Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

Item# 11571
The Powerhorse log splitter is compact, powerful and innovatively designed, giving homeowners one of the most productive log splitters on the market This unique unit splits logs in both directions, saving time and increasing productivity. Your Powerhorse log splitter combines quality and value in a high-production machine - supported by rigorous testing and use in the field - elevating technology to a new level of performance. Some assembly required. Not for sale in California. Product Type Horizontal splitter, Ball Coupler in. 2, Engine OHV, Log Cradle Yes, Ram Force Tons 20, Cylinder 4 in. dia. x 24in.L, Max. PSI 3,000, Fenders No, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Tire Size 4.80-8, Pre-assembled No, Wedge Steel, Automatic Cylinder Return No, Engine Displacement cc 208, Gross Torque 9.00 ft.-lbs., Jack Stand Yes, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Pump Barnes 11 GPM, 2-stage, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.91, Oil Reservoir gal. 1.6, Log Lift No, Cycle Time sec. 7, Dimensions L x W x H in. 61 x 39 x 36. Dependable Powerhorse OHV engine with cast iron sleeve Low oil shutdown, dual ball bearings, forged crankshaft 2-stage pump produces 11 GPM Splits logs up to 25in.L x 16in. dia. Splits with both the extend and retract stroke, delivering twice as many splits per cycle Patented design allows the hydraulic cylinder to operate inside a supporting section, making this splitter compact and easy to use Steel log table keeps split logs from falling on ground High speed tires for towing to the log pile Brand Hydraulics open center, spring to center neutral control valve 3-gallon hydraulic system capacity 8in. x 7/8in. steel cutting wedge 10in. x 23 3/4in. side trays
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (99 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
98 of 99(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Review 1 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

OH, HIT'S BAD!

,
March 23, 2014
By getinhot
from Georgia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Well, out of almost a hundred reviews, I am 1 of 3 that had a pump problem. I have read a ton of reveiws on log splitters of this price range before I bought on 3/10/14. The 1+800 call and a new part in 48 hours may have changed, at least around Atlanta I had to work it out through the retail store.
I put the new pump on and discovered "Gandma Gear" from the 2 stage pump and started popping through the tough logs.
I was also plagued with a jumpy blade and jerky channel beam. The book says "air in the hydraulic fluid". I was making a mistake by throwing the control valve lever both ways and draining that fuid back in the reservoir before checking the fluid level causing a higher reading on the dipstick. Don't do that, It was something I read and a 67 year old memory. I've added fluid numerous times and rechecked the level until I emptied my 2 gallon container and without screwing in the reservoir cap, I am a tick from the full mark.
Yesterday I took "Old Ironsides", a dry Red Oak stump of a log that had been around for years and nobody could do anything with it. Up until now, I've used a 10 ton hand operated splitter and a maul. I whacked it with the 11571H and I could have made splinters with it. IT'S BAD.
To the guy in Alaska with the negative review and all others with motor problems. Not all engines can be a Honda. I own a 10 horse Honda that cranks with one pull. I've never had a used Briggs and Straton that I could not get running. I can tell you the Powerhorse is a fine engine. Here in the deep south where it's warm most of the time, we still have our cranking problems as well. But we have a solution that works on Weedeaters, pressure washers, lawnmowers, cars and trucks. It's available almost everywhere, hardware stores, filling stations, auto parts, Walmart, Kmart etc. It's called Starting Fluid!
If you are reading this and have not purchased your logsplitter yet, let me say, I beleive this is the best buy available. I had a storage concern because I just don't chop wood in the hot summer. This unit is the most compact. Other longer machines can't be stored on end either to save space in a building. There is no waiting on the blade to retract, it will split coming and going and keep you busy. All I can say is it's bad, "it's a real bad machine.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Log Splitter

,
March 13, 2014
By cptdsk
from Leesburg, Fl
"I love this splitter because of its ability to split bi- directional. What a time saver. Splits right through oak and cherry with no lag. You will want help putting it together thou if you don't have access to some sort of lift. I have an electric hoist on an "A" frame and without it it would have been very difficult (to heavy for one person) to assemble. If your looking for a good splitter this is it. You wont be sorry."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Log Splitter

