Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

Item# 1188
This Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter features a 2-speed pump that quickly builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure. Pump operates using 2 steel handles to split logs up to 18in. long. 200mm ram stroke. Includes 2 wheels for easy maneuverability. Pump Manual 2-speed, Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 6 1/2, Log Cradle Yes, Log Lift No, Oil Reservoir gal. 0.55 Litre, Dimensions L x W x H in. 41 3/32 x 7 3/32 x 11 25/32, Fenders No, Jack Stand No, Wedge 5 inch wedge height, Pre-assembled Yes, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Ram Force Tons 10. Quickly split logs 13 1/2in. to 18in.L with 6 1/2 dia. 2-speed pump builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure 2 wheels for easy maneuverability Log cradle keeps split wood from falling to the ground Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies 5in. wedge height 8 1/2in. ram travel
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (203 reviews)
5 stars
118
4 stars
60
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
9
187 of 203(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Review 21 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny!!!

,
December 2, 2013
By Emanon5306
from Farmville, VA
"I was a little concerned when I brought this splitter, that it wouldn't do the job, however, after using it, I tell people that it was the best $$$ that I've ever spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great splitter for the $

,
November 17, 2013
By Ishepperd
from Dallas,TX
"I am very impressed with this splitter. My use is modest which is to split enough logs for a season of fires in Texas for my home. Probably a cord (4'H 8'W 4'D) or two. I've been using this a couple of months to split newly cut, green oak; really heavy stuff. It works like a champ. Here's the thing and the instruction make absolutely no mention of it, yet it makes all the difference.
The left pole moves the plunger quickly but with little power. The right pole moves the plunger slowly but with great power.
That's the key and neither the instructions nor the video explain that. So you use the left (fast) handle to position the plunger against the log. Then use the right (slow) plunger to do the splitting.
So simple but it wasn't initially clear to me. It doesn't work if you try to use it like the video shows, where your simple back-and-fourth each handle like rowing a boat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid splitter with a couple of improvements

,
October 29, 2013
By kencal51
from Ga.
"After reading the many reviews on this splitter, I decided to give it a try. First off, I found a couple of improvements on the unit I got. Some reviews had mentioned that the spot welds on their ram head to spring return bracket had broken. They have addressed this issue, since mine was welded all the way around the bracket on front and back of the ram head. This looks to be very solid now. This unit also has gussets welded under the log support brackets along the I-beam. I split some pretty good size hickory today and while it is slow, it gets the job done. I got the extra 1 year warranty extension, so if the hydraulic cylinder holds up, the rest of the unit looks pretty well made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Get ready for a workout!

,
April 23, 2013
By Timteo
from Waterford, NY
"Average product, but pricey for a manual jack.
This is tough to split a 6" dense hardwood (oak, cherry, locust). The pushing bracket actually bent as it twisted while trying to get through a piece of locust. There were a couple of oak that i could not get through."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs easy redesign

,
January 29, 2013
By LogsplitterGirl
from Blue Ridge, GA
"Concept is great. Easy to use. However, the spot welds connecting the red collar to the jack break. If this splitter had a solid metal platform at the end of the jack like their foot powered splitter, it would be ideal. The collar and end of the jack sink into soft logs also and get stuck. I used a square, flat 2" wide board to steady the log and keep the collar from sinking into the logs, but the welds broke and I was out of business. Worked ok on small pine logs, but hardwood broke the welds. WELLBUILT PLEASE FIX this!! I would like to buy a replacement once the design flaw is fixed. I returned the broken unit to Northern - no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Splitter

,
December 13, 2012
By wldmike
from Long Island, NY
"Great log splitter for the money. Easy to use and works very well. I have a bad back and can't swing a splitting maul, this is much easier on your back."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Affordable Ease

,
October 16, 2012
By Carmechmonster
from Virginia Beach, Va
"I was looking for a splitter that was small and affordable, I had no idea when I purchased this how it would work. Boy was I surprised, with the 2 levers it splits wood effortlessly I found it very simple to split a cord of wood after work and before supper, No problems yet 10 cords and counting. If you use firewood its a must Have, the wife and grandsons like it also"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done!!!

,
October 16, 2012
By Scottsss
from New York
"I have had this splitter for about 6 months now.
I cut down a couple of good size trees, and split them up with this splitter. the base of the trees were about 18" and it was a little tough to split, it did the job though.
The really only hard part about it is that it is all manual, a lot better than a axe and a maul. I would recommend this to some one who wanted to cut there own wood,and get a work out while doing it.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SPLITTER

,
October 15, 2012
By WINJINTOR
from PERKASIE
"AWESOME PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY, DOES A GREAT JOB SPLITTING , SUPER POWER , GIVES GREAT WORKOUT AT THE SAME TIME."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong Machine

