Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"

"Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"

Item# 11899
"1.5 tons of pressure splits wood easily by simply stepping on the foot plate and using body weight to depress the lever. Splits logs up to 18in. long and 10in. in diameter. Folds flat for easy transport, making it ideal for camping, cookouts and field work. Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 11/16 x 10 5/8 x 9 1/16, Continuous Force Tons 1 1/2, Ram Force Tons 1 1/2, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Max. Log Size L x W in. 18 x 10."
Average Customer Rating:
3.908 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (65 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
10
51 of 65(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Review 1 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

MAJOR DESIGN FLAW

,
November 13, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
I bought this to occasionally split wood for an outdoor fire pit. The product broke after the fourth log. It is made with two cantilevered steel prongs that cradle the log, unfortunately they are attached to the base with a brittle pot metal connection that broke right away. A MAJOR DESIGN FLAW. The splitter can't cradle the log without both prongs, so it doesn't work well with only one. I returned it to the store for a refund.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great manual log splitter

,
November 5, 2015
By
from Roseville, MI
Works great for small logs. Lubricating the slide will make it easier to split. My wife loves this since it is hard for her to swing an axe.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
November 4, 2015
By
from Minneapolis, MN
I bought this to chop up some of the logs in my backyard for a fire pit. Overall the splitter works great, easy to use and store when you're done. So far have been able to cut logs over a foot in diameter with little trouble. Hope to use this for many years!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log splitter manual foot operated

,
November 1, 2015
By
from Suburban Chicago,Il
I bought this to split smaller logs and branches ( branches have to be at least 3-4 inches in diameter to use) . It does split small logs well . It is not a tool you want to use for too long a time as it is very tiring and you have to frequently pry the unsplit log off the splitting face as they tend to get stuck if the wood is not extremely dry . Do not bother to use on green wood . For the price it is a good tool but does not take the place of a real log splitter ( hydraulic electric or gas) .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A most useful tool

,
May 17, 2015
By
from Amarillo, Tx
This log splitter is one of the most useful tools I have. It is extremely well made and small enough to carry with us when we go camping. It splits the size of logs we usually take with us and thoses we can find and purchase while out camping. It's ease of use is astounding. You can either step on it to force the split or use your hand to push down on it to split the log. It is a great product and I will recommend it to all that see it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grandkids figured it out!

,
April 26, 2015
By
from Minnetonka, MN
I am unable to do yard work now due to lung issues. Our visiting son and grandkids tried to figure out how to get the unit to maintain pressure so as to cut into the wood when you stepped on the lever. The son gave up and used another Northern Tool unit on larger wood and he let his son, age 13, work with it. The grandson figured it out!
But, not being a very big person he sometimes got his younger sister to step on the lever together with him. It really worked well and the grandkids had fun in a safe way. Grandpa got a wood shed full of nicely split wood.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for stove wood

,
March 8, 2015
By
from San Juan Islands, WA
I got this little splitter for my back porch to split small logs for the wood stove. It is very sturdy and well built, and works like a charm.I have used it daily for about a week and so far no problems. Two hints: the action is like a tallboy automobile jack: it ratchets along with each stomp of the foot. You need to make sure it is set to go high enough: AT LEAST 12" or the stroke won't be long enough to engage the next ratchet, and it will just flail along doing nothing. Also, the wedge is REALLY sharp, and that's good but be careful. The wedge is 3" high, so when splitting a log that is wet or has a lot of knot holes, and is more than 4" in diameter, you MAY need to turn the log around to finish the split. Usually, though, it will split a 4-5 inch diameter dry log in one run, often with just a few stomps. I split soft woods, generally already reasonably dry: Alder, cedar and fir. This splitter isn't big jobs, and I wouldn't use it to split a winter's woodpile. For that I use the Northern power splitter for big stuff.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Splitting Success

,
January 23, 2015
By
from NJ
I have Arthritis in my Right Shoulder, and it is difficult for me to swing an Ax. The Foot-Operated Log Splitter is perfect for me to split 18" long, halved logs, into quarters.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Splitter

,
December 16, 2014
By
from Kansas
This splitter is the perfect product for me to use. As an older woman I can't swing an axe anymore so this is great for splitting down larger logs.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

