Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"

"NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"

Item# 1131
"This NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter's multi-patented design gives you premium components and exclusive features that let you save time, increase performance and work effectively. You can count on NorthStar to bring strength, durability and innovation every time. The backbone of this log splitter is an industrial-strength I-beam with heavy plate steel reinforcement. The patented wedge design, made with alloy steel, maintains consistent split and has a unique curve that reduces initial contact area for maximum penetrating force. Add the optional NorthStar Wedge Wings Item# 110910, sold separately to make each stroke more efficient. Auto-return wedge saves time and effort when splitting. The premium hydraulic system is protected by a quad filtering system that uses four different components to protect the hydraulic system from contaminants. Large hydraulic oil reservoir allows fluid to cool, reducing wear and allowing fluid to last longer. Slide-action self-leveling pivot makes it simple to switch between horizontal and vertical split. Designed to be easy to use in both orientations. Some assembly required. Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Hoses High pressure w/wire braid, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Lights No, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Jack Stand Yes, Engine Honda GX270, Ball Coupler in. 2, Max. PSI 3,500, Cycle Time sec. 14, Fenders Included, Cylinder 5 in. x 24 in., Dimensions L x W x H in. 90 x 45 x 45, Pre-assembled Assembly required, Log Lift No, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Oil Reservoir gal. 9, Engine Displacement cc 270, Wedge 8 1/2 in.H, Tire Size 8 in., Gross Torque 13.1 ft.-lbs. @ 2,500 RPM, Log Cradle Yes, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Continuous Force Tons 34.3, Ram Force Tons 37, Pump 16 GPM. Honda commercial GX270 series engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve, low oil shutdown and steel fuel tank American-made Concentric pump and Brand valve Heavy-duty steel-reinforced hose NorthStar hydraulic cylinder with premium Halite seals Auto throttle control to save fuel, reduce noise and prolong engine life Patented log stripper clears logs from retracting wedge Engine guard protects against falling logs and debris Heavy-duty log tables prevent logs from rolling off when split Adjustable jack with oversized wheels and 2in. coupler"
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (157 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
155 of 157(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beast of the East

,
June 12, 2015
By Letterman7
from Pennsylvania
" Bought the machine based on two things: my old 22 ton splitter finally died, and I believe in overkill with machinery. I figured for the price, a 37 ton splitter would be more than enough (though, calculated, the total pressure is "only" about 33 tons). So.. ordered, and picked up at the shipping dock as there was no way for a delivery vehicle to access my home.
Anyway.. a couple observations....
The unit ships in two pieces: the engine is separate and in a cardboard box, and the rest of the splitter is embedded in a steel framework rather than a crate. This causes two issues: one, the engine has a high probability of potential damage from being dropped or sat upon by something else and two, the crate package can only be picked up one way with a forklift - from the side. That created some issue when trying to load into my truck, as the shipper and I had to figure out how to load it "lengthwise" into the truck bed. We got it, but it was an unnecessary trouble spot.
Once home, I disassembled the crate in situ and was able to remove 99% of the components by myself. Assembly was fairly straightforward for the chassis - pay attention to the wheel bearings as another poster mentioned - and make sure you have a variety of wrenches and sockets available. I found that not all the components were metric... several fasteners later in the assembly were ASE. Once the chassis was together, then the beam and ram get installed, and this is where you need a helper or two. It's heavy, no two ways about it. And make sure you're on solid, level ground, as the beam is assembled to the chassis in the vertical position. It's not hard, just very awkward.
Plumbing is straightforward; one fitting on the valve assembly will not go on with the valve assembly in place - it hits one of the bolt heads on the ram mount. Remove that bolt temporarily and it'll clear. The oil filter.. is huge. Most homeowners won't have a pipe wrench or filter wrench big enough to tighten it, so be prepared to borrow or purchase a tool. I could only get mine tightened so far by hand (and rubber gloves) and it still vibrated loose when it ran (making a huge oil spill... oops).
Otherwise, the thing is a beast. In the upright position you'll find that larger logs will not want to balance on the pad due to the teeth on the pad and the height difference of the pad itself versus the ground. I placed 1" pieces of plywood around the pad so I could slide the wood into place without fear of it being kicked out for being off-kilter. Oh, and that's another thing... the blade. From the factory about as sharp as a bag of wet hair. It'll split, but only by definition. It mostly crushes it's way through, so take an angle grinder and put a decent sharp edge on that sucker.
So far nothing has stopped this thing. Even a knotty, elbowed chunk of oak merely slowed it for a moment. Once past the initial setup issues, I see lots of use in the near future for this machine. Once I get a year or so of use under it, I'll report back some more!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best wood splitter on the market

,
April 27, 2015
By milo26
from Northern Utah
" We have used wood splitters for a long time and this is the first that lives up to 37 tons. It is scary how strong it is. didn't bog down or bypass on any of the hardwood stumps that we split yes stumps about 36" through the center. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new log splitter

,
February 5, 2015
By EddyD42636
from Wantage,New Jersey
" A little tricky putting it together A two man job for sure. Electric hoist also a plus to get beam in place. A little tricky getting throttle control in right place. Move slide foreward and it's a piece of cake. This machine is a beast. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Splitter!

