Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine

NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine

Item# 11954
A quality Honda GX270 engine powers this 32-ton NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter. Capable of splitting logs up to 31in. long. Ships fully assembled with hydraulic oil. Shown with optional log lift kit. Features a 2-stage Concentric pump, which decreases cycle time by moving the wedge quickly while traveling towards a log, switching to low gear for extra torque when splitting a log. Uses a powerful horizontal-shaft engine, engineered for a long life. Ram Force Tons 32, Lights No, Tire Size 4.80 x 12, Oil Reservoir gal. 18, Max. Log Size L x W in. 31 x, Pump Concentric 16 GPM, 2-stage, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.4, Wedge Steel, Dimensions L x W x H in. 105 x 60 x 37, Cylinder 5 in. x 30in., Engine Displacement cc 270, Fenders No, Cycle Time sec. 18, Log Cradle Yes, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Ball Coupler in. 2, Continuous Force Tons 29.4, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Max. PSI 3,000, Hoses 3/4 in. high pressure, Pre-assembled Yes, Engine Honda GX, Jack Stand Yes, Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Log Lift Optional. High strength I-beam backbone Log cradle keeps logs from rolling off splitter High-speed tires, safety chains and 2in. ball coupler for towing 2-stage pump decreases cycle time by moving the wedge quickly while traveling towards a log and switches to low gear for extra torque when splitting a log 2-stage pump achieves the same pressures as a single stage pump with less horsepower Suction strainer filters oil before it enters the hydraulic pump, protects hydraulic components and grants longer life Hydraulic valve with detent feature returns wedge automatically Horizontal-shaft engines can expect a lifetime five times longer than the lifetime of a vertical shaft engine 12in. tall x 1in. thick steel wedge Return line filter prolongs life of hydraulic components by filtering oils 5in. x 30in. hydraulic cylinder Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northern log splitter

,
October 15, 2012
By twh1
from Mathews,VA
"This log splitter is a very good value. I have all the options available including the log tray, 4 way wedge, and best of all the hydraulic log lift. All of the options have a very good benefit in the splitting process and are worth the extra cost."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

,
September 3, 2012
By River4670
from WI
"Been using it for 3 years now and it will split anything you give it. Never have taken the 4 way head off yet. The lift needs to be filled in more. Take the 4 way head to a welder and have them re-weld it with high heat. Be sure to shut OFF the gas before transporting or you will flood the crankcase of the motor. I cut off 2 inches off the 4 way wedge and now I can split 4" or 6" by just turning the wedge over. Get the front pan, works great. You won't go wrong with this splitter.Best I have ever had."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average splitter, poor accessories

,
November 27, 2011
By RBOOM
from East Texas
"I bought this machine along with the hydraulic log lift, log table, and 4 way splitter option.
The splitter itself is average. It starts easy and runs good thanks to Honda. It is powerful but the cycle time is slow. I guess the 2 cycle pump must not be working.
The log lift broke lifting the 3rd log. The hydraulic cylinder on the lift does not fit in the frame properly and it sheared off the hydraulic plug on the top of the cylinder by rubbing against the frame. I had to purchase new plug and then rig the cylinder so it would not rub by adding some large 1 inch washers.They clearly did not test this lift at all with the cylinder they sent me. Very poor design and manufacturing.
The log table is also some sort of cruel joke by northern on their customers. It is basically worse than useless since it is too small and lets the logs fall right through to the ground unless they are at least 24 inches long. I typically work with 18-20 inch logs so it is useless until I can find a welder to rebuild it. It is again something they clearly did not test at all.
The 4 way split option is also junk. After splitting 3-4 18" diameter logs, it is heavily dented and disfigured. Clearly much too soft a metal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splits Wood!

