Austin, Texas
I looked far and wide, shopped around, and checked a ton of reviews before deciding on this splitter and I am very happy with my purchase. This 37 ton splitter fires right up, runs smooth, and has split everything I've put on it - oak, mesquite, pine, and some stuff I can't even describe. Not super fast but extremely strong. You can split a lot of wood in a few hours.
My wife and I use it together. I load the wood and she works the ram and removes the split wood into a pile. We really like the height of the machine so we don't have to be bent over all day. We tried the vertical position and didn't like it. Too much work to maneuver the log into position. Slow and hard on the old back. What works much better is to roll several big ones into the front end loader on the tractor, lift them even with the splitter, and roll them one at a time onto the splitter. This works great with the smaller wood, too.
I also bought the 4-way attachment. Used it one afternoon and didn't care for it. It slows the ram down considerably and we found it quicker and easier to split the wood without it.
You might be satisfied with a smaller splitter but given the money I invested, I just didn't want to get the thing home and find it was underpowered. This one is plenty strong. Buy this splitter and you won't be disappointed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beast of a splitter

,
January 12, 2015
By
from Uwharrie, NC
Putting it together is a bear, but after that it is a JOY to use. I can't find anything big / knotty enough to slow it down. Excellent splitter. Will update after a year of use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sweet, sweet, splitter!

,
November 17, 2014
By
from MS
I bought this unit two years ago (2013) and have split about 18 cords of wood. I researched and bought this unit because of the great price, value, Honda engine, auto return cylinder. I did buy the unit, bring it home, then take it back and let my local store assemble it. I am handy, but it is "a lot" to put together, far more than I expected. it was well worth the small amount they charged for the assembly and worth it! I have not had any problems with the unit, still starts on 1st pull, I keep it greased and would only recommend this unit to anyone that is looking for one. Fast splitting, busts right through knots - if you can cut it, you can split it with this splitter. thanks.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made, Sturdy, read about torque and 4-way

,
October 25, 2014
By
from Hilsborough, NJ
VERY STURDY and Well Made, however time consuming to put together. Also needed to purchase a Torque Wrench and then on some of the nuts you can't use a socket so you need to buy additional pieces to fit and work with torque wrench. Overall after around 4 hours it is done and just a leak in the filter (which was taken care of by customer service immediately) Last, the 4-way wedge is made Great, however it works great on the perfect size wood, big wood splits in 4 and then when splitting again becomes too small. Not worth taking it on and off since it is a lot of work to keep bolting on and off. So you end up with a lot of kindling size pieces of wood. Overall very happy and nice machine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

more than enough

,
September 21, 2014
By
from post mills vt.
Purchase and shipping went off without a hitch. Set up time was what I expected and simple step by step. This machine goes beyond what I thought it would. I had a huge pile of knotty rock maple with no hope of ever being split. The Northstar walked right through them effortlessly, It didn't even slow down. It actually sheared them in stead of splitting them. This monster will eat anything. It is also faster than I thought it would be. I would recommend this machine to anyone with lots of hardwood. I used to split seven cords a year by hand. This is all I need to save my body for better things like golf. Thanks for a terrific product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing stops this splitter, Outstanding

,
September 12, 2014
By
from Westbrook, CT
On receiving the splitter all was crated fine, no damage. Assembly took a couple hours and you will definitely need an extra helper to lift the cylinder ram onto the frame. One set of wheel bearings weren't driven deep enough into the hub to get the cotter pin thru. I had to take a drift and drive them in a bit farther. You'll probably want to pack extra wheel bearing grease in the bearing as there is minimal grease. I was totally surprised at no leaks on the assembly first time. Vertical splitting is a great option as I was putting 25" logs to the test. Nothing could stop this splitter. Even logs cut right at the stump and knotty were split. The 290cc engine does fine and no reason to spend more for a bigger motor. Spend the money on the splitting tonnage. 37 Ton blows thru the logs. I am on my 4 cord of fresh cut oak and no problems. I like the idle down of the engine when the ram retracts. Engine started on first pull when assembled. Very happy with it. Bought the log splitter cover too which fits fine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood splitter

,
July 18, 2014
By
from Central, MI
The only reason I didn't give this 5 starts is due to the short and narrow stance as it's not towable by a truck (maybe 5mph), but it is by quad or side by side. I took a green piece of oak about 8" in diameter and almost split it in two sideways, the only thing that stopped it is the oak is green and stringy yet. Lots and lots of power. The auto return and auto idle down it the very best.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.