Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091

Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091

Item# 121159
This Sunforce hanging light is portable and weatherproof, ideal for boat lifts, docks, tool sheds, garages or anywhere power is not available. Light with 4 bright LEDs can be turned on with remote before entering building. Includes separate 1.5 Watt amorphous solar panel that recharges battery panel can be positioned for optimal exposure to sunlight. Light Type LED, Dimensions L x W x H in. 15 3/4 x 12 x 16 light, 8.5 x 7.4 panel, Lights Included qty. 1, Bulbs qty. 4, Solar Panel Wattage 1.5, Application Outdoor, Light Color White, Power Source Solar. Solar panel should be placed in direct sunlight for maximum performance Easy to install for added convenience Provides up to 8 hours illumination when fully charged Convenient dual settings for bright or energy saving modes Remote control operation does not include a photocell to turn light on and off
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
22 of 26(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Review 1 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sunforce Solar Light

,
April 14, 2014
By DisappointedCustr1
from Atlanta, GA
"Purchased for use in farm tack room. Charged for 2 weeks prior to attempting to operate. Solar panel receives at least 6 hours of unobstructed sun light daily. When I did try to use, it did not produce any light at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated

,
March 17, 2014
By Maineman621
from Bowdoinham, ME
"Started out great, for about 1 week. Good light for a good amount of time. Light lasted about a week. Wouldn't turn on, wouldn't go on in any setting. Tried changing new batteries, still no light. Very disappointing. Very expensive light for only about 5 nights of use. Money is better spent else where."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Alternative to the Grid.

,
February 24, 2014
By Skypond
from Jacksonville, FL
"I bought two lights to provide lighting inside a 20 ft. shipping container that is my workshop/storage shed on a remote piece of property. I used a hole saw to cut a small wire access to the photocells. Using PVC fittings and a rubber plug to make watertight around the wires. Lights are light enough to hang from magnets. Both Remotes work on both lights. The lighting arrangement met both of my objectives to stay off the grid and providing plenty of light."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sunforce Solar remote light

,
February 4, 2014
By HCC420
from Pittsburg, Ks
"Light works well and bright. cord from light to solar cell is not long enough to be practical. Remote must be within 3' to the light to activate it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Lighting

,
February 4, 2014
By NCNAS
from Bisbee, AZ
"Easy Installation, good price, could be just a little bit more brighter though, but overall it works well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No existing lights

,
February 4, 2014
By johnhoward69
from San Diego
"I moved into a house without an exterior light at the front door. I bought this and it has been working great without any problems. I now have one at the front of the house above the address."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hanging Solar Lamp

,
September 20, 2013
By Dinah
from Louisville, TN
"I purchased this little solar hanging lamp last Christmas. I actually did not install it in the shed until spring. And it works like a charm. I love it. My husband looked out the window one night and was amazed to see light in the covered, enclosed and locked shed. He thought burglars might be in it. But I had slipped out and used the handy remote and turned it on. It works well to find something when it is dark outside..........beats the heck out of holding a flashlight and trying to find some small item. The shed is about 10 ft. by 15 ft. and give enough light to see fairly well. I've never left it on for more than an hour so I do not know how long it would be available for a source of light. I did think that I could bring it in if the power was off for any long time.
I think it is just great. The remote has two different strengths. Neat little gadget."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost sent it back untill I read the directions

,
September 17, 2013
By smudgekat
from Spokane,WA
"First off I found the battery bracket broken not a big deal once I reset the batteries in place it would light up but not work as expected. Found the directions again and reread them and all I needed to do was let it charge, since it really had not with the broken bracket, now I have a nice light for the garage when the Hubby forgets to turn one on for me or when we come home after dark and no light is on. It is a blessing and a half to not stumble around in the dark!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great outdoor lighting

,
October 15, 2012
By TazFire1
from Lebanon, Ohio
"Great area coverage for an LED light. I have this on our back porch and it gives off enough light to play card, board games, etc. The only downfall is that the dome for the light catches water so I had to drill a small hole for it to drain out. But overall it is a fantastic light!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sunforce Solar Hanging Light w/remote

,
October 9, 2012
By RRXing
from Virginia
"I bought the product to use in my tractor/utility storge shed; no electricty in shed. It provides sufficient lighting for being able to move around in the shed without problems, finding tools, etc., but not enough for detailed work. The remote feature is a plus."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Hanging Lamp

,
October 8, 2012
By AJ56
from Spearfish, SD
"This lamp is very reliable and is very well built. It has lasted over two years with no problems at all. I only wish they made one with more LED lights, but the ones already put out a fair amount of light . The design is very useful in many different locations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this light.

