Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"

"Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"

Item# 11874
"The Mini Mill is a perfect compact milling attachment for your chainsaw great for cutting logs into lumber or beams. It also makes an ideal partner for edging with your Alaskan MKII or MKIII. Precision cutting for precision edges. Comes with 12ft. of metal guide rail in 2ft. lengths with screws. Rail Material Metal, Rails in. 144, Works With Chainsaw up to 24 in. bar, Application Convert log into timber or lumber."
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Review 1 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini Mill, Good Investment.

,
December 1, 2014
By Baniekamp
from Dayton, Ohio
" As a small business owner its important to invest my hard earned capital on tools and equipment that makes me more, or saves me more money. That is why I decided to purchase the Granberg Mini Mill, and its been a great investment at a very low cost.
The Granberg Mini Mill, works as described, is easy to use, makes good cuts, and is easy to assemble. The Mini Mill comes with six 24" bars that screw onto a board. To ensure the bars are attached to the board in a straight line, use a chalk line to mark the board, line up the bars and then screw them on. Once completed your ready to mount the Mini Mill to your chain saw! This can be done by tightening the two bolts to the chain saw bar. Be sure to measure the depth of your cut before cutting. Once this is finished your ready to make clean 90 degree cuts with your chain saw and Granberg Mini Mill! The Mini Mill will save you money the first time you mill out a tree that has fallen on your property.
To get the utmost out of your Granberg Mini Mill I would recommend purchasing the following equipment. They were designed to work together and it sure makes milling easier! (it is not necessary to purchase the following equipment to mill out logs with the Granberg Mini Mill).
1. Granberg Mini Mill
2. Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, # G776-24
3. Granberg EZ Rail Mill Guide System — 9-Ft., 3 Crossbar Kits, Model# G1080
4. Granberg EZ Rail Connector Kit, Model# G1090
Using the equipment listed above and the Granberg Mini Mill I milled out all the lumber I needed to build a two story 25' x 50' pole barn. Saving me thousands in lumber cost. The Granberg Mini Mill has been a great investment and I will continue to make valuable hardwood lumber with it! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bigger Chain Saw

,
November 11, 2014
By Theshot111
from Indiana
" The rig setup does work, but get yourself a big chainsaw with some HP.. I used a Husqvarna 440 with 18" bar on white oak logs, it took forever ( 10 minutes) to make one 10 foot pass with a new chain.. But with dedication I do have some 2 in thick planks. and a possible mantle log.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Mill works great.

,
October 20, 2014
By tbartek
from New Germany, PA
" The mini mill works better than I had hoped. It attaches and is removed from the bar quickly. It worked great when I used it to cut the mantle for my outdoor fireplace. "
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Cutting my mantle using the mini mill.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Minimill

,
September 7, 2014
By Backyardsawer
from Wisconsin
" I bought the Mini Mill after considering other options. For the price I took a chance. The mini mill works very good cutting larger planks. I cut 2x8x13feet white oak planks that turned out very good. For 1inch lumber the mini mill does not work very good. A shorter bar on your chain saw works best. A long bar gives too much tip whip. In a 2 day period I cut several 2x8 white oak planks that are very good quality. It takes time, gas and sweat but you make it yourself with your own lumber! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good for making beams

,
June 25, 2014
By HCinNC
from NC
" I've only used this to make some beams. It worked well for that. The only issue was with the chainsaw - not the mill. My chainsaw oiler was not pumping bar oil in the position you see in the standard photo. So, I had to mount it more vertical and even then added oil manually once in a while. I was using a husqvarna 340 - which is not a pro grade saw. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mini mill pretty good with some problems

,
June 12, 2014
By kabbott
from Granger, IN
" Recently purchased a mini mill for creating cants/flitches. Works well. Just keep your chainsaw chain sharp and remember to have your log up higher than the length of the chainsaw bar. Getting the log up high enough so the bar doesn't touch the ground is the biggest problem I have. May need to buy a shorter bar than 24" since manually lifting 9' x 20" diameter red oak logs on other logs to cut is next to impossible.
I had a problem with the screws that tighten the bar to the mill. Can't unscrew them very far before they get too tight and hard to screw back in. Called Granberg and they had never had problem before. Also the bar with the screws that screws on to the chainsaw bar looks like it is bowed out. Still works. Asked Granberg about that too. Also a problem that had never had. For both problems they said they could send me new screws. The mill bar itself is welded on so they couldn't just replace that. I would have to buy another mini mill. So far I can keep using it with no problems. Don't know if long term I will have problem or not. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Mill

,
June 2, 2014
By Oldcrow45
from Worcester, MA
" I have used the Mini Mill to mill about 20 logs at my rustic camp. I works so great that I am going to buy another one and attach it another chain saw (different length blade) so I don't have to switch it back and forth when I want a different cut. I love it and highly recommend it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked well

,
February 4, 2014
By RowanCoMike
from NC
" Product worked well. Have made some really nice
oak and cedar beams which would have cost hundreds if I had to purchase them.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well for the money

,
April 23, 2013
By ROB60
from New Hope, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Have used the mini mill several times now and it worked well. I have an 24" chain saw with a rip chain and I made a log stand by making a pair of cross stands from some 4x4's. The first cut is the most difficult. But take your time and set up the rail straight and level and then you have a flat surface to cut the rest of the log. I have not cut anything longer than 5' but longer cuts shouldn't be a problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool !!

