Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

Item# 1156
The Powerhorse log splitter is compact, powerful and innovatively designed, giving homeowners one of the most productive log splitters on the market This unique unit splits logs in both directions, saving time and increasing productivity. Your Powerhorse log splitter combines quality and value in a high-production machine - supported by rigorous testing and use in the field - elevating technology to a new level of performance. 15in. low-speed turf tires Optional high speed wheel kit, Item# 1158, sold separately. Some assembly required. Not for sale in California. Engine Displacement cc 208, Gross Torque 9.00 ft.-lbs., Log Lift No, Cycle Time sec. 10, Oil Reservoir gal. 2.5 hydraulic, Jack Stand No, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Hoses Yes, Ram Force Tons 13, Dimensions L x W x H in. 55 x 39 x 34, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Pre-assembled No, Log Cradle Yes, Cylinder 3 in. x 18in., Tire Size 15 x 6.00-6, Max. PSI 3,000, Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 12, Engine OHV, Pump Barnes 3 GPM, single stage, Wedge Steel, 6 in. x 7/8 in., Fuel Capacity gal. 0.91. Powerhorse OHV engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve Low oil shutdown, dual ball bearings, forged crankshaft Splits logs up to 18in.L x 12in. dia. Splits with both the extend and retract stroke, delivering twice as many splits per cycle Patented design allows the hydraulic cylinder to operate inside a supporting section, making this splitter compact and easy to use Log table keeps split logs from falling on ground 3in. bore x 18in. stroke 4in. wide beam Brand Hydraulics open center, spring to center neutral control valve 15 x 6.00-6 log speed turf tires roll over varying terrain 300-lb. capacity each 6in. rims with 3/4in. bearings 15 MPH max. towing speed 2.25-gallon hydraulic system capacity 6in. x 7/8in. steel cutting wedge 10in. x 23 3/4in. side trays Optional high speed wheel kit, Item# 1158, sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.82 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 of 50(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Review 1 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than enough power

,
February 4, 2014
By txdan
from Texas
"Was not sure that a 13 ton would be enough to split some of the logs I had ,solid oak 24" dia. took 2 men to lift a 16" section , handled it with no problem. It took several strokes to get it in two pieces because the head is only 7" high but as far as power it cut through it easily. Be aware that it will only handle logs up to 18" tall but that's ok for me ,all my customers prefer the 16" logs any way ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy this splitter

,
January 19, 2014
By woodmizer1
from Sequim Wa.
"Shipping was fast, assembly took 3hr with 2 people, I had one small problem, the fuel petcock was stuck and I could not turn, I did not want to put pliers on it in fear of breaking, so I called customer service and told them the problem, they said to go ahead and put pliers on it and if it breaks they would replace, well guess what? It broke, called them again and they are going to send a new tank with the fuel valve on it 2 day express because they don't sell just the fuel valve. Anyway I was going to dock it a point for the problem but It works so good and I was so impressed that I still have to give it five stars. I really think it will split anything that you would want to put on the splitter anyway, goes right threw big knots like butter, WOW. GOOD JOB POWER HORSE.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

13 ton log splitter

,
December 26, 2013
By JJ350
from Indiana
"Have had splitter for a month and has done an excellent job so far.I splitter mostly dead red elm which is very stringy and one of the hardest splitting woods you will encounter.I was worried about 13 ton not having enough power but for the price decided to try.Have split about 5 cord with no problem.The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was that the wrong hydraulic hoses were sent and had to make my own ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Where's my parts to fix it

,
December 6, 2013
By Dave1967
from Des Moines, Iowa
"I have had this splitter for 3-4 years.
It has gotten quite a bit of use. I liked its size and price, and dual split.
I need parts to fix it, but the problem now is that they have changed the design I have to buy the whole beam slide assembly and surrounding parts to fix mine. The cost to fix it is half the cost of a new one. .
This is the 2nd beam slide I have cracked and have had to rebuild the hydraulic cylinder also
The bearings in the wheels are shot, from moving around the yard?
It is leaking like a siv.
Don't overwork it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

log splitter 1156

,
October 18, 2013
By salm
from eucha, oklahoma
"The log splitter was delivered by a 53 foot long tracker trailer. I had to go to the main road with my pick up to get it. the truck was to big to get to my home. The driver of the truck loaded the splitter on my pick up, he made the delivery easy for me. The splitter weighs 235 lbs. I took the parts out of the box from my truck to my garage. doing the assembly myself it took about 6 hours. I put DEXTRON 3 in the reservoir because this was the only hydraulic oil i could get. The engine started but the ram did not move. I called Product Support and spoke to a tech named Mack. He went over a few issues that might work. Still had the same issue. He told me to check the pump that it may be installed upside down. They had 2 or 3 come from the factory that way. The problem was the pump and whan i reversed it the ram worked. Mack did not ask questions like, are you sure you put it together properly. He made me feel like we were working together to solve the problem. As for the log splitter it is a great splitter and the back and forward splitting really gets the job done. I have almost all oak trees and it cuts right through them. 13 tons has enough power to do the job. I would have given it 5 stars if the pump was installed the right way from the factory. they need a little more quality control."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter

,
September 25, 2013
By jlandon
from Columbus, OH
"This is the second season for this machine and have been through 12-15 cords without a single issue. I previously borrowed a friends 35 ton splitter or split by hand. Its been through everything I have thrown at it, some logs over 30" in diameter. It's easy to maneuver, sips gas and is just a plain ole great machine. I split 6-8 cords a year and Its perfect for my needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Value!

