Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder

Item# 1167
The Powerhorse log splitter attaches to Category 1 tractor 3-pt. hitch and uses tractor's hydraulics to operate the cylinder. Innovatively designed unit splits in both directions, saving time and increasing productivity. Log table catches logs as they are split. Open center valve. Hydraulic hoses to tractor are not included. Low Oil Shutdown No, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Max. PSI 3,000, Continuous Force Tons 20, Engine Requires category 1 tractor, HP Requires category 1 tractor, Cylinder 4 in. x 24in., Cycle Time sec. 6.6, Automatic Cylinder Return No, Wedge A36 steel dual blade, Pump Requires 11 GPM max., Hoses Requires 1/2 in. supply hose from tractor to log splitter, Jack Stand No, Log Cradle Yes, Ball Coupler in. No, Log Lift No, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Ram Force Tons 20. Patented design allows the hydraulic cylinder to operate inside a supporting section, making this splitter compact and easy to use Splits with both the extend and retract stroke, delivering twice as many splits per cycle Log table keeps split logs from falling on ground Splits logs up to 25in.L x 16in. dia. Splitter heights adjusts for comfortable working conditions Includes category 1 hitch hardware Requires 1/2in. hydraulic supply hose from tractor to log splitter
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 of 27(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Review 1 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

20 Ton 3-Point Hitch Log Splitter

,
May 25, 2013
By Llamaman
from Fredonia, NY
"I have had this product for 2 years now and couldn't be happier. It is ruggedly made where it counts and should last a very long time. I have back trouble and being able to raise the splitter with the tractor draw bar means I can work standing up, rather having to bend over (10 minutes of that and I am done!). It means lifting the logs a bit higher, but a small price to pay. One great advantage is that it splits on both the forward and backward strokes, cutting splitting time almost in half. Getting hydraulic hose from my 35 HP compact tractor to the splitter cost about $200, done by my tractor dealer. The thing is heavy, so when assembling it leave it on the bed of a pickup truck when attaching the brackets for the 3-point hitch. When I'm not using it I keep it well off the ground so I can just back up the tractor to it and connect it without having to lift it by hand (impossible for my 70 year old body!). The only minor disadvantage is that it can't be tilted upright when splitting heavy logs. It cuts 16 in. or more logs with ease, from yellow poplar to sugar maple and ash. My tractor hydraulics generate about 2200 psi so I am well below the rated capacity. If you have a tractor, buy this splitter!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT service

,
March 9, 2013
By jimmer14
from NY
"I have to say this company is absolutely the best I've ever delt with. A couple little issues were taken care of beyond my expectations between Northern tool&equipment and Powerhorse. I thought Company's with Staff like I spoke to were a thing of the past!!!! AWESOME"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter - Quiet, HD, and Smart Design

,
October 18, 2012
By 4Dutch
from Appleton, WI
"Great unit. Mounted 20 ton splitter to a 2012 38hp Bobcat tractor, and even though the hydraulic flow rate is only ~8gpm, the unit actuates as fast as any gas splitter that I have ever used. The dual action splitting blade is genious. Since the tractor achieves max hydraulic flow at low RPM's, it is MUCH quieter than a gas splitter and provides every bit of that 20 tons of force with a large bore HD ram. At 300lbs, it also serves as an excellent counterweight hanging all the back of the tractor. I would definitely recommend!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitte

,
October 8, 2012
By Libb
from Houlton, Maine
"Assembly required. It was mIssing some of the bolts and a support bracket had to be bent back into to its original shape. Once together, It works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needed log-splitter