,
May 19, 2014
By
from Henderson, NC
Will not work on medium size logs. Does not work.
You should rent a real wood splitter
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Easy Easy

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Pinetop, AZ
This foot operated log splitter is a back saver and time saver. Yes some equipment may be flawed but Northern Tool will take care of you. I have owned 2 of these bad boys the first worked perfect until 1 of the leveling arms broke off. I returned the old item and had it replaced and not a problem with the new one. I am satisfied with my purchase and would recommended this log splitter to anyone in need. Great log splitter.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not work well

,
December 19, 2013
By
from Georgia
It will split fine grain wood fairly well, but will not split Oak even if it has been seasoned for 2 years.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

foot log splitter

,
September 14, 2013
By
from Arizona
Wow, I am impressed this small splitter can split 1/2 or half logs already dried out and I would to split this into several 1/4 size to fit in my beloved chimaera so the fire stay small and not get too hot. I only use this to split half logs when needed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workable Foot Operated Log Splitter

,
April 26, 2013
By
from Conroe, Texas
I have several physical problems so purchasing this was a shot in the dark. However, I am pleased to report that other than not reading the instructions first I have had no problems using it. I have split logs with knots, twisted, forks, bowed, whatever... it may take me a minute or two to figure out how to place the strange logs in the splitter so it will work but work it does. I am extremely pleased with it. I thought I was going to have to fight my brother to keep it. It works and that is all that counts. Excellent purchase especially since I bought it on sale and had it delivered to the local store to avoid shipping costs.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

You Get What You Pay For

,
January 19, 2012
By
from Texas
This splitter is a great idea, but poor quality control makes it useless. The ratchet system to keep tension on the log is designed to work like a car jack, but does not hold in the slots, so you can step on the pedal all day long with no results. I bent down to hold the piece in place and managed to split one 5 in. log...after 5 minutes of trying. Returning it in the morning for a refund!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 13, 2011
By
from Silsbee,Texas
I purchased one of these wood splitters, two years ago and it is still like I just got it, I have bad migrains and splitting wood would kill my head and when I got this splitter, I can split the wood and not get a headache from hitting the wood with an axe. GREAT PRODUCT GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works for kindling, could use more oomph

,
June 13, 2011
By
from White Mountains, AZ
Bought the foot-powered splitter to supplement our woodcutting tools. It does work as advertised to split kindling. I agree with the earlier reviewer who indicated that it requires more of an angle than indicated to achieve the right racheting action of the backstop. For splitting cedar and aspen it works like a charm. For oak it required all my weight on the foot pedal, but it did split. The only times it's failed completely is when there is an awkward angle of the log which happens to fall between one of the backstop positions, making it impossible for the backstop to lock on firmly and exert the necessary pressure to move the log against the blade. Oh, and the first several uses left green streaks on all my kindling.
So, overall, functional, but would be better if there were a little more oomph to the lever action, so that it split the denser firewood with a little less effort. Still, it's portable and non-powered, so it does do the job.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

1 rick is all I got

,
June 6, 2011
By
from Wichita, Ks
It worked good for awhile. The first thing to break was the foot pedal. so I started using the bar. Later the tension spring holders broke. I was down to 7 logs left. Basically it split 1 rick and that was it. When it worked it worked good, its durability is not. But for this price I should be happy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Foot operated splitter that works

,
March 21, 2011
By
from Williston, Vermont
I have owned this small splitter for several months. I use it to re-split pieces of stove wood that are too large for use on a relatively warm day. The pieces I "re-split" are similar in size to the piece displayed in the picture on the Northern website. I have not yet found a piece it won't split...even those with knots, etc. It is not meant to be your primary splitter unless your logs are 8" to 10" in width and 16" in length or less.
My wife uses it to split the smaller logs when I am splitting the 15" to 20" with my 14 lb maul.
Works great. I have recommended it to my friends and relatives who also burn wood.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Quality Craft Foot-Operated Log Splitter - 1.5-Ton, Model# LSF-001"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

,
March 14, 2011
By
from San Diego
This "log splitter" simply does not work at all. I should have purchased a more expensive model.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.