Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton

Item# 1188
This Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter features a 2-speed pump that quickly builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure. Pump operates using 2 steel handles to split logs up to 18in. long. 200mm ram stroke. Includes 2 wheels for easy maneuverability. Pump Manual 2-speed, Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 6 1/2, Log Cradle Yes, Log Lift No, Oil Reservoir gal. 0.55 Litre, Dimensions L x W x H in. 41 3/32 x 7 3/32 x 11 25/32, Fenders No, Jack Stand No, Wedge 5 inch wedge height, Pre-assembled Yes, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Ram Force Tons 10. Quickly split logs 13 1/2in. to 18in.L with 6 1/2 dia. 2-speed pump builds up to 10 tons of log-splitting pressure 2 wheels for easy maneuverability Log cradle keeps split wood from falling to the ground Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies 5in. wedge height 8 1/2in. ram travel
Average Customer Rating:
4.341 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (208 reviews)
5 stars
120
4 stars
63
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
9
192 of 208(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

log splitter

,
September 16, 2014
By House44444
from Appleton WI
"Much better than swinging a maul around to split wood."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter

,
September 7, 2014
By hawkeyefred
from Knoxville,TN
"Good value, it is a little slow. Plenty of power. I split some ash , maple and hickory all around 12"x 24'. I got it because of some back issues. This made it possible for me to split firewood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great for Some

,
September 5, 2014
By highcountry14
from Fairplay, Co
"I like the ease of the log splitter, it isn't difficult to use or move around. I am a female and not real strong for swinging a full sized ax. We have a 22 ton gas splitter that works great and I can use, however, if I just need a few pieces split, there is little need to pull out the big one. This gives me a small one that I can make kindling with at a drop of a hat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

splitting wood

,
August 31, 2014
By arblaw
from cassopolis michigan
"Worked great right out of the box, Simple to understand. Great product for what it is intended for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are great about it

,
August 30, 2014
By TP52
from Lusby, MD
"This log splitter is great. I have been able to split logs up to 14" in diameter. It is fairly light weight and easy to move where you need it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value on sale

,
June 3, 2014
By DonInMO
from KC,mo
"Have split some walnut logs 18" dia with this. Gets the job done. It is slow but not as slow as hammer & wedge. Likely a little fatigue on the lower back, but much less than by hand. Easy to wheel on hard surface. Might be hard for a little guy to muscle into pickup bed. Documentation is terrible, unbelievable lack of clarity in places. Great value if you're not splitting cords of wood regularly or have kids that need time away from Nintendo."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome tool for the money!!!

,
June 2, 2014
By Bassman00
from Tx
"Bought this for my East Texas lake property and splits wood rather easily (used a motorized splitter before, but that's never cheap) and for the money...you can't beat this one!! Yes, I would definately buy another one...the wife enjoyed it too as it was pretty easy for her to split wood, also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

log splitter

,
April 21, 2014
By 58arm
from Mississauga, On
"Easy to use and works great and a lot easier than swinging an axe"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little splitter

,
March 31, 2014
By GregButtry
from Jackson, MO
"I have owned/used this splitter for 4 years and it works great. I split wood as large as 22" dia. (Oak) with no problems. To get the best results, use the right lever until the wood begins to split or makes a popping sound, then begin pumping both levers. If you use the left lever to soon, you may bend the rod. This splitter is not for the professional wood cutter who is trying to cut and sell wood.
It is for the home owner who is not able to swing a splitting mall or sledge hammer on wedges. Not the fastest way, but does not take a lot of strength.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horizontal 10 Ton log splitter

,
March 8, 2014
By log34jam
from Signal Mtn, TN
"Right spring was detached after product was shipped. It was manually challenging to re-attach but was able to do so. The instruction manual is confusing. Under TO OPERATE, number 4 (page 7) :My manual says to turn Handle B counterclockwise to retrieve the RAM. It references "figure 2" which identifies the operation handle (B). It's not handle B that should be turned but the Handle wheel which is stated in # 5. The splitter handles larger diameter logs than advertised, but you will have to split the same log twice in some occasions. Good tool for the price and what it is designed to do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

6 Years of experience

,
March 3, 2014
By jwminny
from Montauk, NY
"I just finished splitting another half cord of wood and thought it would be appropriate to send in my (timely) review after 6 years of usage. The product works as advertised-and then some. I have rarely have been "stumped", have rarely had to add oil, and always had very good service. A truly satisfying purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Every homeowner should own one

