Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle

Item# 119915
Slice through wood-cutting chores. Heavy-duty 12-lb. head and steel handle deliver more splitting force at impact. Handle Length in. 27, Head Weight lbs. 12, Handle Material Steel. Exceeds ASME Standard B107.54M
Average Customer Rating:
4.255 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (51 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
44 of 51(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Review 1 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific log splitter. Never gets stuck.

,
May 12, 2013
By Ishepperd
from Dallas,TX
" This thing does one thing only. Split logs. And it does it very well. Super heavy but that's one of the reasons it works so well. I love the steal handle. Some complain it's too short but it seems fine to me. You will get a serious workout using this thing but I actually like that. And it never gets stuck. If you get it that deep into a log, it's probably split. And if not, it pulls right out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great things about this maul

,
August 20, 2012
By boomman
from fairmont,NC
" this is a great maul It busts through all hardwood with ease. This weight of the mauls makes the job easy "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12 lb indestructible maul

,
August 20, 2012
By Dairyland
from Reedsburg, WI
" There are a lot of advantages to having complete steel construction. Heavy weight falls hard, and you can't snap the handle while hammering a spike, but the handle is about 10 inches too short. If you can swing it, and you have a welder, I might recommend adding an extension. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Splitting Machine

,
August 20, 2012
By FisherGuy
from Greater Hartford, CT
" The maul works great, especially after a sharpening! Also, the way it splits the wood makes up for the extra effort required to swing it - it is heavy. It rarely gets stuck in the log which has been the problem with other mauls or axes I've used over the years. The only draw back for me is the handle seems a little short - I'm 5'-11 1/2" - but since my two sons have been doing most of the splitting, this is no longer a problem for me! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good maul for experienced splitters

,
May 8, 2012
By daycoman
from Williamstown, MA
" This maul is very heavy, but it's going to last forever. Experienced splitters will appreciate the heft and durability. Because of the shape of the head, the maul can sometimes twist when striking a log, so be cautious at first when you start using this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME WOOD SPLITTER

,
January 13, 2012
By caissex2
from Athens, Georgia
" For the price this splitter maul is more than I expected. The weight and steel handle is perfect. It has a dual purpose not only will it split huge logs, but with the weight is so great you just turn it around and use it for a sledge hammer with a wedge, so its like 2 tools in one. I could not have dreamed of such a perfect tool and the price alone was fantastic. I would recomend this over any other wood splitter I have to give it a A+++++++. Thank you very much "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a maul!

,
January 10, 2012
By CCR1D
from Manuelito, NM
" I really like this maul! It is pretty much indestructable and you can really split some wood. A heavy maul that takes some muscle to use, but gets the job done. You can pound on it with a hammer if it gets stuck without having to worry about breakage. I think this may be the last maul, I'll ever have to buy! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

( music) The Most Won-der-ful Maul -in the World

,
December 27, 2011
By toolmeister1950
from Sault Ste. Marie
" Combined this with an 8# sledge, & I got rid of my 10 Ton wood splitter! (splitter, for me, was a pain: fluids,fuel,maintenance,hard to use, can be dangerous, moving & transporting it, & storage!) ( I'm 61, & split about 8 to 10 cord a yr.) You don't swing this like a 4# axe! JUST LIFT IT & DROP IT! -2' for small wood, & over Your head for 3'x18" blocks! N.B.- Your wood should be 1.)- dry, or 2.)- frozen! I just split 4 cords of wet, Maple blocks (frozen) BEAUTY!, & I work @ a desk, so I like the exercise.
The only negative! - it might grow legs! -people will be envious! Santa brought 2, I for me & 1 for my son. I stamped our name in both of them! because I lent out my old 1, didn't write the name down, & nobody remembers borrowing it! The handle has not come loose so far! (that was a joke! lol!) OH! YES! IT WEIGHS 16#'s not 12#'s, if weight is a concern! Love This Baby!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty awesome..

