Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24

Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24

Item# 11871
This versatile heavy-duty lumber mill converts rough logs into beautiful slabs in thicknesses from 1/2in. to 12in. No bar drilling is necessary the MK III clamps onto the chain bar. Saw not included. Easy rail system sold separately. Handles up to in. 12, Application Convert rough log into beautiful slab, Works With Chainsaw up to 24 in. bar. Mill slabs 12in. thick and 20in. wide Highly portable system allows use in remote locations Clamps onto your chainsaw, no drilling required
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Review 1 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can't rush assembly

,
July 8, 2014
By Oldhonda
from VA
"I haven't been able to use it yet since I need to grind a unique chain but it looks like a good product. You've got to take your time on the assembly. The instructions don't match the hardware shipped and the figures are very little help. But if you think about how it will need to work when its done its not hard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Milling your own limber is satisfying

,
June 14, 2014
By pgoemans
from Conway, SC
"A bit heavy and cumbersome initially but once I start cutting it's smooth running. I can now do something useful with all the oak and cedar trees my company removes to make way for a house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saw milling

,
April 15, 2014
By war61
from Miles City, Mt
"this worked just fine had no problems with assembly. finding a sturdy platform to make first cut was a bit of trial and error. but after that it has worked out great for me. I would recommend this to anyone who has the time and will to cut thier own lumber."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super portable product

,
October 15, 2012
By Timteo
from Waterford, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is a very portable milling product. If you keep the blade sharp, it makes very accurate cut.
The set up for the first pass is tricky, and i recommend the guide to simplify it. With that you can get boards that need light planning to smooth. Rough cut beams need nothing.
Remember it is the size of the chainsaw engine in relation to the size of the log that dictates the speed of cutting.
Superior product!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sawmill

,
October 13, 2012
By Kevbug
from New Mexico
"If you ever wanted a sawmill for occasional use this is it! Make sure you buy quality ripping blades for your saw. Also use longer bars; it is hard to saw large logs without a long bar.
It makes nice straight lumber. It does take a while to learn how to use, but once you learn it is easy to set up.
You can also use this to rough cut logs to get them out of hard to reach areas or remote locations.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

,
October 8, 2012
By Js111
from Stony Brook New York
"Easy to set up and use. Well worth the money. Would buy again. Would recommend. Week made."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it's supposed to

,
May 14, 2012
By Jay156
from Cleveland, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I got this jig to mill literally tons of downed logs and dead trees I have on my property. It's slow going, but it works how it's supposed to.
The difficult question was how to cut the first board quickly and safely; things I've seen on the internet have been... lacking, but I've come up with a solution. I have a dedicated set up where I placed two posts in the ground about 11 feet apart with a bracket to support two 2x4's. The log is then placed underneath these boards and the mill adjusted to the right depth to cut off the round top of the log. (See the attached image)
I could then remove the boards and simply set the jig to 1 1/2", and ride it over the log surface, but I choose to leave it set up on the 2x4s. This makes the beginning and the end of the cut perfectly level, and is a lot safer in my opinion. The only inconvenience is I have to keep lowering the saw in the jig 1 1/2" after every cut. Worth it for the added safety in my opinion.
It could really use 4 washers around the U-bolts though, I've managed to dig into the soft aluminum bracket with the nuts from tightening it so many times.
Also, maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I find that plain old crosscutting chain works better than the skiptooth stuff they tell you to use. And intuitively, how can having FEWER teeth help you cut faster?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun!

,
January 16, 2012
By ECBuilders
from Bemus Point, NY
"Easy to put together. Works great - just take your time and have patience. Easily portable, saves a lot of time and money because you don't need to spend a lot of money on additional big cumbersome equipment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
October 17, 2011
By Coachbro
from IL
"If you are wanting to make boards from logs and cannot afford a $4k bandsaw style, then this works great. I use it with a 20" bar and a 24" bar on my chainsaw. It isn't pretty, it isn't easy, but it works well. I recommend it for anyone on a budget, or in a very remote region. Be sure and spend the extra money on top of the line skip or ripping chain to preven burnout and bar wear. Well designed and built."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alaskan 24-in

,
October 10, 2011
By bbp3
from Colorado
"Great product and works as advertised. Everything is square and true. I added an aux oiler and would recommend it even on the 24-inch model. The Carlton ripping chain works well too. I'm running a Stihl 044 with 26-in bar and wish I was using a little bigger saw even for the Ponderosa Pine I am milling. There is a lot more to know about chainsaw milling than is included in the basic instructions that come with the mill, but a web search will produce more info and opinions than you care to know about, such as technique, chains, sharpening, chainsaw mods, mill mods, wood drying, oils, etc..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for wood working shop

,
December 6, 2010
By tread
"This product does everything it is supposed to. It is value priced when purchased thru Northern Tool and they are really helpful with the process of getting your orders."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Have

