Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265

Item# 11820
Measure and mark logs for firewood, fast! Simply insert a can of inverted marking paint, then position the Mingo™ at the beginning of the log or other surface to mark. While holding the easy to grip handle, roll the notched wheel down the length of the log. As you roll it, the device clearly marks the log at the precise measured increments with an easy-to-see paint mark. The Mingo accurately measures and marks on any surface faster than conventional methods. Precisely cut firewood fits firebox for longer and cleaner burning. U.S.A. Application: Firewood marker, Measures: 16 in lengths, Material: Impact resistant plastic The Mingo™ is a measuring tape and marking stick all in one Easy-grip handle Includes wheel for marking in 16in. lengths Impact-resistant plastic withstands temperature extremes Uses inverted contractors/surveyors marking paint (not included) Optional wheels measure and mark in increments of 14in., 18in., or 6-12-24 inches (sold separately)
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Review 1 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mingo 16"

,
November 18, 2008
By bigbenCT
from CT
"Works well performs just like it’s supposed useful if you have lots and lots of wood to mark and cut. Make sure to keep the spray tip clean"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it.

,
November 18, 2008
By chewy
from Aumsville Or.
"I use this tool to make firewood. I love it. My firewood is so much more uniform with this tool. The only thing I would change is to put a lid on it so you can keep the marker can in the tool when transporting back and fourth. (I've put a lot of dots in/on my pickup.) Other than that I have no complaints."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOMEONE'S MILLION DOLLAR IDEA

,
August 11, 2008
By bmatto
from mass
"THIS ITEM WORKS GREAT AND SAVES A LOT OF TIME AND WASTED SPACE IN THE WOOD STOVE. WISH I THOUGHT OF IT"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mingo

,
April 14, 2008
By tpier1961
from new york
"found the mingo very helpful and quick to mark the logs ,made it so easy.saved alot of time thank you"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mingo Marker Firewood

,
April 14, 2008
By Heinz57
from Factoryville, PA
"Works wonderful, Super great tool to have handy when cutting up firewood!!!! This tool is a great time saver!!!!!!! And a great money maker!!!!!! I highly recommend this item.
Was what I was looking for. Great price and timely delivery."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

log marker

,
January 14, 2008
By Stihlman1
from Middletown New york
"Very nice product.Saves a lot of time and cuts.Keeps log lenght the same.Can of paint lasts forever it seems like."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mingo marker

,
January 14, 2008
By bronco72
from Atlanta Ga.
"It takes about 5 to10 seconds to run it along a 20' feld tree, and it gives you perfect length longs for your fireplace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

minga

,
January 14, 2008
By Appleton
from APPLETON,NEW YORK
"This unit is ideal for fire wood,was able to give to my 14 year old nephew to mark all the logs saving me time.Only thing i would recomend is to inform what kind of paint to use.No where does it tell you to use marker paint.Had to search the web to find out.Other than that,very pleased with product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Mingo

,
October 15, 2007
By Grizzly4U
from Morgantown, IN
"I have used the Mingo to mark approximately 50 rick of firewood and the durability is better than I expected. It does seem to want to stick at times while it's spraying using more paint than necessary and making a sound like it's going to break. This problem was noticeable when it was brand new and doesn't seem to have gotten better or worse over time. If it was smoother I would rate it at 5 stars as it is very efficient, saving both wood (money) and time while using very little paint (1 contractor can for approx. 40 rick)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful gadget

,
October 8, 2007
By Goodwood
from Upstate New York
"My Mingo Marker has been used successfully to mark about 8 full cords of wood so far and it performs on wet or dry wood equally well. While it comes with various wheels to mark different lengths, there is no 20" wheel currently available. I solved the problem by determining the radius needed to give 20" circumference and then drilled a pattern of holes (about 3/16") at that radius around a 24" wheel. When broken apart, the drilled holes produced a nice, high traction surface and the unit worked just fine. It is a little tricky to get started properly at the end of a log, but with a little practice, you'll quickly stop wasting paint and mark like a pro...
One caution: do not look (closely) into the end of the marker when loading a can of paint--I did that inadvertently and, if I hadn't had my mouth open, I would have gotten paint all over my face..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't know how I got along with out it.....

,
March 7, 2007
By Junior
from White House, Tn
"Best invention since a measuring tape. It cuts your time by 70% by using this product. Simple to use, en-expensive to maintain. I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Mingo Marker — The Ultimate Firewood Marker, Model# 265
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
March 7, 2007
By tundratom
from Ontario
"This does the trick on larger logs. On short and twisty logs, it works, but not as well.
A picture showing how the can retainer is installed would be very helpful.
The ability to order the paint and different size wheels through Northern would also be nice.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.