Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder

Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder

Item# 119010
"The Northern Industrial Tools ATV log skid arch and holder easily moves logs up to 1000 lbs. and up to 20 feet long. Minimizes snagging and keeps logs mud-free during transport. Weight Capacity lbs. 1,000, Tire Size in. 16, Material Steel, Product Type Arch, holder. Slip the chain and steel probe under the log, then hook the chain as ATV moves forward, chain rides up slide bar and hoists the log into arch Minimizes snagging and keeps logs mud-free during transport Includes four 16in. pneumatic tires and 1 7/8in. quick-lock trailer coupler"
Average Customer Rating:
2.75 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4 of 8(50%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best thing ever bought!!!

,
November 24, 2014
By cowboy55
from little valley ny
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" this thing works great it is able to carry any size log i could find. it works even better when use a 2500lb. winch for lifting.My work load is cut in half , this makes log hauling in and out of the woods so much easier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what it appears to be

,
April 21, 2014
By farmerlaw
from Greensboro, NC
" I bought this product so I could move pine logs with my ATV. I have two complaints. First, and the reason I give this product only one star, the wheels are poorly constructed with a single weak weld holding only half of the wheel to the hub. On my fourth log, one of the wheels broke loose from the hub. After looking closely at how there is just a single weld with no additional support, I chose to return the product rather than get a replacement wheel. The failure was not due to overloading, rough ground or any other abuse, and I believe this would be a common failure with continued use. The remainder of the tool appeared to be well built, strong enough for the described use, but not the wheel/hub.
Second, the catalog description does not make it clear that you MUST have additional tools and equipment before you can use this log skid. The log must be elevated before you can attach it to the skid, so unless the log to be carried is light enough to be picked up, there must be some other method to get it off the ground onto the rear dolly, and hung from the front arch. I used a cable come-along with some success, but it's not an easy task.
Conclusion: if you have a way to lift the log so you can attach it to the skid arch and dolly, you can get the log "on wheels" and ready to move with an ATV. Unfortunately, the wheels on the arch and dolly are likely to break.
If this tool had 1) wheel/hub that was as strong as the capacity of the tire, and 2) an effective way to lift the log off the ground to attach it to the skid and holder, it could be a great tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log Dolly

,
February 4, 2014
By scottmphoto
from Russellville, Arkansas
" Overall, this log dolly is built fairly well. It really makes getting trees out of the woods a little easier (as long as you get the back end lined up well and strapped down REAL good). It's much better than just skidding them out of the woods with the tractor as it keeps them up off the ground and helps to keep them cleaner. The only problem with it is the wheels. I made sure to keep my logs within the weight limit and even took the wheels and greased the bearings (as much as I could) before I assembled it. One wheel lasted about two days and the other lasted five. I had to buy replacement wheels at my local tractor store. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great helper

,
February 19, 2012
By JohnfromButler
from Butler, Pa
" This product is great at helping pull trees out of my woods. It cuts out a loading process and saves me time; I don't have to cut in the woods and load a truck then dump and split. I just drag it out to my splitting site and cut split and stack.
The wheels are junk and I have lost one already crossing a stream. So now I can't cross the stream since I am using a wheel from the dolley to keep using the arch. The wheels are so cheap that it floated down stream and has been lost. Great unit but it needs larger functional wheels.
I've been hauling firewood out of my woods for 50 years now and it is easier "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Log Skid Arch and Holder

,
June 13, 2011
By cjab
from Mayfield, NY
" This item is very cheaply made. The holes didn't line up, the hole for the wheel was too small and had to be pounded in. The slide bar that came with the unit is cheap can be bent by hand. In order to get this unit to work properly we had to have someone add 6" of tubing to make the height of the unit taller. I don't recommend unless pulling very small trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

ATV Lig Arch and Holder

,
November 23, 2010
By Skidder
from Ohio
" Over rated in ad. Pipe frame ok. Wheels to small unit set to low to ground they should be at lest 20" high so you get a good 8" to 10" clearance. Bearing very poor quality had no grease in them bolts that hold rim hafts together wrong size not able to tighten them down rims wanted to split under 35 lb pressure had to replace all bolts on rims. Ball hitch not suitable for forest work should be a simple drop pin in type. No way to lift log for attaching to arch needs a hand winch. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV Log Skid Arch

,
September 26, 2010
By paredneck
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We used this product to move 12''x12''x27' beams hewn from old growth White Oak and it made what could have been a very difficult job quite pleasant. The item was very simple to assemble and all the hardware was present. "
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools ATV Log Skid Arch and Holder
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Log Skid Arch and Holder

,
May 25, 2009
By wbsmithdvm
from Seale, AL
" I found this unit to be very poorly constructed. Bearings are very poor quality and the wheels are made with very thin metal. Holder bearing failed on first use. Local bearing company said that it was the poorest quality bearing that they had ever observed.
Bearings pulled through the wheel on second use. Customer service said they had no other complaints. It might be suitable for very small logs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.