Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

Item# 1188
This Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter features a 2-speed pump that quickly builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure. Pump operates using 2 steel handles to split logs up to 18in. long. 200mm ram stroke. Includes 2 wheels for easy maneuverability. Pump Manual 2-speed, Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 6 1/2, Log Cradle Yes, Log Lift No, Oil Reservoir gal. 0.55 Litre, Dimensions L x W x H in. 41 3/32 x 7 3/32 x 11 25/32, Fenders No, Jack Stand No, Wedge 5 inch wedge height, Pre-assembled Yes, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Ram Force Tons 10. Quickly split logs 13 1/2in. to 18in.L with 6 1/2 dia. 2-speed pump builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure 2 wheels for easy maneuverability Log cradle keeps split wood from falling to the ground Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies 5in. wedge height 8 1/2in. ram travel
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (210 reviews)
5 stars
122
4 stars
63
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
9
194 of 210(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Review 21 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job very well.

,
February 4, 2014
By DallasLogging
from Dallas, TX
"I have the electric 5 ton splitter which is a good splitter for wet wood, it's not that good with dry wood, not having the power to start the split. I decided I could pick up this splitter to augment the electric, and it turned out to be the right move. For large logs or those that refuse to split on my 5 ton electric, I pull out this manual splitter. It easily presses through most any log, even (knotted logs). Once the split is started I can move the log over to the 5 ton electric to finish the job. I would not count on this unit to split logs all day long - human power depletes quickly. It's great to get a log started to split but I think it would be rough to be the primary log splitter unless you have a teen age son with tons of energy. Great splitter for what I need it for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manual Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Nivek57
from NJ
"The splitter works well on nearly all wood. As other reviewers have noted, max diameter and length are limiting but generally not an issue for home. It helps to have a short block to serve as a spacer and flat surface on the piston end.
The bracket that holds the springs on the piston detached after several logs due to non-verticle log face. I remounted and drilled 3 holes through the bracket into the piston and inserted pins to prevent a re-occurance. This has worked thus far. The manufacturer should make this modification as the current attachment is inadequate.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Workout

,
February 4, 2014
By Wolfmaster
from Bettendorf IA
"This will split logs fairly well but its a workout with dense wood , its a heavy unit that if your not strong can be hard to move around , I built myself a roll around stand for mine and it works very nice up off the ground, I will keep it around to use for light weight and soft wood but I'm gonna buy myself a power unit on a trailer . but over all I give it 3 out of 5 stars ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good deal

,
February 4, 2014
By PrimoRudy
from So. TX
"I've been looking at this for a few years. Mentioned it to my wife while sitting around the fire. It showed up "under the Christmas tree." It does a pretty good job of splitting oak, pecan and mesquite. It takes some time and it would be nice to have a motor, but for the price it's great. It's a lot better than an axe, sledge, maul and wedge. Mine came with only one handle so I made another out of pipe lying around the place. Two handles are nice as there are two different sized cylinders. One pump cylinder is a large diameter which moves the ram faster, the other is has a smaller cyilinder that provides more power with less effort, great for seasoned hardwood. It's not the most robust machine and I have already distorted the ram head and the holding bracket. One nice feature are the wheels that allow you to move the splitter without having to carry it, which is important because this thing weighs close to 80 lbs. For the price, I recommend this to a homeowner who doesn't need a high production unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job and seems durable

,
February 4, 2014
By rembetis
from Richmond,VA
"I was looking for a splitter to help carry some of the load when my back or shoulders gave out using a maul, or the log in question was too wide. This stout little unit did the trick. Certainly not faster than splitting by hand, but a heck of a lot easier on the body. Wouldn't recommend using it for whole cords or if time is of the essence. Too heavy to move often, though the wheels help greatly with that. I would love it if it could handle slightly longer logs, as I can't always dictate the length of the cut, but I knew its specs when I bought it and adjusted my expectations accordingly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice suprise

,
January 31, 2014
By drummerone
from middle of NC
"Neat trick.Couple of caveats,wood must be a little under 18 inches,19 inches ain't gonna work.Wood needs to be cut square/straight,if you don't understand this,find someone that can explain it,wood cut on a slant/bias will kick out when pressure is applied.Go ahead and purchase a small bottle of hydraulic jack oil,one with the tiny hole/applicator,found mine at Advance Auto,you'll need it.Now the good stuff:It will split stuff that you would give up on with a maul,or sledgehammer and wedge.The manufacturer says 18x61/2,but I have split everything I have put on it so far,including some gnarly,knotty pieces I was unable to split by hand,and I rarely give up on one.
Takes very little mechanical apptitude to operate,but pay attention to the instructions for bleeding the air/adding oil.I have split 3 pickup loads so far with nary a hitch,just bled it a couple of times.Bought the extended warranty,so we'll see.I have a water stove,and burn 20 loads a year,so I plan on using this.I feel like I have a new secret weapon,and the wife and my teenage son love it.I am impressed!Would reccomend this to anyone that needs a little oomph in the woodsplitting department that can't justify 1500-2000 in a powered splitter.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works! And pretty quickly too.

