Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

Item# 1188
This Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter features a 2-speed pump that quickly builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure. Pump operates using 2 steel handles to split logs up to 18in. long. 200mm ram stroke. Includes 2 wheels for easy maneuverability. Fenders No, Jack Stand No, Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 6 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 41 3/32 x 7 3/32 x 11 25/32, Pre-assembled Yes, Wedge 5 inch wedge height, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Log Cradle Yes, Pump Manual 2-speed, Log Lift No, Ram Force Tons 10, Oil Reservoir gal. 0.55 Litre. Quickly split logs 13 1/2in. to 18in.L with 6 1/2 dia. 2-speed pump builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure 2 wheels for easy maneuverability Log cradle keeps split wood from falling to the ground Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies 5in. wedge height 8 1/2in. ram travel
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (200 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
58
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
9
184 of 200(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little splitter

,
March 31, 2014
By GregButtry
from Jackson, MO
"I have owned/used this splitter for 4 years and it works great. I split wood as large as 22" dia. (Oak) with no problems. To get the best results, use the right lever until the wood begins to split or makes a popping sound, then begin pumping both levers. If you use the left lever to soon, you may bend the rod. This splitter is not for the professional wood cutter who is trying to cut and sell wood.
It is for the home owner who is not able to swing a splitting mall or sledge hammer on wedges. Not the fastest way, but does not take a lot of strength.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horizontal 10 Ton log splitter

,
March 8, 2014
By log34jam
from Signal Mtn, TN
"Right spring was detached after product was shipped. It was manually challenging to re-attach but was able to do so. The instruction manual is confusing. Under TO OPERATE, number 4 (page 7) :My manual says to turn Handle B counterclockwise to retrieve the RAM. It references "figure 2" which identifies the operation handle (B). It's not handle B that should be turned but the Handle wheel which is stated in # 5. The splitter handles larger diameter logs than advertised, but you will have to split the same log twice in some occasions. Good tool for the price and what it is designed to do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

6 Years of experience

,
March 3, 2014
By jwminny
from Montauk, NY
"I just finished splitting another half cord of wood and thought it would be appropriate to send in my (timely) review after 6 years of usage. The product works as advertised-and then some. I have rarely have been "stumped", have rarely had to add oil, and always had very good service. A truly satisfying purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Every homeowner should own one

,
February 27, 2014
By ToolMistress
from No. TX
"Have used this through two cold seasons and also lent out to a friend. Works much better than a maul/wedge and hammer, not as well as an electric splitter... however, this is not nearly as expensive as an engine- or motor-powered unit either. A manual splitter is also better for places/times when electricity or other fuels are not available to power a motorized unit.
My husband is not the handiest person, so I also bought this because I figured there was no way he could damage it, but I was mistaken; he managed to bend the cradle, but it still works, and a lesson learned.
We found the handles a bit short, so I'll make new ones from other pipe; also wish there was a bracket or other means to attach the pole handles TO the splitter in storage. A couple of times the handles have gotten separated from the splitter and we've wasted time looking for them.
I marked the poles with the maximum length of log that will fit the splitter, this has saved time when cutting downed trees into firewood-sized logs... no need to measure if you aren't good at estimating the length, and it's easy to take just the pole handle to the work location to prep the logs.
All in all, a satisfactory purchase, but wish a seal repair kit was available, and the manual should include what kind of oil is needed for refilling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem with hydraulic seals leaking

