Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"

"NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"

Item# 1131
"This NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter's multi-patented design gives you premium components and exclusive features that let you save time, increase performance and work effectively. You can count on NorthStar to bring strength, durability and innovation every time. The backbone of this log splitter is an industrial-strength I-beam with heavy plate steel reinforcement. The patented wedge design, made with alloy steel, maintains consistent split and has a unique curve that reduces initial contact area for maximum penetrating force. Add the optional NorthStar Wedge Wings Item# 110910, sold separately to make each stroke more efficient. Auto-return wedge saves time and effort when splitting. The premium hydraulic system is protected by a quad filtering system that uses four different components to protect the hydraulic system from contaminants. Large hydraulic oil reservoir allows fluid to cool, reducing wear and allowing fluid to last longer. Slide-action self-leveling pivot makes it simple to switch between horizontal and vertical split. Designed to be easy to use in both orientations. Some assembly required. Cylinder 5 in. x 24 in., Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Ball Coupler in. 2, Continuous Force Tons 34.3, Cycle Time sec. 14, Gross Torque 13.1 ft.-lbs. @ 2,500 RPM, Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 45 x 45, Engine Honda GX270, Engine Displacement cc 270, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Jack Stand Yes, Lights No, Log Lift No, Pump 16 GPM, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Max. PSI 3,500, Oil Reservoir gal. 9, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Ram Force Tons 37, Wedge 8 1/2 in.H, Hoses High pressure w/wire braid, Log Cradle Yes, Pre-assembled Assembly required, Fenders Included, Tire Size 8 inch. Honda commercial GX270 series engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve, low oil shutdown and steel fuel tank American-made Concentric pump and Brand valve Heavy-duty steel-reinforced hose NorthStar hydraulic cylinder with premium Halite seals Auto throttle control to save fuel, reduce noise and prolong engine life Patented log stripper clears logs from retracting wedge Engine guard protects against falling logs and debris Heavy-duty log tables prevent logs from rolling off when split Adjustable jack with oversized wheels and 2in. coupler"
Average Customer Rating:
4.908 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (152 reviews)
5 stars
139
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
150 of 152(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sweet, sweet, splitter!

,
November 17, 2014
By Jay1966
from MS
"I bought this unit two years ago (2013) and have split about 18 cords of wood. I researched and bought this unit because of the great price, value, Honda engine, auto return cylinder. I did buy the unit, bring it home, then take it back and let my local store assemble it. I am handy, but it is "a lot" to put together, far more than I expected. it was well worth the small amount they charged for the assembly and worth it! I have not had any problems with the unit, still starts on 1st pull, I keep it greased and would only recommend this unit to anyone that is looking for one. Fast splitting, busts right through knots - if you can cut it, you can split it with this splitter. thanks."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made, Sturdy, read about torque and 4-way

,
October 25, 2014
By culinary
from Hilsborough, NJ
"VERY STURDY and Well Made, however time consuming to put together. Also needed to purchase a Torque Wrench and then on some of the nuts you can't use a socket so you need to buy additional pieces to fit and work with torque wrench. Overall after around 4 hours it is done and just a leak in the filter (which was taken care of by customer service immediately) Last, the 4-way wedge is made Great, however it works great on the perfect size wood, big wood splits in 4 and then when splitting again becomes too small. Not worth taking it on and off since it is a lot of work to keep bolting on and off. So you end up with a lot of kindling size pieces of wood. Overall very happy and nice machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

more than enough

,
September 21, 2014
By kpacvt63
from post mills vt.
"Purchase and shipping went off without a hitch. Set up time was what I expected and simple step by step. This machine goes beyond what I thought it would. I had a huge pile of knotty rock maple with no hope of ever being split. The Northstar walked right through them effortlessly, It didn't even slow down. It actually sheared them in stead of splitting them. This monster will eat anything. It is also faster than I thought it would be. I would recommend this machine to anyone with lots of hardwood. I used to split seven cords a year by hand. This is all I need to save my body for better things like golf. Thanks for a terrific product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing stops this splitter, Outstanding

,
September 12, 2014
By 337AS
from Westbrook, CT
"On receiving the splitter all was crated fine, no damage. Assembly took a couple hours and you will definitely need an extra helper to lift the cylinder ram onto the frame. One set of wheel bearings weren't driven deep enough into the hub to get the cotter pin thru. I had to take a drift and drive them in a bit farther. You'll probably want to pack extra wheel bearing grease in the bearing as there is minimal grease. I was totally surprised at no leaks on the assembly first time. Vertical splitting is a great option as I was putting 25" logs to the test. Nothing could stop this splitter. Even logs cut right at the stump and knotty were split. The 290cc engine does fine and no reason to spend more for a bigger motor. Spend the money on the splitting tonnage. 37 Ton blows thru the logs. I am on my 4 cord of fresh cut oak and no problems. I like the idle down of the engine when the ram retracts. Engine started on first pull when assembled. Very happy with it. Bought the log splitter cover too which fits fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood splitter

