Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"

"Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"

Item# 119050
"Top-quality handle of straight grain white mountain hickory, kiln dried and precision cut to exact fit. 8in. hook. Handles Logs Diameter in. 6-16, Hook Material Iron, Length ft. 4, Handle Material Hickory. Drop-forged duckbill hooks are ground to a fine point Ductile iron casting clasps and extension toe rings for long-lasting durability Painted hardware Lacquered handle"
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (31 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 31(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Review 1 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice - better than expected

,
July 18, 2014
By JZ515
from Northern Michigan
"Heavy duty - just right for mid to large size logs. Wood handle is very sturdy. Would definitely recommend if you need to roll logs for cutting. I used my neighbors a few times and it just don't have the quality this one has."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

McKinnon Cant Hook

,
May 8, 2014
By Bucksnort
from Merrifield, MN
"Finally a cant hook that is a perfect fit for my 45 year old red pine. Most I have purchased are for very large logs
My red pine is only 13 inches dia. This fits and flips the cants on the saw bed perfect every time. excellent quality and built strong. I do recommend this product
if your logs are not to large. I have put all the other cant hooks in the storage shed this one is hanging in the saw mill shed.
Sorry no video or pictures at this time.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made

,
April 21, 2014
By Skooby
from Houston Texas
"USA made sturdy Cant Hook that is easy to use and saves on chain shapening. If doesn't work on the larger logs I just use the skidder to roll them over."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great tool

,
February 4, 2014
By cdskin
from logansport in
"This peavy has come in very handy moving the large logs i typically handle and even helps me when I get my chainsaw pinched. I recommend this tool for anyone who handles any kind of wood. I know it has saved me a lot of strain and headaches."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for all loggers

,
February 4, 2014
By Thefirewoodguy
from Lawrenceville, ga
"This product is great for Rolling Logs when cutting them into. I think every logger needs one if this. It is very lightweight and easy to use"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good For Short Logs and Cants

,
February 4, 2014
By coachbro4IL
from Illinois
"This works great but a Peavey Pole is really needed for longer and larger logs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but too small to serve as a full-size peavey

,
July 17, 2013
By OffGrid2009
from Davenport, WA
"I love that it's made in the USA. It's well made, of good materials, and the wood handle is stout and solid.
the hook was a bit dull [maybe due to OSHA safety "standards"(?) ]. The point is good steel, but I was able to sharpen it with a file in just a few minutes
People who complain about its size are correct, if (like me) they are trying to use it to move round logs over 20 inches in girth. However, its name says it all: it's a cant hook, not a peavey. Once the top and side slabs are removed, I seldom have a squared cant that I can't handle with this hook.
I've found that the Northern Tool Log Jack, with the T-bar removed, has a larger "mouth" capacity, and can handle the bigger logs (up to 25 or 26 inches) that this tool just can't get its mouth around. Any bigger than that, I remove all the bark and sometimes use the chainsaw to rip off a slab a few inches long just to give the Log Jack a purchase on the log to roll it.
When used to move or turn cants or smaller logs, this tool is just the ticket."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

extra hands

,
April 23, 2013
By 123tree
from winter haven florida
"this cant hook is a must for those doing large tree jobs. the 4 ft. handle makes it easer to move large trees to finish cuts, or removing stuck ropes. use two or three and findout how ease it is to move huge stumps that were unmoveable before. i never go to a removeal without them. (3ft. and 4ft.) also good if (not me) your saw somehow gets stuck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time saver

,
October 15, 2012
By craigrf
from Highly competent with home repairs
"The Forest Service opened an area to firewood cutting. They cut and piled the logs 10' high. This cant hook allowed us to separate huge logs from the pile, saving pinched saws, damaged chain saw bars and chains. One person can move logs weighing over 800 lbs into position that the logs can be cut to length easily. Should have had one years ago!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built well

,
August 20, 2012
By Wizbang
from Northfield, MN
"I got this log roller a few years ago for moving big trees and it has worked very well. I would recommend this product to anyone. I bought a similar one from another store that wasn't made in USA and it was a piece of junk. Wouldn't hook the logs and always slipped off. Save time and money and buy this one first!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

McKinnon Cant Hook

,
June 13, 2011
By Thickethunter
from Central Arkansas
"This product is solid and built to last at a price I could not beat anywhere."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cant

,
March 14, 2011
By gandrimp
from Missouri
"Works good. Its a little small for my needs but it does work good on 22" and under."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

old time quality

,
November 23, 2010
By rw69
"We bought two for our small timber-harvester sawmill. It was a great relief to buy US made high quality tool immediately ready for heavy work.
We use them continuously and have had no issues. A great tool- wish everything was so well made.
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Cant Hook

,
November 16, 2010
By OhioGregg
from Ohio
"The quality of this cant hook is good. I use it quite a bit. The only thing holding me back from giving it 5 stars, is that it has trouble gripping large logs. With small logs seems to work well. The hook just seems should have a larger gap, and sharper point."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool, tops out on 18 inch logs

,
June 8, 2010
By Alan12839746
from Louisville, Ky
"On a green maple log (same day) 9ft long, 21 inches at one end, 15x17 on the other this tool would grip the log if spiked into the bark with a firm jab on the small end, in the middle even a voilent jab would rip out 50% of the time. Forget it on the big end. The tool is just not large enough to surround the log and hold the pin in place. I plan to purchase another tool for the larger logs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indespensible

,
November 2, 2009
By mechengineer
from Delaware
"This tool is great for moving logs around in the yard. I use it to move logs up to 36" diameter by myself with ease. It's great for positioning logs for sawmilling, or rolling them onto a trailer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cant lose with the cant hook

,
October 22, 2009
By Anonymous
from Branchburg, NJ
"I got a delivery of 18 foot timbers ranging in diameter fro 8 inches to 30 inches. Going it alone I needed help so I ordered the Cant Hook. It handled whatever I could muscle. It along with the Timberjack helped me cut over 3 cords of timber. They are now on loaner to a friend who burns."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook

,
October 19, 2009
By akchinook
from Cortland,NY
"Very good product. The handle is extremely strong, and quite durable. The hook seems very durable too, taken as a whole I think this will provide years of service. The only drawback I can see, the hook is kind of dull, so it can be hard to set into logs with a tough bark."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cant Hook

,
October 19, 2009
By Shotgunner
from Virginia
"I have had this Cant Hook for a year now and would not trade it for anything. It's durable, easy to use and I almost couldn't do any tree work without it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Columbus McKinnon Cant Hook - 4ft., Model# 06140"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cant hook the big ones

,
July 21, 2009
By Notalogger
from Illinois
"We bought this tool to clear our property of fallen trees after a big wind storm hit the midwest in May. The handle was sturdy and the tool is well made, but the hook wasn't big enough to go around the bigger logs, which was disappointing."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.