,
March 5, 2014
By Waynenkate
from Valles Mines, MO
"This log splitter is great. We've had it for a couple of months now and it works great. I don't have any complaints yet. It's easy to move around by hand if you run the ram out so most of the weight is on the opposite end of the hitch. It splits very fast and has split everything we put in it. Very easy to start and as other reviewers have stated you must choke it every time it's started. The table is really handy. It makes it much easier handling large logs.
This log splitter is worth every penny. Wish I would have bought it sooner.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Log Splitter

,
February 7, 2014
By James1052
from Columbus, MS
"This had split any wood I have put up on the splitter.
I had an issue with it cranking, extreme cold weather.
I took the Air filter and housing off, then remove the linkage so I could remove the carb.
All was clean inside, but I still spray the carb with carb cleaner. Then reassemble. I notice that the nuts holding the Air Filter Housing and Carb on were not very tight. I made sure that they are secure. After this it is cranking on first or second pull.
@GregAK you might want to check this out on your splitter. Also this engine is made by LCT (Liquid Combustion Technology).
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse Dual Split Log Splitter

,
February 5, 2014
By BB1947
from Rolla, MO
"I purchased the Powerhorse log splitter March 9, 2013, so I’ve had it long enough to work with it and see if it was going to hold up. The splitter came with a two-year warranty, but if a company doesn’t stand behind it, the warranty doesn’t mean a thing. You’ll notice I’ve rated the splitter at five stars even though I had a couple of problems with it. Why? The problems proved Northern Tool stood behind the warranty, and it is a great splitter.
I come from a wood-cutting farm family and some weekends were devoted to cutting and splitting firewood for the winter so I know what I needed in a splitter to get the job done. I was going to use it for my personal use which meant I didn’t expect to need splitters as big as ones we used on the farm, but I didn’t want to buy one which would waste my money. When I read it was rated at 20-tons, I was concerned it might be a little light on the pressure because there were units out there with 30- and 32-ton ratings and bigger. However, two things helped me decide to try it.
First, the reviews were overwhelmingly supportive of the splitter. Of course, the company could filter out negative comments, but you can easily do a web search and if there were negative reports the company wouldn’t be able to stop those from being printed. Second, the price was in my budget range. It’s one of the cheapest you’ll find out there for this style of splitter.
I brought the splitter home and started putting it together. I’ll confirm others’ statements you’ll want a hoist of some kind or a relative/friend who will help, and having both would be best. I had a tractor with a front-end loader and it helped tremendously putting it together. Believe it or not, the one thing I wish would be included in the package would be a simple plastic tool to help put the hubcaps on, something round to fit over the caps to hit them on by impacting the ridge around the cap and prevent you from having to beat the end which caves in the caps.
As heavy as the splitter is, it’s very well balanced and easy to move around IF you learn to leave the beam extended to the rear. I don’t shut mine off until I move it back.
When I put my first piece of wood on the splitter it went through it without any problem, but I just figured it was an easy-splitting piece. I had another piece of wood I wanted to see how it handled because I had tried to split it with an ax and did not make any progress with it whatsoever. I put that piece on the splitter and pushed the lever. The splitter made contact with the wood and hesitated slightly, then started pushing through. I now understand why I couldn’t split that piece with an ax. It had a knot inside I didn’t see and it literally popped open when the splitter pushed through it. I don’t use an ax now as much as I used to.
The more I used it the more impressed I was with it. I went to bed at night thinking this was one purchase that was a good one, unlike other purchases I had nightmares over. One day, though, I pushed the lever and the splitter wouldn’t hardly put a dent in the wood. You could barely see the impression of the splitter on the end of the log. Talk about disappointed! I hadn’t had it all that long and now it wasn’t working. I called the company up and told them what it was doing and asked them if I was going to have to take it back where I had bought it to get it fixed, which was a considerable distance away. The Northern Tool staff person on the other end said there was a repair station about an hour away from me which was acceptable to me.
Upon arrival, both the repairman and I thought the problem would be a defective pump, but he later said Northern Tool told him they would send him a valve which would fix it. He repaired it and called me back a short time later and said it was ready to pick up.
I brought it back home and luckily my son and a friend were at my house to help me unload it off my trailer. I had not tested it at the repair shop, so we started it up and put a piece of wood on it. It split it without a problem going one way, but when we tried to split it again with the splitter going the other direction it wouldn’t split it. We tried it several times and the splitter would split the wood in one direction, but not the other. My son and his friend have better hearing than I do and they said they thought a seal was bad in the cylinder because they could hear the hydraulic oil escaping inside.
Back to the phone. The Northern Tool representative on the other end offered me an option. I could either take it back to the repairman and they would send him a new cylinder to replace the bad one, or they would send the cylinder to me to repair it since they already had my warranty information and serial number.
I decided to replace the cylinder myself because I wanted to see it up close and personal, so to speak, and it would save me two hours round trip on the road. I received the cylinder in two days. Impressive. I removed the old cylinder and put in the new one and have had no further problems while using it extensively during a very cold winter this year. Northern Tool didn’t hesitate to fix the splitter either time and I really appreciate that.
Some observations about the splitter: The splitting length is listed at 25 inches, so you will need to cut the wood at 24 inches or shorter to be able to fit it in. It would be nice if a 30-inch model would be available for those of us who have 30-inch fireboxes. It would also be nice to have a log-lifting arm option available to help with heavy rounds you work with from time to time.
The engine seems fuel-efficient and is powerful enough to push the splitter through just about any log you put on it, including pushing through any knot in the way. The steel platform is very strong and you don’t have to worry about bending it. As others have mentioned, I cannot believe Northern Tool has not specified a longer platform on the motor side to keep the split halves from falling onto the gasoline tank and motor.
I have used splitters which can work vertically or horizontally, but I find when using them horizontally the work area is “cluttered” with various parts of the splitter getting in the way, and when using them vertically it kills my back. In vertically mode you are bent over all the time. When using the Powerhorse, everything is at the right height and the area you stand in is free of obstructions. The steel platforms help keep the wood up so you don’t have to keep picking up pieces to split again.
Recommended? You bet it is."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Powerhorse Log Splitter
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best splitter ever

