Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O

Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O

Item# 122575
This Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair and ottoman are great for relaxing on the deck, porch or patio. The durable cedar/fir Cunninghamia lanceolata wood can be left unfinished or can be painted or stained to match your yard or home. Finish Type Unfinished, Color Natural, Material Type Cedar/fir, Pre-assembled No, Style Chair w/ottoman. Durable, weather-resistant cedar/fir looks great painted, stained or left unfinished Comfortable contoured seats and wide arm rests Long-lasting rustproof hardware 20 1/16in.W x 18 1/2in.D seat area Chair is 30in.L x 36 1/4in.W x 34 2/3in.H Ottoman is 21 2/3in.L x 21 2/3in.W x 14 1/2in.H Assembly required instructions included
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Review 1 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality for a Low Price

,
March 27, 2014
By Bucky2
from Southern CA
"I wanted the Adirondack look without a high price. One of the two sets arrived with a broken piece off of the back foot joint. My husband glued it back on and secured it with a screw. After applying four coats of spar varnish, the chairs look great and should hold up fine in our hot sun and occasional rains."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Chair

,
February 4, 2014
By SilentP
from West Allis, WI
"I ordered one of these to see if we'd like them. Ended up ordering three more. Great for sitting on the porch or by the fire pit. Very comfortable and easy to assemble. Delivery time was not great, but not that bad."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

comfortable chair but needs improved

,
September 17, 2013
By relaxed
from Atlanta, Ga.
"The chair is comfortable and looks good, but already needed repaired. The screws at the rear of the armrest pulled out when I leaned on it to shift in the seat. Granted I weigh 210, but the screws were too small in diameter and length. I also found rounding the corners on the armrest, and top board of the ottoman improved the comfort. For the price, I am still satisfied with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good value

,
July 7, 2013
By Wildeyes
from San Carlos, Calif
"Bought a pair of the chairs and ottomans and found them to be a good value, what I liked was all the pieces were made out of one piece of wood, no finger joints or glued together strips of wood. Assembly is easy, and I used a wood preservative with a light redwood coloring and they came out looking sharp. I am happy with the purchase!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Value In Unfinished Porch Furniture!

,
June 9, 2013
By JeffersonCityRehabber
from Jefferson City, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My wife and I could not be happier with this furniture set, We also purchased the recommended table.This was the best deal out there and Northern Tool is always a pleasure to to deal with. We were able to get three pieces of furniture for what most other retailers were asking for a chair. We stained the furniture mahogany red and the end result looked like something you would see in Crate & Barrel. Cedar is a light and delicate wood so you will want to use this furniture accordingly and enjoy your summer beverages is comfort and style."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adirondack Chair and Ottoman

,
August 13, 2012
By lilakall
from Martensville, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This product was great value for the price. It was easy to assemble and I especially liked that it was unfinished cedar wood so that I can stain it. It also has a flat back which is easy to paint whereas other chairs have a curved one. The chair comes with the back and seat partially assembled. It is lightweight, yet sturdy. I will purchase more in the future. I wanted to try the ottoman with it. It is very comfortable to sit in with this addition."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the value

,
January 16, 2012
By CTReviewer
from Norwalk, CT
"Definitely not the $199 chairs sold elsewhere, but a fantastic buy for the value. They look great on the back deck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adirondack chairs with ottoman

,
June 6, 2011
By deladonn
from Milton, FL
"Very delighted with these chairs. Ottoman is a little lightweight and flimsy so when I ordered the 2nd set of chairs I got the ones without the ottoman. The chairs are very comfortable. Also, very nice wood...stained very nicely.They were very easy to put together. The holes were lined-up very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfortable and easy to assemble

,
March 14, 2011
By jjww
"This chair was easy to assemble. I bought one with the footstool and one without. One of the footstool pieces was cracked and the company was very good about sending me a replacement.
The chair is comfortable and attractive on my balcony. The only thing is because the wood is unfinished, it may not weather well and/or may need to be sprayed with a protective finishing coat.
Overall, a good product.
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
RM62
MN 
 
Please wait while more information about RM62 is loaded.
Additional information about RM62 could not be loaded.
Great Value
June 12, 2012
"For the money this chair and ottoman are tops! I did have some hardware missing, but one call later and they mailed it in a couple days.
My only wish is the back of the chair be contoured. The back of the chair is flat, but barely noticeable."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

a little on the fragile side.

,
September 2, 2010
By rickyc
from Bolivar, Ohio
"I really like the chair design and its very comfortable. It could have been built a little sturdier though. A heavier guage of cedar would have been better. I would not recommend for someone too much over 200 lbs. I did like the fact that it took a stain nice and I could pick my own color. I bought two chairs twio of the matching tables. They really look nice on the front porch."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cedar Adirondack Chair

,
August 30, 2010
By jonas
from Havelock, NC
"Easy to assemble and stain. Very comfortable. These chairs are ideal for a covered porch. We have 4 on our porch and they look great. The whole family can sit outside and enjoy the weather. A great classic look."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed Review

,
August 28, 2010
By MikeyBiker
from Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Built with good quality cedar and fasteners, the chair and ottoman look great and are easy to assemble. Some Watco oil and sealer and it gleams....
The chair has a design flaw:
The arm rest is joined to the frame by screws going up from below. Those screws only have about a thread & ½ hold in the relatively soft wood. NOT nearly enough. I moved the chair on my deck, using the arm rest, and the joint just parted. That is a 'factory' joint and not part of my assembly process.
I will through-bolt it, and accept the countersunk head in the otherwise finely grained cedar, but this should be a better piece of joinery.
Note: I liked it enough though to buy a second set!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Chair for the money

,
August 23, 2010
By jan4460
from Virginia
"This is a very nice chair for the money. Seems well made. We decided to stain ours and this added a lot to the look. Would recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Chairs are OK

,
June 21, 2010
By KevinM
from El Cajon, CA
"I purchased two chairs and two more chairs with ottomans. I like the look of the chairs and they were very easy to put togehter. It did not take long at all to assemble all 4 of them. However, I do not like the fact that I got a chair with an arm rest that is two pieces of wood glued together. it is already cracking and it will undoubtedly break first. I hear the other chairs making noise as they are handled by the arm rests (being moved, or getting up out of the chair). I think they could have made them a little heavier duty to last longer. I will likely sure up the arm rests with an additional support underneath to keep them from breaking too easily. I also intend to treat them with Thompsons water seal to protect them from the weather a bit. Other than that, I like the chairs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cedar/Fir Adirondack Chair with Ottoman, Model# CS-001KD-O
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cedar Adirondack Chair with Ottoman

,
June 2, 2010
By macej
from bellevue
"Easy to assemble, cheaper than local stores, fasteners work loose after a week or so, tighten them up one last time after that. Pre-Sanded smooth, ready for finishing if so desired, good deal for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.