,
January 21, 2015
By Captron4601
from Austin, Texas
" I looked far and wide, shopped around, and checked a ton of reviews before deciding on this splitter and I am very happy with my purchase. This 37 ton splitter fires right up, runs smooth, and has split everything I've put on it - oak, mesquite, pine, and some stuff I can't even describe. Not super fast but extremely strong. You can split a lot of wood in a few hours.
My wife and I use it together. I load the wood and she works the ram and removes the split wood into a pile. We really like the height of the machine so we don't have to be bent over all day. We tried the vertical position and didn't like it. Too much work to maneuver the log into position. Slow and hard on the old back. What works much better is to roll several big ones into the front end loader on the tractor, lift them even with the splitter, and roll them one at a time onto the splitter. This works great with the smaller wood, too.
I also bought the 4-way attachment. Used it one afternoon and didn't care for it. It slows the ram down considerably and we found it quicker and easier to split the wood without it.
You might be satisfied with a smaller splitter but given the money I invested, I just didn't want to get the thing home and find it was underpowered. This one is plenty strong. Buy this splitter and you won't be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beast of a splitter

,
January 12, 2015
By aristippus
from Uwharrie, NC
" Putting it together is a bear, but after that it is a JOY to use. I can't find anything big / knotty enough to slow it down. Excellent splitter. Will update after a year of use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sweet, sweet, splitter!

,
November 17, 2014
By Jay1966
from MS
" I bought this unit two years ago (2013) and have split about 18 cords of wood. I researched and bought this unit because of the great price, value, Honda engine, auto return cylinder. I did buy the unit, bring it home, then take it back and let my local store assemble it. I am handy, but it is "a lot" to put together, far more than I expected. it was well worth the small amount they charged for the assembly and worth it! I have not had any problems with the unit, still starts on 1st pull, I keep it greased and would only recommend this unit to anyone that is looking for one. Fast splitting, busts right through knots - if you can cut it, you can split it with this splitter. thanks. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made, Sturdy, read about torque and 4-way

,
October 25, 2014
By culinary
from Hilsborough, NJ
" VERY STURDY and Well Made, however time consuming to put together. Also needed to purchase a Torque Wrench and then on some of the nuts you can't use a socket so you need to buy additional pieces to fit and work with torque wrench. Overall after around 4 hours it is done and just a leak in the filter (which was taken care of by customer service immediately) Last, the 4-way wedge is made Great, however it works great on the perfect size wood, big wood splits in 4 and then when splitting again becomes too small. Not worth taking it on and off since it is a lot of work to keep bolting on and off. So you end up with a lot of kindling size pieces of wood. Overall very happy and nice machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

more than enough

,
September 21, 2014
By kpacvt63
from post mills vt.
" Purchase and shipping went off without a hitch. Set up time was what I expected and simple step by step. This machine goes beyond what I thought it would. I had a huge pile of knotty rock maple with no hope of ever being split. The Northstar walked right through them effortlessly, It didn't even slow down. It actually sheared them in stead of splitting them. This monster will eat anything. It is also faster than I thought it would be. I would recommend this machine to anyone with lots of hardwood. I used to split seven cords a year by hand. This is all I need to save my body for better things like golf. Thanks for a terrific product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing stops this splitter, Outstanding

,
September 12, 2014
By 337AS
from Westbrook, CT
" On receiving the splitter all was crated fine, no damage. Assembly took a couple hours and you will definitely need an extra helper to lift the cylinder ram onto the frame. One set of wheel bearings weren't driven deep enough into the hub to get the cotter pin thru. I had to take a drift and drive them in a bit farther. You'll probably want to pack extra wheel bearing grease in the bearing as there is minimal grease. I was totally surprised at no leaks on the assembly first time. Vertical splitting is a great option as I was putting 25" logs to the test. Nothing could stop this splitter. Even logs cut right at the stump and knotty were split. The 290cc engine does fine and no reason to spend more for a bigger motor. Spend the money on the splitting tonnage. 37 Ton blows thru the logs. I am on my 4 cord of fresh cut oak and no problems. I like the idle down of the engine when the ram retracts. Engine started on first pull when assembled. Very happy with it. Bought the log splitter cover too which fits fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood splitter

