Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"

"Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"

Item# 122602
"This sturdy fir Cunninghamia lanceolata deck box is an attractive storage space that is built to last. Overall exterior measures 38 1/2in.L x 19 3/4in.W x 23 3/4in.H with top opening and removable base for easy cleaning. Safety hinges prevent the lid from slamming shut. Strong enough to double as a bench or table. Gallons 42, Dimensions L x W x H in. Exterior 38 1/2 x 19 3/4 x 23 3/4 Interior 35 1/2 x 17 x 16 1/2, Material Type Fir. 5.7 cubic foot 42 gallon, 35 1/2in.L x 17in.W x 16 1/2in.H internal storage space Strong enough to double as a bench or table Assembly required instructions included"
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Review 1 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wife loves her new Deck Box

,
August 29, 2015
By
from Azle,TX
" This deck box holds all the back yard gardening hand tools and chemicals that the wife needs. Great for her to have easy access when tending to the raised gardens. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deck Box

,
August 23, 2015
By
from St. Louis, MO
" This is a really great deck box that is just the perfect size. I haven't really tested it as a bench, and I probably won't. I have broken too many deck boxes that claimed to be strong enough to use as a bench. But it does make a really great table. As usual with everything I purchase from Northern Tool, I threw away the screws and bought new ones. Screws from NT seem to be made of tin, strip way too easy, and can never really be tightened down. But screws are cheap to replace and will not prevent me from purchasing from NT. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but could be better

,
August 18, 2015
By
from Minneapolis, MN
" Easy to put together and relatively sturdy, my only real complaint is that one of the joints broke the second day - there was a knot in the wood. I used wood glue and so far it seems to be good but who knows how long it will hold up "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Hiding Place

,
July 4, 2015
By
from Westcliffe, CO
" Easy to put together. Perfect size for my deck. I can store all my deck stuff in the generously sized bin. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this deck box!!

,
June 26, 2015
By
from North Georgia
" I'm thrilled with this deck box! Easy to assemble and looks great. It cost me far less than the crummy plastic one I bought last year from a big box store. Bought a "trial size" can of deck stain from the hardware store and stained it to match the house better. I think I'll buy another one and throw away the plastic one! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality, Great price

,
June 7, 2015
By
from Homer Glen, IL
" The outdoor cedar storage box was the perfect size and style I needed. Product is good quality and easy to assemble with all needed hardware included. I use it for outdoor pool toys and it is well constructed for safe use by children and adults alike. I like the slotted boards on the bottom so there is no pooling of water from wet pool toys that are stored. I wanted a cedar chest to compliment my outdoor decor and this worked out perfectly. We stained it with an outdoor waterproof stain to help keep items dry inside during heavy rains. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cedar Chest

,
August 15, 2014
By
from South Carolina
" Very nice product, was very easy to assemble. Looks great and work as described "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product, execution is lacking.

,
August 21, 2012
By
from Milwaukee, WI
" I ordered this deck box because it was reviewed well, cost less than cedar deck boxes elsewhere, and was very attractive. When it arrived the first thing I noted was that it seems flimsy. It is made of cedar (white cedar) and can handle some weight. While assembling One of the bolts and cams that hold the side to the back had been completely mis-drilled and was impossible to assemble. A little quick-thinking and the problem was solved, but I had to make a new hole for a different bolt. I suppose this is typical of do-it-yourself furniture but I was disappointed.
I used a cedar-toned waterseal (Thompson's) and it looks beautiful. I think this is a great product if the bolt holes line up or you don't mind a little "handiwork". "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Salisury, MD
" The Cedar chest is perfect size and attractive for our patio. The clothes we ordered were well made and heavy duty and comfortable. We never received the 20 pair of white socks we ordered. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cedar Deck Box

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Blairsville, PA
" I put this together and refinished it myself. I love this box and it looks so good. I am using it for a storage box in a spare room. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A place for my things and a seat for the Deck

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Coventry Rhode Island
" I use this on my deck to hold the things I need when sitting outside be it Hornet spray to a shawl It holds a good amount of things and with a cushion it makes a great seat as well being cedar it keeps bug out and smells great also keeps every thing dry "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product value for the money

,
May 17, 2012
By
from Wylie, TX
" I ordered this from my local store having only seen pictires online. It came in within a few days and was easy to put together, you only need a flat and phillips screwdriver. A cordless drill will speed things up. It seems very strong and will be a great place to store our outdoor pool items. In adition, the frame is strong enough that it can be used as a bench. The only negative I can say is when it was produced and the holes were pre-drilled to accept the cams, they didn't clean out the holes. When we first put the cams in the holes, the screws wouldn't line up with them. When I discovered the excess wood shavings at the bottom of the holes I cleaned them out with the flathead screwdriver and everything went together without any issues (Total time was about 15-20 minutes to build). Overall this looked like a great value for the money and the ease of ordering through my local Northern was awesome. Great customer service and quick shipping. I looked at several other sellers and the product quality did not appear to be as high. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Fir Deck Box - 42 Gallon Capacity, Model# WT-SB214"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cedar Deck Box

,
October 10, 2011
By
from Rossford, OH
" We have been looking for some time to help clear the clutter in our breezeway/mudroom along with looking for an extra seat when coming in from the outdoors. It helps in the storage of the dog food and supplies. Diffenately an asset to have.
Thanks again. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.