Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine

Item# 1175
This heavy-duty Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter is engineered to combine strength and innovation, creating a log splitter that is powerful, efficient and easy-to-use. It has a premium hydraulic system that includes a superior quality valve, wire-reinforced hoses, a 11 GPM cast iron pump with heavy-duty bracket and Zinga-made Powerhorse filter. The reliable Powerhorse engine has industrial-strength components, high-quality ball bearings, low oil shutdown, a cast iron sleeve and a steel fuel tank. Heavy-duty pivot for horizontal and vertical splitting. Tapered wedge splits all woods with ease. I-beam construction for less beam deflection during log splitting. Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Ball Coupler in. 2, Cycle Time sec. 13, Dimensions L x W x H in. 86 1/2 x 43 x 15 1/2, Engine Powerhorse OHV, Engine Displacement cc 208, Fenders Optional kit, Item# 1181 available, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.8, Log Cradle Yes, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Max. Log Size L x W in. 25 x 16, Gross Torque 10 ft. lbs. @ 2,800 RPM, Oil Reservoir gal. 6, Pre-assembled Assembly required, Pump 11 GPM, Max. PSI 3,000, Cylinder 4 in. x 24 in., Hoses High pressure w/wire braid, Product Type Horizontal/vertical splitter, Wedge 7 3/4 in. H, Jack Stand Leg, Lights No, Log Lift No, Tire Size 8 inch, Ram Force Tons 22. Heavy-duty hydraulic system protects and extends the life of hydraulic system components by preventing contaminants from entering and circulating through the system 10 Micron Zinga-made Powerhorse filter removes contaminants created during operation or introduced when adding or changing oil 100 Mesh suction strainer acts as a pre-filter to prolong the life of the return line filter, valve, pump and cylinder and also prevents contaminants from passing through system components up stream of the return line filter 40 micron breather prevents airborne contaminants from entering the hydraulic system Inlet and outlet locations are on opposite sides of the tank to promotes cooling of the hydraulic fluid by increasing its travel time Reinforced stripper design, quadruple-gusseted, thick-plate steel construction with an angled stripping surface holds up to any stuck or jammed log Powerhorse tapered wedge system controls and captures the log during splitting to maintain a consistent split Wedge's tapered design reduces initial contact surface area, allowing wedge to penetrate all types of wood with less resistance Rated for fully loaded continuous use, I beam construction with thick endplate and trunnion mounts, prevents bending, twisting, or breaking High speed tires for towing up to 45 mph Log cradles catch logs when split Heavy-duty pivot design allows for easy transition from horizontal to vertical positions Optional steel fenders protect unit from dirt and road spray 2in. ball coupler for easy towing Auto-return wedge saves time and effort
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Review 1 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

,
October 13, 2014
By cherokee2413
from bonnieville ky
"Purchased product ran for est on hour quit splitting logs, returned for repairs. picked up used for est one hour and machine stopped spitting wood motor works fine hydraulics failed for a second time. this will be my second time returning for repairs and have not used a tank of fuel. I did write a review before this one but I still don't see on the review board."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

22 Ton is all you need

,
October 9, 2014
By LoggerPhil
from Gresham, Oregon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I shopped around for the best price on a good splitter that would work vertically (besides horizontally). For those of us who have split many, many cords of wood, especially large billets, the vertical mode is essential.
Assembly was straightforward, even the hydraulic components.
Fuel efficiency is good. I am an old man, and I can get rather tired before the fuel runs out. I am old, but in a partial day, I split all the stove wood I expect to need for this winter. The splitter can do the job. You really don't need "more tons" than 22.
The machine splits knotty dry cherry, "highly figured" maple, etc. I only wish I had purchased it on sale, but at the time, it was the best price for the quality.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 18, 2014
By Skyk31
from MT
"Had this for two years... It is all you need... Splits everything... Engine starts even in sub zero temps... I was skeptical when arrived but no more... It is a workhorse for sure..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Splitter

,
August 18, 2014
By LarryDDS
from Pennsylvania
"I've used splitters over the years, and this one seems to be top notch. My only concern is the torque that is put on the piston since the splitting head is attached to the piston instead of at the end of the splitter like the ones I've had in the past. So far so good though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

after renting a few finally bought one.

