Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"

"Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"

Item# 11879
"The Alaskan small log Chainsaw Milling attachment is perfect for the woodworker, homeowner or carpenter. Compact, lightweight design bolts directly to the chainsaw's bar without any drilling required. Bar Length in. Up to 20, Log Diameter in. Cuts up to 20, Cutting Width in. 18. Lightweight mill can access nearly all timber High-quality mill cuts beams or lumber from 1/2in. to 13in. thick and 17in. wide Attaches to saw without drilling bar Designed to fit chainsaws with 20in. or less bars"
Average Customer Rating:
4.678 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (59 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
58 of 59(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Review 1 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the Small Farm

,
November 11, 2015
By
from Waco ky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This item is an excellent item for around the house and farm. Especcially for the small time farms that cant afford the larger mills.
I has It put together and attached to my chainsaw in 20minutes.
i found that i can easily keep all of my boards were within 1/8" from side to side and makes a never nice looking roghcut board.
Works very well and it built very sturdy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Milling System a Breeze

,
May 22, 2015
By
from Greenwich CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The milling system was very easy to put together, is light, tough, easy to use and does a great job.
I have used it with a small csaw with a 14 inch bar, and a larger more powerful csaw with a 20" bar. Both worked perfectly but the more power the better the result.
Only issue was that some of the pictures on the instructions did not align with the plans, and I had a couple of nuts missing so i had to improvise. No big deal. but it could have been if there was more missing as these bolts are specially made.
I am on my 6th cherry log now and still going strong.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How easy and efficient it is to use.

,
May 13, 2015
By
from Bridgewater,New Jersey
This was the first time I ever used a tool like this. And the results are coming out beyond my expectations. I had big oak trees that fell from Hurricane Sandy. I don't have a fireplace so they were just going to rot away. With your tool I'm in the process of building a tree house for my youngest daughter.
Thanks
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

logging helper

,
May 11, 2015
By
from groton ny
I just got the saw mill, have plenty of logs, I need to cut for the size boards i need. have ripping chain coming so I can start cutting. find out soon if It works as good it is stated.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg saw mill

,
April 25, 2015
By
from kentucky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I thought this thing would one, be a pain in the butt to put together and two, probably be difficult to use. Luckily, I was wrong about both of those things. It took only 15 minutes to bolt together. Then when I used it, the bolts bolted on tightly to the chain bar and I was cutting slabs right away. When I went to adjust the mill for thicker slabs it was quick and easy. Keep up the good work guys.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Cool

,
October 15, 2014
By
from TX
I've been wanting this thing for a year and finally bought it. It will actually work on a longer bar--about 26". Easy assembly except one piece was missing and ended up with 5 extra washers. It didn't fall apart so I guess everything is ok.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
August 8, 2014
By
from Kentucky
I love it. Used it for the first time and now I'm hooked.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
May 8, 2014
By
from Worcester, MA
This mill is great for doing jobs that your chainsaw is capable of. It will glide smoothly across the rails and make a smooth, even cut with little effort. Easy to attach to the saw. It is not intended to replace a commercial saw mill but it made some nice beams and boards for me. Follow the directions carefully and you will be making almost any size cut you need.
You will need to purchase the rails for your initial cut (I made my own rail system). You will also need a guide tool for edging the boards or beams. Together, you can cut any size board or beam your saw is capable of!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice suprise

,
February 4, 2014
By
from la.
I wasnt expecting much from such a small lightweight attachment but BOY HOWDY it performs way beyond my expectations. great tool very impressed
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome gadget!

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Bedford, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this mill to cut a fireplace mantle for our new house we are building. For the price I would have paid to have a mill cut it, it paid for the mill and then some. After cutting the mantle I now find myself cutting lumber almost every weekend for new projects I have been building in my woodshop. This product is great and allows me to save lots of money on wood and I can cut whatever size, thickness or kind of wood that I need. It's a great feeling building something that you turned from a tree all the way into a piece of furniture.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood worker

,
April 24, 2013
By
from arkansas city, ks.
This is a great tool for woodturners that like to make trips to the woods to get their project instead of the lumber yard. I have more choices their of my wood and cheaper too!!
The Beener
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saw mill

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Modesto,CA
this thing was easy to set up and worked very well. I have been cutting planks to make a kitchen table for my wife. I would recommend this.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandberg Chain Saw Mill

,
April 23, 2013
By
from colorado
I got this mill to mill beetle kill pine. It works great and beats trying to free hand. I got a comercial grade electric chain saw as I did mill inside my shop this winter and the gas ones just won't work in an enclosed area. I peeled all the bark off the logs as with all the dirt and sand inside the bark it dulls the chain fast. I used a straight 2X10 as a guide and really works well to slide on and keep things true. Don't forget to change the angle of your chain teeth to around 10 degrees and it will cut smoother.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

alaskan saw mill

,
October 15, 2012
By
from nettie wv
best money i ever spent on improvements to my woodshop, custom saw what you want, or whats available,
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-18points
8out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sawing hardwood logs into small boards

,
August 16, 2012
By
from Idaho
Works fine, just used a flat board to set up for a guide for the first cut and then worked great on the second, third, etc. cuts. Would recommend a bigger saw as it takes quite a while to cut a 3 foot long board.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill

,
August 14, 2012
By
from Va
Was easy to put together and get set up on chainsaw, works good to cut logs up to about 16" .
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Mill

,
May 7, 2012
By
from Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought the small Grangerg G777 Mill to make boards from black walnut, oak, cherry and maple trees on my property, instead of using them for firewood. I matched it with my Stihl 59cc Farm Boss (about 3.75 HP) and a Granberg Ripping Chain.
My first board milling was a 7 ft long, 17 inch dia black walnut trunk milled into 1 inch thick boards. The results were great. The mill was easy to use (I'm 70 yr old) albeit a bit slow going. A larger chainsaw would speed things up. I had to use a dust mask as a lot of fine sawdust was created. I also did a test cut on a sugar maple and found the cutting speed to be the same (about a foot a minute).
Being highly portable and inexpensive, this mill fits my needs perfectly. I recommend it to anyone that has an occasional need to mill boards where the trees fall.
Now to make a table from those beautiful black walnut boards after drying and running them through my surface planer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did everything I needed

,
October 17, 2011
By
from Northern Michigan
I found this mill very easy to set up, and was making boards without problems using my regular chain. We had alot of fun making benches for the camp ring, boards for my boy's fort, garden 6x6 landscape barries etc. I've had it for a couple years and use it for fun projects with wood from our property and have saved a lot of money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 23, 2011
By
from Louisville, KY
This sawmill has come in handy. I always find people that have trees down such as oak, maple, and cherry on craigslist in the free section. Now I can actually use the lumber for something besides firewood. This has been a blessing. You definitely need to purchase a set of the rails with this. However everything is lite, but well built. I would definitely suggest this to anyone looking to save on some lumber expense.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 21, 2011
By
from Laurens, SC
I was supprized when I started useing this saw mill. It was so easy and makes very nice lumber. If you have a planer you can make some beutiful lumber for all kinds of woodworking.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.