,
October 8, 2012
By MA185
from Buffalo West Virgina
" The set up is easy (comes with instructions) And best of all you dont have to handle big logs, take the tools to your logs, I use a 71cc, saw ( I recomend) a sharp chain (a must !!) and a bit more chain oil than usual. Set-up is key for straight and plum lumber, once you figure that out, time to cut. The mill is solid, And pretty light, I dont feel like it is going to fall apart, no vibration, (I keep check on everything, every time i start the saw) the rails and 2x8 is what i use, I put rails on both sides of the 2x8 and go down one side, then the other side, flip the log on the flat side, set-up, cut both sides, now i have a true 8x8 piece of lumber to cary out. Another Key piece of advice "GO SLOW" take your time! BE SAFE!! Enjoy the end result, FREE LUMBER!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minature mill

,
October 8, 2012
By Js111
from Stony Brook New York
" I had to rip down some old beams to match existing. Was very useful and accurate, saved my table saw. Would recommend.. Easy to put together and use. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does a good job for the money

,
January 18, 2012
By Obie
from North of Philadelphia
" I was suprised how well it worked. My saw is not big enough for a ripping chain so had to take it very slow as I was cutting a 15 inch diameter log with a 16 inch chain saw. Take the time to square up both ends of the of the log with the 2x6 on top. Make some small wedges to help keep the 2x6 straight for that first cut. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 1, 2010
By AWoodWorker
from Omaha, NE
" This attachment works wonders! It is easy to set up and use and creates straight edges with minimal effort. A must if you have the Alaskan Mill! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mini mill

,
March 16, 2009
By porkchp
from north texas
" I use the mini mill as an added tool to the Alaskan MKIII. I have an older saw that I keep it attached too, so I don’t waist time changing out the mini mill back to the MKIII. If you only have one saw, it is still an easy change.
I was sold on it as an edger, however I can see where one could use this alone to cut boards. I like the way my saw stays in an upright position. This keeps more oil on the chain in warm weather. I also think I can cut through a log faster with this vs. the MKIII. I have never checked the accuracy though. For the overall cost it’s a great tool to get started with.
Don't kid yourself if you think you are going to turn out hundreds of boards a day with this or the MKIII - you won't. It is hard work and taxing on the saw. This is for the "weekend warier" who needs a few boards for a project.
I use a Husky 385xp and sharpen a standard chain to 10 degrees. It works just fine. I also built a "log rack" to roll the logs up about waist high.
Work smart - not hard. Happy sawing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quartersawing

,
April 22, 2008
By axjpg
from Europe Luxembourg
" Sure, the mini mill G555B is not the thing to get quartersawn lumber straight away.
(It's a method of cutting a log that results in the growth rings intersecting the face of the board at an angle between 60 and 90 degrees.)
But in combination with a carriage mill (like the LOGOSOL M7 or others) you get a substantial complement.
Especially, if you are dealing with large diameter logs.
In fact, I have the opportunity of quarter sawing white oak here in the "Grand Duchy of Luxembourg" (Europe). They typically are 24" in diameter and due to their weight, it is a real issue to get them on the top of the mill!
It's not only time consuming to raise them up but also dangerous to quarter them in the usual way.
With the aid of the mini mill, I'm now able to quarter them virtually on floor level. Doing so, weight is also quartered.
The accuracy of the (4) right angeled pieces is amazing!
No stress and much less sweat!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy for first timer

,
April 21, 2008
By schmaz
from Pinnacle, NC
" Somehow I got a bug to create my own beams and boards, as I have many Pine and Oak trees in my back yard....After doing the research I ended up purchasing this mini-mill....Very impressed at the simplicity and ease of operation.....The aluminum rail that is mounted to the 2X8 is a bit weaker than I had hoped, but a few extra drill holes and screws and I was good to go. It obviously helps to have a solid chain saw and sharp chain, but creating your own lumber is fun, green, and economical. I plan on building a tool shed with the lumber.....good purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Mill

,
October 15, 2007
By Dadio
from Georgia
" Works exactly as advertised! Be sure your chain is sharp and oiled. You may want to get a chain sharpener, too. I am using it to quartersaw a red oak we had to cut down this summer. The wood is beatiful!
Don't kid yourself though, chainsaw milling is hard work and very time consuming.
I guess I'm just crazy enough to enjoy it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.