,
August 24, 2012
By K123GPA
from Spotsylvania, VA
"I do want to say I love the log splitter but wish it had arrived in one piece. The pallet it was heavily tapped to seemed to have been caught in the middle of a fork-lift war.
The splitter works very well even though I had to use some heavy hammers to straighten out the parts prior to assembly. I only had to buy two parts from my local tractor shop to make it complete.
Overall it is a fine machine and well worth the cost."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
February 13, 2012
By loo030
from Nebraska
"I mounted this to my mini excavator. We put 6 foot around ash trees on it, and it splits them like butter. We love it. Since getting this, we cut only the biggest trees we can find. I have 3 years worth of firewood, just because this is so much fun to run. My boys really enjoy it, and neighbor kids ask to come over and split wood. If you burn wood, a splitter like this is the only way to go. I ignore the little stuff now. We can cut a load of big splitters in an hour, and split it and have great clean wood. A must have."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont use on a smaller tractor

,
February 11, 2012
By Solarboy
from Connecticut
"The product packaging was a mess. Lost parts and had to get them at the hardware store. Needs much better packaging. The unit is well built and very heavy. Went together well. Tractor hoses cost about $125 to buy. BIG issue is the hydraulic oil needed. The reservior on my Kubota B2620 is too small to get a full extension of the ram and not overflow when retracting the ram. I like the 20 ton capacity but I cant extend the ram so the 13 ton would be the only solution. The ram speed is slow but ok at 4.5 gpm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 25, 2012
By lazymansway
from Athens, TN
"Easy Assembly. All the parts were there and the directions were easy to follow. Connect the hoses before attaching the controls. As stated, you have to purchase hoses and connectors for the tractor end. I purchased 10ft hoses because I have a larger tractor. They are just right. After assembly and attachment, I ran through some seasoned hickory like butter. Can't wait to try it on some bigger logs. Great find especially for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

compact design

,
January 16, 2012
By goatmilk63
from Millfield,Ohio
"I received the splitter in excellent condition. I use it on my JD5105. I split some hickory without a problem. This splitter would allow 2 people to be working at the same time. The short design is great. I use 8 inch concrete blocks. Using 4 with one on top of the other and a piece of 4x4 on each,gives me the height to unhook and hook up. Assembly was simple and the hydro fittings even had thread sealer already applied."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse Dual Log Splitter

,
October 17, 2011
By DMTPJT
from Glenburn, Maine
"More than we could ask for. Easy to use, the dual action is a time saver and a wonderful feature. We purchased one last year and it was stolen and we immediately ordered another. Easy start up, splits logs very easily and quickly, we were able to have our wood in and ready to use early this year thanks to our Powerhorse. Wouldn't go with another brand, we love this."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 3pt splitter for the $$$$ EVER!!

,
October 10, 2011
By sparkplug1911
from Stony Point, NC
"Recieved the splitter about a month ago. Was easy to assemble and directions were easy to follow. I work as a service manager at a power equipment store and we actually have access to log splitters from several distributors. I wanted a splitter that would hook up to my tractor and not cost $3000. This is the best 3-point log splitter for the money on the market. I have a conventional "trailer style" log splitter that I also use & the Powerhorse split all the logs I left in a pile from last year that it couldn't handle. The dual splitting action of the Powerhorse shaved off about 30 to 45 minutes per chord of wood off compared to my other splitter. The contols are right at you fingertips and is easy to operate. I have the splitter hooked up to a Massy Ferguson 451D and you can run the tractor at almost IDLE, so you don't have to worry about using a ton of diesel while you are working. Would be nice to have a stand to put it on so it's easier to hook up instead of being on the ground, but its nothing a few pallets to sit it on won't fix. Overall this is a great product and I would reccommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good for the money

,
August 11, 2011
By MoreWood
from Livermore Falls,ME
"I got this splitter after looking at a similar splitter for about 4 times the money and just couldn't see the 4X cost. After reading many reviews I pulled the trigger and got this splitter for my JD 5205.
Pros:
1.) Small & Compact
2.) Work tables on the sides are GREAT
3.) Haven't had anything that I can't split (After grabbing the nasty wood and trying to make it fail)
4.) Speed with the double split is very good but still feels safe
5.) Simple to assemble, took about 35-40 min
Cons:
1.) Not exactly a heavy duty unit but it seems to be adequate
2.) The 3 point mount for the lower lift arms pins is weak (only 1/4 this with no ribbing) ... I bent one by traveling down the road and hitting a bump. I have a machine shop so fixing this is not a big deal.
3.) Should have a stand but if you have some 12 X 12's you will be all set
4.) Hard to grease the inner most of the slide and I think it is going to get some grease fittings
5.) With the slide coming out away from the tractor it is easy to get grease on your pants.
Conclusion:
I am very pleased with the unit. I couldn't build one for the price and with the changes that I am making I think it will last me a good long time. If you are thinking about getting one please do so it is worth it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Package insufficient/Product solid

