Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777

Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777

Item# 11879
The Alaskan small log Chain Saw Milling attachment is perfect for the woodworker, homeowner or carpenter. Compact, lightweight design bolts directly to the chain saw's bar without any drilling required. Application Log milling attachment to cut lumber, Handles up to in. 1/2-13 thick, 17 wide, Works With Chain saw w/20 in. or less bars. Lightweight mill can access nearly all timber High-quality mill cuts beams or lumber from 1/2in. to 13in. thick and 17in. wide Attaches to saw without drilling bar Designed to fit chain saws with 20in. or less bars
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
43 of 44(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Review 1 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
August 8, 2014
By scrounger
from Kentucky
"I love it. Used it for the first time and now I'm hooked."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
May 8, 2014
By Oldcrow45
from Worcester, MA
"This mill is great for doing jobs that your chainsaw is capable of. It will glide smoothly across the rails and make a smooth, even cut with little effort. Easy to attach to the saw. It is not intended to replace a commercial saw mill but it made some nice beams and boards for me. Follow the directions carefully and you will be making almost any size cut you need.
You will need to purchase the rails for your initial cut (I made my own rail system). You will also need a guide tool for edging the boards or beams. Together, you can cut any size board or beam your saw is capable of!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good for rough cutting

,
February 4, 2014
By cdskin
from logansport in
"The woods that I harvest most of my lumber from is very hilly with some steep and narrow ravines. I use this to cut logs in half to make them more manageable so I can get them to somewhere where I can skid them with my tractor up to my big mill. I have used this to cut 2 in thick planks for wall studs and it does a pretty decent job. So for what I use this for it works great for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice suprise

,
February 4, 2014
By gumbo44
from la.
"I wasnt expecting much from such a small lightweight attachment but BOY HOWDY it performs way beyond my expectations. great tool very impressed"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Granberg Saw Mill, Model# G777

,
November 20, 2013
By 1Crazylogger
from Not sure where in Indiana.
"I own 2 Alaska Mills, this small log mill (Model# G777) and an Alaskan Mill (MK-III) (Model G776-36) that I run on a 36" bar. This mill is o.k. for making rough planks, etc. The Model# G777 cannot consistently make planks or slabs with parallel surfaces due to the unsupported bar tip. Usually 1/8" to 1/4" side to side difference in slab thickness creating extra expense in surfacing to get parallel faces not to mention the value of wood lost in processing. If you want good slabs for woodworking projects, spend the extra money for one of the Alaska Mills having a supported bar! I've milled 3,500+ bd-ft of walnut, cherry, hackberry, & beech with my Alaskan Mill (MK-III) & have no complaints. Keep the ripping chain sharp & pay attention to your depth of cut on the rakers. I just checked the manufacture's web site & they now offer a conversion kit for this mill. It's called "Small Log Mill Conversion Kit" and it's Model No. is:G998. I highly recommend this kit to anyone who already owns this mill. Kit will effectively give you the equivalent of an Alaskan Mill (MK-III). Now that a conversion kit is available I'll be purchasing one to get my Small Log Mill back in use. One last thing & I'll get off the soapbox - wear your safety equipment! That includes a dust mask; there is a lot of fines one doesn't think about! Be safe, & grip-it & rip-it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome gadget!

,
September 17, 2013
By Hardwoody
from Bedford, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this mill to cut a fireplace mantle for our new house we are building. For the price I would have paid to have a mill cut it, it paid for the mill and then some. After cutting the mantle I now find myself cutting lumber almost every weekend for new projects I have been building in my woodshop. This product is great and allows me to save lots of money on wood and I can cut whatever size, thickness or kind of wood that I need. It's a great feeling building something that you turned from a tree all the way into a piece of furniture."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood worker

,
April 24, 2013
By beener
from arkansas city, ks.
"This is a great tool for woodturners that like to make trips to the woods to get their project instead of the lumber yard. I have more choices their of my wood and cheaper too!!
The Beener
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saw mill

