Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs

Item# 122560
"This Lighting Essentials solar shed light will light up any area with solar power. This shed light uses 5 white LEDs and features a 5.39in. x 3.55in. amorphous solar panel that provides power to keep the lights on, saving money and electricity. Application Shed, Battery Type 600mA NICD, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 1/16 x 5 3/8 x 3 9/16 light, Power Source Solar, Light Type LED, Lights Included qty. 1, Bulbs qty. 5, Light Color White."
Average Customer Rating:
3.278 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
13 of 18(72%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Review 1 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

solar shed light

,
February 4, 2016
By
from Hot Springs, SD
light is not very bright, it hardly lights up shed
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solar vs Rechargable

,
February 3, 2016
By
from Colonial Beach, VA
Nearly six months ago I had a new carport/ storage shed built to store some household goods and provide a home for my tools and lawn mowers. Since the storage shed is away from the house, there is no power to the building yet. Lighting for building is provided by solar lights or rechargeable lights. I bought these lights at an extremely decent price. The lights are well built, but I'm a little disappointed with output of light. The lights provide enough to do some reading, but not enough to do work in the shop. Don't get me wrong, the lights do what I need them to do. I mounted the solar panels inside & at the bottom of the window frame. The light from outside provide more than enough light to charge the batteries. There are definite advantages to using solar vs rechargeable. The inconvenience of having take rechargeable light back into house is the biggest. Rechargeable lights provide a much brighter light to work in.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Review 3 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Solar Shed Light

,
January 31, 2016
By
from SC
Bought two on sale. One worked, the other didn't. Don't know if it is the battery, or the charging circuit, will find out when I upgrade and attempt to charge the battery. If it doesn't work, I'll exchange. Light will not come on if solar panel is getting enough light to charge battery (unless you unplug the charging cord) so if your shed has no windows, the door is in the shade, and the charging panel is not, you have to do more than pull the cord. Depending on the mounting location, it may be more trouble than it's worth. It is better than nothing, but not what I expected.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 4 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

solar shed light

,
January 31, 2016
By
from Freeport, Pa.
I was surprised that the light needed to be taken apart to install. Light came with everything needed to put up and there was ample wire to connect to the solar panel. I am using light in a 6x10 pig barn and needed some light in the winter months when it gets dark before they get their evening feeding. The light provides just enough light for what I need. Must be careful with the pull cord switch as it does not seem very sturdy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 5 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shed light

,
December 15, 2014
By
from okeechobee,florida
I have the solar panel on top of my shed,now I just open door and pull it on,great light. This light is all it is said to be. Thank You for a great product
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not Work

,
July 7, 2013
By
from Texas
I don't know why anyone would buy this item.  It does not work.  You are throwing away your money.  Sorry Northern Tools
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Wonderful Western Michigan
Nice light. The light is not what I'd call real bright. The light can only be turned on when the solar cell is in darkness. So, if a light is needed for day time use this one most likely will not work for an indoor application. I would work Ok for low intensity lighting around a building or in a yard. It isn't the most expensive light and works about what would be expected from an inexpensive light. Got to have 50+ words to have this review to be excepted. Hope this gets it done. Best wishes, if this item is purchased.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solar shed light

,
May 7, 2012
By
from kansas city mo.
this works great for my storage shed. The adjustability feature allows me to turn it in the afternoon to get a full days sun. I have a lot of shade in that area,so when I walk the dog I can turn it slightly to get the late day sun.
the only thing that could be better is the length of the cord, it could be at least 2-3 Ft. longer. That would make installation easier
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
November 9, 2011
By
from Indianapolis, Indiana
i bought 2 of these for my shed and i have not even gotten the light to come on at all. I will make sure not to buy junk again. This product is very cheap. i work in the Maintenance dept. at my place of work and have been here for 10 years and this is so, JUNK!!!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
12out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

really needs 6+ hours of full sun

,
June 6, 2011
By
from Northern NH
I bought this for my 8x8 shed (goat barn). If you live in the southern states and get lots of sun blasting all day, this would probably be a great product, I however, live in the extreme northern US and it is cloudy and dark here often so this solar light just isn't working out. I ended up just hanging a flashlight (flashlight & batteries, $2.) off a nail in the barn and using that for lighting, A great idea, but unless you get over 6 hours of direct sunlight on this thing, forget it and buy a cheap flashlight!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Ralphette
MD 
 
Please wait while more information about Ralphette is loaded.
Additional information about Ralphette could not be loaded.
Solar lights need sun
September 8, 2012
" It might be worth the time investment to ensure that a minimal amount of sunlight is ACTUALLY available before buying a "SOLAR LIGHT" It generally doesn't take a rocket scientist or an excessive amount of brain cells to figure this one out. I recommend researching the product before purchase. It would be time well spent prior to any future purchases "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not bright

,
April 14, 2011
By
U can not use these light to light up a shed they are not bright at all. They are like a night light in a house.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

kibby

,
March 15, 2011
By
from Rhinelander WI
Works very well and was easy to install. Installed this unit in my shed and eliminatated the need to run electricity
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green

,
March 15, 2011
By
If you want to go green this is a nice little light, its not a top end light at all but for the price it works
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for dog kennel

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Brighton, Iowa
Perfect solution to lights in the dog kennel. Easy to install and use.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect off the grid extra light source!!

,
May 31, 2010
By
from Off the grid in Panama, the country of Panama!!
This little unit is great! I use it in my privy and other out buildings! By the way I have three of them and no problems. They seem to last up to four hours continuously. I rarely have them on more then two hours! The price is great!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK unit for the price

,
March 3, 2010
By
from Memphis, TN
This unit is OK for the price, one MAJOR draw back is that I can't turn the unit on with the solar panel plugged in. I don't know if this is by design or not, but for the price, I can live with it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Satisfied

,
February 25, 2010
By
from Pennsyvania
These were exactly what I was looking for. I purchased three of these after reading the review by another customer. They are for great my sheds and provide enough light to move around safely at night puttting tools away. you can't beat them especially for the price. Simple and easy setup.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lighting Essentials Solar Shed Light - 5 LEDs
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad at all

,
December 28, 2009
By
from Maryland
This light was perfect for my needs. I have a very small shed & I use the light to put my shovels & rakes in the shed in the evening. It's not bright by any stretch, but it's enough light to see my way around. You don't want this light while working on your lawn mower at night, you will want something that provides a brighter illumination. Over-all I am pleased with the device and you can't beat the price. This solar light will pay for itself quickly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
breed42000
OHIO 
 
Please wait while more information about breed42000 is loaded.
Additional information about breed42000 could not be loaded.
April 15, 2011
" I would like to say that this light is not what I expected. I don't feel that you should have to unplug this light in order for it to work. I bought 2 of them needless to say one of them is still in the box. I was very dissapointed in this product. The light is not very bright at all and I only had it for about 2 weeks when it had broke and would not even turn on. "
0points
Customer Avatar
bigperm
Tenn 
 
Please wait while more information about bigperm is loaded.
Additional information about bigperm could not be loaded.
Not worth it !!!!
October 19, 2010
" I bought this unit to light up a small tool closet in my carport. First off you can't turn on the light untill you unplug the solar panel. Think about why this is a bad idea. Secondly the light isn't very bright at all. The best use for it would be to find a light switch. I would have been better off to buy a couple of cheap battery powered camp lanterns and kept them in the shed. Dont waste your money people!!!! "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)