,
February 11, 2014
By UpNorthMN
from Laporte,mn
"This log splitter worked great except for one problem. After 4 hours of use splitting birch logs the hydraulic seals located by the bottom of the handles leaked. They not only leaked but squirted fluid 6 feet or more when under pressure. I exchanged the splitter for a different one as the salemen all stated this problem was rare. The second one did the same thing in less than one hour of use. I will return the second one also. I appreciate the friendly Northern Tool staff. If the leak problems were corrrected, I would give this product 4 stars. As is, I do not recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2014
By NP007
from Blanco, TX
"This log splitter is very easy to use and generates a lot of splitting force. The ends of the logs do need to be cut strait or it will not split properly. Wheels came in very handy for transport. Overall a great product for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Pete1958
from Forest, VA
"This product works very well, however, it should be about 6 inches longer. If you have a woodstove this is fine, but I have a fireplace and burn wood that is longer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Bilt Manual Log Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Grandmother100
from Magnolia, TX
"I bought this in December because I live in the country and have a lot of trees and was tired of buying logs for my fireplace.. I'm a 66 years old woman and needed help getting it out the truck because it's very heavy. But after that I threw on a big log and it split like a charm. If I can handle this...anyone can. The hardest part of using this is putting the log onto it, unless you're young and strong.. The rest is easy. This is wonderful and I would highly recommend It. It works on small to big logs."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
February 4, 2014
By mccollam71
from Kalispell Mt.
"I am very pleased with the performance of this splitter as is but greatly improved it by simply making a u shaped handle that connects the two handles together. It is much easier and faster to stand beside it and work both handles simultaneously with one hand. I wielded three pieces of pipe together which slip onto both handles and comes right off when you are done. This splitter uses one hundred times less energy than swinging a maul."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOG SPLITTER

,
February 4, 2014
By scotl
from GA
"I bought this wood splitter because I was not able to split wood with ax anymore I was amazed how easy it was to split wood I have split several truck loads very pleased"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job very well.

,
February 4, 2014
By DallasLogging
from Dallas, TX
"I have the electric 5 ton splitter which is a good splitter for wet wood, it's not that good with dry wood, not having the power to start the split. I decided I could pick up this splitter to augment the electric, and it turned out to be the right move. For large logs or those that refuse to split on my 5 ton electric, I pull out this manual splitter. It easily presses through most any log, even (knotted logs). Once the split is started I can move the log over to the 5 ton electric to finish the job. I would not count on this unit to split logs all day long - human power depletes quickly. It's great to get a log started to split but I think it would be rough to be the primary log splitter unless you have a teen age son with tons of energy. Great splitter for what I need it for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manual Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Nivek57
from NJ
"The splitter works well on nearly all wood. As other reviewers have noted, max diameter and length are limiting but generally not an issue for home. It helps to have a short block to serve as a spacer and flat surface on the piston end.
The bracket that holds the springs on the piston detached after several logs due to non-verticle log face. I remounted and drilled 3 holes through the bracket into the piston and inserted pins to prevent a re-occurance. This has worked thus far. The manufacturer should make this modification as the current attachment is inadequate.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Workout

,
February 4, 2014
By Wolfmaster
from Bettendorf IA
"This will split logs fairly well but its a workout with dense wood , its a heavy unit that if your not strong can be hard to move around , I built myself a roll around stand for mine and it works very nice up off the ground, I will keep it around to use for light weight and soft wood but I'm gonna buy myself a power unit on a trailer . but over all I give it 3 out of 5 stars ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good deal

,
February 4, 2014
By PrimoRudy
from So. TX
"I've been looking at this for a few years. Mentioned it to my wife while sitting around the fire. It showed up "under the Christmas tree." It does a pretty good job of splitting oak, pecan and mesquite. It takes some time and it would be nice to have a motor, but for the price it's great. It's a lot better than an axe, sledge, maul and wedge. Mine came with only one handle so I made another out of pipe lying around the place. Two handles are nice as there are two different sized cylinders. One pump cylinder is a large diameter which moves the ram faster, the other is has a smaller cyilinder that provides more power with less effort, great for seasoned hardwood. It's not the most robust machine and I have already distorted the ram head and the holding bracket. One nice feature are the wheels that allow you to move the splitter without having to carry it, which is important because this thing weighs close to 80 lbs. For the price, I recommend this to a homeowner who doesn't need a high production unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job and seems durable

