Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"

"Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"

Item# 11874
"The Mini Mill is a perfect compact milling attachment for your chain saw great for cutting logs into lumber or beams. It also makes an ideal partner for edging with your Alaskan MKII or MKIII. Precision cutting for precision edges. Comes with 12ft. of metal guide rail in 2ft. lengths with screws. Rail Material Metal, Application Convert log into timber or lumber, Works With Chain saw up to 24 in. bar, Rails in. 144."
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Review 1 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does what it says

,
April 2, 2015
By ProperT1
from wyo
" Works well, pretty accurate, and easy to use!!
Instructions say to use pieces of wood to level the guide board, instead I chose to insert nuts into the underside of the guide board and used bolts to set the guide board level. It works with any shaped log and I feel that it is more stable than using pieces of wood.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saw Mill

,
April 2, 2015
By Laffngoose
from San Luis Obispo,California
" Excellent product !!!
Very easy to setup and use. Be sure to get a perfectly straight 2X6 for your guide board and be ready for the shower of wood chips and saw dust !!!
Makes easy work on cutting walnut slabs.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I needed

,
March 1, 2015
By Redneckbuilder
from Rolla, Missouri
" Was easy to setup and use. Very well built. Worth the money for someone needing to cut a little or a lot. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rippin

,
January 18, 2015
By bill7tree
from Dallas, OR
" the mill was really easy to use. It paid for it's self in a couple hours. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minimill

,
January 4, 2015
By Ebone
from Hainesport,NJ
" I am making a table out of wood on my property.The minimill works as advertised.I am squaring off 10 ft. oak planks that are 3 in. thick and it works great.The more I use it the easier it gets.Thanks for a great producy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini Mill, Good Investment.

,
December 1, 2014
By Baniekamp
from Dayton, Ohio
" As a small business owner its important to invest my hard earned capital on tools and equipment that makes me more, or saves me more money. That is why I decided to purchase the Granberg Mini Mill, and its been a great investment at a very low cost.
The Granberg Mini Mill, works as described, is easy to use, makes good cuts, and is easy to assemble. The Mini Mill comes with six 24" bars that screw onto a board. To ensure the bars are attached to the board in a straight line, use a chalk line to mark the board, line up the bars and then screw them on. Once completed your ready to mount the Mini Mill to your chain saw! This can be done by tightening the two bolts to the chain saw bar. Be sure to measure the depth of your cut before cutting. Once this is finished your ready to make clean 90 degree cuts with your chain saw and Granberg Mini Mill! The Mini Mill will save you money the first time you mill out a tree that has fallen on your property.
To get the utmost out of your Granberg Mini Mill I would recommend purchasing the following equipment. They were designed to work together and it sure makes milling easier! (it is not necessary to purchase the following equipment to mill out logs with the Granberg Mini Mill).
1. Granberg Mini Mill
2. Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, # G776-24
3. Granberg EZ Rail Mill Guide System — 9-Ft., 3 Crossbar Kits, Model# G1080
4. Granberg EZ Rail Connector Kit, Model# G1090
Using the equipment listed above and the Granberg Mini Mill I milled out all the lumber I needed to build a two story 25' x 50' pole barn. Saving me thousands in lumber cost. The Granberg Mini Mill has been a great investment and I will continue to make valuable hardwood lumber with it! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bigger Chain Saw

,
November 11, 2014
By Theshot111
from Indiana
" The rig setup does work, but get yourself a big chainsaw with some HP.. I used a Husqvarna 440 with 18" bar on white oak logs, it took forever ( 10 minutes) to make one 10 foot pass with a new chain.. But with dedication I do have some 2 in thick planks. and a possible mantle log.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Mill works great.

,
October 20, 2014
By tbartek
from New Germany, PA
" The mini mill works better than I had hoped. It attaches and is removed from the bar quickly. It worked great when I used it to cut the mantle for my outdoor fireplace. "
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Cutting my mantle using the mini mill.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Minimill

,
September 7, 2014
By Backyardsawer
from Wisconsin
" I bought the Mini Mill after considering other options. For the price I took a chance. The mini mill works very good cutting larger planks. I cut 2x8x13feet white oak planks that turned out very good. For 1inch lumber the mini mill does not work very good. A shorter bar on your chain saw works best. A long bar gives too much tip whip. In a 2 day period I cut several 2x8 white oak planks that are very good quality. It takes time, gas and sweat but you make it yourself with your own lumber! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good for making beams

,
June 25, 2014
By HCinNC
from NC
" I've only used this to make some beams. It worked well for that. The only issue was with the chainsaw - not the mill. My chainsaw oiler was not pumping bar oil in the position you see in the standard photo. So, I had to mount it more vertical and even then added oil manually once in a while. I was using a husqvarna 340 - which is not a pro grade saw. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mini mill pretty good with some problems

