Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"

"Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"

Item# 11874
"The Mini Mill is a perfect compact milling attachment for your chain saw great for cutting logs into lumber or beams. It also makes an ideal partner for edging with your Alaskan MKII or MKIII. Precision cutting for precision edges. Comes with 12ft. of metal guide rail in 2ft. lengths with screws. Bar Length in. Up to 24, Log Diameter in. Cuts up to 30."
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Review 1 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B

,
December 27, 2015
By
from texas
Product is easy to assemble, set up and can cut according to your immagination. Has allowed a new option to an abundance resource.... Cedar Trees.
Worth the Price and Northern Staff was very informative on safe use and options. Very Satisfied with purchase.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tracks Flex

,
December 9, 2015
By
from NC
The Mini Mill works well with only one drawback. The tracks that you screw onto a board for the device to follow have a screw at each end of the two foot section. The tracks flex when at mid track making an undulating surface. I am going to drill a hole in the middle of each track for an additional screw to prevent the flexing of the track thus making straighter cuts.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple

,
November 20, 2015
By
from Lebanon, Mo
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This product is a simple unique design and very easy to use What makes it great is you don't need to bring your timber to your little saw mill, you just bring your saw mill to your timbers location and mil out your lumber needed on the spot you cut and fall your timber. I have been able to cut good clean 12 foot lumber with my mini mill Model# G555B. This has open up a whole new world of wood working projects. I am very happy with my product! I will be purchasing accessories for my mini mill and other sawmill and logging products.
Best Regards,
djkjr60
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B

,
November 6, 2015
By
from Wisconsin
The Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B met my expectations. It was very easy to bolt on to my chain saw and quickly make some boards. The price was reasonable and I would recommend this product to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini MIll

,
November 5, 2015
By
from Vermont
Product performed as described. Everything was constructed of solid materials and was as expected.
Easy to assemble and attach to chainsaw. Works well and quick delivery.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tool for long cuts

,
September 29, 2015
By
from Roy, WA
I have had this tool for a year now and it is such a time saver for things like cutting rafter ends even, cutting large plywood layouts, etc. Well worth the investment.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mini mill

,
August 17, 2015
By
from Harrodsburg, KY
Works well for cutting boards to replace boards on my barn and deck. Works well for small scale projects around the house.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

does what it says

,
April 2, 2015
By
from wyo
Works well, pretty accurate, and easy to use!!
Instructions say to use pieces of wood to level the guide board, instead I chose to insert nuts into the underside of the guide board and used bolts to set the guide board level. It works with any shaped log and I feel that it is more stable than using pieces of wood.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saw Mill

,
April 2, 2015
By
from San Luis Obispo,California
Excellent product !!!
Very easy to setup and use. Be sure to get a perfectly straight 2X6 for your guide board and be ready for the shower of wood chips and saw dust !!!
Makes easy work on cutting walnut slabs.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I needed

,
March 1, 2015
By
from Rolla, Missouri
Was easy to setup and use. Very well built. Worth the money for someone needing to cut a little or a lot.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rippin

,
January 18, 2015
By
from Dallas, OR
the mill was really easy to use. It paid for it's self in a couple hours.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minimill

,
January 4, 2015
By
from Hainesport,NJ
I am making a table out of wood on my property.The minimill works as advertised.I am squaring off 10 ft. oak planks that are 3 in. thick and it works great.The more I use it the easier it gets.Thanks for a great producy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini Mill, Good Investment.

