Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder

Item# 1159
The Powerhorse log splitter is compact, powerful and innovatively designed, giving homeowners one of the most productive log splitters on the market Attaches to a tractor's Category 1 3-pt. hitch and uses the tractor's hydraulic system to operate the cylinder. This unique unit splits logs in both directions, saving time and increasing productivity. Your Powerhorse log splitter combines quality and value in a high-production machine - supported by rigorous testing and use in the field - elevating technology to a new level of performance. Max. Log Size L x W in. 19 x 12, Product Type Horizontal splitter, HP Requires category 1 tractor, Ball Coupler in. No, Log Lift No, Pump Requires 3 GPM max., Continuous Force Tons 13, Pre-assembled No, Low Oil Shutdown No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 43 x 34 x 20, Engine Requires category 1 tractor, Wedge A36 steel dual wedge, Hoses Requires supply hoses, Automatic Cylinder Return No, Ram Force Tons 13, Cycle Time sec. 10, Max. PSI 3,000, Cylinder 3 in. x 18 in., Log Cradle Yes, Jack Stand No. Patented design allows the hydraulic cylinder to operate inside a supporting section, making this splitter compact and easy to use Splits with both the extend and retract stroke, delivering twice as many splits per cycle Log table keeps split logs from falling on ground Splits logs up to 19in.L x 12in. dia. Splitter heights adjusts for comfortable working conditions 4in. wide beam 6in x 7/8in. steel wedge Prince open center, spring to center neutral control valve Cycle time 29 seconds/GPM of tractor's hydraulic system i.e., 6-second cycle time with 5 GPM hydraulic system Open center valve Hydraulic hoses to tractor are not included Requires a 3 GPM pump for optimal performance Hitch attachment size meets SAE J715 standard for Category 1 implements Some assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (35 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 of 35(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Review 1 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SPLITTER OPERATION

,
January 18, 2014
By hamoperator
from West Virginia
" Have the splitter mounted on a Kubota BX-24 and operation is excellent. Kubota requires "power beyond" provisions in the hydraulic system and I could not convince myself the splitter valve would take full pressure on the exhaust port. I added a two position hand valve mounted on the splitter instruction plate to take the fluid to drain when using the splitter and then to take the splitter entirely out of the circuit to send the fluid to power beyond. Works fine but does required the valve and more hoses. So far it splits whatever I set on the table. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lil log splitter

,
September 21, 2013
By Stejer
from Nordman, Idaho
" This is the best and easiest log splitter I have ever used! It is a bargain for the price. It came in an easy to assemble package. Once mounted it is fast efficient and powerful. I have split dried hardwoods over 24 inches in diameter with this piece of equipment. With the three point mount I roll the rounds right on to it from the truck saving my back from lifting and carrying to the splitter. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

assume

,
April 23, 2013
By james60
from taylorsville,ky
" have had this splitter for several years now and it is still the best thing i have ever purchased from nortern tool. i made front legs with wheels and a third leg that folds up so it can be rolled around without having to lift it up.its so easy to use my grandson could use it "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Glad I Purchased It!

,
April 23, 2013
By B2320TLB
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" As others have noted, the box for the unit is not adequate for the weight. I opened the box to inspect it to make sure nothing fell out of the holes/tears and I think everything is there, but I’ve not assembled it yet so am not sure. Going through the box I noted that they are now substituting a Brand Hydraulic control valve and not the advertised Prince model.
At first I was skeptical based on my initial receipt of the unit, but now having installed in on my Kubota B2320 off of the backhoe lines (BH65) I am very impressed and asked Northern Tool to update my initial review and rating. It assembled in about an hour, and has a good cycle time with the tractor engine slightly above idle (about the same as you see on the product video for the gasoline engine model.) I’m not sure the hydraulic pump curve on my tractor and I know this splitter is rated for somewhere around 3gpm – so I’ll just be careful to not ramp the engine RPMs up while I’m splitting wood. I didn’t see any issues with running it at lower RPMs such as the pump or engine struggling – and it was nice listening to the diesel at idle rather than a gasoline lawnmower engine screaming next to me all day. Not sure why, but the B2320 requires the 3-point hitch arms to be locked down when using the BH65, so to be safe I’m doing the same with the logsplitter when using it since I’m using the BH65 hydraulic feed lines. Power seemed pretty good and spilt some larger maple rounds easily, but, as expected for a smaller 13-ton unit, couldn’t split some tough crotches – but I didn’t expect it to either and would have gotten the 20-ton model had that been important to me. I also liked that it was very compact – with the ram retracting inside of the unit it is very small, making storage easy (I’ll probably build a cart or something for it to push it in a corner of the shop when not in use.) I heat solely with wood so have spilt a lot of wood over the years with a maul. Now that I’m getting older, I figured it was time to start working smarter not harder - and both me and my back are very happy with the unit. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Woks great with small tractor