,
July 18, 2014
By ja1878ba
from Central, MI
"The only reason I didn't give this 5 starts is due to the short and narrow stance as it's not towable by a truck (maybe 5mph), but it is by quad or side by side. I took a green piece of oak about 8" in diameter and almost split it in two sideways, the only thing that stopped it is the oak is green and stringy yet. Lots and lots of power. The auto return and auto idle down it the very best."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern's new 37-ton log splitter

,
July 4, 2014
By Justgettingby
from Washington State
"Finished the log splitter assembly with NO LEAKS on the first try! :) And, what a sterling piece of equipment it is! It's "old school" built and a far cry from the older model I've been using over the years. The super quiet Honda engine is to die for. It started on the very first pull right out of the box -- which is the very reliability and quality legendary Hondas are known for. The wedge operation of the splitter mechanism is extremely smooth, yet incredibly powerful. It splits logs faster and cleaner than what I'm accustomed to. I'll now be able to work faster while also protecting my body from so much unnecessary wear and tear.
I strongly advise familiarizing yourself with the installation process before attempting to assemble the unit. Though the manual could have been written more clearly and in greater detail, follow each outlined step as described. This will save time in the long run.
5 stars to the Northstar engineers. Job well done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar 37 Ton Log Splitter

,
May 19, 2014
By MarkBunyan
from Northern Minnesota
"Using firewood as a main source of heat for our home we were looking for a mobile machine that would be capable of splitting the large oak that we are cutting off of our property. After researching many log splitter manufacturers the best overall product we found hands-down was the NorthStar 37 ton horizontal and vertical log splitter.
The Honda engine starts effortlessly, and with the hefty 16 gallon per minuet pump the machine has the ability to split anything we have attempted. With a large fuel tank, ample supply screened hydraulic tank and the automatic idle down feature the combination makes splitting a breeze. With the patented cast-steel wedge and hydraulic cylinder mounting anchor I believe that the machine will split the big stuff for years to come. The hydraulic hoses are also designed to easily transition between the horizontal and vertical working positions, without being in the way to be snagged by brush and branches while transporting the machine in the bush.
The Saint Cloud MN store sales members were very informative and helpful with providing the specifications and purchase of the product. To me this splitter has the best design, function, fit and finish. Four stars to Northern Tool. Thanks for an excellent product at a fair price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJune 27, 2014
The new line of NorthStar Log Splitters have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but could be better.

,
May 13, 2014
By Wiz64
from New Jersey
"I was missing a few parts when I started assembly, they were shipped within a few days. On first test run , detent valve was leaking from plunger end ( more than just a drip). A new valve was sent and have installed. Overall the splitter is very good, only flaw I see is the main fraim is very flimsey for this splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Splitter - 37-Ton

,
April 24, 2014
By Ben07035
from Lincoln Park, NJ
"this is my first log splitter and im happy with it..
bottom foot is too small but everything else is good.
plenty of power...i have logs from 14"-36" diameter and works great...
every use have to be leveled otherwise hydraulic fluid will leak..."my property is sloped"
costumer service is very helpful- im very happy with Log Splitter - 37-Ton.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Likes / Dislikes

,
April 18, 2014
By DWaite
from Weare, NH
"What I didn't like about the assembly process:
1) Parts were hidden in the packaging for the front and rear outriggers.
2) Wheel bearing caps had to be beaten on, finess didn't work.
3) Nothing in the instructions said that the automatic engine idle feature has to be adjusted.
What I like about the 37 ton splitter:
1) I have been splitting wood for 13 years and haven't ever used a splitter that split wood as well. I split twisted, knotty, oak and maple some more than 24 inches in diameter.
2) Has the finest engine regardless of price of any splitter this size. The Honda has always started the first or second pull.
3) Haven't had any hydraulic leaks.
4) Contrary to what other users report, the Tip-Up Pivot hasn't caused me any problems.
5) The idle down feature.
Why did I rate it a 5 when the assembly didn't go perfectly? Because assembly takes hours whereas I expect to be running this splitter for many years.
DW"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