,
September 18, 2013
By Anonymous
from Keweenaw Peninsula, MI
"I actually ordered the 20-ton model but received this one by mistake. Northern Tool offered to swap it or refund difference. I decided to keep it and save the $200 after looking it over.
No problem with a solo assembly that took me about 2.5 hours. To make assembly of the heavy section easier, I just put it on blocks until I got the wheels on. No sweat.
This little machine does a great job, much better than one might think just looking at it. It easily handled large diameter logs up to 18" (the longest that will easily fit into my wood stove, anyway). It's very easy for one person to wheel around by hand if you're only moving it short distances. I've been amazed at the large diameter logs it splits with ease (although sometimes I have to lean on them a bit to keep them from popping up as it powers through them).
My only complaint is that the pump direction selector handle is too short and requires bending over the machine to hold in the return position. I've added a longer piece of PVC with an elbow and another piece of PVC so I can hold it there without leaning over. If you've got an assistant to man the lever, it's not a problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Piece of Equipment!!!

,
June 28, 2013
By bear1234
from Hot Springs, VA
"For the homeowner this is one outstanding log splitter. Plenty of power and easy to use and move around. Don't let the small size fool you. This equipment gets the job done!! Some assembly, but good instructions."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great afforable splitter

,
April 28, 2013
By Chris585
from New York
"I have owned this splitter for three years. It is a power house for someone that needs 15 to 30 face cord a year this will do the trick. It costs much less than comparable splitters and the two way splitting gets the job done quicker than the conventional one way splitters. Its 20 ton big brother I'm sure would out perform its competitors for less money as well. This truly is a great buy!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter

,
October 15, 2012
By RaAll
from Colorado
"After using a small electric 5 Ton splitter that keep blowing seals, I got the Powerhorse and it was night and day difference. This splitter is so much faster and works great on both the pine (which can get really nasty) and aspen we have in Colorado. I have used the splitter for 3 years now and it has never givven me any problems. I would highly recommend the splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love, love splitter

,
May 14, 2012
By Goatbeater
from Greenville, SC
"Plenty of power for the money. I used it for about 4 hours strait and loved every minute of it. The only negative is the assembly of it. I would definitely pay the extra $100 to have it already assembled."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Spliter

,
January 9, 2012
By happysplitter
from New Hampshire
"I was very happy with the quality of this spliter. The wedge working both way is a time saver. I would recomend this to anyone looking for a home-owner machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter for its size

,
January 9, 2012
By firewoodman
from Harleysville, PA
"I purchased this splitter over a year ago. I have occasionally used many different models and sizes of splitters over the years, but until recently have split most of my wood by hand. I saw and split an average of 12 cords of hardwood per year, and looked into purchasing a splitter mainly to save time. This splitter was on sale when I purchased it, and as I was assembling it, I was thinking I made a mistake, as it seemed way too small for the log size I normally deal with. I was pleasantly surprised when I gave it the challenge. I have not found a log that I can't split with it. Most of the wood I cut and split is oak, sugar maple, or hickory, up to 36" in diameter, and only on 4 or 5 occasions (out of approx. 20 cords I've split so far) have not been able to complete the stroke. It is light enough to easily move around by hand, the dual split feature is great,and I am surprised I haven't broken or even bent the log table (which has been abused by rolling/dropping up to 280 lb. logs on it). The engine runs great, burns much less fuel than others I've used, and always starts on the 1st or 2nd pull. The only disadvantage I see is the wedge width (a wider wedge would pop the dryer wood quicker), sometimes requiring 3/4 to a full stroke to get a full split on greener stringy wood. Overall, I am very happy with this product, and would definately recommend it to anyone looking for one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splitter success and more success

,
October 13, 2011
By polebreaker
from Hardwick, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The 13 ton PowerHorse lives up to its expetations. The photo shows it can easily split an 18 inch long 24" wide Hickery log. And on the backstroke it can take off another chunk until - if you want toothpicks - it slices this log like butter. Does a gret job on forks and heavy knotts as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse 13 ton

,
July 6, 2011
By firemanalive
from Gilbertsville Pa
"For the money you are better off with the 20 ton splitter, While this splitter splits very well, the 20 ton is a better deal for 2 reasons #1 larger log capacity on the length plus more splitting force. but #2 the best reason the 20 ton has the road axles and tires. Even if you do not go on the highway the wheel bearings on the 13 ton are very cheap and don't hold up to normal wear. I travel about 100 - 150 feet from the shed to my splitting area pulling with a garden tractor and I replace bearings three times a year. And if you buy the highway wheels for the 13 ton you have almost the same price as the better machine. Please take my advice buy the bigger machine you will love it. By the way the motors are excellent, they start very easy and run very economical with plenty of power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does It All

