Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat

Item# 12541
You'll find it's easy to load, transport and unload your boat with this Rugged Steel Trailer from Northern Industrial Tools. Use with a 12 or 14ft. boat. Assembly instructions included. Frame Material Steel, Lights Yes, Coupler Size in. 1 7/8, Deck Size L x W ft. 6 1/2 x 3 1/3, Wheel Size in. 4.80 x 8, Load Capacity lbs. 600, Jack Type Not included, Assembly Required Yes, Bed Tilt No, Brakes No, Fenders Yes, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 154 x 52 1/2 x. Coupler fits a 1 7/8in. ball Left-to-right adjustable bunk boards Fenders protect boat from road debris Road-ready lighting Top travel speed for trailer is 45 MPH
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (66 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
64 of 66(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good + a few mods

,
June 2, 2013
By Anonymous
from Bozeman, MT
"I gave this to my boys (11 and 13) to assemble. With a little consultation, they managed it in quite a bit less than the 6 hours stated in the manual.
It seems like a very solid unit - just what I was looking for. This is a relief because some of the packaging for the frame was more or less obliterated in truck shipping. We have a few mystery parts left over, but everything went together well. I'd buy it again without hesitation. I wouldn't buy it for regular use in a marine environment, but it should be fine in the MT climate.
We found it helpful to assemble the frame right-side up on a concrete floor, with 2x4 scraps as spacers to level everything. That gave easy access to all bolt tops/bottoms. We mainly followed the directions, with a few exceptions:
- We put washers on most of the 3/8" bolts. Just seemed right, and the bolts are sized for it.
- We didn't mount the wheels until the rest was done. It would have been a hassle to have the deck rolling around.
- The wiring directions didn't make much sense. Also, I don't like the inline wire taps for the side running lights - invitation to failure. Instead, we ran the long wires unbroken to the rear, before frame assembly, ran extra wire to the junctions at the taillights, and substituted weatherproof wire nuts for the ones included.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

kit trailers

,
May 20, 2013
By 0931
from Pennsylvania
"State of Pennsylvania requires inspection of all kit trailers at a cost of $116 ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice trailor

,
April 23, 2013
By elco66
from oakley,ca
"trailor came quick in 3 packages,installed it by myself in about half a day including wiring,instructions were easy except for the 1st step which was confusing for me,the part about running the taillight wiring in the channel 1st, so I skipped that and did it last which made more sense to me,mabe its just me.. I wanted a light trailor to haul my small boat behind my small car and this works great, and the price was real good also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trailer for the money

,
April 23, 2013
By HD4Mark
from Marathon, Fl
"We bought this trailer primarily to easily launch our 14' Zodiac inflatable. So far it has worked out perfectly. Not bad quality and only an afternoon and a six pack to assemble. The bolts are kind of a mystery but after swapping some we put in the wrong spot everything worked out fine.
We did not use the light kit because we have found that magnetic lights work out much better on many trailers because they are not dunked in the water or get stored outdoors all of the time. This way the lights almost always work when plugged in.
We added a winch as one is not included or claimed to be. We also sprayed anti-corrosion protection on the bolts, springs and stuff to try to protect it against salt water. A year from now we will see how that worked."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth The Effort

,
March 27, 2013
By IndyBrown
from Bedford, IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Received trailer quickly in 3 cartons light enough for me to unload from the truck by myself. All cartons arrived in good condition with no missing parts. Very happy with the quality of steel, the fit of all the parts, and the paint. I did purchase flat washers, grommets for the wiring, and a winch. I also added a center board and a couple more rollers to add support for my 14' aluminum runabout and its 25 HP outboard.
Had a minor issue with a hub dust cap, but a call to NT parts department was all it took to get it quickly and painlessly resolved. I give high marks to Northern Tool's customer service. This trailer is exactly what I wanted. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teeny weeny trailer

,
August 18, 2012
By hannibal1
from Arkansas
"Delivered with complete parts. Feels like quality steel. All self retaining nuts and bolts. Though 8" tires they have so far run without fault. Well painted. Easy to assemble.
Should have included a spare tire with U bolt and a winch or listed it as "available".
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
22out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

