Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01

Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01

Item# 119300
The Brush Grubber makes clearing brush effortless with its 16 gripping teeth and strong jaws. Works with lawn tractors, ATVs or light utility tractors to pull small, shallow-rooted trees and shrubs from 1/2in. to 3in. Great for clearing fence lines. Teeth qty. 16, Jaw Opening in. 1/2-3, Recommended Use Brush, trees, Application Grubber, Works With Compact tractor, lawn tractor, ATV, UTV. Removes small, shallow-rooted trees and shrubs from 1/2in. to 3in. in dia. Will not slip off or around brush Strong jaws hold 16 gripping teeth
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
60 of 62(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Review 1 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

needs bigger chain

,
May 10, 2014
By cajun123
from Louisiana
"Found the unit OK but saw right away that I would have to make changes to use it with my tractor. .
Gum trees with long tap roots have to have a extra heavy chain to be pulled out of the ground . .Also had to experiment just where to place puller on tree.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice tool

,
April 28, 2014
By dg66
from north east, ohio
"the product is built tough! we have used it the last two weekends and have accomplished more than in the previous two springs! it takes a couple tries to get the feel of it but once we got used to it we went to town!! we found it works easier with our ATV winch rather than just pulling with chain.
great tool!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost perfect

,
April 14, 2014
By Dogpatch15
from Hudson, Florida
"Product is well made and works as described. One drawback is the spring used to close the jaws is quite powerful (necessarily so), a little difficult for helpers (110 lb. wife) to hold open to place around saplings and roots while husband (me) drives tractor.
Seriously, a great tool, several friends have purchased same after borrowing mine.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber

,
February 4, 2014
By Tenpoint
from Arkansas
"Works great for small trees. Grabs and does not let go until released. Most efficiently used if someone is in vehicle or tractor and another attaching / releasing trees. I used to clear invasive ceder from pasture - more work than bush hogging, but they do not come back or leave little stumps to trip over of puncture tires."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this tool !

,
October 15, 2012
By ChopinWood2
from Southeast Michigan
"It works like it says - it grabs onto large or small trees/shrubs. If you have two people working - one to man the grubber, the other to drive, you can get a lot done in a hurry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GRUBBER!

,
May 7, 2012
By Cooperstein
from Florida
"My friends and I have used this product the past month to clear a 1 acre lot. Using a JD 790 (4) wheel tractor we have spun the tires on some larger trees and the grubber never let go! Wonderful product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential for pulling brush

,
January 16, 2012
By CoExSy
from Marlboorugh, MA
"This device (and larger models) really grab slippery brush and continue to tighten the move you pull."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01

,
October 17, 2011
By Dave01331
from Athol Ma
"This is a simple yet very useful product. This is best used by two people one to set the grabber and one to operate the machine doing the pulling. We were able to remove several Buckthorn and other shrubs in a very quick time using the grabber, a 12 foot chain and a 4X4 pickup. I found the front tow hooks on the truck worked best as the operator has a better view of the person setting the grabber.
The grabber is rugged and easy to set on the shrubs and small trees... highly reccomended
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One needed toy

,
August 14, 2011
By Mikie
from Sand Lake, Michigan
"Works perfectly using just a steady pull and no jerking.
I love it. Pulled out my 3" over growth with ease.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stumped

,
June 6, 2011
By Rdkll10
from Farmville, Va
"Works great, but I guestion its effectiveness with an ATV my43 hp tractor w/ water in tires was loosing traction on 2.5 in cedar"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Exactly As Advertised

,
April 22, 2011
By AdirondackJamie
from Adirondack Mountains, NY
"The best time of year to cut back the brush is when there is still snow on the ground - when it melts back, I'm left with short stumps. The Grubber yanks them out with ease! I just pulled out about 20 in the time it would have taken me to pull out a couple... I just hook it to the stump, connect it to the winch on my ATV and yank it out. Once and awhile I have to put the ATV in reverse on the harder ones. Had I known that the Grubber had a spring action that holds it in place when attaching it to the stump, I would have bought one a long time ago. They should make that a point in their write up. Reading the directions for once paid off. Pushing on the clevis instead of just pulling on the jaws to open it was a lot easier..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
March 14, 2011
By Gemini
from Gardner, MA
"I have been dealing with Northern since the company was formed thirty years ago. Always have been happy with products and service.
This brush grabber is a useful tool for the money and i am considering buying the heavier one as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

brush grubber

,
March 14, 2011
By Grasspal
from Lewistown,Mo
"It looks like a good idea, but did not work on cedar trees 1 in ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - time (and temper) saver

,
March 9, 2011
By Bob2011
from Higgins Lake, MI
"Purchase in the fall of 2009. Used for dlearing saplings and underbrush from vacant property, landscaping overgrowth and small stumps. The chain accessory was used to hook the Grubber up to a Jeep (and PickUp) to yank the stubborn stuff out. The Jaws slip on the smaller stuff, but where you can get a good place to hook into with the grubber, out comes the brush. Have recommended to friends (and loaned it to some too.) Requires a little muscle power to open the jaws though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS PERFECTLY

,
November 23, 2010
By KZipper
from Ann Arbor, Michigan
"This product performs exactly as stated. I pulled a few saplings with a chain prior to purchasing this product. Wow, did this save me time. As long as you get it set properly, the Tree/stump/brush will come out! For the price, this works as designed, however, if I had to purchase again, I would upgrade to the one with an intergral handle to make it a bit easier for the guy working the business end.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
November 23, 2010
By TDRVICK
from Mississippi
"Used this for the first time yesterday and was delited with the results. I have alot of privet Hedge that grows close to my pine trees. With this grabber I can easily remove them without hurting the pines."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Brush Grubber

,
November 16, 2010
By dwb1954
from Bastrop, LA
"I had some azalea and holly bushes behind the house that needed to be removed for several reasons. I put the Brush Grubber at the base of the bushes and hooked up to my little Kubota B7100 4wd, and up they came. As long as it was placed on a secure location, it did not slip. On one of the bigger hollys, I had all 4 wheels of the tractor spinning, but the Brush Grubber did not come off. The only time it slipped off was on one of the azaleas that did not have a single trunk, but several smaller ones, I did not put it on a good location the first time. But the second time I found a better spot, and up it came.
I have already recommended it to several of my friends and even offered to loan it to them if they want to try it out.
I just bought this house a few months ago, and have a lot of clearing to do along the fence line, and am looking forward to using the Brush Grubber a lot more. It is a great tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JROUTDOORS

,
November 16, 2010
By JROUTDOORS
from CO
"Works well. Purchased 3 and use all 3 at the same time to reduce overall work time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

inventor deserves a medal

,
July 6, 2010
By Gadgetlover
from West Tenn. Everything grows here!!!- fast.
"pulled all i wanted to pull in a few minutes! Used with a logging chain and old Ford tractor. Sure beats cutting and digging or mowing over stumps for years.
Man on the ground needs a good grip for opening the jaws, but otherwise NO complaints.
The whole crew agreeded this is one essential tools for removing any small trees or shrubs with a good trunk.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy duty item

,
June 3, 2010
By DougOK
from OKlahoma
"Well built piece of equipment - worked great on larger saplings.
On smaller than 3/4" saplings it would slip and just pull the leaves off.
When it worked it was great, got the deep roots out.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.