,
December 23, 2013
By hallcp
from Raleigh, NC
"The existing video and specs don't seem to be very helpful. Here's what I discovered after I bought one:
- Max. log length is 17-3/4"
- "Two Speed" refers to the two handles. One handle drives a large diameter piston (fast) and one drives a smaller dia. piston (more force).
- Once the log has split, you open a valve and springs automatically retract the plunger for the next log.
- It has two small wheels at the heavy end, and a handle at the other end. It can roll over firm ground.
- It can be stored on end and doesn't feel like it's about to fall over.
- It's heavy, one person can pick it up but really you want two people if you're carrying it any distance.
And it works! I was afraid it would be too slow and you would pump forever, but that's not the case. It all goes pretty quick, and the initial split happens within the first 5-6 strokes. It takes another 10-15 to push the pieces completely apart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny!!!

,
December 2, 2013
By Emanon5306
from Farmville, VA
"I was a little concerned when I brought this splitter, that it wouldn't do the job, however, after using it, I tell people that it was the best $$$ that I've ever spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter for the $

,
November 17, 2013
By Ishepperd
from Dallas,TX
"I am very impressed with this splitter. My use is modest which is to split enough logs for a season of fires in Texas for my home. Probably a cord (4'H 8'W 4'D) or two. I've been using this a couple of months to split newly cut, green oak; really heavy stuff. It works like a champ. Here's the thing and the instruction make absolutely no mention of it, yet it makes all the difference.
The left pole moves the plunger quickly but with little power. The right pole moves the plunger slowly but with great power.
That's the key and neither the instructions nor the video explain that. So you use the left (fast) handle to position the plunger against the log. Then use the right (slow) plunger to do the splitting.
So simple but it wasn't initially clear to me. It doesn't work if you try to use it like the video shows, where your simple back-and-fourth each handle like rowing a boat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid splitter with a couple of improvements

,
October 29, 2013
By kencal51
from Ga.
"After reading the many reviews on this splitter, I decided to give it a try. First off, I found a couple of improvements on the unit I got. Some reviews had mentioned that the spot welds on their ram head to spring return bracket had broken. They have addressed this issue, since mine was welded all the way around the bracket on front and back of the ram head. This looks to be very solid now. This unit also has gussets welded under the log support brackets along the I-beam. I split some pretty good size hickory today and while it is slow, it gets the job done. I got the extra 1 year warranty extension, so if the hydraulic cylinder holds up, the rest of the unit looks pretty well made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Get ready for a workout!

,
April 23, 2013
By Timteo
from Waterford, NY
"Average product, but pricey for a manual jack.
This is tough to split a 6" dense hardwood (oak, cherry, locust). The pushing bracket actually bent as it twisted while trying to get through a piece of locust. There were a couple of oak that i could not get through."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs easy redesign

,
January 29, 2013
By LogsplitterGirl
from Blue Ridge, GA
"Concept is great. Easy to use. However, the spot welds connecting the red collar to the jack break. If this splitter had a solid metal platform at the end of the jack like their foot powered splitter, it would be ideal. The collar and end of the jack sink into soft logs also and get stuck. I used a square, flat 2" wide board to steady the log and keep the collar from sinking into the logs, but the welds broke and I was out of business. Worked ok on small pine logs, but hardwood broke the welds. WELLBUILT PLEASE FIX this!! I would like to buy a replacement once the design flaw is fixed. I returned the broken unit to Northern - no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter

,
December 13, 2012
By wldmike
from Long Island, NY
"Great log splitter for the money. Easy to use and works very well. I have a bad back and can't swing a splitting maul, this is much easier on your back."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Affordable Ease

,
October 16, 2012
By Carmechmonster
from Virginia Beach, Va
"I was looking for a splitter that was small and affordable, I had no idea when I purchased this how it would work. Boy was I surprised, with the 2 levers it splits wood effortlessly I found it very simple to split a cord of wood after work and before supper, No problems yet 10 cords and counting. If you use firewood its a must Have, the wife and grandsons like it also"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done!!!

,
October 16, 2012
By Scottsss
from New York
"I have had this splitter for about 6 months now.
I cut down a couple of good size trees, and split them up with this splitter. the base of the trees were about 18" and it was a little tough to split, it did the job though.
The really only hard part about it is that it is all manual, a lot better than a axe and a maul. I would recommend this to some one who wanted to cut there own wood,and get a work out while doing it.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SPLITTER

,
October 15, 2012
By WINJINTOR
from PERKASIE
"AWESOME PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY, DOES A GREAT JOB SPLITTING , SUPER POWER , GIVES GREAT WORKOUT AT THE SAME TIME."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong Machine

,
October 8, 2012
By OlJon
from Nevada City, CA
"This is the third one of these I have had and the first from Northern. They are all similar, but there is an excellent reason that you should buy this one: they sell replacement parts! Eventually, the pump will fail and you will need a new one. It may be many years, but it will fail. You will be very glad to have a new pump available.
If you are getting older and are having trouble swinging an axe or maul hard enough to split what you have to, you will love this machine. Your wife will too, because she won't have to worry about you cutting your foot off.
One of the best tools I've ever bought!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manual log splitter

,
August 20, 2012
By Cully1
from Minnesota
"This splitter works very well if you like quiet and are not in a hurry to get your wood split. It handles hard wood, with knots, but only relatively short pieces."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Takes Some Effort But Works

,
August 20, 2012
By Bigbob203
from Santa Cruz, CA
"I tried this one and the foot operated one. The foot operated one is easier to keep steady with an odd shaped piece of wood and somehow t he foot pedal is easier to operate than these opposing handles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hydraulic splitter

,
August 20, 2012
By Anonymousone
from Sheboygan WI
"Works great on small logs. Has a rough time on larger or hard wood. Seal is already leaking."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.