Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt

Item# 121184
This NPower 1.8 Watt amorphous solar battery maintainer is ideal for cars, ATVs, PWCs, light duty trucks, SUVs and all 12V batteries. It's an effective way to replenish your batteries for quick starts. Clean and quiet operation. Built-in blocking diodes prevent discharging at night. Ultra-bright blue LED charge indicator. No installation required. NOTE This system is not weatherproof it's designed to be positioned on the inside of a windshield with the supplied suction cups. Watts 1.8, Material Plastic, amorphous solar cells, Panels qty. 1, Battery Type Maintains 12V batteries, Includes Built-in blocking diodes prevent discharging at night, LED Light Yes, Ultra-bright blue LED charge indicator, Battery Included No, Product Style Maintainer, Temperature Range F -40-176F, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 5/8 x 6 1/2 x 1 1/8. No more dead batteries Use the power of the sun to maintain 12V batteries anywhere, anytime Amorphous solar panel charges in all light conditions - in the shade, clouds, and even indoors Self-regulated unit will never overcharge your batteries simply plug in and it begins working immediately with no maintenance Not weatherproof - please mount inside the dash of your vehicle or by a window Blinking blue LED light provides charging indication Ideal for cars, boats, SUVs, and more Conveniently connects directly to battery with included battery clamps, or through the cigarette lighter with included 12V DC plug Includes suction cups for easy mounting
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (63 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
59 of 63(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Review 1 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

,
January 10, 2012
By samiam4840
from ferriday ,louisiana
"I ordered one to try it and hooked it to my lawn mower that was dead. in about three hours i had enough juice to crank the 22 hp kohler. after that i ordered 5 more. i work all over the country and im gone @ a month at a time. keeping batteries charged at my house is a nightmare. after i hooked all the panels up, i have had no problems since. they're hooked to my polaris ranger, dirt bike, lawn mower, trolling battery and starting battery on boat and my toyota mud truck. i love em. they have saved me alot of money by saving my batteries."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Time Saver

,
August 24, 2012
By DaddyOD13
from Flagstaff, AZ
"Because I don't use it very often I had to jump the battery in my extra truck whenever I needed it.
Now it always starts because of this solar maintainer.
Why buy a new battery when you don't really need too?
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solar Charger

,
August 21, 2012
By mes2mel
from Wyoming,MN.
"Works great!! I have 2, one for the lawn mower and one for the boat"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Dynamo's

,
August 20, 2012
By Pman451
from United States
"I live in Sunny SW Florida only during the rainy season we get storms that seem like the water comes down in buckets. I purchased these solar battery maintainers to keep the batteries on my Flats Boat completely charged at all times. 3months later and they still look brand new and are working just as described. I ran my 80 LB Thrust Minn Kota Trolling Motor for what seemed to be two hours straight. The 24 volt battery system was fully charged. They are completely waterproof and continue to recharge my batteries even though they are labled as battery maintainers. My 115 4 Stroke Merc starts every time. I highly recommend these little dynamo's."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Like a Champ

,
August 20, 2012
By Jopper
from New Orleans, LA
"I have had this unit hooked up to my pickup for a couple of years now. The truck can sit for a couple of months without use. This unit never fails to keep the battery fully charged and ready to go. Just remember to unplug the unit before starting the vehicle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great maintainer charger for tractors and equip.

,
August 20, 2012
By pasos
from Coldspring,tx
"This unit is very very easy to set up and use, in less than 5 minutes I had it unpacked and connected to my tractor and it keeps the battery charged and ready to go even during long periods of inactivity! I have two and am looking to get another for some other equip."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more dead batteries

,
August 13, 2012
By DW007
from DE
"I would get in my car and wonder
if it would start. Now I just plug in
the NPower Solar Battery Maintainer
in the cigarette lighter space, and it
keeps my battery charged and ready
to go. Just what I needed. No more
dead batteries.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for motorcycle and boat

,
May 14, 2012
By DSUSMC
from Catawba, NC
"Originally bought this thinking it would be good on my boat. Once I realized it would fit in my saddlebag on the motorcycle and plug right into the lighter socket, I knew I had to have another one just for that. This little panel puts out just enough juice(around 150 milliamps I think) to keep my battery full and has built in overcharge protection. My only concern is that it is not fully waterproof, but can be sealed around the edges with silicone if you desire. Think I am gonna buy a 15 amp panel for the boat so it can charge while i run the trolling motor. Never have to worry about dead batteries again or running extension cords for conventional chargers. Even works on overcast days."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good thing to have around

