Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"

"Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"

Item# 11879
"The Alaskan small log Chain Saw Milling attachment is perfect for the woodworker, homeowner or carpenter. Compact, lightweight design bolts directly to the chain saw's bar without any drilling required. Handles up to in. 1/2-13 thick, 17 wide, Application Log milling attachment to cut lumber, Works With Chainsaw up to 20 in. bar. Lightweight mill can access nearly all timber High-quality mill cuts beams or lumber from 1/2in. to 13in. thick and 17in. wide Attaches to saw without drilling bar Designed to fit chain saws with 20in. or less bars"
Average Customer Rating:
4.709 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (55 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
54 of 55(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Review 1 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sawmill

,
May 23, 2015
By RCD7
from Panama City, Fl
" Product was exactly as described and worked as shown in the video. I was pleased with performance. Really need a sharp chain to keep from taking too long. I used it to saw cedar. I wasn't aware that a ripping chain was available until I read the ad that came with the sawmill. I'll probably order one when I get my new chainsaw!
The first cut is key - I made a frame from 2 X 4's in order to have a straight edge to cut from
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Milling System a Breeze

,
May 22, 2015
By BJ01
from Greenwich CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The milling system was very easy to put together, is light, tough, easy to use and does a great job.
I have used it with a small csaw with a 14 inch bar, and a larger more powerful csaw with a 20" bar. Both worked perfectly but the more power the better the result.
Only issue was that some of the pictures on the instructions did not align with the plans, and I had a couple of nuts missing so i had to improvise. No big deal. but it could have been if there was more missing as these bolts are specially made.
I am on my 6th cherry log now and still going strong. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How easy and efficient it is to use.

,
May 13, 2015
By SLoc
from Bridgewater,New Jersey
" This was the first time I ever used a tool like this. And the results are coming out beyond my expectations. I had big oak trees that fell from Hurricane Sandy. I don't have a fireplace so they were just going to rot away. With your tool I'm in the process of building a tree house for my youngest daughter.
Thanks
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

logging helper

,
May 11, 2015
By lg21
from groton ny
" I just got the saw mill, have plenty of logs, I need to cut for the size boards i need. have ripping chain coming so I can start cutting. find out soon if It works as good it is stated. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

g777 mini chainsaw mill

,
May 11, 2015
By jrthatsme
from southern mo
" this is a handy tool for someone wanting small amounts of custom milled lumber. my biggest complaint would be that the unit is not balanced with a saw installed but its not a deal breaker. a counter weight attachment point would be nice. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg saw mill

,
April 25, 2015
By richragains
from kentucky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I thought this thing would one, be a pain in the butt to put together and two, probably be difficult to use. Luckily, I was wrong about both of those things. It took only 15 minutes to bolt together. Then when I used it, the bolts bolted on tightly to the chain bar and I was cutting slabs right away. When I went to adjust the mill for thicker slabs it was quick and easy. Keep up the good work guys. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works better than I do

,
April 13, 2015
By davlow76
from Cove, AR
" The Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777 was fairly easy to assemble and attach to my chain saw. It works well but it helps to have a strong back if you use it very long. For smooth cuts the proper chain is a necessity. Overall a great buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Toy!!!

,
January 18, 2015
By Nicotian001
from Texas
" I tried cutting timbers/planks free-hand and was not too happy, you get off-course for a split-second and waste lumber. I don't require absolute perfection, so this little sawmill does the trick, I made my own ripping chain out of an old crosscut. I imagine I will buy the upgrade (with the bar tip support) if I get a large pile of good logs, as this rig will 'flex' without the added support, but until then, I am happy as can be with this rig. BTW, the assembly instructions could use major overhaul... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chainsaw mill

,
December 17, 2014
By Fsch
from Stanwood, WA
" Everything and a bag of chips. Easy assembly and even easier to use. Have all ready made 12 4X4 fence posts. Falling another fir tree to make 10 foot 2x6 cross rails. Fun, fast, and efficient. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-10points
5out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alaskan Sawmill

,
November 23, 2014
By FarmerE
from Temple, Maine
" Easy to assemble. I have not used it yet, but with my previous experience with cutting wood, I am sure it would be slow going. I bought it because I can go out in the woods and saw one tree for my woodworking projects myself and not have to worry about getting the log to a sawmill.
As I said I think it will do ok, with the expectation that it will be very slow, but still better than having to take one log to a sawmill.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-13points
5out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Cool

