Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813

Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813

Item# 125415
Create a customized bed or platform that suits your exact needs with the Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer. With this MIG-welded steel frame you can create a trailer that is the size you need, from 49in.L to 78in.L. Frame Material Steel, Load Capacity lbs. 2,200, Wheel Size in. 16, Wheel Type Pneumatic. MIG-welded frame adjusts from 49in.L to 78in.L 46in. steel handle/tongue
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Review 1 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hay wagon

,
April 6, 2014
By Grandpamatt
from Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Easy to build on, makes a nice little wagon to pull behind my cub cadet, will be in many parades."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Utility Wagon

,
August 11, 2013
By Krobb
from Center cross VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This product was very easy to assemble and is very sturdy. I needed a utility wagon for basic yard work that would be pulled by an ATV and this was perfect. The kids enjoyed being pulled around in the cart so I decided to add the seats in the front just for fun. I would highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wagon first impression: EXCELLENT!

,
March 8, 2013
By James150
from Midwest USA
"I just got my Farm-Tuff running gear today (on sale) and I am very impressed with the strength and quality of the frame. I was expecting cheap welds on a cheap frame with cheap paint however this wagon running gear is MADE IN CANADA and is a cut above the cheap China stuff I was expecting. Nice welds, strong frame, good paint. The box was packed well and the parts and hardware complete. A refreshing change from the CHINA stuff I am used to. As usual the Customer Service at my West Allis WI store was wonderful.
I'll add more comments as I build this running gear into a vegetable wagon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
February 22, 2013
By Dan547
from KY
"I read a lot of the negitive reviews before I ordered, but thought I would try it anyway. Glad I did. It took about 15 Min. to put together and it's great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Purpose Trailer

,
May 8, 2012
By inthewood
from Aylett, VA
"I received my Farm-Tuff Trai ler very promptly and assembly was a breeze. One note to a fault however, the grease fittings on the wheels were loose and one of them (right front) had stripped threads. Overall this was the only negative in the product. I installed an oak floor on the trailer with pressure treated timber sides with removable panels (stake body brackets). I use it primarily for hauling firewood that is harvested from my property. I can tow it either from my John Deere 4100 tractor or my lawn tractor depending upon the load. I am very pleased with this product and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a nice product

,
October 10, 2011
By JD0231
from PA
"Pro's - Easy to put together, setup to help you customize, strong and stable (if you use your common since).
Con's - Don't agree with some of the hardware provided (get yourself some locking nuts to save yourself in the future), low ply tires (easy to get flat)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer

,
June 22, 2011
By Grndhog
from Iowa
"I picked up my trailer at my nearest Northern Tool Store. The workers there were very friendly and helpful to me. I got the trailer home and it was very easy to assemble. It is well built. I made a small scale farm barge box wagon to pull with my garden tractor. The grandchildren love to go for rides in it. I would buy another one in a heartbeat. I am very satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product for the price

,
June 13, 2011
By dieselmech13
from HA CO MD
"I used this trailer to build a water buggy to water my garden. A 200 gal. water tank is just about it will carry. The trailer was easy to assyemble and put a deck on with the supplied brackets. The grease fittings on the wheels needed to be adjusted out away from the hub just to get a standard end on them other than that no major issues. I expect to get many years of use out of it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

small but strong- good value

,
June 6, 2011
By countykid
from AR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The farm tuff utility trailer became the base for a chicken tractor. Had to use a couple of 5 by 5's to get above the wheels, but then was able to build a 4 foot by 8 foot chicken coop on it. It pulls around easily with an ATV or lawn tractor. The small attachment tab in the back, allows me to pull the chicken run with the coop. It does not turn very sharp as the wheels have a stop, but I am very pleased with the trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good sturdy trailer

,
March 14, 2011
By Reztiws64
from New Hampshire
"I just bought this trailer during the winter and haven't used it yet. I'm currently deciding on a platform to build on it. The frame is very well built and looks rugged. The front wheels have a sturdy steering linkage and the large tires will be great going over rough terrain. I'm going to use it behind my tractor to get firewood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great wagon

,
November 23, 2010
By Radar283
from Buckner, Mo
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is a great tool to have. I have used it in parades and at the farm to haul out firewood. and the best part is using it at church camp to haul kids around camp and to church. this wagon took about 6 hrs to build and another day to paint.
Great all around wagon.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Farm or ATV Wagon

,
August 18, 2010
By paulw43
from Mabelvale, AR
"I needed a small farm wagon to move car bodies around when rebuilding old cars. Found this wagon at Northern Tool. It is 4" wide outside wheel to outside wheel and works great for holding a car body and allowing you to move it around. Built a mounting frame by simply mounting 2 4x4's the length of the wagon. Specs say it will haul 2200 pounds and I think it will. I can now roll the car bodies in and out of my shop with no help. Trailer could be used to haul hay, firewood or most anything around a farm or shop. Took me about 30 minutes to unbox and assemble when I received it. I am very happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the quality I expected from Northern

