Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent

Wel-Bilt Solar Vent

Item# 121170
An integrated amorphous solar panel powers this Wel-Bilt vent, reducing heat buildup and condensation in confined areas. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Ventilators Included qty. 1, Battery Type Ni-MH, Cord Length ft. Cordless, Battery Boost Yes, Auto and Manual Yes, Dimensions O.D. x H in. 4 x 2, Motor Voltage 1.6, Solar Panels Included qty. 1. Integrated 1.6V motor can be set for air in/out Integrated battery unit stores power for day/night use Easy to install requires no wiring
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 of 9(67%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not exactly what you think it is

,
January 10, 2012
By bronikjb
from GA
"I bought this to ventilate an outhouse and after just a couple months it pooped out--needed a new rechargable battery which cost $4. I'm not sure this renewable energy is the bargain they are promising us. We'll have to see how this new battery lasts. I'm not sure why it went out when this fan is supposed to be solar powered."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
30out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel-Bilt Solar Smart Vent

,
October 10, 2011
By cshopp
from co
"Works as described but little issue with switch not working properly - fixed myself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not as expected

,
October 10, 2011
By fredsnerd
from LA, Calif
"Followed instructions. for installation/charging, flipped the O/I switches for direction, would run for 5-10 minutes only.
reset for I/O but only worked in manual mode. Solar would not run continuously for venting my shed.
THIS ONE DIDN'T WORK AS ADVERTISED
who do I send it back to and what about the hole in my shed?
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Purchase

,
August 22, 2011
By Woodworkerwill
from New York, NY
"I am all about alternative energy and getting off the grid as much as possible so when I saw these vents, I thought my questions were answered. Boy was I wrong. These were made of plastic (no problem there), and kind of noisy. I can live with that seeing that they were in a place away from daily hanging around. When I removed them from the package, I did what the instructions told me to do. I even left them out in the sun for 2 days. Needless to say, you get only a very faint moving of air from this fan/vent. Actually, you barely feel it at all! DO NOT BUY THIS YET!! You will be very disappointed and have to return them."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar vent

,
June 6, 2011
By hansvdb
"Works well, better than the marine one I bought for my boat at twice the price! The built in battery is also a plus. Easy install."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well-bilt solar panel

,
March 14, 2011
By widefrog1
"For the price this product is a good value. I installed three in my hatches with ease. They will help circulate the air in my closed up boat in the summer. On the minus side, the mounting directions are minimal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

solar vent

,
March 14, 2011
By NJsailor1
"Fan/motor noisy
Mounting cover light weight (flimsy)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
August 30, 2010
By opy1964
from nc
"I knew it get hot in the roof but i after i installed one, Boy all that heat was just flowing out. Now! I know my roof is a bit cooler and now my a/c dont need to work harder than it did in the past"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Solar Vent
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 3, 2010
By RCexplorer
"Great Product. Nice small size. Keeps my greenhouse cooler. Does all of what it is expected to. Would Buy another."
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.