Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001

Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001

Item# 11899
1.5 tons of pressure splits wood easily by simply stepping on the foot plate and using body weight to depress the lever. Splits logs up to 18in. long and 10in. in diameter. Folds flat for easy transport, making it ideal for camping, cookouts and field work. Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 10, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 11/16 x 10 5/8 x 9 1/16, Continuous Force Tons 1 1/2, Ram Force Tons 1 1/2.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (56 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
9
43 of 56(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Review 1 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

,
May 19, 2014
By hardworker123
from Henderson, NC
"Will not work on medium size logs. Does not work.
You should rent a real wood splitter
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Easy Easy

,
February 4, 2014
By Trent76
from Pinetop, AZ
"This foot operated log splitter is a back saver and time saver. Yes some equipment may be flawed but Northern Tool will take care of you. I have owned 2 of these bad boys the first worked perfect until 1 of the leveling arms broke off. I returned the old item and had it replaced and not a problem with the new one. I am satisfied with my purchase and would recommended this log splitter to anyone in need. Great log splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not work well

,
December 19, 2013
By Photomac
from Georgia
"It will split fine grain wood fairly well, but will not split Oak even if it has been seasoned for 2 years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

foot log splitter

,
September 14, 2013
By arizonaeasy
from Arizona
"Wow, I am impressed this small splitter can split 1/2 or half logs already dried out and I would to split this into several 1/4 size to fit in my beloved chimaera so the fire stay small and not get too hot. I only use this to split half logs when needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workable Foot Operated Log Splitter

,
April 26, 2013
By Runa1
from Conroe, Texas
"I have several physical problems so purchasing this was a shot in the dark. However, I am pleased to report that other than not reading the instructions first I have had no problems using it. I have split logs with knots, twisted, forks, bowed, whatever... it may take me a minute or two to figure out how to place the strange logs in the splitter so it will work but work it does. I am extremely pleased with it. I thought I was going to have to fight my brother to keep it. It works and that is all that counts. Excellent purchase especially since I bought it on sale and had it delivered to the local store to avoid shipping costs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

You Get What You Pay For

,
January 19, 2012
By Fireboy01
from Texas
"This splitter is a great idea, but poor quality control makes it useless. The ratchet system to keep tension on the log is designed to work like a car jack, but does not hold in the slots, so you can step on the pedal all day long with no results. I bent down to hold the piece in place and managed to split one 5 in. log...after 5 minutes of trying. Returning it in the morning for a refund!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 13, 2011
By bleu67
from Silsbee,Texas
"I purchased one of these wood splitters, two years ago and it is still like I just got it, I have bad migrains and splitting wood would kill my head and when I got this splitter, I can split the wood and not get a headache from hitting the wood with an axe. GREAT PRODUCT GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works for kindling, could use more oomph

,
June 13, 2011
By LSprink
from White Mountains, AZ
"Bought the foot-powered splitter to supplement our woodcutting tools. It does work as advertised to split kindling. I agree with the earlier reviewer who indicated that it requires more of an angle than indicated to achieve the right racheting action of the backstop. For splitting cedar and aspen it works like a charm. For oak it required all my weight on the foot pedal, but it did split. The only times it's failed completely is when there is an awkward angle of the log which happens to fall between one of the backstop positions, making it impossible for the backstop to lock on firmly and exert the necessary pressure to move the log against the blade. Oh, and the first several uses left green streaks on all my kindling.
So, overall, functional, but would be better if there were a little more oomph to the lever action, so that it split the denser firewood with a little less effort. Still, it's portable and non-powered, so it does do the job."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

1 rick is all I got

,
June 6, 2011
By dhein4
from Wichita, Ks
"It worked good for awhile. The first thing to break was the foot pedal. so I started using the bar. Later the tension spring holders broke. I was down to 7 logs left. Basically it split 1 rick and that was it. When it worked it worked good, its durability is not. But for this price I should be happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Foot operated splitter that works

,
March 21, 2011
By Bill5
from Williston, Vermont
"I have owned this small splitter for several months. I use it to re-split pieces of stove wood that are too large for use on a relatively warm day. The pieces I "re-split" are similar in size to the piece displayed in the picture on the Northern website. I have not yet found a piece it won't split...even those with knots, etc. It is not meant to be your primary splitter unless your logs are 8" to 10" in width and 16" in length or less.
My wife uses it to split the smaller logs when I am splitting the 15" to 20" with my 14 lb maul.
Works great. I have recommended it to my friends and relatives who also burn wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

,
March 14, 2011
By 1492
from San Diego
"This "log splitter" simply does not work at all. I should have purchased a more expensive model."
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use!