,
July 12, 2011
By Maineuropaalso
from Lyman, ME
"Splitter arrived with damaged container, parts falling out. Fortunately the delivering carrier came back with the missing parts. This product is too heavy to be shipped without being strapped to a pallet.
Assembly: Some skills required: sequence issues wrt the hydraulic lines and the mounting of the valve: you cannot attach the hose coupling after the valve is mounted.
Operation: 955 Deere will operate this splitter, but the volume will be such that you will use high rpms / alot of diesel to run the shuttle beyond a snail pace. But the smaller unit is too small for the 955 so... it does split wood quite well, and the dual shuttle direction makes up for the slow wedge travel. This unit appears to be well constructed, solid and should last a good time.
After use you will want to build a 2 foot high table base to support the splitter when detached from the tractor, or you will struggle to mount to the three point hitch.
SO if you have a tractor with sufficient pressure and volume to run this unit, it should give you good service for many years.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter

,
June 6, 2011
By TheGreeneone
"Just recieved this splitter last week. Easy assembly and great product manaual and assembly directions. This has to be the best 3-point log splitter available, as I have done a lot of research over the last year on much more expensive units. This splitter is great value and overall design with splitting in two directions to increase cycle time and productivity. I split 2 cords in approximately 3.5 hours with no help and the splitter split everything from nice straight grained white oak to knotted pieces of elm, effortlessly. Unit is running off a John Deere 3320 with a power beyond setup for a backhoe attachment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Bo65
Washinton State 
 
Please wait while more information about Bo65 is loaded.
Additional information about Bo65 could not be loaded.
M11591 3-Pt Log Splitter
October 11, 2012
"This is an extremely well engineered product, the highlights being that it splits on both strokes of the piston and has strong, properly sized log cradles. Easy assembly when supported on my tractor's forks, excellent instructions, all parts shipped, and only a few wrenches needed. Took me 1 hour and 10 minutes to get operational. On my 42 HP tractor this makes for easy work, and on the 3-Pt elevates to exactly where I need it. Who would have thought- an 'ergonomic' log splitter. I was considering buying the gas engine version of this, so as not to encumber the tractor, but asked why buy another engine to malfunction. Easy on/ off mounting from a sawhorse platform. I run the tractor at 1500 RPM. No buyer's remorse on this implement. Five stars."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Splitter

,
March 21, 2011
By Bigun2
from Western NC
"I was hesitant to buy a splitter like this as every other one I've tried that runs off of a tractor system was very slow. This one really surprised me. It is fast and powerful. I had to buy connecting hoses to connect to my Ford #1920 but wasn't too bad as I already had the hook-up for a back hoe so All I needed were hoses and ends to connect to them. The only drawback that I have found is for splitting really huge logs, just too heavy to lift up and on the rack."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

handy design

,
March 14, 2011
By Ansulex
from North East Pennsylvania
"I have been cutting and splitting wood for over 30 years and I love this product, so handy for 2 person splitting cuts our time splitting in half
only criticism I would make is a larger wedge on the splitter would be better for splitting those knotty stuburn blocks as well as "popping" the blocks apart faster avoiding jamming up the wedge.
quik assembly with standard tools (took an hour) fairly straight forward instructions.
remember you will need to have at least 2- 8' pieces of hose made to connect to your tractor. also note that the top pin bracket for the 3 point hitc h hook up is made for the smaller class hitch, I had to use a smaller bolt to hook it up rather then the pin supplied.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

