Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"

"Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"

Item# 121175
"This solar lamp post is designed to provide soft lighting for yards during the evenings, but includes a motion sensor for brighter light when movement is detected within a 25-ft. radius. Ideal for boat lifts, docks, tool sheds, garages or anywhere power is not available. Power Source Solar, Light Type LED, Application Outdoor, Lights Included qty. 1, Bulbs qty. 23, Light Color White. Weatherproof construction Aluminum alloy post is over 6 feet tall Integrated crystalline solar panel 23 white LEDs"
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 20(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Review 1 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE LIGHT

,
November 25, 2014
By chevie4me
from EAST STROUDSBURG PA
" I purchased 2 of these lights 2 years ago They work excellent on at dusk off in day light, I like the brightness of light when motion deems necessary, no problems what so ever. again all I have purchased from northern has been top qualitychevie4me East STROUDSBURG. P.A. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the front of any house

,
August 23, 2014
By patch62
from Maryland
" Love it,,especially in dark area of the front of the house which you need lighting..when u walk up to a house..all in all I love it,,,oh, easy to install "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good light, cheap aspects

,
December 9, 2013
By Gaborzol
from Amherst, MA
" Overall I got a pair of light posts with excellent sensors and good quality light that remain lit all or most of the night. The weak points are:
The on-off switch: cheaply made - one of my lights sometimes doesn't come on at dusk, I have to push the switch, not enough to 'click' it, but move it around so maybe the contact surface is cleaned. Need to do that especially in wet or foggy weather.
The mounting base: Those screw cases are poorly made. You can't use them for mounting into the earth even if it is packed or unpaved driveway material. In addition the base of one of the lamps broke, so now I only have 2 places out of the three to mount the light. I have rocks at the base to support the thing.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light better than anticipated!

,
August 21, 2013
By me823
from Wyoming
" Great Light, better than anticipated! For a solar light very bright, motion sensor works great. will be purchasing another soon "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solar lamp post

,
July 24, 2013
By carpente
from milan indiana
" This lamp post is cheaply made but not bad for the price. It also isnt sealled up all that great, bugs are finding there way in some where. I plan to clear silicone up any voids to solve that problem. I installed the post next to my bridge. It acts as a location marker, until the motion sensor is tripped. Then you have 12 seconds of fairly bright light. It works great . It looks fancy from 10 feet away. My neighbors all seem to like it. It is solar powered so expect it to be dimmer than your house lights. It is worth the money . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

An acceptable solar lamp post

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
" If you need to put light in a field or along a sidewalk or anywhere that you can easily get hard wires to, the Sunforce lamp is a suitable alternative. Not terribly bright, not terribly effective, but a relatively low cost way to put light in a dark area. I use 2 of these as outside markers for my fence gate. They do what they need to do for my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

average product, would be ok at lower price

,
April 23, 2013
By bigred77chevy
from pa
" I was very pleased at first with this item, but the black finish is terrible had to repaint after only 1 year. Also the globe is not sealed so every critter gets in to make a home so you have to take it apart and clean it. I am an owner for several years so still works but the light that is always on somtime flickers verry anoying. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

REALLY AMAZAING

,
March 6, 2013
By RAYMIE
from East stroudsburg,p.a.
" IVE have had 2 for over ayear,work in all weather .Like the brightness with the sensor.I M BUYING 2 MORE,totaly recomend, "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar lamp post

,
August 7, 2012
By kkfdjf
from Winnsboro, Texas
" Received the product well packaged. It appears to be cast aluminum. The post had a dent in it but not severe enough to hassle with a return. Set the lamp up in partial shade next to my entry sidewalk and placed castle rock around the base to hold it temporarily until I could build a wooden base I could use to move it around with. It's been over a year now and its still there and still working great. I can now see to get from my car to the door without having to leave a porch light on and waste extra electricity. I will not be caught out late and have to carry a flashlight and hope the batteries will work when needed. I love this lamp. It does what it says it will do and I can also walk the dog at night and not worry about opening the door and stepping on a snake. I can see! I have not had to change the batteries at all and only had to wipe the solar top once. It works when it's dirty and in partial shade. I love this lamp and will buy another for my barn. It has now paid for itself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quit after 9 months