,
July 18, 2014
By ja1878ba
from Central, MI
" The only reason I didn't give this 5 starts is due to the short and narrow stance as it's not towable by a truck (maybe 5mph), but it is by quad or side by side. I took a green piece of oak about 8" in diameter and almost split it in two sideways, the only thing that stopped it is the oak is green and stringy yet. Lots and lots of power. The auto return and auto idle down it the very best. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern's new 37-ton log splitter

,
July 4, 2014
By Justgettingby
from Washington State
" Finished the log splitter assembly with NO LEAKS on the first try! :) And, what a sterling piece of equipment it is! It's "old school" built and a far cry from the older model I've been using over the years. The super quiet Honda engine is to die for. It started on the very first pull right out of the box -- which is the very reliability and quality legendary Hondas are known for. The wedge operation of the splitter mechanism is extremely smooth, yet incredibly powerful. It splits logs faster and cleaner than what I'm accustomed to. I'll now be able to work faster while also protecting my body from so much unnecessary wear and tear.
I strongly advise familiarizing yourself with the installation process before attempting to assemble the unit. Though the manual could have been written more clearly and in greater detail, follow each outlined step as described. This will save time in the long run.
5 stars to the Northstar engineers. Job well done. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar 37 Ton Log Splitter

,
May 19, 2014
By MarkBunyan
from Northern Minnesota
" Using firewood as a main source of heat for our home we were looking for a mobile machine that would be capable of splitting the large oak that we are cutting off of our property. After researching many log splitter manufacturers the best overall product we found hands-down was the NorthStar 37 ton horizontal and vertical log splitter.
The Honda engine starts effortlessly, and with the hefty 16 gallon per minuet pump the machine has the ability to split anything we have attempted. With a large fuel tank, ample supply screened hydraulic tank and the automatic idle down feature the combination makes splitting a breeze. With the patented cast-steel wedge and hydraulic cylinder mounting anchor I believe that the machine will split the big stuff for years to come. The hydraulic hoses are also designed to easily transition between the horizontal and vertical working positions, without being in the way to be snagged by brush and branches while transporting the machine in the bush.
The Saint Cloud MN store sales members were very informative and helpful with providing the specifications and purchase of the product. To me this splitter has the best design, function, fit and finish. Four stars to Northern Tool. Thanks for an excellent product at a fair price! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJune 27, 2014
The new line of NorthStar Log Splitters have been upgraded for improved performance. This review and all prior reviews are from the previous model.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but could be better.

,
May 13, 2014
By Wiz64
from New Jersey
" I was missing a few parts when I started assembly, they were shipped within a few days. On first test run , detent valve was leaking from plunger end ( more than just a drip). A new valve was sent and have installed. Overall the splitter is very good, only flaw I see is the main fraim is very flimsey for this splitter. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Splitter - 37-Ton

,
April 24, 2014
By Ben07035
from Lincoln Park, NJ
" this is my first log splitter and im happy with it..
bottom foot is too small but everything else is good.
plenty of power...i have logs from 14"-36" diameter and works great...
every use have to be leveled otherwise hydraulic fluid will leak..."my property is sloped"
costumer service is very helpful- im very happy with Log Splitter - 37-Ton.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Likes / Dislikes

,
April 18, 2014
By DWaite
from Weare, NH
" What I didn't like about the assembly process:
1) Parts were hidden in the packaging for the front and rear outriggers.
2) Wheel bearing caps had to be beaten on, finess didn't work.
3) Nothing in the instructions said that the automatic engine idle feature has to be adjusted.
What I like about the 37 ton splitter:
1) I have been splitting wood for 13 years and haven't ever used a splitter that split wood as well. I split twisted, knotty, oak and maple some more than 24 inches in diameter.
2) Has the finest engine regardless of price of any splitter this size. The Honda has always started the first or second pull.
3) Haven't had any hydraulic leaks.
4) Contrary to what other users report, the Tip-Up Pivot hasn't caused me any problems.
5) The idle down feature.
Why did I rate it a 5 when the assembly didn't go perfectly? Because assembly takes hours whereas I expect to be running this splitter for many years.
DW "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

