Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.

NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.

Item# 1148
NorthStar 4-way wedge system bolts to your splitter wedge to split a log into four parts, letting you get the job done 3 times faster than with a conventional splitter. These 1in. thick blades are 9.2in. across when installed. NorthStar's patented wedge system controls and captures the log during splitting to maintain a consistent split. The wedge's unique curve design reduces initial contact surface area, allowing the wedge easily penetrate logs. Slots in the wedge reduce friction and increase performance.Kit includes cylinder, anchor block, 4-way wedge and log stripper. Customer supplies 6in. x 25 lb. wide flange I-beam and hydraulics. Recommended pump 16 GPM. Dimensions L x W x H in. 42 x 13.1 x 8.9, Application Splitter kit, Pressure PSI 4,000. 5in. x 24in. splitter kit Includes cylinder, anchor block, 4-way wedge and log stripper Customer must supply 6in. x 25 lb. wide flange I-beam and hydraulics Anchor block must be welded to I-beam Log stripper can be bolted or welded down Wedge fastens to I-beam with included hardware Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Review 1 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 X 24 Log Splitter Kit

,
February 4, 2014
By shadytree
from Dallas, Tx
"I recently overhauled my shop built log splitter with this kit. I probably should move up from a 6.5 HP engine, but I haven't found any log that I can't split with it. Should have used this kit on the initial build."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log spitter kit

,
February 4, 2014
By SammieJ12
from Tyler, Tx
"This kit comes with everything you need to build one heck of a log splitter. I built an attachment to go on my bobcat and it splits wood like a dream it was mainly built to split the big logs into smaller more manageable pieces for the other spitter but with the 4 way wedge you can split them into just the right size. I would definitely recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood splitter

,
September 17, 2013
By Smemp
from Elk mound, WI
"I made a wood splitter for my mini excavator and it works awesome. I was very pleased with how complete the kit was and it had specs. for the I beam."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this kit was great!

,
October 15, 2012
By leeper
from dorr,MI
"this kit provided me with everything i needed to make myself a kick-butt splitter. i used an 11-horse honda motor with a 22 gpm open center pump and there is nothing i cannot split! i would totally do this all over again, and would absolutley encourage anyone who knows how to weld to give this kit a try!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

37 ton logsplitter

,
March 16, 2009
By jerryrig16
from Michigan
"I set this up so I can hook it up to my Bobcat and it works great. The instruction manual should contain more info,but other than that I am very satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter kit

,
March 16, 2009
By nono
from Agawam, Ma.
"This kit provided exactly what I needed. It performs effortlessly and will even split right through a knot. The special design of the axe head holds the log in and the cylinder protector knocks the log off the axe head well. The only problem I have had with it is chips will collect and jam under the cylinder protector. If I remember to clean it out with a long screwdriver, there's no problem. I would recommend this product. I also purchased the detent return valve also which works great and saves time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

advertised description

,
August 22, 2008
By whitedeer
from coal city, Illinois.
"I am very happy with the cylinder EXCEPT it s advertised as a 5" cylinder but is a 4 1/2" I.D. The outside diameter is 5", but that is not the proper way to describe a cylinder. If you have to calculate pressures, you must know the bore diameter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tons of power

,
August 18, 2008
By Captian
from CT
"Plenty of power. With a single wedge it cant be stoped. With the 4 way it had trouble only with the very worst of knots. I would recomend sharpining the wedge it works much better . I have a 16 GPM pump and the cycle time is long but the 4 way more than makes up for it . If I was doing it again I would get a pump with more GPMs"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar 4-Way Splitter Kit - 5in. x 24in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Splitter Kit

,
August 18, 2008
By GRTWHTHNTR
from Lawrenceville, GA
"This kits works great as a replacement kit. I replaced the hydraulic and wedge on my splitter with this kit and it works like a charm. Seems to be just a little on the slow side for cycling completely out and then back in but overall it is great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.