Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine

NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine

Item# 11968
The NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift gives you premium components and exclusive features that let you save time, increase performance and work effectively. The backbone of this log splitter is an industrial-strength I-beam with heavy plate steel reinforcement. Auto-return wedge saves time and effort when splitting. The premium hydraulic system is protected by a quad filtering system that uses four different components to protect the hydraulic system from contaminants. Large hydraulic oil reservoir allows fluid to cool, reducing wear and allowing fluid to last longer. High-speed hubs, torsion axle, 12' wheels with high-speed tires and integrated trailer lights make it easy to get to the worksite. Comes with hydraulic log lift, capable of raising logs up to 340 lbs. Automatic Cylinder Return Yes, Ball Coupler in. 2, Continuous Force Tons 34.3, Cycle Time sec. 13, Dimensions L x W x H in. 113 x 63 x 42, Engine Honda GX390, Engine Displacement cc 390, Fenders Yes, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.6, Jack Stand Leg, Lights Yes, Log Cradle Yes, Log Lift Hydraulic, Gross Torque 19 1/2 ft. lbs. @ 2,500 lbs., Max. Log Size L x W in. 31 x 24, Max. PSI 3,500, Oil Reservoir gal. 21, Pre-assembled Yes, Pump 16 GPM, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Tire Size 12 in., Ram Force Tons 37, Cylinder 5 in. x 30 in., Hoses High pressure w/wire braid, Product Type Horizontal splitter, Wedge 12 in. H. Honda commercial GX390 series engine with cast iron cylinder sleeve, low oil shutdown and steel fuel tank American-made 16 GPM Concentric pump and Brand valve Hydraulic log lift makes splitting large logs easy Heavy-duty steel-reinforced hose NorthStar hydraulic cylinder with premium Halite seals Heavy-duty log cradles prevent logs from rolling off when split Ultra-Tow Ultra-Pack high-speed hubs and 12in. wheels with high-speed tires Adjustable leg and 2in. coupler
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northern log splitter

,
October 15, 2012
By twh1
from Mathews,VA
"This log splitter is a very good value. I have all the options available including the log tray, 4 way wedge, and best of all the hydraulic log lift. All of the options have a very good benefit in the splitting process and are worth the extra cost."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

,
September 3, 2012
By River4670
from WI
"Been using it for 3 years now and it will split anything you give it. Never have taken the 4 way head off yet. The lift needs to be filled in more. Take the 4 way head to a welder and have them re-weld it with high heat. Be sure to shut OFF the gas before transporting or you will flood the crankcase of the motor. I cut off 2 inches off the 4 way wedge and now I can split 4" or 6" by just turning the wedge over. Get the front pan, works great. You won't go wrong with this splitter.Best I have ever had."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splits Wood!

,
September 23, 2011
By BuddyD
from The County, Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Received splitter late this morning and was able to put it to work this afternoon. Nothing to assemble; just add fluids and it's ready to go. Check the hydraulic fluid - it ships with oil, but mine must have lost close to 5 gallons in transit. Also, the manual directs you to oil the edges of the beam, but there are actually grease fittings on each side of the ram head to provide lubrication to the slide plates.
The best feature (other than the splitting!) is the reverse detent - it allows the ram to be returning while you turn around to get the next piece. I highly recommend some kind of staging table; I wish I had ordered it with the splitter. I don't need the lift for my wood, but there's no extra room on the beam for staging.
I've seen splitters that look similar for less, but you can tell the capabilities of this one are in a completely different league. Looking forward to many years of use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter - 32-Ton, 270cc

,
March 17, 2011
By marksfirewood
"I have had this splitter for about 3 years now and it is the best log splitter i have ever seen or used. I have the log lift also it works great. It will lift anything you put on it and works great as a staging table also. I lookked at the Timberwolf tw5 before i bought this one and i have to tell you this northstar 32 ton is a nicer machine and a heck of alot cheaper. I split about a hundred cordes a year and it dont miss a beat. It will split anything you put in it. I am looking to buy a second machine now.
Thanks Mark in Charlotte N.C
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE only Log Splitter

,
November 23, 2010
By LogginLenny
from Lebanon, Pa
"Got to tell you, grew up using a horizontal log splitter and it seems nowadays they only make a vertical ones with the ram being the splitting edge. Don't like em. I love this log splitter. Love the 2 stage pump. I split about 15 cords of wood a year and you will not be dissatified. What I did is changed the splitting wedge to a four way. You can buy from NT a extra steel splitting wedge and cut it in half and put a new splitting edge on it. Cut off the arrow head and put a 45 deg on it with the wood being pushed upward. When you weld it to the vertical wedge I would reccomend that your distance from the I beam is about 6 in. You always can split it twice if needed. The only down side of the unit is the weight. You wont be sorry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best of best logsplitter

,
June 1, 2010
By maddad2137
from been in wood business 6 years
"my northern logsplitter has been splitting wood for more than (6) six years on a daily basis it just keeps on working all of the repairs Examples are battery, starter, wedge, detent valve are normal wear & tear even the normal has exceeded the normal by an average of 3x times longer i have it on my too replace list but it still works fine i have one of the largest retail firewood business on L I an it s is still keeping up with the demand too split more & more It also has had several different operators through the years i have seached for other splitters but i keep mine at the top of the list i can not waite till i get a new one i will keep my first spliter in service as well hope my review makes it easier for all who are looking too purchase a logsplitter like mine there first choice i should say only choice thanks for reading MADDAD2137 the wood be with you"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

11954 32-ton Log Splitter

,
October 29, 2007
By RG05346
from Putney, VT
"Upon arrival of our new 32-ton log splitter 11954(Fully assembled), Hydraulic log lift 11953, and table 1145, we needed to assemble the log lift and table, the ability of mechanical knowledge required.
After assembly, we commenced to log for firewood on our folks property, we cut our wood to approx. 28" with our lengths averaging between 26" and 30".
Our folks and ourselves burn around 28 cords per year, duing the winter months. The 32-ton log splitter we purchased from Northern Tool has no problem lifting and splitting our wood fresh cut or seasoned (Red and White Oak, Beech, Maple, Cherry, Hickory, Black and White Birch)
I might say manuvering of this product should be done with a small tractor or atv. It is quite aukward after adding the log lift.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Horizontal Log Splitter with Log Lift - 37-Ton, 389cc Honda GX390 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LOGSPLITTER

,
November 20, 2006
By jesse
from MINNESOTA
"i love the two stage pump make getting thru wood easy!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.