,
February 4, 2014
By LuckyG
from Nebraska
"I've used mauls, wedges and a number of splitters over the past 40 years. Nothing comes close to this little beast. If you have a lot of wood to split and don't want to waste your time, get this splitter. Fast cycle time and no waiting to draw the wedge back. I've run a few cords of hardwoods through it with no problems at all. Hackberry, mulberry, locust, oak, ash, it pops them all. I was a little concerned about it being only a 20 ton machine, but it quickly dispelled my worries. I have split rounds as large as 28 inches with no issues. The side racks are fantastic, you don't have to keep picking up larger pieces to split them down. What are you waiting for?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3rd year

,
February 4, 2014
By ML616
from Nixa Missouri
"I've used this machine on some of the worst knotty red elm the Ozarks can produce for 3 years now. The machine is compact, starts easy & will run longer than I want to on a tank of fuel. It will split much larger wood than the rating indicates, only problem is getting the really big stuff on the table, which brings me to the only drawback, it is horizontal only, it does not go vertical. However it really takes a 3 man crew to keep the machine running as fast as it is. Watch the video, that 2 way splitting action does take a bit of getting used to if you've ever ran one of a conventional type before, but is easily twice as fast. If time is a premium for you, then you will really appreciate this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wonderful

,
February 4, 2014
By wvuredneck
from Morgantown, WV
"This thing is a beast and reliable as heck. However this is nothing new based off of the other reviews. I will add that the vent cap is garbage, the first log that hits it will bust it off. So order a metal one to replace it asap. I also had a bit issue with the hitch and a new one was sent to me quickly. The second one fits fine on the hitch ball and was easy to change."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

,
February 4, 2014
By Cooperator
from Minnesota
"This unit is the best hydraulic splitter I have ever used in 20 years of wood cutting and splitting for heating. I have split any and all sizes of logs from 16"-24" length and up to 30" diameter. Doesn't matter if it is Birch, Maple, Oak, Ash or any other species of tree, this splitter will do it all. It literally cuts through knots, twisted grain and anything else that mother natures trees can throw at you. Have never had anything it wouldn't split.
The shelves on each side of the hydraulic ram are great for setting the log on before you split it and they keep the split log from landing on your feet.
The "split both ways" of operation allow you to not have to wait for the hydraulic ram to return to the starting position like many other splitters. Split one way, move the next piece in position and split on the return. No wasted motions.
I would recommend this splitter to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quit waiting, buy this splitter

