Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"

"Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"

Item# 121159
"This Sunforce solar hanging light is portable and weatherproof, ideal for boat lifts, docks, tool sheds, garages or anywhere power is not available. Light with 4 bright LEDs can be turned on with remote before entering building. Includes separate 1.5 Watt amorphous solar panel that recharges battery panel can be positioned for optimal exposure to sunlight. Application Outdoor, Bulbs qty. 4, Light Type LED, Power Source Solar, Lights Included qty. 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 15 3/4 x 12 x 16 light, 8.5 x 7.4 panel, Light Color White, Solar Panel Wattage 1.5. Solar panel should be placed in direct sunlight for maximum performance Easy to install for added convenience Provides up to 8 hours illumination when fully charged Convenient dual settings for bright or energy saving modes Remote control operation does not include a photocell to turn light on and off"
Average Customer Rating:
3.865 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
30 of 37(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Review 1 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Remove Product

,
August 1, 2015
By
from Mo
" Do not buy. Northern Tool please remove this product from your inventory. Solar mount is weak plastic that snapped when I tried to install it. Remote will need a new battery. Light will not turn on without remote. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
By Sunforce ProductsAugust 7, 2015
Please be sure to contact the technical support desk at Sunforce Products for troubleshooting procedures. 1-888-478-6435. SunforceCSR
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light in the shed

,
March 9, 2015
By
from Michigan
" Packaged great and ready to go.
I put this in our grain shed and adjusted panel tocatch the sun best as possible. Has good coverage for working and doing chores. Is not a bright work light but sheds the light to accomplish the job. As I only use this for occasional trips to the shed at night I feel it is good product. Hours to operate do not know but assume 7 possible more if fully charged.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bbq lights

,
January 28, 2015
By
from Florida
" Remote makes these easy to use over the BBQ grill. Charge easily and are bright enough to grill by. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

what instructions?

,
November 22, 2014
By
from southeast
" Look like a good product but the instructions are laughable. Tells you there is a 3 position switch but doesn't say where. There is a button on the mount but I found out that is the receiver for the remote. Finally located the silver on silver switch after unscrewing the lens. Almost returned it as defective. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy install

,
October 6, 2014
By
from Marshfield
" Installed in 25 minutes. Works well so far. Issues are 1.) Mounting screw between the Base and the Solar Panel is way to flimsy. Will likely break in a windy spot .
2.)The hole thru the wall to get to the outside had to be fairly large to get the plug in heat thru. a straight plug would have taken less than 1/2 the hole.
3.)Instructions are a little weak.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hanging solar

,
September 5, 2014
By
from Long Island
" My first problem with this product was remote control battery never work, until now the remote still did not work. I do not recommend this product to no Body. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

,
August 12, 2014
By
from Middleburgh NY
" If I could give it zero stars I would. Item just does not work, instructions are totally useless, I have it in direct sun, just does not turn on, avoid and do not waste money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar hanging light

,
July 20, 2014
By
from arlington, texas
" I've been checking the reviews on this light and found them to be interesting, so I decide to buy the solar hanging light to put in my gazebo that had no lighting and I did not want to run power to the gazebo, so I ordered the hanging light along with my 10% discount, was surprised how bright it was without any other lighting around, I like the solar, this way I don't have to run ext cord to recharge the batteries. Am looking at buying another in the near future. Just waiting to see how this light works under the conditions. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

first solar light

,
July 17, 2014
By
from ohio
" bought this light for chicken coop. works as stated. solar panel mounting could be a little better. let it charge for a couple of days and it provided light all night on low setting. remote functions well but only at short range. all in all a good little light. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

,
June 23, 2014
By
from rocky ford,co
" This is a great product thAt does great light in my shed.I will buy this product again and again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
May 30, 2014
By
from Arizona
" Great product, works just as expected. Good battery life will last all night on low setting through winter. Have two now and both work great first one is over a year old with absolutely no problems. Only downside is the key ring style remote for the light. I mounted mine to the wall for a fixed configuration. Overall great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sunforce Solar Light

,
April 14, 2014
By
from Atlanta, GA
" Purchased for use in farm tack room. Charged for 2 weeks prior to attempting to operate. Solar panel receives at least 6 hours of unobstructed sun light daily. When I did try to use, it did not produce any light at all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
By Sunforce ProductsDecember 31, 2014
Please contact our technical support department for troubleshooting assistance.
1-888-485-6435SunforceCSR
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated

,
March 17, 2014
By
from Bowdoinham, ME
" Started out great, for about 1 week. Good light for a good amount of time. Light lasted about a week. Wouldn't turn on, wouldn't go on in any setting. Tried changing new batteries, still no light. Very disappointing. Very expensive light for only about 5 nights of use. Money is better spent else where. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Alternative to the Grid.

,
February 24, 2014
By
from Jacksonville, FL
" I bought two lights to provide lighting inside a 20 ft. shipping container that is my workshop/storage shed on a remote piece of property. I used a hole saw to cut a small wire access to the photocells. Using PVC fittings and a rubber plug to make watertight around the wires. Lights are light enough to hang from magnets. Both Remotes work on both lights. The lighting arrangement met both of my objectives to stay off the grid and providing plenty of light. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sunforce Solar remote light

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Pittsburg, Ks
" Light works well and bright. cord from light to solar cell is not long enough to be practical. Remote must be within 3' to the light to activate it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Lighting

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Bisbee, AZ
" Easy Installation, good price, could be just a little bit more brighter though, but overall it works well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No existing lights

,
February 4, 2014
By
from San Diego
" I moved into a house without an exterior light at the front door. I bought this and it has been working great without any problems. I now have one at the front of the house above the address. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hanging Solar Lamp

,
September 20, 2013
By
from Louisville, TN
" I purchased this little solar hanging lamp last Christmas. I actually did not install it in the shed until spring. And it works like a charm. I love it. My husband looked out the window one night and was amazed to see light in the covered, enclosed and locked shed. He thought burglars might be in it. But I had slipped out and used the handy remote and turned it on. It works well to find something when it is dark outside..........beats the heck out of holding a flashlight and trying to find some small item. The shed is about 10 ft. by 15 ft. and give enough light to see fairly well. I've never left it on for more than an hour so I do not know how long it would be available for a source of light. I did think that I could bring it in if the power was off for any long time.
I think it is just great. The remote has two different strengths. Neat little gadget. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost sent it back untill I read the directions

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Spokane,WA
" First off I found the battery bracket broken not a big deal once I reset the batteries in place it would light up but not work as expected. Found the directions again and reread them and all I needed to do was let it charge, since it really had not with the broken bracket, now I have a nice light for the garage when the Hubby forgets to turn one on for me or when we come home after dark and no light is on. It is a blessing and a half to not stumble around in the dark!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control -4 LEDs, Model# 81091"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great outdoor lighting

,
October 15, 2012
By
from Lebanon, Ohio
" Great area coverage for an LED light. I have this on our back porch and it gives off enough light to play card, board games, etc. The only downfall is that the dome for the light catches water so I had to drill a small hole for it to drain out. But overall it is a fantastic light! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
18out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.