,
February 27, 2014
By ToolMistress
from No. TX
"Have used this through two cold seasons and also lent out to a friend. Works much better than a maul/wedge and hammer, not as well as an electric splitter... however, this is not nearly as expensive as an engine- or motor-powered unit either. A manual splitter is also better for places/times when electricity or other fuels are not available to power a motorized unit.
My husband is not the handiest person, so I also bought this because I figured there was no way he could damage it, but I was mistaken; he managed to bend the cradle, but it still works, and a lesson learned.
We found the handles a bit short, so I'll make new ones from other pipe; also wish there was a bracket or other means to attach the pole handles TO the splitter in storage. A couple of times the handles have gotten separated from the splitter and we've wasted time looking for them.
I marked the poles with the maximum length of log that will fit the splitter, this has saved time when cutting downed trees into firewood-sized logs... no need to measure if you aren't good at estimating the length, and it's easy to take just the pole handle to the work location to prep the logs.
All in all, a satisfactory purchase, but wish a seal repair kit was available, and the manual should include what kind of oil is needed for refilling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem with hydraulic seals leaking

,
February 11, 2014
By UpNorthMN
from Laporte,mn
"This log splitter worked great except for one problem. After 4 hours of use splitting birch logs the hydraulic seals located by the bottom of the handles leaked. They not only leaked but squirted fluid 6 feet or more when under pressure. I exchanged the splitter for a different one as the salemen all stated this problem was rare. The second one did the same thing in less than one hour of use. I will return the second one also. I appreciate the friendly Northern Tool staff. If the leak problems were corrrected, I would give this product 4 stars. As is, I do not recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
February 4, 2014
By NP007
from Blanco, TX
"This log splitter is very easy to use and generates a lot of splitting force. The ends of the logs do need to be cut strait or it will not split properly. Wheels came in very handy for transport. Overall a great product for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Pete1958
from Forest, VA
"This product works very well, however, it should be about 6 inches longer. If you have a woodstove this is fine, but I have a fireplace and burn wood that is longer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Bilt Manual Log Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Grandmother100
from Magnolia, TX
"I bought this in December because I live in the country and have a lot of trees and was tired of buying logs for my fireplace.. I'm a 66 years old woman and needed help getting it out the truck because it's very heavy. But after that I threw on a big log and it split like a charm. If I can handle this...anyone can. The hardest part of using this is putting the log onto it, unless you're young and strong.. The rest is easy. This is wonderful and I would highly recommend It. It works on small to big logs."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
February 4, 2014
By mccollam71
from Kalispell Mt.
"I am very pleased with the performance of this splitter as is but greatly improved it by simply making a u shaped handle that connects the two handles together. It is much easier and faster to stand beside it and work both handles simultaneously with one hand. I wielded three pieces of pipe together which slip onto both handles and comes right off when you are done. This splitter uses one hundred times less energy than swinging a maul."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOG SPLITTER

,
February 4, 2014
By scotl
from GA
"I bought this wood splitter because I was not able to split wood with ax anymore I was amazed how easy it was to split wood I have split several truck loads very pleased"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job very well.

,
February 4, 2014
By DallasLogging
from Dallas, TX
"I have the electric 5 ton splitter which is a good splitter for wet wood, it's not that good with dry wood, not having the power to start the split. I decided I could pick up this splitter to augment the electric, and it turned out to be the right move. For large logs or those that refuse to split on my 5 ton electric, I pull out this manual splitter. It easily presses through most any log, even (knotted logs). Once the split is started I can move the log over to the 5 ton electric to finish the job. I would not count on this unit to split logs all day long - human power depletes quickly. It's great to get a log started to split but I think it would be rough to be the primary log splitter unless you have a teen age son with tons of energy. Great splitter for what I need it for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Manual Hydraulic Log Splitter - 10-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manual Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Nivek57
from NJ
"The splitter works well on nearly all wood. As other reviewers have noted, max diameter and length are limiting but generally not an issue for home. It helps to have a short block to serve as a spacer and flat surface on the piston end.
The bracket that holds the springs on the piston detached after several logs due to non-verticle log face. I remounted and drilled 3 holes through the bracket into the piston and inserted pins to prevent a re-occurance. This has worked thus far. The manufacturer should make this modification as the current attachment is inadequate.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.