Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"

"CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"

Item# 119955
"Ergonomically designed 36in. hickory handle for use within a high-production mill. Drop-forged steel head with ground points is secured to handle by a spring steel 1/4in. x 1 1/4in. roll pin. Black painted heads, lacquered handle. Length ft. 3, Hook Material Steel, Handle Material Hickory. 36in. hickory handle Drop forged steel head Spring steel roll pin"
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Review 1 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon

,
October 31, 2015
By
from Potter Co., PA
This tool seems quite lightweight to handle logs of any size. I could only recommend it to someone sawing logs maybe up to 12" dia. A better choice would be a heavier head , maybe up to twice as heavy and stouter handle. Most splitting mauls are at least 6 pounders - and this tool is made for rolling logs from the deck onto the saw carriage. Logs aren't always perfectly round and some do not roll easily. We're sawing some 22" cherry logs soon - that will be a good test.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hookeroon

,
April 10, 2015
By
from New York
This was my first hookaroon. It is well made and has a nice hickory handle and made log handling easy. This tool is a pleasure to use.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Handy Back Saver

,
March 8, 2015
By
from Henrico County, Virginia
I ordered this Hookaroon because I cut, split, and burn a large amount of firewood. I also have back issues that prevents me to work long hours at a time due to lifting and moving the heavy rounds. This tool is great out of the box. I have sanded off the varnish and rubbed it down with boiled linseed oil to preserve the handle. I have had only one issue with the hookaroon and that was I was trying to remove a 7 foot log off my truck that was over 8" in diameter and I didn't get into the wood good enough and well I ended up on my backside. Next time I'll wear better padding. Ha ha.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pickaroon

,
August 30, 2014
By
from Winston
Product comes in very handy while handling all sorts of logs. Picking up small one and helping position big ones on a trailer. Only problem is heads do come loose on the handle which is probably why they have a pin thru the head and handle.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

for repeated use

,
August 2, 2014
By
from Roanoke, VA
The Hookaroon is handy for repeated log lifting tasks or for use with a log splitter, to reduce bending over and picking up moderate size logs and firewood. It lifts firewood up to where it can be stacked, removed or loaded on a trailer. Can also be used to drag logs a short distance. This model should be filed somewhat so that it penetrates the log better. There are other manufacturers with similar models that have more slender sharper tips.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hookaroon

,
July 23, 2014
By
from Nebraska
The first thing I did was remove the varnish on the handle and then moisturized it with boiled linseed oil. I also sharped the point better.
The tool works well, although it would be nice to have a choice of handle length. This one sometimes is too long.
As with any tool there is a learning curve to it, but so far it has made working the wood lot easier.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok product

,
May 25, 2014
By
from Mi
The product looks great but the steel in the pick is not of high quality. Point came damaged through shipping and when heating it up to put a new point, you could tell it was cheep steel. Not sure how long it will last.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hookaroon

,
April 21, 2014
By
from Cokato, MN.
Great product for those who want to save on their backs for medium sized logs. Will not work when wood cut AND froze however.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A back saver.

,
April 21, 2014
By
from Houston Texas
I've used this tool for years and as time goes on I feel less and less like bending over and picking up logs. The Hookaroon enables me to work all day and still sleep at night.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1.5 Hookaroon

,
April 14, 2014
By
from Coldenham, NY
Made in the USA. Works good. Easy on your back. Very fast shipping!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product.Well worth the money.

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Duluth, MN
Product delivers as it is intended. The only recommendation would be to sharpen the hook point more. We use this for processing green fire wood cords and it sticks better into the green wood now that we sharpened it to a fine point.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality tool

,
June 20, 2011
By
from northern Michigan
I was at first put-off by the higher price but am not any more. This is a quality tool made in USA. I just wish they didn't put their inventory stickers on the center of the handle. When I went to remove them, of course they come off in little tiny bits. I was able to remove them all and with using "goo-gone" was able to remove the sticky adhesive. Good tool and if it is quality I don't mind paying for it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Firewood

,
June 3, 2010
By
from Kremmling, CO
I purchased this item for helping me drag logs out of the woods and it works as it should and prevents you from having to lift the logs onto your shoulder and carry them. Also keeps you from having to bend over.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hookaroon

,
May 24, 2010
By
from Frenchboro,Maine
This is an excellent tool for moving small to medium pieces of timber. It is light weight and easy to use and is especially suited for moving fire wood.It could made to be more effective by sharpening the point with a file.The flat side is not very useful as a striking tool due to the low weight of the head.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "CM Dixie Standard 1.5 Hookaroon - 36in., Model# 12220"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hookaroon

,
July 17, 2007
By
from Runnells, Iowa
Well built, had to touch up the tip a little bit. ( It works best sharp ) Saves a lot of time and energy bending over to pick up wood, eg. fire wood, boards, etc. Well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.