Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444

Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444

Item# 121071
This Sunforce wind generator turbine is small yet versatile turbine and can produce up to 600 Watts. It automatically adjusts for 12V or 24V applications, making it ideal for backup and off-grid power. The turbine begins to supply power in wind speeds as low as 4 MPH and includes overspeed protection at 1400 RPM. It also includes an MPPT charge controller that maximizes power output for optimal charging capability and battery health. Weather Resistant Yes, Rotor Size ft. 4.3, Speed MPH 4 mph start up, Volts 12V or 24V applications, Watts 600 max., Product Style Land/marine, Mount Type Tower mount, Blade Material Nylon/glass fiber, Dimensions L x W x H in. 27 1/2 x 26 3/4 x 10, Material Type Aluminum alloy, Assembly Required Yes, Overspeed/Overcrank Shutdown 1,400 RPM, Blade Diameter in. 52. Create your own power both day and night with the power of the wind Unit will charge 12 or 24 volt batteries to run your appliances or electronics Automatically adjusts for 12V or 24V applications Safe and efficient charging with included Maximum Power Point Tracking Charge Controller Includes manual brake Features state-of-the-art MPPT software DIY installation - no need for professional installer Complete guyed tower kit sold separately Item# 121072 Durable aluminum alloy construction Weatherproof industrial strength design for years of service Aerodynamic fiberglass blades ensure low wind noise 52in. blade diameter
Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
4 of 7(57%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Review 1 for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

,
April 30, 2014
By Charlie150
from Jacksonville, FL
"I only got this installed a few days ago but it is working nicely so far. Delivery was very quick. I pinched a wire my first try but found and repaired it. Manual good, but I would like more info how the MPPT controller interacts with a separate solar array with its own MPPT controller.
I just don't see how to tell which takes precedence, but it both seem to work even without my understanding.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sun force wind generator turbine-600 watt

,
April 24, 2014
By Sandlin
from Texas
"I have set the wind generator up at my house and it is keeping my batteries charged up great. I have a D.C. frig.and it is running all the time and a R.V is also running off the same batteries. It was one of the best investments I have made for a auxiliary power source.
The next time my power goes out I will not have to worry about getting gas for my old generator.I am very pleased with my purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

,
May 12, 2013
By solarbug
from new york
"Hi I found this to be a very good product however you must take your time and do everything according to the manual and code. The pole must be securely installed i used schedule 40 pipe 2 10 feet pieces and cemented it in the ground with 2by6 pressure treated fastened to the studs and fastened to the pipe with a threaded flange on the 2by6 and t fitting to the pipe i used marine 3 conducted #10 wire. Customer support is very good and it has a 5 year limited warranty. I spoke to customer service and they advised me not to connect the the inverter load side of the battery controller and it performs better. Just take your time and if you need help contact customer service. I have two you tube videos look for jerrys coleman wind turbine and jerrys coleman wind turbine and solar power. sunforce and coleman are now together."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
29out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse than a waste of money

,
April 22, 2013
By JollyRanger
from Cheyenne, WY
"I purchased the turbine and the rectifier / charger assembly fried within a few days of installation. I returned the turbine and got another. It died with a siezed main bearing within a few weeks. I got another from Sunforce and it, too, died with a siezed bearing in a few months.
Putting up a turbine is not a trivial effort; this poorly designed unit caused me three installations without satisfaction."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+28points
36out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
December 14, 2011
By LesD
from Wisconsin
"After purchasing and installing this unit I found the MTTP controller was malfunctuning. Sunforce replaced it at no cost. After using the turbine at my camp for two weeks hooked to my battery bank while I was gone there was no gain whatsoever in my batteries. The power inverter is turned off when I am gone so there is no draw and still the batteries did not charge at all. We had plenty of wind over the two week period and I expected to come back to camp and have my batteries topped off but there was no difference in voltage since I left. I had to start the generator to recharge the batteries. I have run a multi meter on all parts of the system and everything appears to be working but this system is no better than a battery maintainer. I think it would only be good for keeping and ATV battery topped off. For that my 15 watt solar panel works just fine for far less cost. I wish I would not have wasted the money on this and just invested it in solar panels. That is my next step, to increase my solar charging ability. I thought this would be a great addition. NOT!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+65points
82out of 99found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

very bad product

,
September 28, 2011
By midedog
from baldwin kansas
"it is misleading on charging system, and takes very long time to charge batteries. I have had two burned up due to poor construction, If I could give it a 0 stars I would do so."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+48points
59out of 70found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sunforce 600 watt wind turbine

,
August 31, 2010
By kently59
from exeter nh
"I put this up and within minues it started turning. I looked at many wind turbines, and for the price and simplicity of this one, this is a far better choice.I have solar and with the directions, it makes it so easy to instal. I added a little paint to mine and it looks great, very impressive and my neighbors love it too. Very quiet and when it is spinning fast, it is still pretty quiet. I think I made the right choice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
100out of 184found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Mike23456
 
Please wait while more information about Mike23456 is loaded.
Additional information about Mike23456 could not be loaded.
Power estimate
October 1, 2010
"I figure to get 600 watts you need a wind speed around 30-35 mph.
For a more typical 10-12 mph wind, expect around 15-25 watts.
5 mph gives 2 watts; just enough to turn the rotor."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)