Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

Item# 1165
This Powerhorse Log Splitter has a 208cc OHV engine with low oil shut down and an 11 GPM pump that produces 20 tons of splitting force to split logs up to 25in.L x 14in.dia. Splits in both horizontal and vertical positions, so there is no need to lift large logs. Not for sale in California. Max. Log Size L x W in. 24 x 14, Fenders No, Cylinder 24in.L x 4in, Pre-assembled No, Gross Torque 9.00 ft.-lbs., Dimensions L x W x H in. 75 x 41 x 44, Lights No, Log Lift No, Pump Barnes 11 GPM, 2-stage, Tire Size 4.80-8, Ram Force Tons 20, Jack Stand Yes, Engine OHV, Engine Displacement cc 208, Automatic Cylinder Return No, Ball Coupler in. 2, Wedge 7 inch, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.91, Cycle Time sec. 13, Oil Reservoir gal. 1.6, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Max. PSI 3,000, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Log Cradle Yes. Dependable Powerhorse OHV engine with cast iron sleeve Low oil shutdown, dual ball bearings, forged crankshaft 2-stage pump produces 11 GPM Splits logs up to 25in.L x 14in. dia. High-speed tires for towing to the log pile Log table keeps split logs from falling on ground Brand Hydraulic open center, spring to center with detent valve Some assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 21(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Review 1 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

after renting a few finally bought one.

,
February 22, 2013
By leroy39
from Tyner,Ky
"I took chance after renting several over the years:its constructed and packaged very good but its a job for one person to put together but did it ,getting hydraulic fluid in it tedious from 5 gallon container and messy even with funnel ,very small hole after fluids and oil it fired right up and I split everything I had in short time and I love racks very solid and well constructed ,I split knotted oak and cherry ,well you name it and it went right thru it and cycle time is faster than big commercial line and I love it and auto zone has hydraulic fluid and plenty of it ,just use shut off on fuel line to keep carb clean and let it stop on its own ,love it and would highly recommend to anyone considering buying one ,unbeatible price and quality for the buck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor Quality Engine

,
January 7, 2013
By masonmca
from Atlanta
"I bought this splitter to start a small fire wood company. It was a great splitter the first season i used it. Then it started to get some engine problems like loss of power, surging etc.. So I ran carb cleaner through it and it didnt do a thing. Then i was towing it behind m tractor and turned too sharp and busted off the air cleaner which is completely my fault. the only problem is ordering a new one I looked at several websites and could not find a replacement. I ended up having to fabricated m own from sheet metal. The engine poblems coninued to worsen and i am now looking to buy a new engine. Its a great logsplitter when the engine runs. It had no problem handeling knots, and thirty inch maple logs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
August 31, 2012
By AWB8511
from Paw Paw, WV
"I purchased this splitter several weeks ago, primarily for use at home. I had read other reviews that stated that the machine was somewhat difficult to assemble. That, I believe, is inaccurate. I had no difficulty what so ever. I have split about twenty cords of rock oak, red oak, and pin oak, in addition to maple. The largest logs were 18 inches in diameter. The machine performed beyond my expectations. It split everything without one bit of trouble. I had just one issue, but that was my fault. The hydraulic fluid line from the tank to the pump collapsed some, but it was because I didn't have the tank filled to capacity. I would recommend this machine to any professional or Harry home owner."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Many Problems

,
August 20, 2012
By peshhope
from hopewell junction, ny
"I purchased the log splitter in June, 2011. Initial problem where the plastic elbow / barb would not thread into the control valve. After the first use, I noticed the return low pressure hose collapsing / flattening out before the nipple to the pump, causing the splitter to stall. After placing a couple of adjustable hose clamps around the low pressure hose , that helped to keep the hose open and fluid flowing.
The second time of use this summer, the wedge stopped and would not return. The nearest certified hydraulic repair shop for warranty repairs was 52 miles. The low pressure hoses were replaced. The machine worked one day after repairs. The next time the engine kept stalling. Customer service suggested several things, apparently fluid levels must be 100% full otherwise you have stalling issues, not the case here fluids full. I loosened the gas cap and kept it loose and things worked fine the rest of the day. On day three this year, I could not split one piece of wood due to the engine stalling. Again on the phone with customer service, again a trip to take the splitter to a warranty shop, only 8 miles this time, to check out the engine, I am waiting for its return.
When the machine works, it splits anything I put on it. However . . . Plastic elbows, plastic low pressure hoses, temperamental fluid levels, you can never be assured you will get a full day of splitting when using this machine.
I would not buy this log splitter again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. I can't remember a single problem with any splitter I borrowed or rented, except for running out of gas. Powerhorse aka Northern Tool need to seriously examine the design of this model."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