,
April 12, 2009
By Lawler1
from Rock City, IL
"I purchased this wagon in hopes of hauling around firewood. The tires and frame are very solid parts and built fairly tough. The downfall is that the bearings that are in the wheels are very cheap. The front bearings are not made to have any side pressure. They are not tappered bearings like they should be for a trailer. I had one of the front bearings blow out on me the first time out. The rear bearings you can probably get by with regular roller wheel bearings but the front on something like this really needs to be tappered bearings to hold the side force while turning. I am replacing both front bearings with tappered bearings but they aren't cheap considering the inner and outer race diameter is an odd ball size. Just a thought before you go ahead with this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Utility Wagon

,
November 13, 2008
By Redhairredhair
from Florida/Louisiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We purchased this utility wagon to move wood piling and lumber materials for a 6 foot wide x 1 mile long boardwalk replacement project we are doing for the National Park Service.
We load the wagon with about 1500 pounds of piling/lumber and move it via the new boardwalk as we progress. We started out just manually pulling the loaded wagon -- one person could pull it, but one pushing helped.
As we construct the new boardwalk and get further away from the material staging area (about 1200 meandering feet right now) we have stopped manually pulling and pushing and now move the wagon with a small lawnmover.
This wagon has made the job move quickly. It has a pretty tight turning raidus, even when extended to 79 inches. I assembled it in about an hour. I'm pretty sure that when we have completed the job the wagon will be toast, mostly from our abuse and the probably 1000 miles it will have on it, but it will have served its purpose for a very reasonable price.
We had issues with the wheel bearings and keeping them greased and they finally went out. We replaced the wheel bearings with a perm. lube, enclosed type wheel bearings for about $8 each wheel and we were back in business.
One of the holes in the frame where the angle tab mounting bracket botls to the lateral (that would support a vertical riser on all 4 corners) was not drilled all the way through both side of the frame tubing. A minor misfabrication.
All in all - we are very pleased with this utility wagon and its performance on our project."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

compact, durable

,
August 23, 2008
By armbahr
from Wisconsin
"This wagon has fitted my needs well. I use it mostly for hauling fire wood. The shipping box it came in was pretty poor and beat up with a few small parts (Large Washer, King Pin bolt) but nothing I couldn't pick up quickly at a hardware store. Assembly was simple enough with the included instructions. I made a bed of 4*6 oak runners, angle iron and used expanded metal for the platform for debris and snow to fall through. It is rated at a little over one ton and that rating seemed appropriate. It's turning radius is probably its weakest feature but still tolerable. You can adjust the length to have a larger or smaller bed. The tounge was the perfect hieght for my ATV for towing but the hitch opening was too small for my tractor so I had to make a jig on my draw bar for hooking that up. The trails in my woods are narrow by choice and this wagon was ideal for that reason. I am quite satisfied with this purchase and a friend has purchased one since and he likes it as well. For the price it is a good purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini hay rack

,
August 12, 2008
By chefgary
from SE South Dakota
"The wagon looks great painted to match my 322 garden tractor and even looks neat behind my "B". The scale hayrack I built for it is very functional and the auto style steering makes it a dream to pull around the yard. While not highway quality, it is perfect for my needs around the yard and seems to be built well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Utility Wagon

,
August 12, 2008
By Hylbyle
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
"I use it for many jobs around the house, like putting a water tank on it to water my trees. Also for hauling seed and fertilizer for food plots. It has been one of my handiest implements."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

utility wagon

,
April 14, 2008
By mikekw
from massachusetts
"my daughter's track team was looking for a cart to move high jump mats which are about 4'x8'x3' in size. The companies which manufacture the mats also sell these carts, but they're very expensive >$2000 - so my daughter asked if I could build one. I found the industrial wagon on this website and thought it would work fine as a chassis to which I could add a 4'x8' deck. The wagon arrived in about a week with some damage to the box, but no problems with the contents. The assembly instructions were very straight-forward and the entire project is complete except for painting the deck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for a light wagon

,
January 14, 2008
By SteveOfMaryland
from Maryland
"I needed a wagon that would hold a light load and this one fit the bill. It came in the mail, timely, and mostly intact. Some box breakage, but nothing damaged inside. Spent about 4 hours putting it together. Could have done it in 2 hours, but I'm fussy. Final use is in making it a portable welding workbench. Made a top of 3/8 steel plate and mounted bench vises to it. I had to fabricate the top and the structure, which is what is expected and advertised with this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Farm-Tuff Utility Trailer - 2200-Lb. Capacity, Model# 03813
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Utility wagon

,
October 30, 2007
By Kenz51
from N. Tx.
"First, I must say, I was very impressed with the quality of components on this wagon, And ease of assembly! I use the cart for projects around the shop, and then put a handle on it and take it to auto swap meets, pulls easily by hand, and carries everything from auto parts to coolers! Everyone is envious of it at the swap meets, had a few offers for it, Might order more of these to sell!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.