,
December 1, 2014
By
from Dayton, Ohio
As a small business owner its important to invest my hard earned capital on tools and equipment that makes me more, or saves me more money. That is why I decided to purchase the Granberg Mini Mill, and its been a great investment at a very low cost.
The Granberg Mini Mill, works as described, is easy to use, makes good cuts, and is easy to assemble. The Mini Mill comes with six 24" bars that screw onto a board. To ensure the bars are attached to the board in a straight line, use a chalk line to mark the board, line up the bars and then screw them on. Once completed your ready to mount the Mini Mill to your chain saw! This can be done by tightening the two bolts to the chain saw bar. Be sure to measure the depth of your cut before cutting. Once this is finished your ready to make clean 90 degree cuts with your chain saw and Granberg Mini Mill! The Mini Mill will save you money the first time you mill out a tree that has fallen on your property.
To get the utmost out of your Granberg Mini Mill I would recommend purchasing the following equipment. They were designed to work together and it sure makes milling easier! (it is not necessary to purchase the following equipment to mill out logs with the Granberg Mini Mill).
1. Granberg Mini Mill
2. Alaskan MK III Portable Lumber Mill, # G776-24
3. Granberg EZ Rail Mill Guide System — 9-Ft., 3 Crossbar Kits, Model# G1080
4. Granberg EZ Rail Connector Kit, Model# G1090
Using the equipment listed above and the Granberg Mini Mill I milled out all the lumber I needed to build a two story 25' x 50' pole barn. Saving me thousands in lumber cost. The Granberg Mini Mill has been a great investment and I will continue to make valuable hardwood lumber with it!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bigger Chain Saw

,
November 11, 2014
By
from Indiana
The rig setup does work, but get yourself a big chainsaw with some HP.. I used a Husqvarna 440 with 18" bar on white oak logs, it took forever ( 10 minutes) to make one 10 foot pass with a new chain.. But with dedication I do have some 2 in thick planks. and a possible mantle log..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Mill works great.

,
October 20, 2014
By
from New Germany, PA
The mini mill works better than I had hoped. It attaches and is removed from the bar quickly. It worked great when I used it to cut the mantle for my outdoor fireplace.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Cutting my mantle using the mini mill.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Minimill

,
September 7, 2014
By
from Wisconsin
I bought the Mini Mill after considering other options. For the price I took a chance. The mini mill works very good cutting larger planks. I cut 2x8x13feet white oak planks that turned out very good. For 1inch lumber the mini mill does not work very good. A shorter bar on your chain saw works best. A long bar gives too much tip whip. In a 2 day period I cut several 2x8 white oak planks that are very good quality. It takes time, gas and sweat but you make it yourself with your own lumber!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good for making beams

,
June 25, 2014
By
from NC
I've only used this to make some beams. It worked well for that. The only issue was with the chainsaw - not the mill. My chainsaw oiler was not pumping bar oil in the position you see in the standard photo. So, I had to mount it more vertical and even then added oil manually once in a while. I was using a husqvarna 340 - which is not a pro grade saw.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mini mill pretty good with some problems

,
June 12, 2014
By
from Granger, IN
Recently purchased a mini mill for creating cants/flitches. Works well. Just keep your chainsaw chain sharp and remember to have your log up higher than the length of the chainsaw bar. Getting the log up high enough so the bar doesn't touch the ground is the biggest problem I have. May need to buy a shorter bar than 24" since manually lifting 9' x 20" diameter red oak logs on other logs to cut is next to impossible.
I had a problem with the screws that tighten the bar to the mill. Can't unscrew them very far before they get too tight and hard to screw back in. Called Granberg and they had never had problem before. Also the bar with the screws that screws on to the chainsaw bar looks like it is bowed out. Still works. Asked Granberg about that too. Also a problem that had never had. For both problems they said they could send me new screws. The mill bar itself is welded on so they couldn't just replace that. I would have to buy another mini mill. So far I can keep using it with no problems. Don't know if long term I will have problem or not.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Mill

,
June 2, 2014
By
from Worcester, MA
I have used the Mini Mill to mill about 20 logs at my rustic camp. I works so great that I am going to buy another one and attach it another chain saw (different length blade) so I don't have to switch it back and forth when I want a different cut. I love it and highly recommend it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Mini Mill, Model# G555B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked well

,
February 4, 2014
By
from NC
Product worked well. Have made some really nice
oak and cedar beams which would have cost hundreds if I had to purchase them.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.