,
September 23, 2011
By BuddyD
from The County, Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Received splitter late this morning and was able to put it to work this afternoon. Nothing to assemble; just add fluids and it's ready to go. Check the hydraulic fluid - it ships with oil, but mine must have lost close to 5 gallons in transit. Also, the manual directs you to oil the edges of the beam, but there are actually grease fittings on each side of the ram head to provide lubrication to the slide plates.
The best feature (other than the splitting!) is the reverse detent - it allows the ram to be returning while you turn around to get the next piece. I highly recommend some kind of staging table; I wish I had ordered it with the splitter. I don't need the lift for my wood, but there's no extra room on the beam for staging.
I've seen splitters that look similar for less, but you can tell the capabilities of this one are in a completely different league. Looking forward to many years of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc

,
March 17, 2011
By marksfirewood
"I have had this splitter for about 3 years now and it is the best log splitter i have ever seen or used. I have the log lift also it works great. It will lift anything you put on it and works great as a staging table also. I lookked at the Timberwolf tw5 before i bought this one and i have to tell you this northstar 32 ton is a nicer machine and a heck of alot cheaper. I split about a hundred cordes a year and it dont miss a beat. It will split anything you put in it. I am looking to buy a second machine now.
Thanks Mark in Charlotte N.C
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE only Log Splitter

,
November 23, 2010
By LogginLenny
from Lebanon, Pa
"Got to tell you, grew up using a horizontal log splitter and it seems nowadays they only make a vertical ones with the ram being the splitting edge. Don't like em. I love this log splitter. Love the 2 stage pump. I split about 15 cords of wood a year and you will not be dissatified. What I did is changed the splitting wedge to a four way. You can buy from NT a extra steel splitting wedge and cut it in half and put a new splitting edge on it. Cut off the arrow head and put a 45 deg on it with the wood being pushed upward. When you weld it to the vertical wedge I would reccomend that your distance from the I beam is about 6 in. You always can split it twice if needed. The only down side of the unit is the weight. You wont be sorry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best of best logsplitter

,
June 1, 2010
By maddad2137
from been in wood business 6 years
"my northern logsplitter has been splitting wood for more than (6) six years on a daily basis it just keeps on working all of the repairs Examples are battery, starter, wedge, detent valve are normal wear & tear even the normal has exceeded the normal by an average of 3x times longer i have it on my too replace list but it still works fine i have one of the largest retail firewood business on L I an it s is still keeping up with the demand too split more & more It also has had several different operators through the years i have seached for other splitters but i keep mine at the top of the list i can not waite till i get a new one i will keep my first spliter in service as well hope my review makes it easier for all who are looking too purchase a logsplitter like mine there first choice i should say only choice thanks for reading MADDAD2137 the wood be with you"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice splitter

,
December 19, 2009
By dwyNH
from East Kingston, NH
"We have had the Northstar 32ton with log lift for 2 months. Its a great machine. We have split 4 cords of green red oak over a couple saturdays. This unit splits the 24-28" red oak logs without any problem at all... strong machine. We are planning a few minor modifications to the log lift so some of the smaller logs don't fall through the lift. We also use the 4 way wedge which makes splitting significantly faster. The 4 way wedge is a universal wedge and is not designed well for this system, the weld on the inside of the 4 way wedge is reaming the leading edge of the log splitter main wedge.
This unit would be perfect if it had an auto cycle valve control system standard or as an option.
If you split between 10 and 20 cord a season this unit if for you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

11954 32-ton Log Splitter

,
October 29, 2007
By RG05346
from Putney, VT
"Upon arrival of our new 32-ton log splitter 11954(Fully assembled), Hydraulic log lift 11953, and table 1145, we needed to assemble the log lift and table, the ability of mechanical knowledge required.
After assembly, we commenced to log for firewood on our folks property, we cut our wood to approx. 28" with our lengths averaging between 26" and 30".
Our folks and ourselves burn around 28 cords per year, duing the winter months. The 32-ton log splitter we purchased from Northern Tool has no problem lifting and splitting our wood fresh cut or seasoned (Red and White Oak, Beech, Maple, Cherry, Hickory, Black and White Birch)
I might say manuvering of this product should be done with a small tractor or atv. It is quite aukward after adding the log lift.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc Honda GX270 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LOGSPLITTER

,
November 20, 2006
By jesse
from MINNESOTA
"i love the two stage pump make getting thru wood easy!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.