Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106

Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106

Item# 125431
Large Yard Cart has 400 lb. working load capacity. Two 26in. spoked pneumatic wheels with ball bearing hubs for smooth movement. Removable front panel for easy loading and unloading. Use for pots, tools, plants, clippings, seed and more. Bed size is 48in.L x 29in.W with 15 7/8in. high sides. Frame Material Steel, Wheel Size in. 26, Load Capacity lbs. 400, Wheel Type Spoked, pneumatic, Axle Diameter in. 3/4, Tub Material Plywood. Sturdy plywood panel sides Removable rear panel for easy loading and unloading 14 cu. ft. bed holds up to 400 lbs. Rigid steel frame 26in. pneumatic wheels with ball bearing hubs for smooth movement 48 3/8 x 40 1/8 x 32 1/2 bed
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yard Cart Fills the Bill

,
April 13, 2014
By duncd
from Port Townsend, WA
"Assembly instructions were well documented. Cart went together very quickly and easily. Cart is well balanced, easy to maneuver (very large pneumatic tires) and is easy to load/unload. My wife likes to use it very much. Cart is a winner in both our eyes and we heartily recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hauls a ton of stuff

,
October 27, 2013
By scouter1
from Myakka City, Florida
"Used this as a basis for a Cub Scout camping equipment wagon. With its 400 lb, 14 cubic foot capacity I can make one trip to the camp. By putting a scout on both sides of the handle and one on each back corner the work is light for everyone thanks to the oversize wheels. By adding a lid and fold-out table I now have a stable cook and work station in camp. The tires do tend to lose air over time, but stay up for a weekend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT GARDEN TOOL!!

,
August 28, 2013
By 4057
from Grand Rapids, MI
"Have had 14 cu ft one for over 15 years and it's still a work horse altho not looking too pretty. Has been out in MI weather most of its life and plywood is not too happy, but shape has been retained. Very light and easy to maneuver - even with a heavy load. Highly recomment!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hard working cart - cant beat price!

,
August 22, 2013
By user67637426
from CALIFORNIA
"sturdy cart, moves very easily and remains stable even when fully loaded.
like the removable front panel for dumping.
4 stars only cause it does benefit from threadlock or locking nuts which are not included.
do you sell replacement tires?
what are the tire specs for replacement?
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

find another one

,
July 25, 2013
By ltgs
from Orange beach, al
"bought less than 1 yr ago and the wooden body has
rotted something terrible,. will not hold bolts assembled
with. I am going to have to buy American made plywood and rebuild entire cart. I suppose if one has a
large barn to keep it in out of the weather it might last
longer. knowing what I know now, I would NEVER buy this cart again but would look elsewhere as I need a good cart. This one ain't it and it has never been abused!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Wheeled garden cart

,
April 23, 2013
By Raido222
from Pennsylvania
"This cart is well made,well designed and very capable of doing many jobs around the garden and yard. It has a large capacity and sturdy wheels. It compares favorably with carts costing 2 to 3 times as much. My only negative is the assembly instructions. They were great until about the 3/4 mark. By that time I had pretty much figured it out so I guess it really wasn't an issue. I would definitely recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ind cart

,
January 7, 2013
By samboy
from va
"I have used this cart and three previous ones; all have been very helpful in my yard work (5 acre yard). Unfortunately, will need to buy another one; the cart I purchase last year was smashed last week by a falling pine tree. Will be ordering one soon."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well worth the money

,
October 15, 2012
By Bob5013
from Syracuse, NY
"Obviously not built like the more expensive carts, however, built well enough to give years of service....if stored in a dry location. I would recommend a coat of paint on the wood if you plan to store it outside. Very reasonable price. Assembly instructions were good, took less than a hour to assemble. Only had one hole that did not line up but quickly corrected with a drill. Great for Spring/Fall cleanup and the cart moves a whole bunch of firewood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great except the axle.

