Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter

Item# 1143
"Add wings to your NorthStar log splitter wedge for 4-way splitting and save work and time Wings bolt to wedge to process logs 3 times faster than conventional single-blade splitters. Application Wedges/wedge wings, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9.2 x 3.8 x 3.3. This is the wings only Splits logs 3 times faster than conventional single-blade splitters Bolts to wedge on NorthStar log splitters Item#s 1108, 1109 and 1114 Bolts on with just 5 bolts included 1in. thick blades are 9.2in. across when installed"
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
20 of 27(74%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Review 1 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The wing extensions are great.

,
August 16, 2014
By RDinMI
from MI
"The wings work great - one pass is all I need to take care of most of the log chunks. They even work remarkably well with very large diameter and knotty pieces. I should have bought them 8 years ago when I bought my splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wedge Wings on Log Splitter - 37-Ton

,
April 24, 2014
By Ben07035
from Lincoln Park, NJ
"very happy with Wedge Wings just too bad they dont make them in 6 way or 8 way.
the 4 way Wedge Wings helps lot...
im using Wedge Wings on Log Splitter - 37-Ton
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood muncher extraordinaire

,
August 20, 2012
By woodburner47
from Chattanooga, TN
"If you want stereotypical triangular pieces of firewood, you might want to think twice about putting wings on your ram. This product lets you drive an X through whatever you put in front of it. Perfect diameter round logs come out in 4 triangles. Big stuff comes out in squares, strips and triangles as you punch through the bolts.
If you have big bolts that you want to turn into burnable firewood, this is the tool for you. The time it takes for the ram to retract is not enough for you to toss the split pieces onto the wood pile. It's that fast. Try that without wings.
I would not have a splitter without wings. They reduce bolt handling and increase firewood production. Firewood isn't art. It's portable heat. Wings are good at making portable heat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Time Saver

,
May 7, 2012
By 7Derek7
from Northeast Missouri
"The NorthStar Wedge Wings are definitely a time saver... IF you want smaller fire wood. Ideal sizing for fireplace. They do tear the wood most of the time because the grains are not straight in the wood.
NorthStar could improve these wedge wings by angling them away from the beam slightly. Because they are parallel with the face of the beam, they always pinch the back two pieces of wood. With that said, the log stripper kicks them off easily.
I use the NorthStar Wedge Wings on the 37 ton model and love them. Wouldn't buy a splitter without them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for Perfect Size Wood

,
October 4, 2011
By BusBoy4050
from So. Maryland
"Not as good as I had hoped, my excitment has deminished. If have the perfect size log, great, one split! If you have larger wood you end up with a chuck that really only needs to be split once agin but has to go through the 4 way making smaller pieces. If you have smaller wood or limbs you get a good chuck & then a 2-3" strip to go with it. I rarely have consistant size wood & it's too much trouble to keep removing the 5 bolts. Some type of quick change, if possible, would work great. I will have to seperate the perfect diameter logs into its own pile when I use they again. They work for what they were intended but has some others have said you might want to save your money?? I love the 30 Ton NS splitter, it's preforming great on some 42" Popular it was never designed to split & I can barely move to the splitter. I'm a big believer in those Honda engines."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the job needing it

,
April 5, 2011
By Bill357
from Sterling VA
"I have the 37 ton NorthStar splitter with the auto idle feature. I added the wings, figuring it would save me time. On small logs (8" to 10" diam.) they work well. But on large longs (24" to 36" diam.) they get in the way and get hung up so you need to dislodge them from the log using the top frame on the splitter. This became annoying enough that I removed the wings. The next time I have a cord of 8-12" diameter wood to split four ways, I'll put them back on. For the price, they are wonderful. But, the splitter is the tool to have. :-) Bill"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Save your $$

,
March 14, 2011
By WMATREE
from West Brookfield, MA
"I bought these and had high hopes... even cutting small logs the wedge cuts 2 pieces too small, and the wings arent long enough to cut all the way thru, leaving you to have to rip them apart..
save your money.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wings

,
March 14, 2011
By guyray
from afton ,tennessee
"these are awesome in medium size wood but if you get into big hickory you need to take them off as it puts a strain on the splitter but other than that it cuts your time in half splittinh a load.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
March 14, 2011
By Shadowrider
from Rocky Mount Va.
"This works great on dried wood, also works well on green wood but takes a little longer to split. It is still faster that splitting the wood in half and then resplitting it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

log spliter wedge wings

,
November 23, 2010
By pilogan
from Wisconsin
"The wedge wings worked very well on small diameter wood but did not do to well on larger pieces. If you have wood that is 10" diameter or less I would recommend this product but if your wood is larger I would not since it will not save much splitting time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wedge wings