,
April 23, 2013
By woodsmen
from Modesto,CA
"this thing was easy to set up and worked very well. I have been cutting planks to make a kitchen table for my wife. I would recommend this."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandberg Chain Saw Mill

,
April 23, 2013
By redfeathera
from colorado
"I got this mill to mill beetle kill pine. It works great and beats trying to free hand. I got a comercial grade electric chain saw as I did mill inside my shop this winter and the gas ones just won't work in an enclosed area. I peeled all the bark off the logs as with all the dirt and sand inside the bark it dulls the chain fast. I used a straight 2X10 as a guide and really works well to slide on and keep things true. Don't forget to change the angle of your chain teeth to around 10 degrees and it will cut smoother."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

alaskan saw mill

,
October 15, 2012
By hicup
from nettie wv
"best money i ever spent on improvements to my woodshop, custom saw what you want, or whats available,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-18points
8out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sawing hardwood logs into small boards

,
August 16, 2012
By idaspud
from Idaho
"Works fine, just used a flat board to set up for a guide for the first cut and then worked great on the second, third, etc. cuts. Would recommend a bigger saw as it takes quite a while to cut a 3 foot long board."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill

,
August 14, 2012
By MossyOak
from Va
"Was easy to put together and get set up on chainsaw, works good to cut logs up to about 16" ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Idea, great product !!!

,
May 7, 2012
By Gintas
from Mt.Airy, MD
"The parts used to make the tool are not excellent quality, bolts wore out fast, hard to adjust. But in principle, i love the idea, and is great for small hobbies and projects."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill

,
May 7, 2012
By CharlyAddig
from Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought the small Grangerg G777 Mill to make boards from black walnut, oak, cherry and maple trees on my property, instead of using them for firewood. I matched it with my Stihl 59cc Farm Boss (about 3.75 HP) and a Granberg Ripping Chain.
My first board milling was a 7 ft long, 17 inch dia black walnut trunk milled into 1 inch thick boards. The results were great. The mill was easy to use (I'm 70 yr old) albeit a bit slow going. A larger chainsaw would speed things up. I had to use a dust mask as a lot of fine sawdust was created. I also did a test cut on a sugar maple and found the cutting speed to be the same (about a foot a minute).
Being highly portable and inexpensive, this mill fits my needs perfectly. I recommend it to anyone that has an occasional need to mill boards where the trees fall.
Now to make a table from those beautiful black walnut boards after drying and running them through my surface planer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill Model#G777

,
January 9, 2012
By DKitch
from Cottonwood, AZ
"Easy to assemble and real easy to use. It's a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did everything I needed

,
October 17, 2011
By DrDave2
from Northern Michigan
"I found this mill very easy to set up, and was making boards without problems using my regular chain. We had alot of fun making benches for the camp ring, boards for my boy's fort, garden 6x6 landscape barries etc. I've had it for a couple years and use it for fun projects with wood from our property and have saved a lot of money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 23, 2011
By SGray1984
from Louisville, KY
"This sawmill has come in handy. I always find people that have trees down such as oak, maple, and cherry on craigslist in the free section. Now I can actually use the lumber for something besides firewood. This has been a blessing. You definitely need to purchase a set of the rails with this. However everything is lite, but well built. I would definitely suggest this to anyone looking to save on some lumber expense."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill

,
March 23, 2011
By smreview
from Canyon Lake, TX
"it wooks great once you get the hang of the second cut it can be difficult to get it smooth on the end. Just take your time at the begining and the end of the cut."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 21, 2011
By silverdave
from Laurens, SC
"I was supprized when I started useing this saw mill. It was so easy and makes very nice lumber. If you have a planer you can make some beutiful lumber for all kinds of woodworking."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Mini Chainsaw mill

,
November 16, 2010
By 2006bennett
from Wharton Tx
"This is great easy to use product straight out of the box ! I would recommend this to anyone who hates to make fire wood from useful timber.
I would also advise that you buy a Granberg Ripping chain at the same time as they make light work of cutting trees into lumber !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.