600 lb boat trailer kit

,
August 13, 2012
By coot
from fond du lac, wi
"product arrived on time and intact. instructions were claer and easy to follow-all parts fit correctly. Assembly took about 3 hours. our 12 foot mirocraft boat loads and unloads easily and correctly every time. tracks very good behind tow vehicle. would highly recommend this kit to any one who has a small boat-"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

,
August 13, 2012
By Champlain
from Vermont
"Arrived intact
Instructions are not elaborate but adequate
Wiring diagram was poorly written, but I figured it out
Does not come with a winch or a jack - may want to purchase these
Rides fine
Not galvanized, so rust will eventually be an issue, particularly if using in salt water.
Overall - solid trailer, best value I could find, assemblly was not all that onerous.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little trailer

,
June 12, 2012
By Eddie09
from Connecticut
"I bought this trailer to haul my canoes in an easier way. I have a tall pickup truck and it was a pain to load my canoes into the factory roof rack of my truck. Me and My wife will always get hurt by loading them into the truck roof. I can fit my two canoes in the trailer, I put first my oldtown 14'7" and then my oldtown 11'9 ' inside the 14'7' and tie them to the trailer. I did not have to do any modifications to the trailer to fit my canoe; I just adjusted the bunks and tighten the bolts hard enough so it didn't move. I have a few advises for someone buying this trailer. First buy one100 pieces flat washers and 75 pieces locking washers for the assembly. About 25 feet of flexible conduit for electrical wires, rubber grummets for the frame holes where the cables are routed and better connectors. Get an electrician wire (to route the electrical cables) and pass the cables before start the general assembly, like many other reviewers had stated. There are more reviews here that give valuable details about the construction, read them all, so you are prepared beforehand. It took me around three hours to assemble and it was fun to do, I like to build things! Another thing to take into account is to call DMV and ask them if a certificate of origin will be enough for registration or if in addition you will need a bill of sale with the model Number and the VIN in it. The problem I had was that the Certificate of origin came with the manufacturer model number and a VIN. My bill of sale was an email as I bough online and it had the item number of Northern Tools, not the manufacturer model number. I called NT and they e-mail me a copy of a bill of sale containing the manufacturer model number and the VIN and that was enough for registration. The lack of hardware (washers, etc) and the problems on the registration process is the reason why I am giving 4 stars. Otherwise I would give up 5 stars. It is a sturdy nice trailed and it is well built."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Deal But follow reviewer recommendations

,
May 14, 2012
By vermontdane
from New Harmony, UT
"I bought to put a Laser Sailboat on. Easy assembly, but take the advice of reviewers to assemble. 1. have a electrician wire snake. 2. enlarge the holes for the side marker wires to oval or the supplied wire splice will not fit through existing hole. 3. have an air ratchet.
4. I used rubber grommets where the wires run through the frame holes. 5. buy box of washers for the bolts. 6. bolt on the safety chains to the hitch before bolting on the frame. 7. watch over tightening the front hitch bolts or you can bend the frame.
I also added tie down rings to hold the boat on.
Overall, seems great for the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boat Trailer

,
December 15, 2011
By 2oldcops
from Eureka, Nv.
"Great buy. Easy to assemble whether you follow the instructions or not. Assembled it in 3 hours including coffe breaks. Tows like a dream. Would and have advised friends about this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
October 10, 2011
By Nessa
from Oroville, CA
"I bought this item for my husband. He put it together with no real issues. We used it to haul our boat for a 8 hour round trip and put the boat in and out of the lake no problem. For a light weight trailer it works great."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rear Cross Member and bunkers

,
October 8, 2011
By BB001
from New Haven, VT
"I have had to reinforce the rear cross member with angle iron due to bending where the back roller and bunkers attach. I have a lightweight 14' aluminium v-hull fishing boat. Also the bunkers do not stay in place, twist and turn, causing to have to realign them each time I put the boat back on the trailer. May be because there is only one bolt to keep each of them in place. After some alterations and reinforcement I feel it will work out better next year. The trailer seems to be a good price, I guess."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the price

