Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"

Item# 121071
"This Sunforce wind generator turbine is small yet versatile turbine and can produce up to 600 Watts. It automatically adjusts for 12V or 24V applications, making it ideal for backup and off-grid power. The turbine begins to supply power in wind speeds as low as 4 MPH and includes overspeed protection at 1400 RPM. It also includes an MPPT charge controller that maximizes power output for optimal charging capability and battery health. Product Style Land/marine, Dimensions L x W x H in. 27 1/2 x 26 3/4 x 10, Watts 600 max., Assembly Required Yes, Overspeed/Overcrank Shutdown 1,400 RPM, Material Type Aluminum alloy, Weather Resistant Yes, Volts 12V or 24V applications, Speed MPH 4 mph start up, Blade Diameter in. 52, Rotor Size ft. 4.3, Blade Material Nylon/glass fiber, Mount Type Tower mount. Create your own power both day and night with the power of the wind Unit will charge 12 or 24 volt batteries to run your appliances or electronics Automatically adjusts for 12V or 24V applications Safe and efficient charging with included Maximum Power Point Tracking Charge Controller Includes manual brake Features state-of-the-art MPPT software DIY installation - no need for professional installer Complete guyed tower kit sold separately Item# 121072 Durable aluminum alloy construction Weatherproof industrial strength design for years of service Aerodynamic fiberglass blades ensure low wind noise 52in. blade diameter"
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
5 of 9(56%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Review 1 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time

,
May 2, 2015
By
from NM
" When my 15 year old Air 400 started having problems I decided to upgrade. The Sunforce seemed to be a good product at a good price. The generator was erected on the same 30' pole that the Air 400 had been on. Everything was basically the same except for the upgrade of the controller that comes with the Sunforce (that's good) and 200 more watts of power.
In winds of about 25 mph the Sunforce seized within the first 24 hours of operation.
Northern Tool replaced it with a new one at their expense including shipping both ways. Thanks Northern Tool.
The new generator was erected and seemed to be doing good in winds of about 25 mph until the fourth day. It seized just like the first one.
Call Northern Tool again. They decided to refund my money and, again paid the shipping to return the generator. They are great. I wonder why they would continue to offer such an inferior product.
I am not new to this industry. I have lived off the grid for nearly 20 years and have designed and installed my own systems as well as some for others. They work as they should. I know something that doesn't work properly and this generator is one such item.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sunforce windturbine

,
October 17, 2014
By
from maui
" First you are crazy if you do not buy this turbine at this price! . mine are 3 years old and still kicking like new! It beats missouri freedom output and start givined watts in low winds...while the other turns and give nothing. I recommend for the serious solar and wind person to use it without the mppt and use a rectifier instead if you have a "dump load"...any excess in mine goes to heat up my hot water. I recently purchase a freedom 2 and it is not match for my two sunforce 600 ...it comes close at high wind. I recommend using turbines with solar panels..solar panel will beat wind any days! Only people who do not understand will complain about this turbine...may be they do not have enought wind and expect miracles! at this price I am even considering buying one more! The design is excellent...no rain can get in.! I bought simillar turbines before looking like the sunforce and they where all junk! So trust me...this one is the best if you have wind! Another idea for newbies for your dump load is to by resistors that works like a space heater...that is if you have lots of wind. I recommend colleman charge controlers they have a dump load feature. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

,
April 30, 2014
By
from Jacksonville, FL
" I only got this installed a few days ago but it is working nicely so far. Delivery was very quick. I pinched a wire my first try but found and repaired it. Manual good, but I would like more info how the MPPT controller interacts with a separate solar array with its own MPPT controller.
I just don't see how to tell which takes precedence, but it both seem to work even without my understanding.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sun force wind generator turbine-600 watt

,
April 24, 2014
By
from Texas
" I have set the wind generator up at my house and it is keeping my batteries charged up great. I have a D.C. frig.and it is running all the time and a R.V is also running off the same batteries. It was one of the best investments I have made for a auxiliary power source.
The next time my power goes out I will not have to worry about getting gas for my old generator.I am very pleased with my purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

,
May 12, 2013
By
from new york
" Hi I found this to be a very good product however you must take your time and do everything according to the manual and code. The pole must be securely installed i used schedule 40 pipe 2 10 feet pieces and cemented it in the ground with 2by6 pressure treated fastened to the studs and fastened to the pipe with a threaded flange on the 2by6 and t fitting to the pipe i used marine 3 conducted #10 wire. Customer support is very good and it has a 5 year limited warranty. I spoke to customer service and they advised me not to connect the the inverter load side of the battery controller and it performs better. Just take your time and if you need help contact customer service. I have two you tube videos look for jerrys coleman wind turbine and jerrys coleman wind turbine and solar power. sunforce and coleman are now together. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
31out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse than a waste of money

,
April 22, 2013
By
from Cheyenne, WY
" I purchased the turbine and the rectifier / charger assembly fried within a few days of installation. I returned the turbine and got another. It died with a siezed main bearing within a few weeks. I got another from Sunforce and it, too, died with a siezed bearing in a few months.
Putting up a turbine is not a trivial effort; this poorly designed unit caused me three installations without satisfaction. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+33points
41out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
December 14, 2011
By
from Wisconsin
" After purchasing and installing this unit I found the MTTP controller was malfunctuning. Sunforce replaced it at no cost. After using the turbine at my camp for two weeks hooked to my battery bank while I was gone there was no gain whatsoever in my batteries. The power inverter is turned off when I am gone so there is no draw and still the batteries did not charge at all. We had plenty of wind over the two week period and I expected to come back to camp and have my batteries topped off but there was no difference in voltage since I left. I had to start the generator to recharge the batteries. I have run a multi meter on all parts of the system and everything appears to be working but this system is no better than a battery maintainer. I think it would only be good for keeping and ATV battery topped off. For that my 15 watt solar panel works just fine for far less cost. I wish I would not have wasted the money on this and just invested it in solar panels. That is my next step, to increase my solar charging ability. I thought this would be a great addition. NOT!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+68points
86out of 104found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

very bad product

,
September 28, 2011
By
from baldwin kansas
" it is misleading on charging system, and takes very long time to charge batteries. I have had two burned up due to poor construction, If I could give it a 0 stars I would do so. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+50points
62out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Sunforce Wind Generator Turbine - 600 Watts, Model# 45444"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sunforce 600 watt wind turbine

,
August 31, 2010
By
from exeter nh
" I put this up and within minues it started turning. I looked at many wind turbines, and for the price and simplicity of this one, this is a far better choice.I have solar and with the directions, it makes it so easy to instal. I added a little paint to mine and it looks great, very impressive and my neighbors love it too. Very quiet and when it is spinning fast, it is still pretty quiet. I think I made the right choice. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
101out of 186found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Mike23456
 
Please wait while more information about Mike23456 is loaded.
Additional information about Mike23456 could not be loaded.
Power estimate
October 1, 2010
" I figure to get 600 watts you need a wind speed around 30-35 mph.
For a more typical 10-12 mph wind, expect around 15-25 watts.
5 mph gives 2 watts; just enough to turn the rotor. "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)