,
October 15, 2014
By cedarreaper
from TX
" I've been wanting this thing for a year and finally bought it. It will actually work on a longer bar--about 26". Easy assembly except one piece was missing and ended up with 5 extra washers. It didn't fall apart so I guess everything is ok. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
August 8, 2014
By scrounger
from Kentucky
" I love it. Used it for the first time and now I'm hooked. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
May 8, 2014
By Oldcrow45
from Worcester, MA
" This mill is great for doing jobs that your chainsaw is capable of. It will glide smoothly across the rails and make a smooth, even cut with little effort. Easy to attach to the saw. It is not intended to replace a commercial saw mill but it made some nice beams and boards for me. Follow the directions carefully and you will be making almost any size cut you need.
You will need to purchase the rails for your initial cut (I made my own rail system). You will also need a guide tool for edging the boards or beams. Together, you can cut any size board or beam your saw is capable of!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good for rough cutting

,
February 4, 2014
By cdskin
from logansport in
" The woods that I harvest most of my lumber from is very hilly with some steep and narrow ravines. I use this to cut logs in half to make them more manageable so I can get them to somewhere where I can skid them with my tractor up to my big mill. I have used this to cut 2 in thick planks for wall studs and it does a pretty decent job. So for what I use this for it works great for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice suprise

,
February 4, 2014
By gumbo44
from la.
" I wasnt expecting much from such a small lightweight attachment but BOY HOWDY it performs way beyond my expectations. great tool very impressed "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Granberg Saw Mill, Model# G777

,
November 20, 2013
By 1Crazylogger
from Not sure where in Indiana.
" I own 2 Alaska Mills, this small log mill (Model# G777) and an Alaskan Mill (MK-III) (Model G776-36) that I run on a 36" bar. This mill is o.k. for making rough planks, etc. The Model# G777 cannot consistently make planks or slabs with parallel surfaces due to the unsupported bar tip. Usually 1/8" to 1/4" side to side difference in slab thickness creating extra expense in surfacing to get parallel faces not to mention the value of wood lost in processing. If you want good slabs for woodworking projects, spend the extra money for one of the Alaska Mills having a supported bar! I've milled 3,500+ bd-ft of walnut, cherry, hackberry, & beech with my Alaskan Mill (MK-III) & have no complaints. Keep the ripping chain sharp & pay attention to your depth of cut on the rakers. I just checked the manufacture's web site & they now offer a conversion kit for this mill. It's called "Small Log Mill Conversion Kit" and it's Model No. is:G998. I highly recommend this kit to anyone who already owns this mill. Kit will effectively give you the equivalent of an Alaskan Mill (MK-III). Now that a conversion kit is available I'll be purchasing one to get my Small Log Mill back in use. One last thing & I'll get off the soapbox - wear your safety equipment! That includes a dust mask; there is a lot of fines one doesn't think about! Be safe, & grip-it & rip-it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+59points
59out of 59found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome gadget!

,
September 17, 2013
By Hardwoody
from Bedford, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this mill to cut a fireplace mantle for our new house we are building. For the price I would have paid to have a mill cut it, it paid for the mill and then some. After cutting the mantle I now find myself cutting lumber almost every weekend for new projects I have been building in my woodshop. This product is great and allows me to save lots of money on wood and I can cut whatever size, thickness or kind of wood that I need. It's a great feeling building something that you turned from a tree all the way into a piece of furniture. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood worker

,
April 24, 2013
By beener
from arkansas city, ks.
" This is a great tool for woodturners that like to make trips to the woods to get their project instead of the lumber yard. I have more choices their of my wood and cheaper too!!
The Beener
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saw mill

,
April 23, 2013
By woodsmen
from Modesto,CA
" this thing was easy to set up and worked very well. I have been cutting planks to make a kitchen table for my wife. I would recommend this. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandberg Chain Saw Mill

,
April 23, 2013
By redfeathera
from colorado
" I got this mill to mill beetle kill pine. It works great and beats trying to free hand. I got a comercial grade electric chain saw as I did mill inside my shop this winter and the gas ones just won't work in an enclosed area. I peeled all the bark off the logs as with all the dirt and sand inside the bark it dulls the chain fast. I used a straight 2X10 as a guide and really works well to slide on and keep things true. Don't forget to change the angle of your chain teeth to around 10 degrees and it will cut smoother. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.