,
October 10, 2012
By A633
from Central New York
" I hooked this splitter up to my Kubota bx 24 and it split everything I put on it about 10 face cords so far. I was a little concerned with cylcle time on a small tractor but once I split the first piece all doubt faded .Only difficult part was finding all the fittings for hydraulics . Local dealer had fittings, 1/4" for tractor quick connects 1/2" for splitter. Local hudraulic shop made the hoses, 3/8" and assembled all fittings to hoses. Got it mounted to 3 point hitch and started splitting. My cycle time at 2600 rpm just under 10 sec. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13 ton 3 pt log splitter

,
August 20, 2012
By bobsr65
from central pa
" works great, only draw back is closed center valve . have this on a new holland tz25 tractor, 3pt lift won't work with the closed center valve. tractor only runs at 2,000 rpm's. it has split anything you can put on it.have split rounds 24 inch in diameter. oak, walnut ,maple. works great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Capable lttle splitter

,
May 7, 2012
By IslandPilot
from Charlotte, NC
" I bought this splitter to help feed my hungry new wood burning furnace. We split about three cords of every kind of wood, Elm, Alder, Maple, etc. We often split wood much larger than the recomended maximum by laying it sideways and letting her rip. I've been able to stop the cutting blade by overloading the ram but it has never failed. Sitting in the shed today it looks and works as well as the day we bought it. The little blue motor (my biggest initial concern) has run like a Honda and the oil was still in good shape when we changed it before we laid it up for summer. Great little tool for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Splitter

,
January 9, 2012
By wris
from New Hampshire
" I'm running this splitter on my old Ford New Holland 1520, and it has been easy to use and trouble free. So far I've only split about a cord with it, but I love it. Easily split 14 inch diameter red oak (that came down during our freak October snowstorm here in New England).
Setup and installation was simple, just needed to locally source a couple hydraulic hoses and away we went!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good match for my Kubota BX24

,
May 14, 2011
By AncientGeek
from Richmond, VT
" I purchased my splitter a few months ago but only got it connected to my BX24 yesterday and finally split some wood for a few hours. My cycle time is 10 seconds at 3200 RPMs. I have no problem going through straight grained blocks. I think my largest blocks have been 18" to 24" diameter so far. Blocks with complex grain patterns take some planning just like they do when I'm splitting them with a maul and wedges. I am splitting Maple so far.
The BX24 has all 1/4" fittings and being a novice in the area of hydraulics, I made a few errors while trying to make the hoses. 1/2" hoses are recommended by PowerHorse. I blindly ordered those and 1/2" QDs from NT. Oops. I ended up using a 96" 3/8" stock hose from NT. They are a little long, but OK. Also none of the QD fittings sold by NT at this time, fit my BX24 QD fittings. I finally purchased the QDs from my local Kubota dealer and the needed hydraulic fittings from WD Grainger. I almost used normal pipe fittings and then remembered that could be dangerous due to the high pressure. Also, i wish PowerHorse would state clearly what fitting we need for the splitter end of the hose. It turns out that a standard 1/2" NPT hydraulic fitting worked fine, but the mating connector on the splitter has what looks like the combination of NPT and a flare fitting. The hoses shipped with the splitter have the right fitting, but I couldn't figure out what they are and no one locally seemed to know what they are. As I said the 1/2" NPT hydraulic fitting is machines precisely enough that it mated well.
I agree with "TooMuchToDoNotEnoughTime" about the elbows on the ram lacking protection. I too, made a frame to make attaching and removing the splitter easier. I have to be careful how I position it so I don't rest on the fittings. I built my rectangular frame on a four wheel dolly so I can easily roll the splitter around in my shop and on my paved driveway. It would be nice if there was a way to protect those elbows, while still allowing the needed clearance to install them in the ram.
I did not find any need to sharpen the wedge. It seems to work fine as is.
Lastly, I found that my BX24 expects a bypass valve on the rear attachments. The valve on the splitter is not a bypass valve so some of my other hydraulics won't work when the splitter is attached. For example, I can't raise or lower the splitter nor my front quick-hitch without reconfiguring the hoses temporarily. It is very easy, but noteworthy nonetheless.
My bottom line is that I really like this splitter. It will be easy to store, less to maintain than a stand-alone splitter and saves a lot of sweat and Advil versus splitting by hand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use log splitter

,
March 22, 2011
By smallfarmowner
" I am very pleased with the power and ease of use of this log splitter. I have a small diesel tractor and I like how I can split wood with the tractor just above an idle RPM. It is much quieter than my neighbors gasoline powered splitter and because it will split in both directions it is fast too! Another benefit is I can easily adjust the working height of the splitter - no more constant bending over to move the logs around. I found it very easy to load one trailer with wood that needs to be split and have another empty trailer to load the split wood. It easily splits most red oak and white oak logs, the only trouble it has had is with some very twisted grain logs. Even the twisted up logs can eventually be split it just requires you to try a different angle on the log. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected

