Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777

Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777

Item# 11879
The Alaskan small log Chain Saw Milling attachment is perfect for the woodworker, homeowner or carpenter. Compact, lightweight design bolts directly to the chain saw's bar without any drilling required. Application Log milling attachment to cut lumber, Handles up to in. 1/2-13 thick, 17 wide, Works With Chain saw w/20 in. or less bars. Lightweight mill can access nearly all timber High-quality mill cuts beams or lumber from 1/2in. to 13in. thick and 17in. wide Attaches to saw without drilling bar Designed to fit chain saws with 20in. or less bars
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
43 of 44(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Review 1 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
August 8, 2014
By scrounger
from Kentucky
"I love it. Used it for the first time and now I'm hooked."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
May 8, 2014
By Oldcrow45
from Worcester, MA
"This mill is great for doing jobs that your chainsaw is capable of. It will glide smoothly across the rails and make a smooth, even cut with little effort. Easy to attach to the saw. It is not intended to replace a commercial saw mill but it made some nice beams and boards for me. Follow the directions carefully and you will be making almost any size cut you need.
You will need to purchase the rails for your initial cut (I made my own rail system). You will also need a guide tool for edging the boards or beams. Together, you can cut any size board or beam your saw is capable of!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice suprise

,
February 4, 2014
By gumbo44
from la.
"I wasnt expecting much from such a small lightweight attachment but BOY HOWDY it performs way beyond my expectations. great tool very impressed"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome gadget!

,
September 17, 2013
By Hardwoody
from Bedford, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this mill to cut a fireplace mantle for our new house we are building. For the price I would have paid to have a mill cut it, it paid for the mill and then some. After cutting the mantle I now find myself cutting lumber almost every weekend for new projects I have been building in my woodshop. This product is great and allows me to save lots of money on wood and I can cut whatever size, thickness or kind of wood that I need. It's a great feeling building something that you turned from a tree all the way into a piece of furniture."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood worker

,
April 24, 2013
By beener
from arkansas city, ks.
"This is a great tool for woodturners that like to make trips to the woods to get their project instead of the lumber yard. I have more choices their of my wood and cheaper too!!
The Beener
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saw mill

,
April 23, 2013
By woodsmen
from Modesto,CA
"this thing was easy to set up and worked very well. I have been cutting planks to make a kitchen table for my wife. I would recommend this."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandberg Chain Saw Mill

,
April 23, 2013
By redfeathera
from colorado
"I got this mill to mill beetle kill pine. It works great and beats trying to free hand. I got a comercial grade electric chain saw as I did mill inside my shop this winter and the gas ones just won't work in an enclosed area. I peeled all the bark off the logs as with all the dirt and sand inside the bark it dulls the chain fast. I used a straight 2X10 as a guide and really works well to slide on and keep things true. Don't forget to change the angle of your chain teeth to around 10 degrees and it will cut smoother."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

alaskan saw mill

,
October 15, 2012
By hicup
from nettie wv
"best money i ever spent on improvements to my woodshop, custom saw what you want, or whats available,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-20points
6out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sawing hardwood logs into small boards

,
August 16, 2012
By idaspud
from Idaho
"Works fine, just used a flat board to set up for a guide for the first cut and then worked great on the second, third, etc. cuts. Would recommend a bigger saw as it takes quite a while to cut a 3 foot long board."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill

,
August 14, 2012
By MossyOak
from Va
"Was easy to put together and get set up on chainsaw, works good to cut logs up to about 16" ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill

,
May 7, 2012
By CharlyAddig
from Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought the small Grangerg G777 Mill to make boards from black walnut, oak, cherry and maple trees on my property, instead of using them for firewood. I matched it with my Stihl 59cc Farm Boss (about 3.75 HP) and a Granberg Ripping Chain.
My first board milling was a 7 ft long, 17 inch dia black walnut trunk milled into 1 inch thick boards. The results were great. The mill was easy to use (I'm 70 yr old) albeit a bit slow going. A larger chainsaw would speed things up. I had to use a dust mask as a lot of fine sawdust was created. I also did a test cut on a sugar maple and found the cutting speed to be the same (about a foot a minute).
Being highly portable and inexpensive, this mill fits my needs perfectly. I recommend it to anyone that has an occasional need to mill boards where the trees fall.
Now to make a table from those beautiful black walnut boards after drying and running them through my surface planer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did everything I needed

,
October 17, 2011
By DrDave2
from Northern Michigan
"I found this mill very easy to set up, and was making boards without problems using my regular chain. We had alot of fun making benches for the camp ring, boards for my boy's fort, garden 6x6 landscape barries etc. I've had it for a couple years and use it for fun projects with wood from our property and have saved a lot of money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 23, 2011
By SGray1984
from Louisville, KY
"This sawmill has come in handy. I always find people that have trees down such as oak, maple, and cherry on craigslist in the free section. Now I can actually use the lumber for something besides firewood. This has been a blessing. You definitely need to purchase a set of the rails with this. However everything is lite, but well built. I would definitely suggest this to anyone looking to save on some lumber expense."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 21, 2011
By silverdave
from Laurens, SC
"I was supprized when I started useing this saw mill. It was so easy and makes very nice lumber. If you have a planer you can make some beutiful lumber for all kinds of woodworking."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini Chainsaw mill

,
November 16, 2010
By 2006bennett
from Wharton Tx
"This is great easy to use product straight out of the box ! I would recommend this to anyone who hates to make fire wood from useful timber.
I would also advise that you buy a Granberg Ripping chain at the same time as they make light work of cutting trees into lumber !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gadget!

,
August 30, 2010
By JSHinNY
from New York
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this mill a couple of years ago. My first couple of efforts involved cutting trees from my yard - maple and cedar. I do not have an overly powerful chain saw, so it was not a fast project to rip the boards, but it did it. What a pleasure to turn these trees from my yard into something useful.
Then last fall I ripped a 14 foot long, 300 year old chestnut beam into boards (the beam had been left sitting out in the weather for a year, until I could not bare to see it deteriorate). Stopping to sharpen the chain frequently, it took me a few hours to rip it into four boards.
Keep in mind that with a chainsaw blade you do lose more wood than you would with a ban saw mill. Also, the surface will be quite rough and need planing. However, I could do it when and where I wanted with little set-up effort.
Overall though, I am thrilled to have seen the results for a low cost mill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Saw Mill

,
May 24, 2010
By Philip
from Texas
"I bought one of these about 8 mo. ago and have used it to rip boards from some mesquite trees on our place . Mesquite wood is hard as oak and has a nicer grain . I made my own rails out of some one inch sq. tubeing It took a little time to get the desine down but it works pretty good for the first cut then after that you just start sliceing . if you have trees on you place or can cut some where else and need some lumber this tool works great but you do need a good sized saw my poulan 330 would do it but was hard on it so bought a sthil ms460 now the chips do fly im very happy with it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chainsaw Mill

,
February 23, 2010
By PRJOHN
from Seattle, WA
"This is a well made product that serves its purpose well in the field."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chain saw mill

,
February 16, 2010
By tommiz
from medford, long island, ny
"after making my own slide track, i was astonished at how well it worked.there was almost no effort to cutting the logs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bridge builder

,
February 15, 2010
By 6107
from Fenton MI
"I purchased the saw mill to see what I could do. I built a5' x 30 foot long bridge over a creek at our lodge in northern Michigan. I slabbed all the deck boards from cedar on our property.
I did need to purchase a Rip blade for my saw. after that it was like cutting butter.
It is awesome tool! I had a lot of fun!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.