,
July 25, 2012
By PetesDragon
from Morganton, nc
" This lamp worked fine for about 9 months. Then it began to flicker and finally quit. Northern tools did replce it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar lamppost

,
May 7, 2012
By zebramvp
from Western pa
" This is a nice light for an entry door. The night light lasts all night even in the winter with low sunlight. The motion sensor has a narrow pattern and I would like it better if you could adjust the time it stays on. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Vintage Lamp

,
October 11, 2011
By manyplans
from Kindred, ND
" After some shipping errors, I finally received my lamp. Though the box was quite battered, everything (except the directions) seemed to still be there. Setup is fairly obvious and straight-forward. It takes only minutes. I elected to pour a concrete base 8" wide and 18" deep. I simply set the base of the lamp, with the bolts attached to the base, into the top of the wet cement. It cured in an hour at which time I secured the rest of the lamp. A simple easy procedure which has proven to be very effective. The lamp is extremely stable and very nice looking. It has been up for 3 months now and has survived 60+ mph winds. It provides good light, is well made, and works flawlessly. We are very pleased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
October 10, 2011
By cliff001
from Ohio
" Ordered one for front porch area, worked well all nite. Ordered three more, one for front area and two for gifts. I made a wood base, attached it to lamp base, set into ground, used long ten inch nails thru wood into ground, it makes a good base. This way you cvan always move it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Lamp

,
June 6, 2011
By Russ1866
" I installed two of these lamps at my driveway gate. It provides plenty of light when needed, and they are nice driveway markers at low power.
They were installed in Winter, and I was worried about the cold affecting the lamps ability at high power. But, after a few days the battery was fully charged and the light stays on long enough to allow my wife to get the car out the gate. (The gate is manual, no opener)
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Top Heavy

,
June 6, 2011
By michaelg4398
" This light is great as it relates to the light it puts out and the charge it holds. Thats pretty much why you would buy it.
Only one draw back is it is top heavy and needs to be secured pretty well. I bought it to be moved around and taken camping but not sure it can be done easily.
I am going to mount it at driveway intersection with front walk and not use my electric powered lamp. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brightens up you walkway!

,
April 27, 2011
By Fast8s10
from Hooper, Utah
" Put this on my walkway to my house, and this was perfect for light to my front entry way. Nice and bright! Last through the night! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Lamp Post

,
April 19, 2011
By GBMI
from Trenton, MI
" As other reviewers said... WE LOVE IT!
We placed the lamp at the front corner of our yard and driveway so it would help light the approach. The "stand by" light allows for an ambient look until motion is detected, then you get the light you need to see.
No, it is not as bright as a powered light, but it has more than enough and is powered by the sun. No wires, connections or problems.
Easy installation, nice look and very functional.
Great product, Better price equals Awesome purchase!!!
Thanx Northern Tool for giving us what we needed.
I may buy a 2nd one for our backyard.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Lamp Post w/motion sensor

,
March 14, 2011
By Mike7
from Central Pennsylvania
" The lamp was easy to install and to charge. The mounting we used for placement near the gate was an inverted concrete surface deck post block (usually used with a 4 x 4 post). In my opinion, the metal base is a little too thin for the stresses and can easily crack. The lamp is sturdy and has a good weight.
It provides low light until motion is detected, then becomes much brighter.
The solar lamp also holds the charge for consecutive cloudy days
The initial lamp came in with damage from shipping, but the customer service department was excellent in returning and replacing.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Lamp Post

,
November 26, 2010
By Lanier
from Clinton, SC
" Works great, even on cloudy days. Puts out a lot more light than expected. Great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Sunforce Solar Lamp Post with Motion Sensor - 6Ft.H, 23 LEDs"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great yard light

,
November 17, 2010
By Jim025
from Southern Illinois
" This provides a nice light for our walk to the front door. The motion sensor brightens the light when ever anyone starts up the walk providing more than enough light. We have received many compliments on the look of the light. Highly recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
JackV
NY 
 
Please wait while more information about JackV is loaded.
Additional information about JackV could not be loaded.
Disable Motion detector
September 30, 2011
" I just bought 2 of these. I had the 12 led ones and they are fine but I wanted the 23 leds for extra brightness. Is there a way to keep the until on and not respond to motion to enjoy the full 23 led effect even if no one is in front of it? "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)