,
October 8, 2012
By OlJon
from Nevada City, CA
"This is the third one of these I have had and the first from Northern. They are all similar, but there is an excellent reason that you should buy this one: they sell replacement parts! Eventually, the pump will fail and you will need a new one. It may be many years, but it will fail. You will be very glad to have a new pump available.
If you are getting older and are having trouble swinging an axe or maul hard enough to split what you have to, you will love this machine. Your wife will too, because she won't have to worry about you cutting your foot off.
One of the best tools I've ever bought!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manual log splitter

,
August 20, 2012
By Cully1
from Minnesota
"This splitter works very well if you like quiet and are not in a hurry to get your wood split. It handles hard wood, with knots, but only relatively short pieces."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Takes Some Effort But Works

,
August 20, 2012
By Bigbob203
from Santa Cruz, CA
"I tried this one and the foot operated one. The foot operated one is easier to keep steady with an odd shaped piece of wood and somehow t he foot pedal is easier to operate than these opposing handles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hydraulic splitter

,
August 20, 2012
By Anonymousone
from Sheboygan WI
"Works great on small logs. Has a rough time on larger or hard wood. Seal is already leaking."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very happy

,
August 13, 2012
By Nighttrain2
from Manning Iowa
"I am very happy with my purchase. The little log splitting that I do this serves my purpose very well. It splits the logs very easy. The only problem I had was when the logs were cut to short I had to use a block to make up the extra length and it would split the block first."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use splitter!

,
May 14, 2012
By Sheram
from Minnesota
"I bought this log splitter because i did not want to mess with an engine, and wanted something simple but functional for splitting a few logs for the fireplace, or the wood burning stove in the garage. I am very pleased with how easy it is to use to split smaller wood logs without needing to swing an ax. I don't have tremendous strength as a woman. My sister (who has a shoulder she needs to be 'careful' with) and I actually had fun together splitting some wood out in the garage. Easy enough to use to add wood splitting to the chore list of you teenager! I am happy I purchased the item."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Manual Log Splitter

,
May 9, 2012
By WBGpa
from Gretna Nebraska
"I'm using this to split firewood for our outdoor weekend cookouts. This is perfect; I can split at my leisure since I don't require a lot of wood.
I do cut the logs shorter (about 18" long) than usual to fit the limitations of the splitter. That's okay as this is a good size for the cookouts.
The splitter is well built and sturdy. The 10 ton capacity is enough to split what I've put through it so far (green cherry and apricot up to about 12" diameter). The two handle/pressure system works very well. I have found that I can start with the low pressure higher speed handle and when the going gets tough switch to the high pressure handle until the split is pretty good then finish up with the faster low speed pump.
The surprising thing was that my six year old granddaughter had been watching me and she wanted to try it. She started with the low pressure handle until she couldn't push it anymore; told her to try the other (high pressure) handle and she completed the split without a problem! Then she was bored and quit!!
The roller wheels on one end of the splitter make it easy to move around on a hard surface and I can store it standing on end to take up less space in my shop.
So far I am very pleased with my purchase and, if you're not in a big hurry to split a lot of firewood, I recommend this spliter.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

an ok option for safer, easier splitting

,
May 8, 2012
By daycoman
from Williamstown, MA
"I purchased this splitter specifically to deal with hard-to-split-by-hand logs. It can handle some pretty tough knots, but not all logs are splittable. Also, when dealing with hardwoods and bigger logs, the handles become difficult to work. Some strength is required even with the short-stroke handle. It's a little time consuming as well to split this way. With two people working the machine, I can split about one tough log per minute at best. Read the manual carefully, as there are important instructions for dealing with the oil."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

splits every log I have

,
May 7, 2012
By charlestownkid
from charlestown, IN 47111
"It works great & splits every kind of wood I have, only thing is you need an extension to Fully split all kinds of woods. The piston doesnt travel all the way through the wood. An extra block of steel fixed this !!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydraulic Log splitter

,
May 7, 2012
By apjdad
from Spring, TX
"Great Splitter. Handles the toughest oak with no problem. Even managed us split some 18" Diameter logs that were about 14" long. Took a couple of rotations, but it split them fine. The long poles are maybe just a LITTLE bit light weight, but I have not bent one yet. The price cannot be beat and you have no expensive gasoline engines that will eventually need new carb kits or other maintence. The splitter also takes up little room and the only improvement i can suggest might be for better or bigger wheels."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked well

,
March 28, 2012
By Grizzily
from Sonora
"With a few precautions and a little effort (much less
than swinging a splitting maul), this is a very handy
device short of a powered splitter. After I cut a chunk of oak about 6"x6" as a 'spacer', I was able split oak (straight grain- no big knots) relatively easily by using fast lever to bring pressure and then slow lever to slowly split the log (usually no more than 14" long-- small logs fit in my woodstove better). The slow splitter lost pressure after doing about a dozen logs, but found after taking off rubber
plug, it was low on oil---so I filled it ,replaced plug and it worked good again .
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.