On Kubota B2320

,
January 7, 2011
By Whitehair1
from Morriston, Fl
"I put this on my 25HP Kubota B2320 and it works great just above idle. I built a rack before bringing it home with specs from another rater and slight mods to fit my machine. The side racks are worth their weight in gold! I bought 2 15' hoses with quick disconnects on the loader end. I connect them to the bucket lift ports, mine are coded white and yellow. It did take about 5 quarts of fluid to bleed the system. Glad I read the Kubota manuel they WARN NOT to connect anything to the bucket tilt. I bungee my bucket control stick back to the ROPS and go to work, takes about two minutes to connect. Dont forget to put plenty of quality grease on the slide before you start splitting and dont sharpen the wedge, you want to split the wood not cut it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly a product that lives up to expectations

,
October 15, 2010
By breeswood
"I just finished splitting about 3 cords of fire wood for the winter (in about 4 hours !) This splitter will do anything you ask of it. I wa sputting 2ft. diameter 18" long white fir logs that had been standing dead for about a year. These are knotty, stringy, stubborn things that you just can't split by hand. The side racks are worth their weight in gold; no more lifting every log two or three times. And the two way splitting action allows smooth and efficient motion. The only somewhat negative part was the cost of the hydraulic hoses and fittings. I'm using a John Deere 4600 and it needed 2 15 foot hoses to reach the front ports. (would need less if you had rear ports). Setting up was a breeze. Look in the back of the manual for assembly instructions. I didn't find them before I was finished but still had no problems. Overall I couldn't be happier with this product and especially since it was made in the USA."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Splitter, BUT. . . .

,
September 20, 2010
By JDeere1520
from Ozarks
"Pros:
A well-made tool. Easy to put together. Works as advertised. Prompt shipping.
I like it!
Cons:
1. No where is it indicated that the directional control is open center, and that Northern has no other option available. A call to customer service resulted in courteous service, and attempts to help, but ultimately they were only able to tell me that they couldn't help me with a closed center valve, and that I was on my own.
A call was made to Brand Hydraulics, the maker of the valve, and they quickly identified the closed center spool that was needed. After a quick check with Brand engineering, I confirmed that this was a swap out operation that I could do myself.
But, Brand does not sell to individuals, and I had to contact one of their distributors. Got several names and numbers from Brand, then called one. Got prompt service there, and confirmed that Brand had this in stock, at a reasonable price. The downside is that Brand has a $50.00 minimum order, so I had to order two spools.
Wouldn't it make sense for Northern/PowerHorse to stock this closed center spool, or to offer the option of getting the splitter with either an open center, or closed center valve?
2. A bit more care in the packaging would result in less paint being scrubbed off during shipping. It was pretty well packed, just needed more attention to detail. If they're going to go through the trouble to do such a nice paint job, it would be a good idea to protect that so that it makes it to the customer with good paint. Note: This was not the fault of the trucking company.
3. Not a complaint, and to be expected, but be aware that one will spend another $125.00 on hoses, hydraulic fluid, and cable ties."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Horizontal Dual Split 3-Pt. Log Splitter - 20-Ton, 4in. x 24in. Cylinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Build a carriage

,
September 9, 2010
By 4020
from Vermont
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Powerhorse 20 Ton 3 Point Hitch Log Splitter
I split several cords of 30” diam maple, oak and poplar with no problem by splitting off sides first. Splitter has noticeably more power pushing wedge away from tractor.
Powerhorse 20 Ton 3 Point Hitch Log Splitter Carriage
If you have a hard surface floor this is a handy roll around carriage for the Powerhorse 20 ton 3point hitch log splitter (item# 1167).
Materials (all 2x6s):
(2) 43” side rails
(2) 12” rear legs (outside of side rails)
(2) 9” front legs (outside of side rails)
(3) 20” ends and top rear plate
(4) 4” tall castors
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.