Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain

Item# 119085
An easy way to file chain Tap tool into a stump, twist the screw clamp on the bar to hold it in place and advance the chain freely for sharpening. Fits conveniently into a pocket. Assembly Required No, Mount Type Stump, Product Type Vise.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chainsaw Stump Vise

,
April 23, 2013
By ACB57
from Northern Vermont
"I've paid much more in the past for a stump vise that didn't work any better than this one. Beside costing less, this vise weigh less too which is good when you're humping into the woods. Once pounded into a stump, it holds even my biggest saw while I sharpen the chain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool, indespensable in the field

,
January 24, 2012
By lgregor
from Western, North Carolina
"This is a great tool, solid construction and extremely useful if in the field or even at home on the bench. Northerntool has by far the best price on this piece anywhere. Get one and throw in your tool box it will save time when sharpening and give a much more solid foundation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stocking stuffer/ Bday present

,
January 16, 2012
By stratford
from Shelton ,CT
"I picked up one of these about 2 days before I was going to mount a vise to my garage work bench. I stacked two logs on top of each other on sharpen right on top of them with this handy tool. My chains get toned up after a day in the woods and I can't believe how simple it is after trying to hold the bar with one hand and sharpen with the other."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stump Vise

,
January 11, 2012
By 05sprcrw
from Rural Nebraska
"This is a great tool for all you hand sharpeners out there. Just hammer it into a stump and clamp the bar down it holds the saw in place so you can get a consistent angle on your cutters."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

,
October 10, 2011
By Cowsnone
from New Jersey
"Worked fine as expected. No problems. used a few time work good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
March 14, 2011
By butchie1
from McLouth, Ks
"Only used it twice but it worked great to hold saw blade steady while I tuned up the chain. Seems to be well made and should last a long time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
June 1, 2010
By lfdsawyer
from Central MA
"Handy vise makes sharpening a breeze for low cost and fits in back pocket."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
May 28, 2010
By mln6
from Harlingen, TX
"Does just what you want it to do and at a lower price than the others. Well made and will last a life time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw stump vise

,
October 23, 2009
By arkygurl
from Hot Springs, Arkansas
"This is a great gadget. Handy as a pocket on a shirt. Just hammer it into a stump, clamp in your chainsaw bar and start sharpening. It holds the saw really steady giving you both hands free to file the teeth. Before I got this stump vise I was walking back to the truck and laying the saw on the tailgate, trying to hold it steady while I filed the teeth. The stump vise saves me a walk to the truck and its quicker, easier and I get a better sharpen on my blade. Its a great tool for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

... the mother of invention.

,
September 21, 2008
By Stlshrk
from VA
"Wish I'd have come up with the idea! A time saver, for sure."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Stump Vise for Sharpening Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saw Sharpening Vise

,
January 21, 2008
By Willio
from Vermont
"Compared to letting your saw slide around on the tailgate of your pickup while trying to put an edge back on your chain, this little devise is a life saver."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
EDT1
Ellenboro, NC 
 
Please wait while more information about EDT1 is loaded.
Additional information about EDT1 could not be loaded.
January 16, 2012
"I've been searching for one of these for some time. My son found it at Northern. Handyest tool for sharpening a chain saw since the file."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)