,
December 12, 2013
By Bosk2420
from SW Montana
"First, my background. I am born and raised in the desert, so this mountain living is new to me. As such, I have been making a slow progression in my log splitting experiences. I started with an axe and a maul. That didn't last too long. Then, I went with a 5 Ton electric model. It actually did fairly well, but couldn't split some of the pine we have in MT. I also wanted something I could take TO the wood, instead of taking the wood to the splitter. I did on-line research for a couple of weeks, and decided on this 20 Ton model. I based my decision on the reviews, small size, good ton rating, and the 2-way split option. Price was also a consideration.
I did have a problem after I got it set up. Everything everyone else has said about how heavy it is, is right. I managed, alone, using a floor jack. Be smarter, buy a 6-pack, and invite someone over for the afternoon. However, once I was ready for that first pull, the cord wouldn't move. Something was jammed. At first, I thought it was the motor, but turned out it was the pump. I called customer service, and they shipped me a pump right away. As I took the old one off, I heard a noise, like a 'tink'. No idea what it was, but suddenly the pump spun just fine. So, I put it back on, and (yes, FIRST PULL) started it up. Everything seemed fine. When the new pump arrived, I just sent it back. Still have no idea what was restricting the pump from spinning.
Now, to usage. It works like a charm. If kept fairly warm (50 degrees), in the garage, it starts right up. Kept outside, below freezing, it takes 4-6 pulls. I recommend keeping the ignition off, choke on, two easy pulls, then ignition on. I get first 'hot' pull starts every time (when warm)
If, like me, you split alone, you will realize the 'dual action' splitter isn't really that big a deal. It is quicker to set, split, back off, set, split, instead of moving the ram back and forth. Now, if you have two guys, I can really see that being a plus.
Gas usage is low, it is at the perfect height, and the trays catch and hold wood before and after splitting. I can see the comments about parts being exposed to falling wood as being valid, but I simply work from the other end, away from the engine. It IS heavy, even to set on the ball/hitch. However, that forward weight keeps a solid working platform.
I have split about 2 cords of pine, various types. Where my 5-ton would get hung up on knots and twisted grain, this cuts right through. I have purposely selected up to 4" knots, and it goes right through them. I had some rounds my old spliter wouldn't even dent still sitting around. I used to have to cut them lengthwise with the chain saw. No more, this splits em like pumpkin pie.
If, like me, you are 'making do' with an undersized splitter, or aren't sure if it is worthwhile to step up to a 'big boy' splitter, hesitate no more. I am 100% satisfied with the performance of the Powerhorse 20-Ton."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter

,
December 2, 2013
By jimbob1234
from MA/ NY
"My brother bought this splitter this week as we had just completed a pretty significant tree removal project at the farm- oaks, maple, birch, etc.
After reading some reviews & watching the video he was a little apprehensive as he had just borrowed a neighbors 37 ton horiz/ vertical splitter last week with a 4-way wedge versus this single wedge.
The setup was helpful to have 2 men & a tractor/ forklift/ hoist of some sort. Took about 2-3 hours.
This machine split everything we put at it in the first day. We probably put 1-2 cords of fresh cut oak, maple, etc. We thought the single blade actually gave us better control than the 4-way wedge and let us cut large quarters for one stove and smaller pieces for a kitchen stove.
No problems period.
If you're a homeowner, farmer or maybe even light commercial operation - buy one.
HIGHLY recommend.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
November 5, 2013
By govikes
from St. Kilian, Mn
"I have had my 20 ton dual splitter for 2 years and I finally thought I would write a review. My splitter has been nothing but amazing. So far I have split 20" to 24" diameter logs with little effort. I am in awe of what it can do. I have no qualms about splitting larger logs. It also is faster than the typical one way splitter. Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
November 2, 2013
By L123
from Mo
"Have not found a log yet it will not split! Don't let the 20 ton fool you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Listen to the Good Reviews!

