Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04

Item# 1177
The Brave EZ Split log splitter is powerful, portable, easy to operate, and stores in a minimal space. It is perfect for homeowners with fireplaces and wood stoves. Ideal for transporting to hunting, fishing or camping sites in a van, SUV, or pick-up. Compact unit is 1/3 the size, 1/4 the weight, and twice the convenience of a conventional-size log splitter. HP 3.5, Log Cradle No, Fenders No, Log Lift No, Pump 2.7 GPM single-stage, Jack Stand Yes, Operation Horizontal, Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 18, Wedge High carbon steel, 3/4 in. thick, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Lights No, Ram Force Tons 8, Engine Briggs & Stratton, Cylinder 3 in. x 18in. 4in.W x 4in.H heavy-duty beam 3in. x 18in. trunion mount steel cylinder All steel components with powder-coat finish Class II receiver mount Item# 1179 sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Review 1 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable!

,
September 30, 2013
By JMH42
from Colorado
"Perfect for my needs. Easy to use. My wife sat on a camp stool beside it and operated the splitter while I kept it loaded and unloaded. Had some 20" diameter logs - no problem. I split 3/4 cord in a little over 1 hour. Started first time, every time. I highly recommend this splitter."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent splitter

,
December 5, 2010
By jkinchaska
from MN
"This one lives up to the reviews. I initially bought it due to its ease of moving and storage but thought I would sacrifice the ability to split large logs. Nothing could be further from the truth. This one will split anything (Elm, Oak, Ash, etc..) that you can lift or roll (one 8' 2x6 can be made into a great ramp) onto it. I usually burn about 1 1/2 cords per winter and this little splitter has made it very easy to put up plenty of wood."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
16out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best there is!!!!!

,
November 14, 2010
By MikeFromWysoxPA
from Wysox PA
"I am an amputee with a bad heart so I set everything up for my wife, who is tiny, to use. She is able to move this anywhere on our property and split anything and everything that my friends splitter wll but this is made alot better. The quality of this product can't be beat. Its like a sawed off shot gun. Whoever thought this design up is brilliant. As God as my judge, I wouldn't trade this for any other splitter on the market. Its built like a tank and made in the USA. Worth every penny and then some. So simple to put together that it took me 15 minutes on my living room floor. This is the best money I ever spent."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great product!

,
May 17, 2010
By heaney
from Bergen County NJ
"It's worth the wait for this splitter. The start up procedures were a breeze. It's amazing how efficient & easy to operate this splitter. A must have piece of equipment. Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brave EZ Split

,
February 22, 2010
By skiking65
from Columbus, OH
"Received as a gift, great tool, easy to assemble with simple tools like 30 minutes. Started right up and splits logs just fine. Easy to manuever, light weight but solidly built. Simple and easy operation, looking forward to splitting once Spring comes. Perfect size for preparing firewood for a stove or fireplace for the homeowner and easily transportable to a friends house.
I purchased the trailer hitch accessory to transport, but cold weather has kept me from instaling it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I worked it.

,
October 19, 2009
By williek
from Wintersville, Ohio
"I bought it in july fo this year. At first i had a problem, Brave forgot to put a key in the keyway of the pump.
I called Brave, discussed the problem, I had the key delivered overnite, fixed the problem, and was splitting logs in less than 24 hrs. of my phone call to them. Of course at no cost to me.
Since then I split over 26 cords of wood. I worked this Brave for hours upon hours, days after days.
Its mid Oct. now an this week its goin to be nice in ohio so iam gonna go get more wood and continue splitting.
Its makes splitting so easy.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE SPLITTER!

,
September 3, 2009
By GRAYMULE
from SLIDELL, LOUISIANA
"This is a great splitter for smaller logs, 10" to 12" or smaller. I shopped around quite a bit before purchasing this model and I believe it's a really good deal for the price. It shipped from Illinois to Louisiana in 3 days. Assembly was very easy { bolt on a leg, two braces, clamp two hoses}. It only took two beers and half a Willie Nelson CD to get it put together. The motor starts on the first pull every time. The unit is kind of small, compact and sits low to the ground. It only weighs about 135 lbs. so I was able to pick it up by myself to load and unload it
thanks to a handle mounted behind the motor. It takes as much space in the garage as a push lawnmower. The cylinder goes in and out fast enough. I am very happy with this splitter and would tell anyone looking for a small splitter for around the house to buy one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EZ SPLIT

,
March 23, 2009
By MERPZM
from NJ
"I recently cut down some trees to install a pool in my yard. I debated between the EZ split and a larger model since some of the tree were over 30 inches in diameter. I decided on the EZ split since it would be easier to move around the hilly terrain of my property. It was the correct choice. The EZ split started on the first pull. It always starts on the first or second pull even in cold weather. The EZ split handled the larger logs with ease. The EZ split splits any diameter log that I am able to lift onto the splitter. My son even built a ramp to roll large logs onto the splitter that are too big to pickup and the EZ split could even handle these logs!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A small but powerful splitter

,
August 18, 2008
By Jazz1
from Cheshire,CT
"This portable splitter has sufficient power to take on logs with ease. It handles logs above its capacity of 18". Its easy to setup and started on the first pull right out of the box. It has the reliability of a Briggs & Straton engine which have been around forever. This splitter is easy enough to move with only one person. Buy this splitter; you won't be sorry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brave EZ Split Horizontal Log Splitter - 8-Ton, 3.5 HP, Model# PCLS04
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
March 3, 2007
By Ron196146
from Delran, N.J.
"What a great buy!!!!!!!!! I am so glad I purchased this log splitter from you gentlemen. Nothing could have been easier to set up and get running than the Brave e-z splitter.Extremely light weight and easy enough to be pulled around by 1 person. The splitter performed beautifully and did not bind up considering it'scompact size , and it started up on the second pull. The machine had no problem tackling logs bigger than 18" in diameter. I highly reccomend this as a must buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.