Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke

Item# 125011
Perfect for raising and lowering lawn and garden tractor and ATV attachments, along with hoods, trunks, tonneau covers, tailgates, truck cover and more CE/UL-approved motor. Length Retracted in. 13 3/8, Static Load Capacity lbs. 1,350, Application Actuator, Stroke Length in. 7 7/8, Dynamic Load Capacity lbs. 675, Power Volts 12. 7 7/8in. stroke 8mm per second travel speed 675 lbs. rated load thrust 1350 lb. max. load capacity Center-to-center closed pin distance is 13 3/8in. 340mm Travel limit switch prevents over extension 23F to 104F temperature range Locks in place if power is lost Measures 14 9/16in.L x 9in.H Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 of 13(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

For Gator application

,
October 9, 2012
By Toucan
from Crosby, Texas
"I read a post where someone used this lift on a John Deere Gator. It is way cheaper than the JD one so I bought and installed it on my gator. I can dump a heavier load by hand than this lift will pick up. I was very disappointed in the performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

linear actuator

,
October 13, 2011
By bdyman
from dayton, md
"only giving it three stars at this point cause i haven't tried this in the winter weather. i bought it to move the chute control on my skid-steer snow blower. it was very easy to hook up hardware wise and even easier to wire to with a two way switch. again only three stars cause i'm not sure how it will hold up with the water, snow, and ice that it will have to endure. but overall worth the money given what dealer wanted for OEM motor for chute control, this was a better and cost effective option."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Linear Actuator for UTV dump body

,
May 31, 2010
By AntonD
from Chesterfield, SC
"I installed the actuator on my all-terrain utility vehicle dump body with very little trouble and with less than 1.5 hours of time, including wiring. It lifts the dump from flat to full dump in about 20 sec. I have dumped loads up to 300# with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Linear Actuator

,
February 22, 2010
By MtTopMick
from PA
"The Actuator is being used on my JD Gator to lift the dump box. The OME part from JD cost 5 times as much and although it is not of the same quality as JD parts it does the job well. It did require some modification to the Gator box/frame mounts but once done was worth the savings that I can use on other accessories. It's not fast but does the job of lifting the box with a load on."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

slow

,
October 19, 2009
By gdh195053
from stanton michigan
"this was hard to wire and is vary slow but does do the job"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric actuator

,
March 16, 2009
By cgiff
from Florence, Al
"My haybaler uses one of these to operate the sweeps for the twine tier. Luckily the stroke length I needed was available from northern. It has worked as well as could be expected."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow. The power.

,
November 17, 2008
By JDBoy
from SW MN
"This past summer I purchased 2, 12v actuators to operate a 46" blade on my JD rider and after one use the lifting actuator died. After searching for a replacement and not finding what I wanted, I came across this one night while searching for something totaly unrelated. This thing is great. It has enough power to lift the front wheels on my mower off the ground. The only down side is that it is a little bit slow and the few plastic parts. I would recomend this to anyone who needed a reasonably priced heavy duty alternative to hydraulics."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Linear Actuator

,
August 11, 2008
By Btom
from Southwestern Michigan
"I looked for a long time for something that could be adapted to lift the dump box on my utility 4-wheeler.. With just a little adaptation, I was able to make this work just fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Linear Actuator

,
June 27, 2008
By teg8rv
from North Carolina
"We are using this actuator to lift a cargo box on a utility golf cart. It has not been used much and the internal circuit board burned up. Now I cannot find anyplace to purchase replacement parts. I would not recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little elec. actuator

,
April 14, 2008
By jrog
from Boswell Oklahoma
"I am building a 3-point lift for my ATV.I am using the Linear Actuator for the lift system. It works great with plenty of power. It has plenty of power to lift anything I attach to my 3-point. Plow, Disc Etc.
I would use this product for any small lifting projects. Would work great on small trailer for Dump bed lift.
Thanks: JROG
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By gopackers
from near green bay, WI
"Bought actuator for adjusting the chute on my 59 inch snowblower on my John Deere tractor. Works good but will freeze up if left outside and not used. Would like to see more weather resistent and faster reponse on the worm gear. Overall happy with product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Linear Actuator

,
October 9, 2007
By DingoMan
from Canada
"I purchased one of these as a trial test, since we have about a dozen machines here on the golf course that use them, and any other actuators I've seen on the market are about four times the cost. The Application is for the dump box on a John Deere Gator.
Well, it only took about one day to malfunction. The bolt on the bottom end of the shaft unscrewed, and I managed to repair it.
Two more days, and the stopper washer came off the end of the top of the shaft.
I have not had a chance to reassemble it yet..losing faith!
When I received the actuator, I was surprised to see that the outer part of the cylinder was made of cheap plastic, and the ram itself , very thin aluminum with plastic inserts.
When installed new, it would not even lift the dump box with only a 250 LB person inside..a FAR cry from the 1100 or so LB it is supposed to lift. One simply has to examine the construction of the unit to know it is is not likely to lift that much.
One more thing....this, being a reversible motor, means the current reverses polarity depending on the direction travelled. Thus, the wires should both b e the same guage. One of the wires to the motor is an acceptable size...14Ga.. The other wire is very small guage.. perhaps 20 or 18 Ga....Way too small to carry the current for the motor when lifting heavy loads!
I would not recommend this unit to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Linear Actuator - 12 Volt, 7 7/8in. stroke
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
July 10, 2007
By JCunning
from North Dakota
"Good quality equipment, would recommend it to others."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.