,
August 22, 2011
By BillvdB
from Centre County, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The assembly instructions were clear, and everything went smoothly until the last step, which was to slip the wheels onto the solid steel axle. The wheel bearings fit so snugly on the axle that I have been unable to get them on all the way. More precisely, they slid on most of the way before getting stuck. Now they are on extremely tight but not as far onto the axle as they are supposed to be."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Where are the locking washers? If you like rust..

,
May 1, 2010
By Alfr108
from Iowa
"Locking washers would prevent the thing from coming loose. It is a cheapy product that is rusting quickly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use garden cart=great buy!

,
May 14, 2009
By gardengrandma
from Connecticut
"I bought 2 of these carts when I saw them in your catalogue. Before putting them together we painted the wood parts. They are 4 years old and stay out in the connecticut winter. They are still ok. We put hooks on the sides and use bungy cords to tie down the brush. I am not strong enough to move a wheel barrel around our 2 acres. This garden cart was the answer. I can easily pile up brush, rocks, junk etc to move around. It is easier to pull the cart than to push it. As stated by others, it can be pulled with one hand. I love these carts and have recommedated them to many of my friends and fellow gardeners. All parts were there on both. The second cart did come with a flat tire. Northern set out another tire immediately. Great customer service!! Buyone, you will not be dissappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yard Cart & Boat Hauler

,
March 17, 2009
By Quadshot
from Mattituck, NY
"I stopped at the Des Moines, IA store on my way to a hunt in Utah and picked this up for my wife. She loves it for all her gardening. It is great for Spring and Fall clean-up. It holds so much more then a wheelbarrow. When you remove the front, it is perfect for moving one of our 3 kayaks or 2 canoes. I have had it for many years, around 10, and replaced the original pressboard with plywood just last year. I would buy another if it fails beyond repair. I bought it because my wife kept borrowing our neighbor's Yard Cart, so I gave her, her own."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yard Cart

,
November 18, 2008
By JAMJR
from Villa Rica, Georgia
"The cart works well for home use and was fairly easy to assemble. All parts were there and every thing seem to fit. The wood is not plywood but so far has stood up well to the work . We have moved brick sand and dirt without any issues and it is easy to move around the garden. For the price I think it is a better deal the the high end with real plywood. If the wood gives out I plan on replacing with plywood anyway and should be still be cheaper than the high end carts."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Professional

,
June 27, 2008
By Gooda
from Swannanoa, NC
"First, four bolts shorted in the packaging.
It would be better if carriage bolts were used instead of pan head Phillips bolts.
The holes in the metal pipe for the feet did not match the bottom plywood drilling thus requiring redrilling of the bottom
The handle should be positively bolted to the bottom rather than simply clamped
The carter keys for retaining the wheels are undersized.
The tubes in both tires were defective at the valve stem. The rubber was VERY thin, both failing within days.
A better grade of plywood for the sides and bottom should be used.
All that being said, the cart serves its purpose
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GARDEN CART

,
April 21, 2008
By sparky61
from CORDELE, GEORGIA
"I PURCHASED THIS ITEM FOR MY PERSONAL USE SEVERAL YEARS AGO. IT HAS BEEN A BLESSING IN DISGUISE. IT IS SO MUCH EASIER TO USE THAN A WHEELBARROW. IT ONLY REQUIRES 1 HAND TO MOVE ABOUT WHERE THE WHEELBARROW REQUIRES BOTH HANDS. I USE IT ALMOST EVERYTIME I WORK IN MY YARDS WHICH NOW THAT I HAVE RETIRED IS QUITE A LOT. I HAVE TALKED OUR CHURCH INTO BUYING ONE FOR USE AT OUR CHURCH FOR YARD MAINTENCE. IT WAS VERY WELL WORTH THE PRICE PAID AND MORE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Yard Cart - 48in.L x 29in.W, 400-Lb., 14 Cu. Ft. Capacity, Model# SP22106
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

quality is average

,
July 10, 2007
By mrlynyrd
from South Louisiana
"For the day to day things around the yard this is a good buy the quality of the fame and wheels is average. However don’t leave the cart out in the sun for 2 or three days because the plywood body will start to come apart and warp."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.