Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"

"Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"

Item# 119300
"The Brush Grubber makes clearing brush effortless with its 16 gripping teeth and strong jaws. Works with lawn tractors, ATVs or light utility tractors to pull small, shallow-rooted trees and shrubs from 1/2in. to 3in. Great for clearing fence lines. Application Grubber, Teeth qty. 16, Jaw Opening in. 1/2-3, Works With Compact tractor, lawn tractor, ATV, UTV, Recommended Use Brush, trees. Removes small, shallow-rooted trees and shrubs from 1/2in. to 3in. in dia. Will not slip off or around brush Strong jaws hold 16 gripping teeth"
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (67 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
65 of 67(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Review 1 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wanted Something For Small Trees

,
July 2, 2015
By BamaGirl
from Alabama
" I wanted a tool to pull up small volunteer trees, like Privet, in old flower beds. The trees are too small for this tool; but, I didn't want to return it b/c of the cost. It does pull up about 2" circumference trees with deep roots. I would recommend this to a friend for larger trees. Fun to use! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works great

,
June 3, 2015
By stevoo
from Virginia
" This tree grabber has pins that stick into the tree and hold on. If the tractor is big enough for the tree this product will do it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performed as Expected

,
June 3, 2015
By SkipM
from Coventry RI
" This brush grabber worked as I had hoped. It captured the trunks of small to mid-sized scrub brush and allowed me to yank it out with my front end loader without having to get beat up with a heavy chain like I used to. I only missed couple of removals (where I had to re-set or reposition the grubber spikes). Improved my productivity in clearing brush. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tree puller

,
November 1, 2014
By SLM46
from Colo
" We have elm seeds here and the elms grow in everything that bushes. This unit was very effective in pulling out the trees up to several inches in diameter by the roots. Not as effective with small diameter trees of lless than 1". "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber Perfection

,
July 23, 2014
By leoal
from Pa
" The product works beautifully. The design enables the user to operate the product single handed. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that has small trees and brush to remove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

needs bigger chain

,
May 10, 2014
By cajun123
from Louisiana
" Found the unit OK but saw right away that I would have to make changes to use it with my tractor. .
Gum trees with long tap roots have to have a extra heavy chain to be pulled out of the ground . .Also had to experiment just where to place puller on tree.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice tool

,
April 28, 2014
By dg66
from north east, ohio
" the product is built tough! we have used it the last two weekends and have accomplished more than in the previous two springs! it takes a couple tries to get the feel of it but once we got used to it we went to town!! we found it works easier with our ATV winch rather than just pulling with chain.
great tool!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost perfect

,
April 14, 2014
By Dogpatch15
from Hudson, Florida
" Product is well made and works as described. One drawback is the spring used to close the jaws is quite powerful (necessarily so), a little difficult for helpers (110 lb. wife) to hold open to place around saplings and roots while husband (me) drives tractor.
Seriously, a great tool, several friends have purchased same after borrowing mine.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber

,
February 4, 2014
By Tenpoint
from Arkansas
" Works great for small trees. Grabs and does not let go until released. Most efficiently used if someone is in vehicle or tractor and another attaching / releasing trees. I used to clear invasive ceder from pasture - more work than bush hogging, but they do not come back or leave little stumps to trip over of puncture tires. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this tool !

,
October 15, 2012
By ChopinWood2
from Southeast Michigan
" It works like it says - it grabs onto large or small trees/shrubs. If you have two people working - one to man the grubber, the other to drive, you can get a lot done in a hurry. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GRUBBER!

,
May 7, 2012
By Cooperstein
from Florida
" My friends and I have used this product the past month to clear a 1 acre lot. Using a JD 790 (4) wheel tractor we have spun the tires on some larger trees and the grubber never let go! Wonderful product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential for pulling brush

,
January 16, 2012
By CoExSy
from Marlboorugh, MA
" This device (and larger models) really grab slippery brush and continue to tighten the move you pull. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01

,
October 17, 2011
By Dave01331
from Athol Ma
" This is a simple yet very useful product. This is best used by two people one to set the grabber and one to operate the machine doing the pulling. We were able to remove several Buckthorn and other shrubs in a very quick time using the grabber, a 12 foot chain and a 4X4 pickup. I found the front tow hooks on the truck worked best as the operator has a better view of the person setting the grabber.
The grabber is rugged and easy to set on the shrubs and small trees... highly reccomended
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One needed toy

,
August 14, 2011
By Mikie
from Sand Lake, Michigan
" Works perfectly using just a steady pull and no jerking.
I love it. Pulled out my 3" over growth with ease.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stumped

,
June 6, 2011
By Rdkll10
from Farmville, Va
" Works great, but I guestion its effectiveness with an ATV my43 hp tractor w/ water in tires was loosing traction on 2.5 in cedar "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Exactly As Advertised

,
April 22, 2011
By AdirondackJamie
from Adirondack Mountains, NY
" The best time of year to cut back the brush is when there is still snow on the ground - when it melts back, I'm left with short stumps. The Grubber yanks them out with ease! I just pulled out about 20 in the time it would have taken me to pull out a couple... I just hook it to the stump, connect it to the winch on my ATV and yank it out. Once and awhile I have to put the ATV in reverse on the harder ones. Had I known that the Grubber had a spring action that holds it in place when attaching it to the stump, I would have bought one a long time ago. They should make that a point in their write up. Reading the directions for once paid off. Pushing on the clevis instead of just pulling on the jaws to open it was a lot easier... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
March 14, 2011
By Gemini
from Gardner, MA
" I have been dealing with Northern since the company was formed thirty years ago. Always have been happy with products and service.
This brush grabber is a useful tool for the money and i am considering buying the heavier one as well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

brush grubber

,
March 14, 2011
By Grasspal
from Lewistown,Mo
" It looks like a good idea, but did not work on cedar trees 1 in . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - time (and temper) saver

,
March 9, 2011
By Bob2011
from Higgins Lake, MI
" Purchase in the fall of 2009. Used for dlearing saplings and underbrush from vacant property, landscaping overgrowth and small stumps. The chain accessory was used to hook the Grubber up to a Jeep (and PickUp) to yank the stubborn stuff out. The Jaws slip on the smaller stuff, but where you can get a good place to hook into with the grubber, out comes the brush. Have recommended to friends (and loaned it to some too.) Requires a little muscle power to open the jaws though. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Brush Grubber, Model# BG-01"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS PERFECTLY

,
November 23, 2010
By KZipper
from Ann Arbor, Michigan
" This product performs exactly as stated. I pulled a few saplings with a chain prior to purchasing this product. Wow, did this save me time. As long as you get it set properly, the Tree/stump/brush will come out! For the price, this works as designed, however, if I had to purchase again, I would upgrade to the one with an intergral handle to make it a bit easier for the guy working the business end.. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.