Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"

"Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"

Item# 11879
"The Alaskan small log Chainsaw Milling attachment is perfect for the woodworker, homeowner or carpenter. Compact, lightweight design bolts directly to the chainsaw's bar without any drilling required. Bar Length in. Up to 20, Log Diameter in. Cuts up to 20, Cutting Width in. 18. Lightweight mill can access nearly all timber High-quality mill cuts beams or lumber from 1/2in. to 13in. thick and 17in. wide Attaches to saw without drilling bar Designed to fit chainsaws with 20in. or less bars"
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
60 of 61(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Review 1 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg chainsaw mill

,
May 10, 2016
By
from TN
Have used it and it works precisely as advertised and i still have all of my limbs amd digits ! While am not a novice at using a chainsaw, I am certainly not a woodsman. The assembly instructions and usage instructions could be simplified, but once its put together, using it is fairly intuitive. Milling is slow but a lot depends on the saw one is using and more specifically on the chain. I have produced enough cedar siding for a 12'x18" alcove for my homes exterior out of some cedar trees knocked over in a storm. My 19 year old son is now using it to create 5"-6" slabs of cedar, oak, and walnut and has started a small business creating rustic benches and tables and selling at local craft fairs and even a few stores.
Ive been able to use it on a small Stihl Chainsaw with a 16"bar as well as my Poulan with a 20" bar. Amazingly easy to swap. Seems to be durable as my son hasn't broken it and that is saying something.
I am using good quality Oregon chains and bars but I am interested in trying The Granberg Rip chain that they send infomration on when you get the mill. Would have been nice to have that info beforehand so I could have ordered it when I ordered the mill. Very satisfied with this product and would buy it again in a heartbeat !
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

,
February 17, 2016
By
from TN
Lightweight, extremely easy to use.
Works like it said it would
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Granberg Chainsaw Mill

,
December 31, 2015
By
from Minneapolis
I bought this as a Christmas gift to myself. Making items for the cabin from large trees that blew down from a storm.Well built product. Easy to assemble. The product works as claimed. It's designed for a 20" saw so you can only use it on 18" diameter trees. Milled my first 18" wide plank from a downed oak tree last weekend. Going to invest in a rip chain for the saw to make the cuts go faster.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cutting boards in the backyard

,
November 22, 2015
By
from New Jersey
It was easy to assemble and connected to my chainsaw with little effort. Boards came out better than expected. I have already reccomended this product to my neighbor.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the Small Farm

,
November 11, 2015
By
from Waco ky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This item is an excellent item for around the house and farm. Especcially for the small time farms that cant afford the larger mills.
I has It put together and attached to my chainsaw in 20minutes.
i found that i can easily keep all of my boards were within 1/8" from side to side and makes a never nice looking roghcut board.
Works very well and it built very sturdy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lumber Mill

,
October 19, 2015
By
from Bethpage
Cuts rough cut planks well. Make sure you have a ripping chain to go with it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sawmill

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Panama City, Fl
Product was exactly as described and worked as shown in the video. I was pleased with performance. Really need a sharp chain to keep from taking too long. I used it to saw cedar. I wasn't aware that a ripping chain was available until I read the ad that came with the sawmill. I'll probably order one when I get my new chainsaw!
The first cut is key - I made a frame from 2 X 4's in order to have a straight edge to cut from
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+48points
53out of 58found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Milling System a Breeze

,
May 22, 2015
By
from Greenwich CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The milling system was very easy to put together, is light, tough, easy to use and does a great job.
I have used it with a small csaw with a 14 inch bar, and a larger more powerful csaw with a 20" bar. Both worked perfectly but the more power the better the result.
Only issue was that some of the pictures on the instructions did not align with the plans, and I had a couple of nuts missing so i had to improvise. No big deal. but it could have been if there was more missing as these bolts are specially made.
I am on my 6th cherry log now and still going strong.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+27points
31out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How easy and efficient it is to use.