,
April 7, 2014
By retired2tired
from Fredericksburg, VA
"I wanted to give the splitter a 3.5 star rating, but didn't see any way to do that.
When I started looking for a new splitter, I wanted to buy a different brand of splitter because the local dealers of the other splitters did the assembly and testing. However, after looking at all I could find, it was clear the Northern was the best designed and built that I could find.
That said I find several serious shortcomings in the design. I've only used the Northern to split about a couple of cords so far, but I've got almost 40 yrs experience with all sorts of other log splitters.
My complaints:
The assembly instructions were not always consistent with the condition of the shipped hardware. While the instructions are quite adequate as far as giving the steps in the assembly, there were some inconsistencies.
In a couple of cases the instructions referred to fasteners already installed in a particular piece of hardware. In reality, those fasteners were included in the bags of assembly hardware. You waste time looking for fasteners that aren't where they were supposed to be and having to count inventories to make sure you have enough of the right kind in the bags.
While it's understandable from a shipping efficiency point of view, the instructions should point out that various parts are tucked in hidden locations within the confines of the palleted equipment, or, at the least, the instructions should warn you to completely unpacked each and every individual part before you start. I've forgotten which parts they were but I was certain that I had been shorted until I unwrapped the two support legs which were bound together and found the missing parts stuck in the hollow of the two legs.
The wings attached to the beam of the Northern to form the log cradle are nothing but an afterthought. I have a 30 yr old Robush log splitter,no longer made, but one of the models that pioneered the log cradles. The wings on that splitter are made of heavy welded plate, instead of formed sheet metal on the Northern.The Robush's wings are about 10" wide. Far better than the miserly 2" on the Northern's wings. Working in the horizontal mode, the Robush's wings will support the split halves of large logs much better than the Northern. It makes rotating logs for further splitting a much safer & easier operation. They're also heavy enough to take the beating from dropping 300#+ chunks from a loader all day long. The Northern's would be wiped out in short order.
Northern seems to be quite proud of their patented wedge design. I find two problems with it. One, it should extend further forward so that on the end of the stroke there is less of a gap between it and the sole plate.
The second issue I have with the wedge is that Northern uses the same size wedge on all of their splitters. There is no reason in the world why the 37 ton splitter should be limited to using the same height splitter that they use on the 22 ton splitter. A 30% increase in height would allow splitting through larger logs on a single pass and would also make the 4-way splitter wings much more useful. As it is, the 4-way splitter wings usually only split off small splitters of wood instead of useful size wedges.
The cycle time is unnecessary long. My old Robush has a cycle time of 10.5 s. That makes a difference over a day's worth of splitting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

If it fits it splits

,
February 4, 2014
By MRC4609
from Fairmont, MN
"This is an amazing splitter. By far the best I have ever used. The set-up was okay, took me about 2 hours. But once it was set up I couldn't believe how good it was. Any log that will fit between the wedge and plate will split. I can easily fill a pickup in an hour of splitting. The reason we went with this splitter over all the other brands is because of the Honda engine and the idle down feature. Definitely the best splitter on the market."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME MACHINE

,
February 4, 2014
By Hunterf350
from South Carolina
"I bought this to split my yearly load of wood. After many years of splitting with a maul I decided to go big or quit.. I made the right choice.. Very strong machine and splits perfectly even with larger logs. I immediately cut them to its maximum length and put it to work. It never skipped a beat.. I would highly recommend spending the money and get the big unit over smaller ones.. I will be using this at my hunt club and it pulls perfect behind my Polaris ranger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply... Awesome!

,
February 4, 2014
By Hugh1K
from Rice County, MN
"Starts easy, Reduces idle speed when wedge is fully retracted, and has huge reserves of power. Very well balanced so it is easy to move around by one reasonably strong person. Easy to attach 4 way wings to reduce splitting time, with amble power for 4 way splitting.
My only two complaints, and they are very minor, are these:
1. Base plate could be larger. When splitting a very large round in the vertical position, a log of more then 18 inches has to be held in place until the wedge cuts into the face of the log.
2. While it is well balanced for moving by hand, it doesn't have enough tongue weight for towing, and tends to bounce a lot. Adding supplemental weight to tongue (50 or 75 lbs of sand is cheap and easily obtained) should solve the problem. This may not be an issue for everyone... I tow with a front wheel drive minivan.
Love this product and can't recommend it enough. After suffering with a poorly designed, cheap no name brand for 5 years, I actually enjoy firewood production again!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent splitter