,
February 22, 2013
By leroy39
from Tyner,Ky
"I took chance after renting several over the years:its constructed and packaged very good but its a job for one person to put together but did it ,getting hydraulic fluid in it tedious from 5 gallon container and messy even with funnel ,very small hole after fluids and oil it fired right up and I split everything I had in short time and I love racks very solid and well constructed ,I split knotted oak and cherry ,well you name it and it went right thru it and cycle time is faster than big commercial line and I love it and auto zone has hydraulic fluid and plenty of it ,just use shut off on fuel line to keep carb clean and let it stop on its own ,love it and would highly recommend to anyone considering buying one ,unbeatible price and quality for the buck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
August 31, 2012
By AWB8511
from Paw Paw, WV
"I purchased this splitter several weeks ago, primarily for use at home. I had read other reviews that stated that the machine was somewhat difficult to assemble. That, I believe, is inaccurate. I had no difficulty what so ever. I have split about twenty cords of rock oak, red oak, and pin oak, in addition to maple. The largest logs were 18 inches in diameter. The machine performed beyond my expectations. It split everything without one bit of trouble. I had just one issue, but that was my fault. The hydraulic fluid line from the tank to the pump collapsed some, but it was because I didn't have the tank filled to capacity. I would recommend this machine to any professional or Harry home owner."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

,
January 16, 2012
By KSScout
from KS
"My wife purchased this log splitter for me at Christmas. She had done a lot of reviews and chose this unit because of the reviews and the video demo. She did great! The log splitter drives right through logs with ease. The catch cradles on the sides keep the logs from dropping off onto the ground. It saves a lot of back wear and tear. You can easily tilt the unit up to split larger pieces with no lifting. The engine started on the first pull right out of the box and has started on the first pull every time since then. Filling the unit with hydraulic fluid took a bit of time. It holds just under 5 gallons. I found that pouring the fluid into a plastic gallon jug first, then pouring that into the unit worked a lot better. The unit was easy to assemble and even though some reviews said it is a two person job, I did it by myself in 2 hours. I'm very satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome machine

,
January 9, 2012
By rolandjeep
from Bristol,Wi.
"Heavy duty splitter,yet light enough to load on the front of a pontoon boat and split wood on an island. Will split pretty much anything I have thrown at it so far. I love it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a work saver

,
October 18, 2011
By b1gross1
from North Texas
"I purchased one of these splitters last year. It is everything I expected and more. Assembly was simple and straight forward. I am a home user and split wood for my personal use. I realized after I almost covered myself up in split wood the first hour of use that I waited too long before buying a quality log spliter. It split everything I fed it with ease. I got as much exercise feeding logs to the splitter as I used to hand splitting wih an axe and maul but increased my production exponentially. I just can't find anything I would change about it. Well worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log splitter

,
October 17, 2011
By gandolf36
from Grantsburg WI.
"I purchased this splitter about a month ago. I am extremely happy with this product. It has exceeded all my expectations. I was torn between this model and a bigger model. I am glad that I saved myself the money. The only downside to this product is the assembly. I got it put together and it runs great. So if deciding between this 20 ton and alarger one save the money and purchase this one."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What do you do for fun?

,
October 10, 2011
By Callgeorge
from Newport, Tennessee
"Got one of these log splitters about a month ago. Why did I wait so long? Now have piles of wood ready for winter. Assembly was an enjoyable challenge. Great not having to wait in line at the rental store! Thanks Northern."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't be beat for the money

,
June 13, 2011
By bcpop
from Minden, LA
"I bought this splitter last year and split over 2 cords of oak right out of the box without even a "hick-up". In the past I have always rented a splitter or borrowed one, and this splitter performed as well as any I have used in the past. I have started my second season and still no issues. Starts easily, and splits more than I expected. I have even split logs that were more than 25 inches across. All in all, a great spiltter especially for the price tag."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent ! excellent !