,
June 12, 2014
By kabbott
from Granger, IN
" Recently purchased a mini mill for creating cants/flitches. Works well. Just keep your chainsaw chain sharp and remember to have your log up higher than the length of the chainsaw bar. Getting the log up high enough so the bar doesn't touch the ground is the biggest problem I have. May need to buy a shorter bar than 24" since manually lifting 9' x 20" diameter red oak logs on other logs to cut is next to impossible.
I had a problem with the screws that tighten the bar to the mill. Can't unscrew them very far before they get too tight and hard to screw back in. Called Granberg and they had never had problem before. Also the bar with the screws that screws on to the chainsaw bar looks like it is bowed out. Still works. Asked Granberg about that too. Also a problem that had never had. For both problems they said they could send me new screws. The mill bar itself is welded on so they couldn't just replace that. I would have to buy another mini mill. So far I can keep using it with no problems. Don't know if long term I will have problem or not. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Mill

,
June 2, 2014
By Oldcrow45
from Worcester, MA
" I have used the Mini Mill to mill about 20 logs at my rustic camp. I works so great that I am going to buy another one and attach it another chain saw (different length blade) so I don't have to switch it back and forth when I want a different cut. I love it and highly recommend it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked well

,
February 4, 2014
By RowanCoMike
from NC
" Product worked well. Have made some really nice
oak and cedar beams which would have cost hundreds if I had to purchase them.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well for the money

,
April 23, 2013
By ROB60
from New Hope, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Have used the mini mill several times now and it worked well. I have an 24" chain saw with a rip chain and I made a log stand by making a pair of cross stands from some 4x4's. The first cut is the most difficult. But take your time and set up the rail straight and level and then you have a flat surface to cut the rest of the log. I have not cut anything longer than 5' but longer cuts shouldn't be a problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool !!

,
October 8, 2012
By MA185
from Buffalo West Virgina
" The set up is easy (comes with instructions) And best of all you dont have to handle big logs, take the tools to your logs, I use a 71cc, saw ( I recomend) a sharp chain (a must !!) and a bit more chain oil than usual. Set-up is key for straight and plum lumber, once you figure that out, time to cut. The mill is solid, And pretty light, I dont feel like it is going to fall apart, no vibration, (I keep check on everything, every time i start the saw) the rails and 2x8 is what i use, I put rails on both sides of the 2x8 and go down one side, then the other side, flip the log on the flat side, set-up, cut both sides, now i have a true 8x8 piece of lumber to cary out. Another Key piece of advice "GO SLOW" take your time! BE SAFE!! Enjoy the end result, FREE LUMBER!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minature mill

,
October 8, 2012
By Js111
from Stony Brook New York
" I had to rip down some old beams to match existing. Was very useful and accurate, saved my table saw. Would recommend.. Easy to put together and use. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does a good job for the money

,
January 18, 2012
By Obie
from North of Philadelphia
" I was suprised how well it worked. My saw is not big enough for a ripping chain so had to take it very slow as I was cutting a 15 inch diameter log with a 16 inch chain saw. Take the time to square up both ends of the of the log with the 2x6 on top. Make some small wedges to help keep the 2x6 straight for that first cut. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 1, 2010
By AWoodWorker
from Omaha, NE
" This attachment works wonders! It is easy to set up and use and creates straight edges with minimal effort. A must if you have the Alaskan Mill! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mini mill

,
March 16, 2009
By porkchp
from north texas
" I use the mini mill as an added tool to the Alaskan MKIII. I have an older saw that I keep it attached too, so I don’t waist time changing out the mini mill back to the MKIII. If you only have one saw, it is still an easy change.
I was sold on it as an edger, however I can see where one could use this alone to cut boards. I like the way my saw stays in an upright position. This keeps more oil on the chain in warm weather. I also think I can cut through a log faster with this vs. the MKIII. I have never checked the accuracy though. For the overall cost it’s a great tool to get started with.
Don't kid yourself if you think you are going to turn out hundreds of boards a day with this or the MKIII - you won't. It is hard work and taxing on the saw. This is for the "weekend warier" who needs a few boards for a project.
I use a Husky 385xp and sharpen a standard chain to 10 degrees. It works just fine. I also built a "log rack" to roll the logs up about waist high.
Work smart - not hard. Happy sawing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quartersawing

,
April 22, 2008
By axjpg
from Europe Luxembourg
" Sure, the mini mill G555B is not the thing to get quartersawn lumber straight away.
(It's a method of cutting a log that results in the growth rings intersecting the face of the board at an angle between 60 and 90 degrees.)
But in combination with a carriage mill (like the LOGOSOL M7 or others) you get a substantial complement.
Especially, if you are dealing with large diameter logs.
In fact, I have the opportunity of quarter sawing white oak here in the "Grand Duchy of Luxembourg" (Europe). They typically are 24" in diameter and due to their weight, it is a real issue to get them on the top of the mill!
It's not only time consuming to raise them up but also dangerous to quarter them in the usual way.
With the aid of the mini mill, I'm now able to quarter them virtually on floor level. Doing so, weight is also quartered.
The accuracy of the (4) right angeled pieces is amazing!
No stress and much less sweat!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.