Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter

Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter

Item# 119980
Split wood the easy way with a slide hammer splitter The slide hammer action is safer than swinging an axe or maul around and it prevents flying wood chips. Features a cushion grip handle that absorbs shocks and gives you a firm grip. Heavy duty steel construction for years of use. Product Type Vertical splitter, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 4 x 3, Pre-assembled Yes. 32 5/8in.L in closed position 44 1/2in. extended Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
4 of 11(36%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

does it work

,
October 3, 2013
By hgiii
from cleveland tx.
"After spending hours on this product I finally gave up. Oak rounds that a maul will split in one strike were impervious to this splitter. It simply bounces off without leaving a mark. I even tried grinding it razor sharp to no benefit. Tool is simply too light to split all but the driest, shortest pieces of fire wood. Might work on pine for kindling but that's not what I purchased it for. The real problem is all the weight is in the wedge and not in the slide hammer so you don't really get much drive pressure no matter how hard you slam it down. Poor design."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for serious splitting

,
September 17, 2013
By eddog
from MN
"Being a newbie at wood splitting I thought this would be the way to go. It is OK for nice and dried maple rounds but totally ineffective on larger ash rounds or rounds with knots in them. Works real well for splitting smaller splits into kindling. For big logs get a axe/hydrualic splitter and you'll be much happier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for kindling

,
July 2, 2013
By ChrisW
from Shelton, WA
"I was initially disappointed by this tool. It will split alder and cedar but no where near as efficiently as a maul. And it is useless on dense woods like Douglas Fir. But it is terrific splitting cedar for kindling. You slice off sections, lay them flat, and can cut them as fine as you like for kindling. I am not coordinated and this creates kindling much more efficiently and safely than a hatchet. So I ultimately think this is a useful tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor design

,
October 15, 2012
By Jumahl
from Upper Marlboro, MD
"My problem with this item is that the wedge rod is such a loose fit in the sliding handle that it can bind when fully extended, sometimes stopping the downward blow completely, which is extremely aggravating. To avoid this the tendency is to shorten the stroke so it can't hang up and thus lose momentum and require more effort to get through the log.
On the plus side, it is simple to place the wedge where it is wanted and thus easier to aim than an axe or maul. I cut logs shorter (12") than standard firewood because I use it in a fireplace insert with a small firebox and the wedge splits this quite easily if it doesn't bind. I use a bungee cord to hold the log together while splitting and can easily split into as many pieces as desired without having to continually bend over to reset the wood - the worst part of splitting I think. The initial split in half is the hardest requiring from 4-10 blows (partly due to the shortened stroke) but then the rest splits off with 1-2 blows. This is a great idea, just poorly executed.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slide hammer log splitter: great tool

,
October 9, 2012
By patthewoodsplitter
from Rochester, MN
"This tool works very well for smaller logs, but takes a little more effort for anything large or not dried yet.
But, in areas where you are not able to swing a maul or axe, it is fantastic.
Also, with a little patience, anyone can split wood, regardless of age.
Neat idea, simple package.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tool

,
January 9, 2012
By woodbl
from New Plymouth Ohio
"Love this little tool. Even my wife and kids as little as about 60 poun soaking wet can use this device to split logs. I cut 'em put, and they split and stack. Safe, simple and avoids the "I can't" comments that come with a standard splitting maul."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Industrial manual log splitter

,
July 30, 2009
By woodturner
from Riverside, CA
"I used a splitter identical to the one in the picture and it was fabulous - even on large logs. About 4 yrs ago (I know, I have been meaning to write this) I bought two from Northern Industrial. They did not function and I had given one to a friend as a gift. The biggest problem is that they look NOTHING like the picture. Therefore, instead of being a sharp- angled somewhat narrow wedge, what you get is a large fat wedge, with a sharp- angle of about 1/2". It also comes complete with added splitting wings. This will never work because it's not made to do the job. Go back and sell the ones that are identical to the picture, they have an angled sharp wedge approximately 12" long."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for the Weak

,
November 18, 2008
By Farmwife
from Woodville, TX
"Bought for my husband for Christmas a few years back. We tried it then. You need a lot of muscle to split wood with it. My husband had trouble and he is no weakling. Our friends gave him a hard time until they tried it too. This is not worth the money. Sold it in a garage sale for $10."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multipurpose

,
June 2, 2008
By needreba440
from Chicago, IL.
"A friend recommended and loaned me the manual splitter for removing old cedar fense posts and their supporting concrete to allow for a new fense construction. I then used it for clearing rock while digging for concrete deck supports. It requires a little caution, lube, labor and practice to be effective, but it did the trick and remained sharp despite the concrete abuse. There is a little spalling of concrete and rock, so I would wear glasses. He left the area so I desided to buy my own for the convenience of having it available for its intended purpose "splitting logs"."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for me

,
December 14, 2007
By Anonymous
from Fulton, MO
"I purchased one of these splitters last winter and have been meaning to write a review ever since. My brother and I both tried using it with very little success. It was nice to be able to use it to finish splitting a log after we started it the old fashioned way.
One use I found for the splitter was as an impromptu ice breaker.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Manual Slide Hammer Log Splitter
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

This will not beat a good splitting maul

,
October 19, 2007
By RayZ
from Michigan
"The wedge is too small and in general does not seem to split any of the tough logs any better then a good splitting maul. This may be a good alternative for those who have a problem lifting a splitting maul over their heads or are concerned about their aim. It is nice to be able to position the wedge just where you want it. But the slide started to seize up after only a few logs and will require some lube to free it. I also feel that a longer stroke would help to get more power out of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Dale2012
Wilson's Beach 
 
Please wait while more information about Dale2012 is loaded.
Additional information about Dale2012 could not be loaded.
Very poor quality
July 14, 2012
"This broke the first time I used it on the very first log very poor quality steel."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)