Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L

Item# 119031
The Northern Industrial timberjack with fiberglass handle lifts logs into the air to keep chain saws from digging into the ground. Large steel hook gets a sturdy bite on logs up to 12in. in diameter. Handle Material Fiberglass, Handles Logs Diameter in. 12, Hook Material Steel, Length ft. 4. Large steel hook handles logs up to 12in. in diameter Reinforced fiberglass handle for superior strength Textured rubber grip for control and comfort Stand has two-bolt design for extra strength while supporting logs Strong steel stand supports logs and prevents chain saw bars from running into the ground Stand is removable for Cant Dog work
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (159 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
156 of 159(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best money spent!

,
September 18, 2013
By Dave72
from Roscommon, MI
" I cut quite a bit of wood to heat my home....was tired of getting the larger logs i couldn't lift onto something to try a keep my chain out of the dirt......This thing is awsome! Recommended to a guy a work with, and he loves it too! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, Better Than Expected

,
September 17, 2013
By zippa
from ct
" I wasn't sure just how sturdy this tool wood be but it stood up to as much force as I could throw at it.
This is a great product, very well made and super sturdy.
Though its rated for up to 12" diameter logs, it had no problem grabbing and turning much larger logs
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain and Back Relief Guaranteed!

,
September 17, 2013
By offthegridgrin
from The Berkshires (Massachusetts)
" Well made, Sturdy, and makes working with larger logs much easier on the back. Great chain saver! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool! Helps me a lot

,
June 20, 2013
By Golffanman
from Hawkins, MI
" This tool helps me a lot. I'm cutting wood from a pile and by myself. Sure makes the job easier and faster. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does its job

,
May 27, 2013
By Brettster
from Oregon
" Nothing to complain about. Does exactly what it is supposed to. Feels well engineered and sturdy. Finally have a good (safe) way to cut up limbs by myself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait?

,
April 26, 2013
By WoodcutterAl
from Central Michigan
" I'm in my 50's now and don't want to do the bull work I could do when I was 20. This timberjack saves my back and my chainsaw blades. Makes cutting wood much easier. I should have gotten one 20 years ago. Very well constructed, it handles any log you can get the jaw around. Great tool, especially for the price. Get one! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack makes a great gift

,
April 23, 2013
By PaulieM
from High Point, NC
" I bought two of these over the last couple of months as birthday gifts for my sons. They are the proverbial "man who has everything" so finding a gift is always difficult. Both sons cut firewood and neither had this tool. They both loved it. The construction is solid and will see many many seasons of firewood cutting. No more dull saw chains from hitting the ground. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for price

,
April 23, 2013
By Tvov
from Connecticut
" Excellent timber jack for the price. Heavy duty and can move large logs. Handle is very thick... more expensive timberjacks have thinner, easier to use handles (wooden), but this one works great. "T" stand for lifting logs is lightweight, but only in the sense that the rest of the tool seems to be able to move very large and heavy logs. I took the "T" stand off and rarely use it, but when needed it bolts on easily. This is one of those tools that you don't need a lot, but when you do need it, you really need it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Performance/Great Value

,
February 23, 2013
By downstream
from Kernersville, NC
" I bought this tool to help in clearing snag trees from 5 acres of overgrown wooded area around our lake house. This tool was an extravagance, but on sale I couldn't resist. Bottom line: it helped me buck sections up to 17-inches of an oak trunk with no sign of strain whatsoever! This tool is amazing...no negatives at all. A real solid performer, and the 'glass handle outperforms steel handles I've seen reviewed costing tens of dollars more. I don't write many reviews, but workhorse tool deserves one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backsaver

,
February 6, 2013
By scotch960
from Idaho
" Bought this tool 2 seasons ago, love it and wouldn't go without.
We cut our wood in the field (rough terrain) to 8' sections and bring to a flat area close to the house to cut into stove size pieces and split.
We use the lumberjack in the field to lift trees off the ground to cut the 8' sections. The tool is heavier than I expected since it has a fiberglass handle - a good thing and has held up well to all we can throw at it. Have had trees we couldn't physically lift off the ground even with the timberjack to make the 8' sections and didn't harm the timberjack.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

crackerjack timberjack

,
October 19, 2012
By Skeeter8455
from northcentral PA.
" I’d been looking at this product for a long time and finally broke down and bought one. Was using a homemade one but it was too short for what I was doing. This one is big, beefy and worked great. Would recommend it to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern industrial timberjack 4 ft. fiberglass ha

,
October 17, 2012
By bt123
from Humansville, Mo.
" Have used this product for a month. The quality and durability surpasses my expectations. I cut 8 cords of wood a year for home heat and see this saving more than the purchase price in chains and time in one season. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, sturdy back saver.

,
October 15, 2012
By RT76
from Memphis, Tn
" Easy to put together with simple hand tools, sturdy and lifted logs with ease. Saved my back and my chainsaw by lifting the logs up into a position that I could cut and not end up in the top soil. A nice addition to this product would be a larger steel hook that could handle an 18 - 24" diameter log. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack review

,
October 12, 2012
By or1234
from Oregon
" This log lifter is just great. Well made. I was a bit afraid of a fiberglass handle but it turns out to be extra stout, better than wood, and impervious to our wet weather. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Sturdy

,
October 8, 2012
By chimpr0k
from North Carolina
" I went to my local NT because they had a sale on the wood-handled timberjack. This one was clearly superior so I paid full price. I've used it to wrangle some large pine trees, it is extremely sturdy. Would recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes life easier

,
October 8, 2012
By Fleagleman
from Midway, AR
" This timber jack works well and saves time, energy and makes cutting firewood a lot easier. No more chain saw binding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save Your Chain!!!

,
August 20, 2012
By jscohy
from Mt. Gilead, OH
" This log jack works awesome. You will be amazed at how big of a log you can roll up on this thing and save your chain by never hitting the ground again! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
August 20, 2012
By jaymak
from Westchester County, NY
" This is the first timberjack I have used, and I have been completely satisfied. It lifts some pretty huge logs, and makes bucking a tree really easy. It saves your chain too because you avoid contacting the ground. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timberjack

,
August 19, 2012
By Oldcrow45
from Worcester, MA
" I used this on many occasions and saved my back each time. Easily lifts logs for chainsawing (or just moving) without cutting into the ground. Lifts the log (a large one) with ease. The fiberglass handle won't rust and seems to be very durable. I cut wood for 40+ years without one but will never do it again without this timberjack. Should have bought it a long time ago. It works -- get one now! Oh yeah, the price is right, too! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Timberjack with Fiberglass Handle - 4Ft.L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great firewood tool

,
August 16, 2012
By Holiday
from Farmington, NM
" Just got back from Colorado and filled two trucks and a trailer. We were cutting in an area that was thinned by the forest service. This tool flat out rocked getting these huge logs up off the ground for easy cutting. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.