,
February 11, 2011
By td556
from Harrisburg PA
" I put this on jd 2210. This tool is well worth the price and expense of power beyond kit. I used half inch lines from kit to supplied fittings. side tables come in real handy, only need to lift log 1 time to split and quarter. being on 3pt hitch the table height can be adjusted for comfortable working. only wish it came with a level stand to sit on floor when off tractor "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Splitter

,
October 12, 2010
By Sawbuck
from Arkansas
" This 13 T tractor-mount splitter is a good splitter.
As with all hydraulic cylinders the return stroke is a bit weaker than the expansion stroke because of the presence of the cylinder shaft on the rerturn stroke. This shaft removes a bit of the area that the hydraulic pressure is utilizing to develop the splitting force. This is written for the fellows who have commented on the splitter being weaker on the stroke coming back toward the tractor. It is the nature of the beast, and you can't do anything about it. You will get used to it pretty quickly and if you are working with hard-to-split wood like I do, you will make your first split with the wedge traveling away from the tractor. So you can't really take full advantage of being able to split in either direction all the time, but mostly you can, just use your easier splits with the wedge traveling toward the tractor. It helps your wedge to sharpen and polish it a bit as explained in the next paragraph.
It helps to grind on the wedge a bit to make it sharper and then to file or polish your grind marks out with a file or something like that so that you don't waste power fighting a dull wedge or a rough surface on your wedge. I split pecan with mine, short lengths, but short lengths is what my wood stove takes. If I were feeding a wood stove that takes long pieces of wood, I would buy a stronger splitter. Also, with wood that is harder to split such as pecan or hickory, it helps to raise the piece of wood up a bit so that you are not taking a full bite with the wedge, say only the top third of the wedge. When you do this you don't have to raise the other end of the log, it can remain all the way down in the cradle of the splitter. This utilization of only the top third or so of the wedge helps prevent some of the sticking and minimizes the times you have to beat a stuck piece of wood off the wedge with a large maul or hammer. You need to be prepared because you probably will get an occasional piece of wood stuck on the wedge. You can do it with a stronger splitter too, if you don't believe me try splitting some green sweet gum. At least you will be able to beat the stuck piece of wood back off the wedge with this one because it hopefully won't bury up too far....hopefully...smile... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3pt Log splitter

,
February 22, 2010
By WBO1
from Texas
" This is a good option if you have a tractor with a remote hydraulic connection. It is much quiter than a similar splitter with a motor. I run my 50 horse John Deere at idle and it is works fine with pleanty of speed and power. The one improvement I'd like to see is the 3 point arms could be stronger. I bent mine on rough terrain and will have to strengthen the arms to prevent damaging the unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter!

,
February 19, 2010
By FletchLives
from Mc Donald, Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This splitter will fit all your needs and then some, not too big, yet not too small. The extension tables will ensure that a log will never land on your feet again! This particular model also splits in both directions, which cuts your work time in half! It's very well made, strong, durable, and built to last. Don't hesitate on this purchase, you won't be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
February 17, 2010
By swillinn
from new jersey
" Love the 2 way splitting. Love the side holders to help hold more logs and split pieces. Powerful, reliable! I cant say enough. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power house 3 point splitter 13 ton

,
December 17, 2009
By roadglide
from oakdale ct
" I got this splitter in the begining of december. What a great piece of equipment .I use it on a 12 hp kubota at half throttle and have split everything that i have put on it . anyone having doughts about it .Don't ,it will impress you! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Logsplitter-Powerhorse

,
October 19, 2009
By 57larry
from Bremond, Texas
" I needed a logsplitter that would work on my tractor. I saw this splitter and ordered it. It is the perfect size for what
i needed at a good price. I like it because there is no wasted time between cycles, it splits in both directions.
It has not given me any trouble splitting with the grain of the wood except elm wood which is very hard. I am
very pleased with my purchase and would recommend it to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use!

,
October 19, 2009
By Quimby97707
from Sunriver, Oregon
" This is the perfect log splitter for my small farm. It will split anything that I have tried to split. Some of the logs were a larger diameter than recommended. I had to have my Kabota BX tractor hydrolics modified to allow quick connects in the 3 point area but other than that it has been perfect! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my aching back

,
October 19, 2009
By dogwheat
" They don't call this "POWERHORSE" for nothing. This is the best log splitter I have ever used. I split an entire winters worth of wood (six cords) in no time. Only problem was a blister on my little finger and a blister on my thumb... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3 Pt. Log Splitter - 13-Ton, 3in. x 18in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for medium duty use

,
October 15, 2009
By Don2009
from Plymouth, CA
" I am using the 13 ton splitter with a 38 hp Kubota (300 hrs) and can't split 1 yr old seasoned oak. I have tried rounds from 4" to 12" with no luck. If I pre-split with mall I can finish with splitter, but what is the sense in that. It splits lumber great though. I am considering my options, maybe trading up is all it will take. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.