,
March 14, 2011
By semmer
from west bloomfield, mi
"The splitter was easy to assemble and easy to use. It allows us to split larger pieces of wood that would otherwise not burn well. It stores well out of the way for the off season. The price was really right!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

,
February 14, 2011
By jspencer013
from Oregon
"I have used this product for a day and wish to offer a few thoughts. If my impression changes, I will re-post.
Overall, the log splitter is pretty good. As others have mentioned, it really does not work consistently on logs at the maximum rated dimensions, and tight grained logs with knots can be difficult to split (as they are with any tool).
My main point to those purchasing or considering purchasing this item is that I belive the instructions are incorrect on one point. One is instructed to adjust the pedal height to 12-13" off the ground. At this height, my unit did not work. That is because that height did not produce enough travel of the splitting blade into the wood to move the black back-stop at the opposite end of the log on to the next ratchet stop point. Thus the next step on the pedal did not advance the blade any farther into the log.
But when I increased the pedal height to about 15", I did get sufficient blade penatration so that on each step down on the pedal, the blade advanced into the log and the back-stop caught on the next ratchet point and I got more splitting. Of course, a higher pedal height makes the splitter a bit less stable, so it really helps to use it next to a shelving unit or a work bench that one can hold onto as he steps on the pedal.
Once I figured all this out, the unit worked fine and I expect to get a lot of use out of it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Splitter

,
February 2, 2011
By dudeman5000
from Saint Paul, MN
"This unit is exactly what it is. Don't buy it if you're trying to split huge pieces of wood. Don't expect it to power through knotted and extremely dense or gnarled wood. It's foot operated, people. It's limited by your own strength and weight.
What it IS good for is splitting kindling. I split straight grained small to average sized lightweight (think Cottonwood or Poplar) logs into kindling with the unit, and it does it with minimal effort. I can split a month's worth of kindling for daily burning in 20 minutes. I've tried splitting a relatively larger oak log, and no surprise, it was really hard.
Buy this unit with realistic expectations, and it will fulfill them. Buy it because you're trying to avoid dropping dime on a powered splitter, and you'll end up dropping additional dime to buy another splitter anyway. It is what it is, and it does it's limited workload very well.
On that basis, I would highly recommend this unit over a hatchet or axe for splitting kindling, but nothing more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOG SPLITTER

,
December 7, 2010
By HOSER1
from Valentine, NE
"This splitter has worked great for me for 2 camping seasons now. I have split 10'' + diameter logs and had no problems. everyone who sees it thinks its a joke until they use it. It's no hydraulic splitter but surely does the job and is easy to haul around. if you want to split wood and dont want to spend a whole lot, I reccomend this!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for price

,
November 16, 2010
By Arkansascutter
from Arkansas
"This device is very good for spitting chunks of wood up to about 7" in diameter and 15" long. I use it to split small pieces that I burn to smoke and cook meat. For some of the tougher chunks, I have to begin to split from one end then turn the wood around and split from the other end. Also for the tougher chunks, it helps to have something to hang onto so you can put your full weight on the pedal. For the price this is a great little splitter. Just don't expect it to split larger pieces."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Log splitter didn't work

,
November 16, 2010
By Darra
from Owensburg, IN
"I was hoping to use this for my first of the year woodstove kindling. It did not work. No matter how many times you "pump" the foot pedal it doesn't put pressure down on the log to split it. I returned it for a credit. Good customer service."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe and Easy to use

,
August 30, 2010
By Brian4321
from Connecticut
"Bought this just last winter, it was one of the best tools I have bought to date. It's great for indoor use, so much safer than using an ax to cut up kindling or just making your wood more manageable. It's easy to use and ready to use right out of the box. Great Find and Great buy! I have recommended it to all my friends and family."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Foot-Pump Wood Splitter

,
June 2, 2010
By jefffromwapak
from Portland, Oregon
"Retire Your Hatchet !!! We've had this great little gadget for over two years. Very simple, yet durable construction. It's perfect for making kindling from 2x4 scraps. We use our splitter at home and when camping in our TT. My eight-year-old daughter actually enjoys using it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

foot operated log splitter

,
June 2, 2010
By bleu
from Silsbee, Tx.
"I have received my splitter and it is exactly as reported,it will help me out alot,Thanks for having a good product of this type..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.