,
May 26, 2011
By knifehat
from BEND, Oregon
"For starters when I received the trailer, the box looked like it had been dragged behind the truck from China. Surprisingly, all parts and hardware were there and unscratched. Go Figure.
For a basic trailer, I thought I got a nice product at a good price. The things needed to round out this trailer were, a winch and winch stand, a spare tire holder and tire, a box of galvanized washers (worth the money when putting the trailer together), a swivel stand and -like everyone else has said- larger tires if you plan to pull any distance.
I put this together myself with air tools in under 3 hours. If I would have had some help, it would have gone faster, but not too many swear words while doing it.
Galvanized washers were a must. I used a roll of 22 gauge wire to thread the wiring through the tongue and sides. I did this before I started assembly and was happy with the results. Use air ratchet wrench if you can.
The trailer pulls nice down the road, my 12' boat fits perfectly and the trailer looks nice. This was a good trailer for the money and I would buy it again.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent trailer

,
April 28, 2011
By 1979
from Northern Virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the start of my third season using this trailer to haul my 12'6" inflatable boat with a 25 HP Yamaha outboard engine. Had to make a few modifications to accommodate my boat, but I couldn't be more pleased with this trailer. Use my boat alot and probably have about a thousand miles on the trailer. It's well built, the tires hold air well and there are grease fitting on the wheel hubs. Lights work well. Have had zero problems. Great trailer, especially for the price. Buy it.....you'll like it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not w/o flaws

,
March 28, 2011
By OldDocDoyle
from Upr Greenwood Lk, NJ
"LIke other reviewers have said; could really benefit from the simple inclusion of some washers(so I did). Missing one roller shaft/bolt. Both tail lights cracked beyond being usable upon receipt(Northern is replacing them). The paint scuffs all too easily; although for what I paid I guess I can't complain really.
Again, as others have suggested, I assembled the base frame upside down(flip it over before securing the center trusses together as they require the middle roller to be bolted from above). I also used some clothesline wire to fish the wiring through the tongue before assembling much of the frame.
I will be customizing this unit with all sorts of rollers and bunks for the particular craft it will carry so to that end it is well worth what I paid for the blank slate I got!
Lastly, go spend the money and buy a tongue jack and a good winch before assembling this trailer! They make life MUCH easier!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Assembly

,
March 21, 2011
By Calico
from Arizona
"This boat trailer was very easy to assemble, in two hours. My 12' mirrocraft
boat fits on it very nicely. I pull it behind my '05 Toyota Tacoma and never know it is there. I did put 12" tires and wheels which fit very good, also added a winch.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boat trailer

,
November 23, 2010
By TamarackKid
from Newport News, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We purchased the boat trailer for my father-in-law and put it together without any problems. It is a very sturdy product and looks great. I would suggest pulling the wiring through the tongue and then side frame pieces before getting too far into the assembly process. Yes, go out of order for this assembly step! You'll thank me later...FInd a rubber grommet to put in the exit hole of the frame for the wiring that goes to the back of the trailer. This should prevent a short in the future. We hooked it up to the van and took it far a spin on the highway. It pulled straight as an arrow and we couldn't even tell it was back there! I'll be getting one and modifying it for our kayak's this summer."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Boat Trailer

,
November 23, 2010
By jayskin
from north of Calgary, Alberta
"Very pleased overall. Given 4 stars. Would be 5 stars if unit had rollars instead of skids. Trailer seemed well designed. Did not come with boat winch. Had to purchase and install one but not big cost. Tows well, wiring works well. Would recommend to others."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Rugged Steel Trailer Carries a 600-Lb. Boat
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trailer

,
November 23, 2010
By Jailerbill
from Iowa
"Good trailer for the price. The bunk boards are a little cheesy but they work ok. It says up to a 14' boat but the trailer is too short. Without an extension 12' is the max length. Overall a pretty good trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.