,
May 29, 2011
By pdaddy
from Mohnton, PA
"Just started using this splitter and it's all that was promised and more. It splits anything I can lift onto it. Hardwoods - no problem. What really sets this spltter apart from others are the dual direction splitting action and the cradle on both sides. I cut logs a little shorter as I feed a woodstove (as opposed to a fireplace) so I can load two logs on each side. With the back and forth splitting action, I can slam wood through. It;s so fast, you really should have a second person just for loading logs onto the splitter and keeping up with how fast it is. The only irritating part is having to stop and go get more logs so often."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

,
March 14, 2011
By toomuchwood
from Maryland
"I already had about a cord of wood that I was going to split by hand, until a neighbor took down 3 large oak trees and the tree cutter offered me the branch wood (about 5- 6 cords worth!). I couldn't pass this up, but knew I needed more power to get the job done quickly. I looked at several splitters, mostly electric, until I found this one. The price and the power made it an easy choice.
The people at Northern Tool were very helpful. The splitter arrived by truck at my house in 4 days. While the box was too heavy to move, I just opened it in the driveway and moved the individual parts to the garage using my kid's wagon. Assembly was like many other people have written - takes about 3 hours. It helps if you have some pieces of wood or cinderblocks to prop up certain parts for assembly. Fully assembled it takes up about as much space as a large lawnmower or a small lawn tractor. I bought a 5-gallon drum of hydraulic fluid at the local auto parts store for a good price. That's enough for 2 splitters. Got it all oiled up, gassed up and it started on the first pull.
The efficiency of the thing is great. I can easily split 1-2 cords of wood into nice small pieces in a single afternoon. I've rented larger splitters before, and the dual action of the Powerhorse really does save a lot of time.
My only negatives are that I wish it could split logs that were 19-20" (the tree guy cut many of the pieces slightly too long) and I wish the working height of the table was about 4-6" higher (it's low enough that over time your lower back starts aching from bending over). I plan on making a set of risers out of 6x6 timbers to stabilize it a bit higher to make the work easier and double as wheel chocks. Some people have written about a rattling noise from a large cotter pin and how they fixed it with a rubber bushing - I do hear the noise occasionally but it doesn't bother me.
So far I've split oak, cherry, ash and even locust (all green). Log diameters as large as 24 inches. Most of the time it cuts through like butter, and I can average 60 seconds to 90 seconds per log to split and quarter, depending on size (that includes picking it up out of the pile). Occasionally a piece that's extra wide and longer (the full 18") can't be split right down the middle, but you can work off the sides until it's small enough to split. This is where the log table is a back-saver.
It's so easy (and dare I say, fun) to use that my wife has actually come out and taken over the splitting, while I do the lifting. She says she likes hearing the wood pop. This splitter has already paid for itself with my current supply of wood (versus renting or having to buy split firewood). I'm now looking forward to free heat for many years to come!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is a moose

,
February 24, 2011
By Knothole
from HUNTSVILLE, TX
"The store loaded this unit into my truck, but unloading taught me what it weighs. This thing is a moose. I had to slide it down my loading ramps to get it on the ground. Putting it together was a little work because of the weight. The bottom line is this a splitting fool. It will split 12 oak like it was a 2x4. I am very happy with the engine and it's design. Little things like an on/off switch, convienent controls, and ease of operation make it a pleasant unit to use and be assured it will do the job. Just be carefull of your back."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this wood spliter is awsome

,
November 23, 2010
By cooljim
from PENSYLVANINA
"i got this splitter during the summer and i used it right away and it worked awsome and the shipping was fast to.i had no problem putting it togher and when i did use it, it split wood like butter.i have nothing bad to say about this splitter and i would recommend it to all my friends and any one that i talk to.the powerhourse made a great wood splitter and so is the engine two pulls and it started right up.THANKS TO POWERHORSE AND TO NORTHERN TOOLS."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual-Split Log Splitter - 13 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little log-splitter ever...

,
November 23, 2010
By BigAl47
from Norristown, PA
"OK... so the red oak and locust I had just received from the farm of a friend needed splitting and the poor little electric 2-ton was just not up to the job. Decided to upgrade to this guy in spite of the gas-engine and the fact that I may not use it as often as I should to justify the solution. You will definitiely benefit from some assembly help and if you can't find a friend I recommend three (3) good jackstands. "Some assembly required" translates into three hours of hard labor... but ultimately worth it! After making certain there would be no leaking from the hydraulics (make sure you have Teflon tape) I fired her up and began splitting. The ability to split in both directions really increases productivity and even the most spindly knots and burl joints are no match for the power of this thing. The log trays on the sides keep you from lifting the same log over and over.
I would have liked it if the slide were a bit wider to accommodate more than the 18.5" log length and when not positoned at either end the slide vibrates and is somewhat noisy... but I'm splitting logs, not hairs... so who really cares.
My son and I split two full cords in about two and a half hours... without wrecking ourselves in the process. I made a good choice here!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.