,
February 4, 2014
By rembetis
from Richmond,VA
"I was looking for a splitter to help carry some of the load when my back or shoulders gave out using a maul, or the log in question was too wide. This stout little unit did the trick. Certainly not faster than splitting by hand, but a heck of a lot easier on the body. Wouldn't recommend using it for whole cords or if time is of the essence. Too heavy to move often, though the wheels help greatly with that. I would love it if it could handle slightly longer logs, as I can't always dictate the length of the cut, but I knew its specs when I bought it and adjusted my expectations accordingly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice suprise

,
January 31, 2014
By drummerone
from middle of NC
"Neat trick.Couple of caveats,wood must be a little under 18 inches,19 inches ain't gonna work.Wood needs to be cut square/straight,if you don't understand this,find someone that can explain it,wood cut on a slant/bias will kick out when pressure is applied.Go ahead and purchase a small bottle of hydraulic jack oil,one with the tiny hole/applicator,found mine at Advance Auto,you'll need it.Now the good stuff:It will split stuff that you would give up on with a maul,or sledgehammer and wedge.The manufacturer says 18x61/2,but I have split everything I have put on it so far,including some gnarly,knotty pieces I was unable to split by hand,and I rarely give up on one.
Takes very little mechanical apptitude to operate,but pay attention to the instructions for bleeding the air/adding oil.I have split 3 pickup loads so far with nary a hitch,just bled it a couple of times.Bought the extended warranty,so we'll see.I have a water stove,and burn 20 loads a year,so I plan on using this.I feel like I have a new secret weapon,and the wife and my teenage son love it.I am impressed!Would reccomend this to anyone that needs a little oomph in the woodsplitting department that can't justify 1500-2000 in a powered splitter.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works! And pretty quickly too.

,
December 23, 2013
By hallcp
from Raleigh, NC
"The existing video and specs don't seem to be very helpful. Here's what I discovered after I bought one:
- Max. log length is 17-3/4"
- "Two Speed" refers to the two handles. One handle drives a large diameter piston (fast) and one drives a smaller dia. piston (more force).
- Once the log has split, you open a valve and springs automatically retract the plunger for the next log.
- It has two small wheels at the heavy end, and a handle at the other end. It can roll over firm ground.
- It can be stored on end and doesn't feel like it's about to fall over.
- It's heavy, one person can pick it up but really you want two people if you're carrying it any distance.
And it works! I was afraid it would be too slow and you would pump forever, but that's not the case. It all goes pretty quick, and the initial split happens within the first 5-6 strokes. It takes another 10-15 to push the pieces completely apart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny!!!

,
December 2, 2013
By Emanon5306
from Farmville, VA
"I was a little concerned when I brought this splitter, that it wouldn't do the job, however, after using it, I tell people that it was the best $$$ that I've ever spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter for the $

,
November 17, 2013
By Ishepperd
from Dallas,TX
"I am very impressed with this splitter. My use is modest which is to split enough logs for a season of fires in Texas for my home. Probably a cord (4'H 8'W 4'D) or two. I've been using this a couple of months to split newly cut, green oak; really heavy stuff. It works like a champ. Here's the thing and the instruction make absolutely no mention of it, yet it makes all the difference.
The left pole moves the plunger quickly but with little power. The right pole moves the plunger slowly but with great power.
That's the key and neither the instructions nor the video explain that. So you use the left (fast) handle to position the plunger against the log. Then use the right (slow) plunger to do the splitting.
So simple but it wasn't initially clear to me. It doesn't work if you try to use it like the video shows, where your simple back-and-fourth each handle like rowing a boat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid splitter with a couple of improvements

,
October 29, 2013
By kencal51
from Ga.
"After reading the many reviews on this splitter, I decided to give it a try. First off, I found a couple of improvements on the unit I got. Some reviews had mentioned that the spot welds on their ram head to spring return bracket had broken. They have addressed this issue, since mine was welded all the way around the bracket on front and back of the ram head. This looks to be very solid now. This unit also has gussets welded under the log support brackets along the I-beam. I split some pretty good size hickory today and while it is slow, it gets the job done. I got the extra 1 year warranty extension, so if the hydraulic cylinder holds up, the rest of the unit looks pretty well made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.