,
May 14, 2012
By Jimthensomethingunique
from Des Moines, IA
"Works great if you have a vehicle or anything with a battery you don't use often. For items with older weak batteries I would suggest a larger wattage product tho."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best battery maintainer with affordable price

,
May 11, 2012
By northeastcoastreviewer
from Northern, NJ
"Best battery maintainer set with affordable price
Pros: affordable price, good choice of connectors and clamps, compact design, long cable length, blue led indicator helps determine activity, very good packing, simple easy to understand instruction manual, light weight, environment friendly and saves electricity money. The price of this item is reasonable and affordable. I have two motorcycles. I cannot ride them all winter here in New Jersey so I needed a battery maintainer for the long winter months. This panel is perfect. Panel comes with its own clamps, adapters and connectors. Just to make sure, I checked the battery voltage before using this item and after using the item and the maintainer surely works great. The batteries show no sign of drainage or loss of voltage.
Since my garage doesn't have windows or electricity, I have to remove the motorcycle batteries every winter and charge them in my home at my window. You never need to worry about over charging these batteries because the charging time is only for a limited hours of daylight and this charge is very low. It trickle charges batteries all winter long and in spring time the batteries are ready to go. I also used this to trickle charge my car's battery when its idle for more than a few weeks.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

arthur

,
May 7, 2012
By SemperFiUSMC
from Kings Mountain, NC
"This product was very easy to set up. My main use for it is to keep the battery charged on my camper. I have used it to put enought charge to my riding mower to crank it. Just follow the simple instructions."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlander

,
May 7, 2012
By Highland
from Billings, MT.
"Does the job of maintaining tractor batteries. The suction cups that are suppose to hold on the window tend to not do the job, but otherwise does fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar Maintainer

,
May 7, 2012
By Lulu56
from East Tennessee
"Works as stated. Use on my lawn mower and scooter. No problems so far."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charges well in low light conditions

,
January 19, 2012
By SkipR
from Fox Point, WI
"I use this to keep a 12V battery in a 1997 Plymouth Voyager fully charged during the winter. The panel faces due north through a side garage window. The van gets used about once a month, and always starts without problems. I've given two of these as gifts to my sister's families.
Great product! Being saved from a dead battery is priceless.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saves the day

,
January 16, 2012
By jub2sxm
from upstate NY
"my wifes audi stays outside ( they are notorious for battery drain) it sits for days it is now fully charged... this is a well made product i am going to purchase another for parents motor home"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great solar panel

,
January 16, 2012
By 052143
from Olney,IL.
"I like this solar panel so well, I now have two. I hang them in my shop window facing south so it gets full sun. I use them to keep my motor cycle and lawn mower batterys charged all winter. Come spring (mowing season) :( ....both batterys are ready to go."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
January 10, 2012
By djptexas
from Eagle River Alaska
"I have several of these I live in Alaska where the sun shines 18-20hrs a day in the summer I have one of these in my boat charging a battrie that I have a bilge pump hooked to so I never have to worry if my boat will be full of water or swamping"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it's supposed to do

,
January 9, 2012
By BarryF
from Dandridge, TN
"I bought this product to help maintain the battery on a parked vehicle. It's pretty handy to have the ability to mount it to the bottom of the windshield and plug it into an accessory/cigarette lighter outlet and leave it for when I need the vehicle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent battery charger

,
January 9, 2012
By Sapson77
from Troy Michigan
"This battery charger is truly delivering what is made fore; I purchase this for my car battery over in Greece that is idle for long time every year. And I had to charge the battery every time I go there, but with this I don’t need to do that anymore the battery remains fresh and ready to start my car every time I go.
I wish they make one like this for external use.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NPower Solar Battery Maintainer - 1.8 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

battery saver

,
January 9, 2012
By grvdog
from Maine
"I purchased this product because I was tired of buying lots of "c" celled batteriesevery 2 weeks for my trail/game cameras. I used a larger 12v style battery and this solar charger and could go 2-3 months without changing batteries. I did buy 3 more for my other cameras. They paid for themselves in one season!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.