,
November 16, 2010
By f250tim
from Vincentown, NJ
"These work really well for small logs. I just take them off when I am doing the big rounds and then put them back on when I have only smalls left. It really does make it faster!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

,
November 8, 2010
By TC2235
from North Carolina Mountains
"I bought this with a 30 ton splitter. It seemed like a good product, easy to put on, and well made. Does not work!! I tried it for 2 hours. I split everything - oak, maple, beech, poplar, hickory, and sourwood. About 80 percent of the wood either STUCK, or SHREADED. The wings prevent the splitter wedge from following the grain of the wood, therefore it tears and shreads the wood. Read the reviews carefully, I took them off after 2 hours and worked faster with better results
because of not having to wait for the splitter to return all the way back to get the stuck wood free.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter

,
August 23, 2010
By kmg1514
from Prince George, BC. CANADA
"Each year I fall, cut and split about 3-4 cords of firewood. The splitting wing cuts the time to split this firewood virtually in half. I was simple to install (5 minutes) and is well constrcuted (heavy duty steel and welds) for long life.
KMG1514
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

110% buy this 5 star 4 way if you have a brain

,
January 4, 2010
By SCOTTTHESPLITTER
from JAX, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I will go ahead and say no need to read any negative reviews on this site. First is assembles fine if you have an IQ greater than a monkey. Second, a monkey can use this. Third I used it on wood much bigger than 10 inches in diameter. I used it on green wood and dry wood. Everything split perfect except the sections with knots in them, the splitter just tore that to shreds. I did buy the 37 Ton beast, so I don't know how the 4 way would work on the smaller splitters that accept that part but I probably could make it work with those as well. Also, it might split pieces into 4 different sizes that some would complain about but that is when you use part #2HANDS to lift and turn the pieces to split them again. They are worth the money....as little as that is or you can use the money to go get part #1AXE and quadruple your splitting time. The 4 way cuts your splitting time down 2/3s. I recommend the 37 Ton beast splitter with the 4 way wings! I like mine so much....I customized it for our tree business."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter

,
November 2, 2009
By Skeeter41
from Winchester, IL
"These work great, however on an oversized log, you get two smaller pieces and two larger pieces, then you end up splitting the larger pieces again, would be nice if the horizontal wedges were up further, to make a more uniform split on a larger log. Makes it very nice for a female that has to handle the wood, my wife stocks our wood stove every night and it's great for her to handle the smaller pieces. Great for campfire wood too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Close but no cigar

,
March 25, 2009
By JOANNE
from North GA
"The concept is good with this wedge but it really makes more work for you. Sometimes the log gets wedged. It doesn't split even on all four pieces. You will have to switch back to the normal blade to finish your project. Not a good investment tried it once and now I don't have any use for it. Waste of good $$$"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skeptical abolut wedge wings??

,
March 17, 2009
By KenfromMD
from Southern Maryland
"We've been splitting wood for years and we usually split pieces significantly larger than the splitter is rated for. Consequently, I didn't think the "wedge wings" would do us much good. WOW, was I ever wrong! We usually have one person working the handle, one person kneeling & splitting, and one person feeding logs to the splitter guy. With the wedge wings on, the guy feeding the logs to the splitter can't keep up! Plus, the wear and tear on the machine is cut by 2/3!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Cuts the Time

,
March 16, 2009
By Anonymous
from Cincinnati, OH
"This works really well for blasting through the wood particularly for 10 inch diameter and below pieces of wood. At this diameter it quarters the wood very nicely. For the larger logs the issue you run into is the wedges are going across the grain so it isn't as clean and you end up with some splintered pieces. By using my Northern 32 ton splitter with the wings I knocked out 2 cords in a day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log splitter wedge

,
November 17, 2008
By willy97
from Ohio
"The splitter wedge seems to be a benefit for certain size log pieces and really might be appropriate for some that may want a few smaller split pieces to mix in.
If you have a number of logs of consistent size for the split size desired then it works well also. I have not used it a lot yet, but intend on doing so more as the wood sizes warrant it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar Wedge Wings for Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great concept sort of

,
April 14, 2008
By OakHill
from Saint Francisville, LA
"I bought these along with the 30 ton splitter. Yes, they do work as indicated in the picture, but the resulting wood is rather small. It is ok for making kindling from the right size wood but if the log is too large or twisted, the wings tend to chew the wood instead of split it. The 30 ton splitter is fast enough with 2 operators not to need these. Also, they did not come with a 3/8 inch hex wrench for installation and I did not happen to have one. For the price of these you would think they could throw one in. If I had it to do over I would save the money spent on these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.