,
October 4, 2013
By coldhere
from Berkshires, MA
"Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton
I read the reviews on this product and to tell you the truth you can not go wrong buying it. The reviews were right on! It does take a while to put together, around 5 hours by myself. However when I put the oil and gas in it, it started the first pull. To split wood I only have to run engine around half throttle. If you have trouble with it shutting off check your oil level, if the splitter is not level and oil is a little low the engine will stop, (safety Feature).
PS: Buy the hydraulic oil at Northern Tool when you by the splitter, its the best price for quality oil.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse 20 ton splitter

,
September 17, 2013
By Anonymous
from North Texas
"We own and operate a landscape maintenance business, and we cut down a lot of trees. We also own 10 acres of woods in NE TX, so we're constantly cutting oak, pine and hickory. We have rented larger splitters in the past (34 ton) and thought for the extremely low cost of this unit we'd give it a shot. I haven't found a knotty log yet that it won't push through.
The two-way splitting feature is a tremendous asset. The engine is plenty strong and starting has never been a problem for us. I also love the side racks on the unit, it saves time and wear and tear on the old back. I've been incredibly blessed by this unit so far and wouldn't hesitate to own another. Can't beat it for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and Furious

,
May 9, 2013
By ShrekOgre
from Chester Springs, PA
"This is our second season with this log splitter. I just split 15 cords from a very large poplar tree. Poplar splits easily, but some of the logs were so big around that I had to use an engine hoist (cherry picker) to lift the log onto the machine and share the weight while the splitter crack away on it. Regardless of the size of the log, this splitter would just push right through leaving puddles of water squeezed out of the green logs.
We also split three cords of hickory. Tough wood, but this tough machine just kept on going.
It is fast, powerful, sturdy, starts easily. PowerHorse is a perfect name. Love it, love it, love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable

,
April 8, 2013
By Eric65
from Orange, CT
"I got this late summer of 2012 and split about 3 cords with it and then put it away for the winter. Before I put it away I shut off the fuel valve and let it run out of gas. Took it back out this weekend, turned on the fuel valve with last years gas and it started on the first pull! split about 50 logs. Have yet to stall it and I definitely put some big logs through....ALL hardwoods, oak, maple and hickory. The only drag at all is that I'm always alone and sometimes the logs are too big to put on the platform (not the splitters fault). So I will likely rent a vertical splitter from the depot for a couple hours just to knock those in half and then I'll finish them up with this. All in all I'm very happy, for a grand you can't beat it. Assembled it myself but I hung the ram and table assembly from an engine hoist while assembling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great - so far

,
October 17, 2012
By Lumberhack
from Connecticut
"The splitter was packed well and directions were easy. Assembly took about 3 hours by myself - definitely recommend having help to hold, lift, allign, etc. The splitter has plenty of power. One thing to keep in mind is that the splitting wedge is a bit narrow and not very tall [maybe 6"] - so some logs [large and knotty] the wedge passed through, but the wood doesn't split. This thing is fast in relation to other splitters that I have used.
CONS - the bars that catch the wood when split are identically designed. however, the "other" side of the the operator area should be longer to cover the motor, on/off switch and plastic hydraulic fill cap. One of the first logs I split, half rolled off the other side and broke the plastic fill hydraulic fill cap. [NT is sending me a replacement steel cap - thank you] I will be welding extensions to protect this area.
Durability? the proof will be in the pudding. But I expect it to hold up well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
20out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME SPLITTER

,
October 17, 2012
By DrIvy
from Manhattan,KS
"I have split over 20 pickup loads of solid oak last winter after I purchased this splitter. It started easily and never found one piece that I couldn't split. I loved the dual splitting direction.I havent added a drop of oil to the motor yet and it seems to be pretty easy on the gas.I also love the tray on the machine it saves bending over a lot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Splitter

,
October 16, 2012
By shabonxan
from Northeast, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Very easy to assemble with very clear and understandable instructions. Nice running engine that started easily. Very good on gas, does a good job splitting without being at full throttle. I do wish the hydraulic tank dipstick and possibly the fuel tank were shielded. Within the first hour of use a log dropped between the engine and the rack on the side of the splitter breaking the hydraulic dipstick. As you can see from my photo there is ample room for this to happen."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.