,
May 13, 2015
By
from Bridgewater,New Jersey
This was the first time I ever used a tool like this. And the results are coming out beyond my expectations. I had big oak trees that fell from Hurricane Sandy. I don't have a fireplace so they were just going to rot away. With your tool I'm in the process of building a tree house for my youngest daughter.
Thanks
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

logging helper

,
May 11, 2015
By
from groton ny
I just got the saw mill, have plenty of logs, I need to cut for the size boards i need. have ripping chain coming so I can start cutting. find out soon if It works as good it is stated.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
8out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

g777 mini chainsaw mill

,
May 11, 2015
By
from southern mo
this is a handy tool for someone wanting small amounts of custom milled lumber. my biggest complaint would be that the unit is not balanced with a saw installed but its not a deal breaker. a counter weight attachment point would be nice.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg saw mill

,
April 25, 2015
By
from kentucky
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I thought this thing would one, be a pain in the butt to put together and two, probably be difficult to use. Luckily, I was wrong about both of those things. It took only 15 minutes to bolt together. Then when I used it, the bolts bolted on tightly to the chain bar and I was cutting slabs right away. When I went to adjust the mill for thicker slabs it was quick and easy. Keep up the good work guys.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works better than I do

,
April 13, 2015
By
from Cove, AR
The Granberg Chain Saw Mill, Model# G777 was fairly easy to assemble and attach to my chain saw. It works well but it helps to have a strong back if you use it very long. For smooth cuts the proper chain is a necessity. Overall a great buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Toy!!!

,
January 18, 2015
By
from Texas
I tried cutting timbers/planks free-hand and was not too happy, you get off-course for a split-second and waste lumber. I don't require absolute perfection, so this little sawmill does the trick, I made my own ripping chain out of an old crosscut. I imagine I will buy the upgrade (with the bar tip support) if I get a large pile of good logs, as this rig will 'flex' without the added support, but until then, I am happy as can be with this rig. BTW, the assembly instructions could use major overhaul...
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chainsaw mill

,
December 17, 2014
By
from Stanwood, WA
Everything and a bag of chips. Easy assembly and even easier to use. Have all ready made 12 4X4 fence posts. Falling another fir tree to make 10 foot 2x6 cross rails. Fun, fast, and efficient.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
11out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alaskan Sawmill

,
November 23, 2014
By
from Temple, Maine
Easy to assemble. I have not used it yet, but with my previous experience with cutting wood, I am sure it would be slow going. I bought it because I can go out in the woods and saw one tree for my woodworking projects myself and not have to worry about getting the log to a sawmill.
As I said I think it will do ok, with the expectation that it will be very slow, but still better than having to take one log to a sawmill.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-18points
5out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Cool

,
October 15, 2014
By
from TX
I've been wanting this thing for a year and finally bought it. It will actually work on a longer bar--about 26". Easy assembly except one piece was missing and ended up with 5 extra washers. It didn't fall apart so I guess everything is ok.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
August 8, 2014
By
from Kentucky
I love it. Used it for the first time and now I'm hooked.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job!

,
May 8, 2014
By
from Worcester, MA
This mill is great for doing jobs that your chainsaw is capable of. It will glide smoothly across the rails and make a smooth, even cut with little effort. Easy to attach to the saw. It is not intended to replace a commercial saw mill but it made some nice beams and boards for me. Follow the directions carefully and you will be making almost any size cut you need.
You will need to purchase the rails for your initial cut (I made my own rail system). You will also need a guide tool for edging the boards or beams. Together, you can cut any size board or beam your saw is capable of!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Chainsaw Mill, Model# G777"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good for rough cutting

,
February 4, 2014
By
from logansport in
The woods that I harvest most of my lumber from is very hilly with some steep and narrow ravines. I use this to cut logs in half to make them more manageable so I can get them to somewhere where I can skid them with my tractor up to my big mill. I have used this to cut 2 in thick planks for wall studs and it does a pretty decent job. So for what I use this for it works great for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.