,
December 17, 2011
By ChevyHD
from Superior, Wisconsin
" The maul is pretty awsome.. i have split 3 trailer/truck loads this past weekend and haven't had but one issue.. the handle is a little short. I am 6'2" and a 1 foot log (to set the wood on) is pretty much a must. The maul is tough and easy to use, never had it get stuck in a piece of wood, have been splitting oak, pine, etc. no problem! Good maul! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well and simple

,
October 10, 2011
By newbySplitter
from Boston, MA
" I read a lot of reviews about mauls and a lot said they break relatively easily, but this got great reviews. Construction and value on this are really good. Very simple - never gets significantly stuck. It is a little heavy but I got used to it after a few sessions. Highly recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get 'R Done

,
June 13, 2011
By Kenhen
from Wading River, NY
" Excellent product. Built extremely heavy duty. Splits thick logs with one swing. WARNING- VERY HEAVY AX "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bulletproof

,
June 13, 2011
By Badford
from Byram, NJ
" This maul will get the splitting job done. It can be tiresome to swing if you have a lot of wood to split but it never gets stuck and very few pieces of wood will resist being split. You simply cannot break it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

maul

,
March 24, 2011
By andyjeff
" I've destroyed everyone I used yet - till I bought one of these. Works great, splits nice and lasts ! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for money

,
March 22, 2011
By 66Charger
from Harper, KS
" Bought this splitter about a year ago. Like most have said it needs a longer handle which I plan on fixing. Very good for the price. Beat on it with a 10lb slegde hammer, mushroomed the hammer and barely chipped the paint on the maul. Much nicer than the 8lb fiberglas maul that i broke. If you have the muscle it will split anything a small hydraulic unit will for much less. Overall the tool to have if you like to do the job yourself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

super maul

,
March 21, 2011
By skip30
from gardner,ma
" works very well goes through knotty pine with only 3 to 4 swings 14 inch logs does not even get stuck even if the wood is wet. went through 10 inch yellow birch like nothing 20 inch myple logs 18 inches long with knots. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get some work done

,
March 21, 2011
By TheWoodHauler
from Twin Falls Idaho
" This maul will get some work done. I split and sold about 25 cords of wood last summer and I can say this tool will be used for many years to come! You still have a few peices of wood that make you work a bit but for the most part "The Maul" does the work for you.
The only down side to the maul is the short handle, however with a little time and some minor adjustments I was still able to split my normal Cord an hour. I am 6' 3" and it really gets the wood done. I am still going to add a little bit to the handle I think, but it will work great if you give it some time and get used to it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Truper Axe

,
March 17, 2011
By AccurateConstandExcav
from Princeton, Texas
" The head of the axe/maul is not balanced and it tends to hit the wood piece at an angle. I could tell the first time that I used it that I didn't like it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
March 14, 2011
By Brokebiker
from North Texas
" This is a great tool for splitting wood. Works with oak, pecan, and any other species you might want to split. No more chasing wedges which go flying off into the weeds. One good roundhouse swing with this maul will split just about any log with one stroke. The cushioned handle keeps the tinglies away from your hands should you have an overly tough log. Don't worry, even the very tough ones give in after a few strikes. This may not work as easy as a hydraulic splitter, but this one just burns carbs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The splitting maul to have

,
November 23, 2010
By Greenman2
from Las Vegas, N.M.
" Man, I LOVE my Truper maul. Just a downsized monster maul, but it still does the job well. I have used mine to split elm and I am not sure there is a more difficult wood to split.
There are those who say that you can let the weight do the work with this one, that is hyperbole, at least if you are splitting blocked wood. You still need to put some muscle into it, but if you do, this WILL split blocks that otherwise would require multiple wedges and a sledgehammer. And it does not stick in the wood the way a traditional axe or maul will.
The only fault I can find is that the hand grip on mine eventually got a little loose. I just pay attention and snug it back up from time to time but you might want to glue it if it does this to you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Truper Axes - 12-Lb. Splitting Maul w/Steel Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truper Axes - 12-Lb

,
November 19, 2010
By coco
from Southern NJ
" Maul split the wood itself, people if you see the handles to small dont buy it or just adjust your stance. I am 6'6" and you know what I just adjusted my stance and it made the world of difference, its a absolutely amazing, product def. makes you get more muscles. Its alot cheaper then buying a splitter and people thinking of buying it if you are tall adjust your stance and if 12lbs- which is heavy for a maul - is to much either deal with it or get a lighter one nothing is supposed to be easy, just a great time saver cant praise it enough it beats getting a narrower maul stuck and having to beat it out with a sledge which is most likely 12lbs..... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.