,
February 3, 2014
By TN321
from West Tennessee
"After researching splitters, in December 2013 I decided to buy the 37 Ton Northstar splitter from the Memphis, TN store.
The unit was in stock, & "David" worked with me to answer all questions I had- loading went very smooth & fast.
When I got the splitter home, about 2-1/2 hours assembly time was required, instructions were easy to understand & hoses were color coded for simple connection. As others have noted, 2 people are handy when connecting the beam to the axle/tank assembly.
The Honda engine started on the FIRST pull!
Operation in knotty, tough oak, sweetgum,cherry has been amazing.The logs this unit doesn't split, it just shears thru.(Crotches, limbs, etc.) Very stingy with gasoline, the Idle-down feature is a great improvement over constant high speed operation. I looked at other brands, double the price, which were not built as well or as high capacity- low cycle time.
I did add fenders and the 4-way wing splitter attachment, then removed wings- I had one piece hang up & had to beat it out with a hammer, the machine splits faster than I want to load without the wings!
If anyone is serious about a splitter, this is definitely the machine to get...
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter

,
January 5, 2014
By clydesrule
from Salley, SC
"recently purchased this splitter to replace my 15 year old home made machine. Assembly was easy and took only a couple of hours. The Honda engine started on the second pull. I've read several other reviews that said oak is hard to split. Oak is nothing for this machine. I have neighbor that owns a logging company and he gives me all the wood I need. We have a lot of gum wood around here that is hard for most log splitters as it has no grain pattern. This splitter didn't even hesitate to go through piece after piece. I don't know why others seem to have had problems with this unit, but I have found it to be flawless. I would buy another in a heartbeat. I love the fact that it can be used both horizontal or vertical as most logs I get are 20 inches or more in diameter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

37 Ton

,
October 16, 2013
By Bourbon
from Mich
"Shipped fast ,removed from truck with skidster. Assembled alone in 2 1/2 hours. Directions were clear. Honda engine started second pull (after i found the on/off switch on engine, 2 on/off switches!) Have split about 20 face cord so far. Have split lots of 24" white oak with gnarly crotches and did not skip a beat! The idle down feature is great, you can run about 4-5 hours on 1 1/2 gallons of gas. This is my third splitter & I'm impressed!
The only thing I could suggest for improving is a taller wedge & end plate.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

37 ton north star log splitter ..

,
September 26, 2013
By hulies
from ma
"i got this because i sold my 16 horse 28 gallon log splitter of 5 years it was a great splitter.. this does not compare to it but is a great log splitter it has some great features like idol's down when ram returns and mainly that and the fact that it swings down so you dont have to lift the big big logs... well right after i sold my splitter to some one wouldent you no it we got a huge load of wood.. ahhh and there is just no way i am splitting all that with a mall.. so this out of all the log splitters that swing down i liked the fact that this one idled down so i got this, and i am happy i did... i will be building a table for one side is the only thing i dont like about it it would be great if they sold some thing for that problem.. but i am capable of fabricating some up... this one has a way faster cycle time than the 30 ton and is worth the extra money so cheek out the video"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 37 Ton Log Splitter

,
September 19, 2013
By Irvv
from New Fairfield, CT 06812
"Hi All, Irv, from Connecticut here, to review the Northstar 37 Ton Log Splitter.
I purchased the Northstar 37 last September, during Northern's Autumn Logging Equipment Sale.
It was truck shipped directly to my door, within a week of purchase.
It was relatively easy to assemble, with hand tools, and the instructions given were clear, and easy to follow.
The machine always starts with the very first pull, and the Honda 270 cc commercial grade engine is smooth and powerful!
This beauty has split ANYTHING/ANY DIAMETER that I can get the machine near, even 3 foot wide, narly, knotted, twisted-grain branching out sections, of large trees.
I especially like the 'auto-idle down' feature, and it was one of my main reasons for buying this machine. It is a bit tricky, and must be adjusted every so often, as I think the cable must 'strech' going to the throttle, but it's just a minor adjustment, so it's no big deal!
Northern's Customer Service People are just the best, most frendly/knowledgeable and helpful, when ever I needed to call them for some question or concern about the machine.
I did a lot of research before I decided to purchase this machine, and I would still buy the same one again, after useing it for nearly one year now!
Purchase this machine, and you won't be disapointed!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

37 ton splitter

,
April 23, 2013
By baboo
from NE Texas
"have had this splitter mb two years and haven't found a log yet that it can't split, it doesn't even hesitate. Down here we have a lot of oak, elm, hackberry and I split some two foot diameter elm logs and this splitter went right through them without a grunt. Overall I would recommend this splitter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.