,
May 14, 2011
By pizzaguy
"this tool rocks just got it this morning put it together and yes rocked out nice fire wood for my outdoor pizza oven i split cherry oak and maple very fast and neat i love it and you will to
thank you northern tools
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerhorse logsplitter

,
April 2, 2011
By Rick56
from Summerville, NB
"I have just bought this log splitter and so far it is very impressive, easy to use and with it being towable you can take it to where the work is.
There were a few issues whist putting it all together, but these were small matters and not worth mentioning - all I will say on the subject is read the instructions twice and look at the pictures in the book and on the box.
All in all a good purchase, Highly recommended.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Machine

,
March 29, 2011
By tug10
from michigan
"This is a well designed splitter. I have used several different kinds, home made, pto driven, and commercial. This one does a real nice job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

20 ton power horse log splitter

,
March 14, 2011
By Michael77
from East Texas
"I have used this Power Horse 20 ton log splitter several times this winter and it has performed very well.
I put some good sized oak logs on it and I had no problem spitting them.
The side racks were very helpful. and made handleing the larger logs much easier.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter

,
June 1, 2010
By dlr103
from Northeast Ohio
"I did not finish getting it together when the neighbor needed it. They did not think it would handle alot of their bigger stuff. They were amazed - took the wood they had simple as pie. Think this has a lot of power and a good product especially for the price.
Last year we scrambled and borrowed log splitters - this year we are being borrowed from. The vertical aspect is what sold us and it works great!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Splitter

,
May 27, 2010
By smiffi
from Franklin, PA
"I received my log splitter a month ago. Following the instruction manual, the assembly was straight forward with no problems, with the exception of one bolt that had a bad thread. Since extra hardware was included, it posed no problem. The only improvement I would make in the design, would be to install a small vent hole in the hydraulic tank, with a removable plug. When filling the tank initially, the air in the tank has to vent out, as the the oil is being poured in. Since the air coming out, has to use the same hole as the oil going in, It can get pretty messy with oil overflowing.
I did a lot of research on various log splitters, before settling on this one, and I don't think you could come close to another splitter with the features, power and price. After using it for the last several weeks, it has impressed me, as well as everyone I've shown it to, with it's capacity and power.
I love it when I invest my money in a piece of equipment and it exceeds my expectations.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased

,
May 24, 2010
By greenmtman
from Vernon, VT
"Overall I'm very pleased with this unit. It been able to get through some real gnarly wood. Instructions were not the best, but putting it together was pretty straight forward. The vertical feature is the best reason to buy this. I had some very large logs that would have taken two people to lift, but I just rolled them into positions and split them easy. Watch for kinking the hoses when going verticle. For the money, a good deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerhorse Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter - 22 Tons, 208cc Powerhorse Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Horse is a Work Horse

,
May 17, 2010
By Logs4Cabin
from Minnesota
"Bought this splitter 13May2010. We are clearing a heavily wooded site for our log cabin. Wife and I spent 15 hours this past weekend splitting oak, basswood, ironwood, elm and a few boxelder logs, it never had a single problem.
Working height is higher than the rental units we've tried, which means you don't have to hunch over every log while splitting. Controls are close to ideal, and valve lever can be operated from both sides of unit.
Used splitter in vertical position for a few logs, but seems faster and less of a hassle in horizontal position.
Wedge moves with piston, and at the final 3 or 4 inches of return travel there is a log stripper, which blocks any log still pinching the wedge and allows the wedge to pull free and fully retract those last few inches. This is a great feature, especially when splitting knotty or stringy wood, or oversized logs.
We are very happy with this well-built machine - should have bought it sooner.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.