Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle

Item# 119923
Makes landscaping easier Single bit edge cuts through old roots and shrubs fast. Use the Mattock blade to dig a trench for new plants or dig out old ones. Pries out rocks, patio tiles, pavers, flag stone and more. Application Landscaping, Handle Length in. 36, Handle Hickory, Head Weight lbs. 3 1/2. Exceeds ASME Standard B107.55M and B107.42M
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Review 1 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pulaski

,
May 7, 2012
By Trail
from Iowa
"Having used a Pulaski for years, when it came time to get a new one I found this to be the best deal available. It performs as well, with comperable quality, as the ones ranging up to 2 1/2 times the price. It's perfect for cutting roots, etc, and grubbing dirt while I'm working on our trail network. It's no wonder that this is the most prized tool with the US Forestry Dept for trail repair and fighting forest fires."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good while it lasted!

,
February 24, 2010
By Kusko
from WY
"I was using the Truper Pulaski to grub sagebrush. The mattock blade broke within 2 weeks of product purchase--wasn't doing anything radical. Defective head I suspect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

truper ax

,
April 16, 2008
By Anonymous
from weirton, WV
"this is a very good ax i have not had even one problem with it. i have used it many times already and it has not even gotten dull."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid simple tool

,
January 14, 2008
By Mikey234
from Salt Lake City
"I recently purchased a 3.5 lb pulaski and am completely satisfied with it. It is a good tool for out in the yard grunt work, and is enabling me at the same time to become proficient with it prior to working as a wildland firefighter this summer. I would recommend to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality and Value

,
October 9, 2007
By 2Bhonest
from Torrington, CT
"Good craftmanship and materials. You won't be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pulaski

,
October 8, 2007
By bigman
from Searcy,AR
"I used this type tool off and on over a period of 9 years while working with Park Service and Forrest Service fighting fires. I was so happy to find this item for sale. I even held off on a project till I receive it . It was worth waiting for as it made the job of thenching through root bound dirt much easier than a shovel or a much heaver pick - axe. This is on top of my list of must have tools"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pulaski Tool

,
July 9, 2007
By k1banjo
from Maryville, TN
"This was the least expensive Pulaski tool that I could find on-line. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this tool. The head is heavy duty. The hickory handle feels good in the hands. I bought this tool to work on trails. I was tired of taking two tools - a pick and an ax. In addition, the blade is several inches wider than a conventional pick. With this tool, I can carve out trails along side of a hill; cut through roots, cut limbs and small trees; and pry rocks out. I wish that I had bought this tool years ago. I received the tool within the same week that I had ordered it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Truper Axe - 3.5-Lb. Pulaski w/ Hickory Handle
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pulaski

,
March 12, 2007
By Timberlandowner
from Union, Washington
"I use the Pulaski to make fire breaks on my timberland. It is a good, fairly light product. However, the one I received had a big gouge in the upper handle. The gouge left a sharp raised area that caught on my hand/glove every time I took a swing with the Pulaski. I used a high speed rotary sander to sand out the gouge. That still left a big depression in the side of the handle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.