,
June 1, 2010
By AWoodWorker
from Omaha, NE
"If you do your own woodworking and have a chain saw this is a must have! I bought this product because I hate seeing maple and oak trees taken down and the loggs hauled away. This attachment has helped me not let these trees go to waste as well as paid for themselves in the first two uses! Pair it with a mini-mill and you will have no problem cutting your own lumber. Make sure that you attach it to a quality chain saw with a ripping blade for best results."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alaskan MKIII Portable Lumber Mill

,
February 22, 2010
By islandboy
from Thousand Islands, NY
"Our remote location precludes getting to a mill, so thought I'd try it myself. This tool works well, but slower than one might expect. It takes about 20-30 minutes to make a 9 foot cut. Also, ripping with a chain saw is not what the typical chain is designed for. I bought more chains to keep going after chain dulls (after 2-3 cuts max). But the results are nice, planable boards."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portable mill

,
November 3, 2009
By thenag
from Missourk
"I bought this for my hubby to help him board his walnut logs for furniture projects. It took a huge cedar log and created beautiful boards. He's quite happy with it, and that means I did GOOD!!! Maybe those cedar boards will wind up in a chest for my quilts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing

,
January 22, 2009
By ff3006
from Duxbury, Vt.
"I certainly agree with the first review, 100 percent. I want to share my experience and voice my concern regarding the MK III. I made my first cuts today, WOW, I am impressed. I am using a Huskvarna 372 saw with a 20 inch bar. I purchased a ripping chain right from the very start. I did not purchase the rail system that is offered by Granberg, I chose to build my own. I removed the dog on the saw to get more chain exposed for cutting. When this saw is placed into the mill, I lose 5 inches of chain. I have just sent Granberg an email regarding the mini mill. If you watch the video it says that the mini mill loses two inches of usuable chain. That is a big difference when cutting lumber. Maybe that is why the mini mill has 13 or so reviews. As I said before, I am very impressed with the precision that these mills offer with the use of a chain saw. I am very curious what Granberg is going to say. None the less, the unit is amazing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Claimjumper
Oakhusrt, CA 
 
Please wait while more information about Claimjumper is loaded.
Additional information about Claimjumper could not be loaded.
Mini Mill or MKIII
October 25, 2010
"You're right, the mini mill does lose 2" of it's bar length. But the MKIII has the extra bar support on the nose of the saw and a nose guard that loses 3" more. So if you have a 20" bar you get more length with the mini mill. Both work great."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, Model# G776-24
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

,
February 17, 2008
By Sawcrazy
from Oregon Coast
"I got this mill after the big storm we had in December on the Oregon Coast, there were Trees everywhere, it was compelte carnage. The fire wood was great but soon I was overflowing with it. So I started looking around at these mills And purchased the MK III from northern tool. I was given about a log truck load of fallen timber from my neighbor and my dad lost at least a load . Instead of cut them for fire wood I ordered this mill and the Mini mill. It works great. It cuts good lumber, I have this one on a Stihl 029 with a 20"bar. I can get just over 16 inched of width with that bar, if I took the dogs off I could get a little more, but I dont need it right now. I got the 24" MK III in case I upgraded saws or loaned it to my dad, it fits on the 20" bar with no problems. The mill is adjustable so you can shorten or lengthen it for the bar, the nose guard moves with the end bar clamp in case you were wondering about the safety part of putting it on a shorter bar. Get the mini mill too. I have one and it works great for cutting slabs off the log. I cut 2 slabs off the log for 2 flat sides then cut 2" slabs off till the log is gone. You end up with slabs 2" wide (or however wide you want to cut) and as deep as the log. Then I use the MK III to cut them into 2x4's or whatever I want. A standard chain will work but spend the money and get a ripping chain or regrind yours to Zero. I have cut about 75 2x4's and numerous 4x4s from fir, about a hundred cedar fence boards 3/4"x6"x 5' and truck load of 1/2 x4" cedar for window trim. The adjustments are simple and on the money for cutting dementional lumber, it really is accurate. Installation on the saw is a piece of cake, assembly looks intimidating, just pay attention to the instructions and you will be fine. Pictures of a assembled MK III help too for putting it together. I have used this one for many hours and am happy with how safe it is as well. I havent broke it, and it looks like its still new when I hose it down to clean it. You will end up with alot of wood chips I have noticed but the narrower ripping chain will help. Cedar responds nice to the mill, the window trim I made went inside my living room rough cut and it looks great. Fir is a bit harder and the 2x4s are equally nice. Cherry is better yet, very nice cuts. This mill is worth the money, honestly if you have trees you dont want to waste by cutting into firewood. I am a believer. So much in fact I have a planer on the way to finish up the lumber and continue remodeling my house with the lumber I am cutting, cabinets, trim, studs ect. Every tree you look at now you will be figuring how much lumber you could get out of it. Its addictive. I love it. Northern tool packaged the box well and it arrived on time. Thank you"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.