log splitter

,
February 28, 2012
By idfm123
from cameron wi
"very good power will split anything you give it,but in vertical the platform to push against is not big enough.The log is 2inches off the ground and wedge hits wrong. You have to put a2x6 around it to make it work good in this position. But will split anything with it's good power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

,
January 16, 2012
By KSScout
from KS
"My wife purchased this log splitter for me at Christmas. She had done a lot of reviews and chose this unit because of the reviews and the video demo. She did great! The log splitter drives right through logs with ease. The catch cradles on the sides keep the logs from dropping off onto the ground. It saves a lot of back wear and tear. You can easily tilt the unit up to split larger pieces with no lifting. The engine started on the first pull right out of the box and has started on the first pull every time since then. Filling the unit with hydraulic fluid took a bit of time. It holds just under 5 gallons. I found that pouring the fluid into a plastic gallon jug first, then pouring that into the unit worked a lot better. The unit was easy to assemble and even though some reviews said it is a two person job, I did it by myself in 2 hours. I'm very satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome machine

,
January 9, 2012
By rolandjeep
from Bristol,Wi.
"Heavy duty splitter,yet light enough to load on the front of a pontoon boat and split wood on an island. Will split pretty much anything I have thrown at it so far. I love it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a work saver

,
October 18, 2011
By b1gross1
from North Texas
"I purchased one of these splitters last year. It is everything I expected and more. Assembly was simple and straight forward. I am a home user and split wood for my personal use. I realized after I almost covered myself up in split wood the first hour of use that I waited too long before buying a quality log spliter. It split everything I fed it with ease. I got as much exercise feeding logs to the splitter as I used to hand splitting wih an axe and maul but increased my production exponentially. I just can't find anything I would change about it. Well worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log splitter

,
October 17, 2011
By gandolf36
from Grantsburg WI.
"I purchased this splitter about a month ago. I am extremely happy with this product. It has exceeded all my expectations. I was torn between this model and a bigger model. I am glad that I saved myself the money. The only downside to this product is the assembly. I got it put together and it runs great. So if deciding between this 20 ton and alarger one save the money and purchase this one."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What do you do for fun?

,
October 10, 2011
By Callgeorge
from Newport, Tennessee
"Got one of these log splitters about a month ago. Why did I wait so long? Now have piles of wood ready for winter. Assembly was an enjoyable challenge. Great not having to wait in line at the rental store! Thanks Northern."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't be beat for the money

,
June 13, 2011
By bcpop
from Minden, LA
"I bought this splitter last year and split over 2 cords of oak right out of the box without even a "hick-up". In the past I have always rented a splitter or borrowed one, and this splitter performed as well as any I have used in the past. I have started my second season and still no issues. Starts easily, and splits more than I expected. I have even split logs that were more than 25 inches across. All in all, a great spiltter especially for the price tag."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent ! excellent !