,
August 20, 2012
By Flowerlady
from Cincinnati, OH
"I purchased this light earlier this Spring for our storage shed. Finding anything in there from dusk & beyond has long been an issue & this light has cured the problem. About the only criticism I have is that it could be brighter, but it works fine for our purposes. When my brother-in-law visited recently he really liked it & wanted to know where I got it.
It would also be good for a porch or patio. I recommend it highly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used them in a tree for a light above car parking

,
May 14, 2012
By Karenrn
from Texas
"We used three of these lights in a tree above where we park our cars, they do a wonderful job and look beautiful lit up at night"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
March 10, 2012
By mnich
from Lake Zurich, IL
"if you are considering this, you will not regret buying it. the light has 2 settings and works perfectly. utilizing the sun for light makes sense and given the fact that it costs us nothing to have light while enjoying our screen room at night is icing on the cake. the cord is plenty long to get a nice direct sun for charging. we never ran the charge out so I cannot state how long it holds, but three hours a night times four or five nights a week, still performs flawlessly. I will be buying another for camping."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Alternative

,
January 15, 2012
By tcass
from Calvert County Maryland
"I got this light for our shed that has no power. i was a little skeptical but after install, its a great little light. easy install of the solar panel, easy connection and the install of the light inside. hung it from the cealing high enough to cast a great light. i haven't seen how long it will operate but for the short trips in and out of the shed to get stuff its super. in fact, going to buy two more for the garage."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light

,
January 9, 2012
By Staci
from PV, MO
"This is a great little light that we use in our garden shed that doesn't have electricity. We are very pleased with this purchase and would highly recommend it if electricity isn't available."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Solar hanging light

,
January 9, 2012
By redaltie3
from Childress, Texas
"I guess the hanging light is okay but the remote will not turn it on or off. It comes on at night and stays on till the batteries run down. I won't recommend it to anyone else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
mnich
Lake Zurich, IL 
 
Please wait while more information about mnich is loaded.
Additional information about mnich could not be loaded.
really?
March 10, 2012
"on the light it has "on, light and off" [under the glass globe]. set it to on and use the remote. you need to be within about 8 feet of fixture for remote to work. make sure batteries in remote are good and installed correctly. it is a CR2032 - 3v. have positive[+] side up when installed in socket."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not weatherproof

,
September 27, 2011
By alysania
from Philadelphia, PA
"We have this hanging out under an open pergola that has no nearby electrical outlet. Perfect, we thought, until after the first rain. The glass globe filled with water. We let it dry and it seemed to be okay, but after the next rain, it won't turn on anymore. Dead in under two months!
On the upside, if you're using this in a covered area, the light is REALLY bright for such a small lamp. Very impressive, if you can keep it dry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hanging solar lamp

,
June 15, 2011
By Monique
from e-mail answer would be great
"I use these lamps in an off the grid cabin and hang them by the rings of the lamp on forged metal hanging plant holders. Yes they are bright enough on high to read with and last well into the night. I take the units outside in the sun to recharge each day. Excellent service when I had a problem with the remotes. Be sure to fully charge the lights for a few days before using the first time.
A change in design in the future to better suit indoor use would be to put an on/ off switch on the lamp instead of a remote and to make the cord to the power pack removable from the lamp instead of the solar panel. A much longer cord to the solar panel would mean more flexibility in placement of the lamp indoors if it did not sacrifice power.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
mnich
Lake Zurich, IL 
 
Please wait while more information about mnich is loaded.
Additional information about mnich could not be loaded.
there is switch
March 10, 2012
"Monique, there is a switch on the fixture. under the glass globe you will see a switch that reads "on, off and light". having the switch to the "on" position utilizes the remote. flip the switch to "light" and it should go on, then flip to "off" when done."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Sunforce Solar Hanging Light with Remote Control, Model# 81091
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bright

,
June 6, 2011
By michaelg4398
"Bought this for dry camping, but have only used it at home and it works great. Brighter and longer lasting than I expected. Hanging chain is plastic."
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.