,
April 7, 2014
By retired2tired
from Fredericksburg, VA
" I wanted to give the splitter a 3.5 star rating, but didn't see any way to do that.
When I started looking for a new splitter, I wanted to buy a different brand of splitter because the local dealers of the other splitters did the assembly and testing. However, after looking at all I could find, it was clear the Northern was the best designed and built that I could find.
That said I find several serious shortcomings in the design. I've only used the Northern to split about a couple of cords so far, but I've got almost 40 yrs experience with all sorts of other log splitters.
My complaints:
The assembly instructions were not always consistent with the condition of the shipped hardware. While the instructions are quite adequate as far as giving the steps in the assembly, there were some inconsistencies.
In a couple of cases the instructions referred to fasteners already installed in a particular piece of hardware. In reality, those fasteners were included in the bags of assembly hardware. You waste time looking for fasteners that aren't where they were supposed to be and having to count inventories to make sure you have enough of the right kind in the bags.
While it's understandable from a shipping efficiency point of view, the instructions should point out that various parts are tucked in hidden locations within the confines of the palleted equipment, or, at the least, the instructions should warn you to completely unpacked each and every individual part before you start. I've forgotten which parts they were but I was certain that I had been shorted until I unwrapped the two support legs which were bound together and found the missing parts stuck in the hollow of the two legs.
The wings attached to the beam of the Northern to form the log cradle are nothing but an afterthought. I have a 30 yr old Robush log splitter,no longer made, but one of the models that pioneered the log cradles. The wings on that splitter are made of heavy welded plate, instead of formed sheet metal on the Northern.The Robush's wings are about 10" wide. Far better than the miserly 2" on the Northern's wings. Working in the horizontal mode, the Robush's wings will support the split halves of large logs much better than the Northern. It makes rotating logs for further splitting a much safer & easier operation. They're also heavy enough to take the beating from dropping 300#+ chunks from a loader all day long. The Northern's would be wiped out in short order.
Northern seems to be quite proud of their patented wedge design. I find two problems with it. One, it should extend further forward so that on the end of the stroke there is less of a gap between it and the sole plate.
The second issue I have with the wedge is that Northern uses the same size wedge on all of their splitters. There is no reason in the world why the 37 ton splitter should be limited to using the same height splitter that they use on the 22 ton splitter. A 30% increase in height would allow splitting through larger logs on a single pass and would also make the 4-way splitter wings much more useful. As it is, the 4-way splitter wings usually only split off small splitters of wood instead of useful size wedges.
The cycle time is unnecessary long. My old Robush has a cycle time of 10.5 s. That makes a difference over a day's worth of splitting. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

If it fits it splits

,
February 4, 2014
By MRC4609
from Fairmont, MN
" This is an amazing splitter. By far the best I have ever used. The set-up was okay, took me about 2 hours. But once it was set up I couldn't believe how good it was. Any log that will fit between the wedge and plate will split. I can easily fill a pickup in an hour of splitting. The reason we went with this splitter over all the other brands is because of the Honda engine and the idle down feature. Definitely the best splitter on the market. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME MACHINE

,
February 4, 2014
By Hunterf350
from South Carolina
" I bought this to split my yearly load of wood. After many years of splitting with a maul I decided to go big or quit.. I made the right choice.. Very strong machine and splits perfectly even with larger logs. I immediately cut them to its maximum length and put it to work. It never skipped a beat.. I would highly recommend spending the money and get the big unit over smaller ones.. I will be using this at my hunt club and it pulls perfect behind my Polaris ranger. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply... Awesome!

,
February 4, 2014
By Hugh1K
from Rice County, MN
" Starts easy, Reduces idle speed when wedge is fully retracted, and has huge reserves of power. Very well balanced so it is easy to move around by one reasonably strong person. Easy to attach 4 way wings to reduce splitting time, with amble power for 4 way splitting.
My only two complaints, and they are very minor, are these:
1. Base plate could be larger. When splitting a very large round in the vertical position, a log of more then 18 inches has to be held in place until the wedge cuts into the face of the log.
2. While it is well balanced for moving by hand, it doesn't have enough tongue weight for towing, and tends to bounce a lot. Adding supplemental weight to tongue (50 or 75 lbs of sand is cheap and easily obtained) should solve the problem. This may not be an issue for everyone... I tow with a front wheel drive minivan.
Love this product and can't recommend it enough. After suffering with a poorly designed, cheap no name brand for 5 years, I actually enjoy firewood production again!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 37-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent splitter

,
February 3, 2014
By TN321
from West Tennessee
" After researching splitters, in December 2013 I decided to buy the 37 Ton Northstar splitter from the Memphis, TN store.
The unit was in stock, & "David" worked with me to answer all questions I had- loading went very smooth & fast.
When I got the splitter home, about 2-1/2 hours assembly time was required, instructions were easy to understand & hoses were color coded for simple connection. As others have noted, 2 people are handy when connecting the beam to the axle/tank assembly.
The Honda engine started on the FIRST pull!
Operation in knotty, tough oak, sweetgum,cherry has been amazing.The logs this unit doesn't split, it just shears thru.(Crotches, limbs, etc.) Very stingy with gasoline, the Idle-down feature is a great improvement over constant high speed operation. I looked at other brands, double the price, which were not built as well or as high capacity- low cycle time.
I did add fenders and the 4-way wing splitter attachment, then removed wings- I had one piece hang up & had to beat it out with a hammer, the machine splits faster than I want to load without the wings!
If anyone is serious about a splitter, this is definitely the machine to get...
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.