,
May 14, 2011
By pizzaguy
"this tool rocks just got it this morning put it together and yes rocked out nice fire wood for my outdoor pizza oven i split cherry oak and maple very fast and neat i love it and you will to
thank you northern tools
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse logsplitter

,
April 2, 2011
By Rick56
from Summerville, NB
"I have just bought this log splitter and so far it is very impressive, easy to use and with it being towable you can take it to where the work is.
There were a few issues whist putting it all together, but these were small matters and not worth mentioning - all I will say on the subject is read the instructions twice and look at the pictures in the book and on the box.
All in all a good purchase, Highly recommended.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Machine

,
March 29, 2011
By tug10
from michigan
"This is a well designed splitter. I have used several different kinds, home made, pto driven, and commercial. This one does a real nice job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

20 ton power horse log splitter

,
March 14, 2011
By Michael77
from East Texas
"I have used this Power Horse 20 ton log splitter several times this winter and it has performed very well.
I put some good sized oak logs on it and I had no problem spitting them.
The side racks were very helpful. and made handleing the larger logs much easier.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

woodsplitter

,
November 16, 2010
By splitterking
from vermont
"wood splitter is not designed to split heavy knot filled hard wood. guide will not hold the wedge, wedge guides bend.am on my third beam with guides. Have been splitting maple ,birch and beach. would not have purchased this splitter if known how the wedge is guided or heid in place."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Sparky650
 
Please wait while more information about Sparky650 is loaded.
Additional information about Sparky650 could not be loaded.
August 13, 2011
"This splitter is not designed for extremely hard, knot filled hardwood, or ironwood. It does have it's limits! However, that is not a design flaw and in no way reflects badly on this splitter. It has plenty of power for all- around splitting for most jobs. For extremely tough jobs I would recommend the 37 ton splitter, and keeping the wedge sharpened with an angle grinder, will help split those tough ones."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Culiau
Millstone NJ 
 
Please wait while more information about Culiau is loaded.
Additional information about Culiau could not be loaded.
same problem
March 14, 2011
"We are currently having this same problem. We also noticed that the Hyd. cylinder has play and this also causes the wedge to swing freely.
Are you replacing the beam? or just reweld the guides?
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter

,
June 1, 2010
By dlr103
from Northeast Ohio
"I did not finish getting it together when the neighbor needed it. They did not think it would handle alot of their bigger stuff. They were amazed - took the wood they had simple as pie. Think this has a lot of power and a good product especially for the price.
Last year we scrambled and borrowed log splitters - this year we are being borrowed from. The vertical aspect is what sold us and it works great!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Splitter

,
May 27, 2010
By smiffi
from Franklin, PA
"I received my log splitter a month ago. Following the instruction manual, the assembly was straight forward with no problems, with the exception of one bolt that had a bad thread. Since extra hardware was included, it posed no problem. The only improvement I would make in the design, would be to install a small vent hole in the hydraulic tank, with a removable plug. When filling the tank initially, the air in the tank has to vent out, as the the oil is being poured in. Since the air coming out, has to use the same hole as the oil going in, It can get pretty messy with oil overflowing.
I did a lot of research on various log splitters, before settling on this one, and I don't think you could come close to another splitter with the features, power and price. After using it for the last several weeks, it has impressed me, as well as everyone I've shown it to, with it's capacity and power.
I love it when I invest my money in a piece of equipment and it exceeds my expectations.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased

,
May 24, 2010
By greenmtman
from Vernon, VT
"Overall I'm very pleased with this unit. It been able to get through some real gnarly wood. Instructions were not the best, but putting it together was pretty straight forward. The vertical feature is the best reason to buy this. I had some very large logs that would have taken two people to lift, but I just rolled them into positions and split them easy. Watch for kinking the hoses when going verticle. For the money, a good deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 20 Ton, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Horse is a Work Horse

,
May 17, 2010
By Logs4Cabin
from Minnesota
"Bought this splitter 13May2010. We are clearing a heavily wooded site for our log cabin. Wife and I spent 15 hours this past weekend splitting oak, basswood, ironwood, elm and a few boxelder logs, it never had a single problem.
Working height is higher than the rental units we've tried, which means you don't have to hunch over every log while splitting. Controls are close to ideal, and valve lever can be operated from both sides of unit.
Used splitter in vertical position for a few logs, but seems faster and less of a hassle in horizontal position.
Wedge moves with piston, and at the final 3 or 4 inches of return travel there is a log stripper, which blocks any log still pinching the wedge and allows the wedge to pull free and fully retract those last few inches. This is a great feature, especially when splitting knotty or stringy wood, or oversized logs.
We are very happy with this well-built machine - should have bought it sooner.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.