Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100

Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100

Item# 125568
Prevent tow-away trailer theft with this easy-to-install coupler lock. Advanced locking mechanism discourages picking and prying. Fits all 1 7/8in., 2 and 2 5/16in. couplers. Heavy-duty, rust- and corrosion-resistant cast body. Includes 2 keys. Type of Lock Coupler lock, Fits Receivers in. 1 7/8, 2, 2 5/16, Keys Included qty. 2, Includes qty. 1, Material Cast body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.035 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
24 of 29(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Review 1 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lock won't release

,
August 16, 2013
By lakebound
from Alabama
"I've tried for three days to get the lock of the tongue of the trailer. I want to go fishing, yesterday, today and tomorrow. I've tried wd40. I've tried praying. I've tried other keys. NOTHING works. The key won't turn. I've never seen such a lock that would just stop working. What's up with that? Thank you for your time. Karen"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not great protection

,
March 29, 2013
By mr32wonderful
from springbrook,wi
"2 yrs ago. i had used this to prevent someone driving off with my dual axle 20 ft trailer. while i had it parked in my driveway for the whole winter. someone had hack sawed
the top piece off and was able to drive away with my big trailer.. so my advice to you people is that if your not trying to lock up an expensive trailer from possible robbers get this. it works great for when someone doesnt tamper with it. so now i bought 2 big wheel chock locks. for both a front trailer and for the opposite wheels on my trailer. alot better safer peace of mind
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

REESE UNIVERSAL COUPLER LOCK

,
October 8, 2012
By EDSWOOD
from BONITA SPRINGS, FLORIDA
"WORKS GREAT AND PROTECTS MY TRAILER FROM THEFT. jUST MAKE SURE YOU PUT IT ON STRAIGHT AND EVEN AS IT COULD GET JAMMED. OTHERWISE IT WORKS GREAT"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hitch lock

,
August 13, 2012
By notaplicable
from NC
"Overall I am very pleased with the lock, easy to use and see, only small complaint is wish it would fit more snuggly"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reese Universal Coupler Lock Model UTL100

,
May 7, 2012
By Jasonman
from North Carolina
"Easy to install, appears well made, provides me a comfortable feeling that my trailer is secure."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good So Far

,
January 18, 2012
By silverblit
from Madison,Ohio
"Well the trailer hasn't been stollen yet. It works good as long as it is put on snug. It is impackt resistant. Nice product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good deterrent

,
January 16, 2012
By UTL100
from SW FL
"The lock does not fit very well on my 2 5/16 cargo trailer. It is kinda tricky to get it locked so that it won't move around while locked on the trailer. I have had the lock on it for about 6 months outside and it is rusting already."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

,
October 5, 2011
By sherl
from san antonio tx
"my trailer was stolen. somhow they got the lock off. could not be cut, but they twisted it around. get something better."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer Tongue Lock

,
August 31, 2010
By Greenvan
from Marblehead, MA
"Ordinary hitch locks usually depend upon a padlock thru a sheet metal tongue and dovetail device, which is easilly defeated; this goes a different route, making theft highly unlikely. Comes assembled ... just break open the packaging and use it immeadiately. Quality of fit and finish is very good. Directions really aren't required, since application is so intuitive; look at it and you know how to use it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1.5 years and counting

,
July 31, 2010
By ChefP
from Western NC
"I've used this on my boat trailer for over a hear and a half with success, but the hoop is showing some signs of rust. The trailer is parked outside all the time. When I tow, I bring this along, just in case I have to drop the trailer for some unknown reason. The bright yellow color is a good deterrant. I disagree with the review that stated the lock could be picked with a nail file. I tried a dozen times with no success. No lock will stop every theif, but this is a good tool in the arsenal. Keep the lock oiled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
July 20, 2009
By hanDman
from Michigan
"This hitch lock is so simple and easy to use. It's heavy duty, and prevents someone from just jamming a small ball or homemade hitch up into your trailer's hitch. Strong, but easy to put on. Is especially effective with a locking pin for your trailer hitch's coupler clip."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good Lock

,
March 16, 2009
By patio
from sonoma. CA
"Anyone with a trailer should have this lock, I feel better knowing my toy hauler is locked up with this lock. Fits good, good product for the money"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fit All Doesn't Work

,
August 18, 2008
By Mendon
from Utah
"The price is right, but it doesn't fit all couplers. The 2 5/16" fulton coupler lip is too wide to allow the lock bar to slide over the top. It is also very loose on a 2 5/16 coupler and could be pulled out. Since the bar is too narrow it doesn't matter how loose it is. Recommend purchasing a lock made for a 2 5/16" coupler."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reese trailer hitch lock

,
August 11, 2008
By RoninTexas
from Texas
"I have used this hitch lock and find it easy to install, use, and it fits trailers that some other locks don't fit. It seems to be a good deterrent to would be thieves. I don't think anyone has tried to steal my trailer, but that's the purpose. No lock can stop a determined thief but it makes it so much harder that many will look elsewhere for their dirty work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Visually deterrent but only minimally effective

,
July 28, 2008
By taser1984
from Memphis, TN
"It may deter the least sophisticated thieves, but I can pick the lock on it at least 12 times in under a minute-with a pair of nail clippers. Try it: take the nail file on a pair of nail clippers, stick it in the cylinder, twist gently and rock it back and forth. I bet it opens in under a minute. I give it two stars because it does have a beefy construction that holds up well to repeated hammer blows. (Just don't take a drill to it, because it drills like wood.) Do yourself a favor and consider how much you have invested in your trailer and the stuff on it. Do you really want to cheap out on the lock?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100

,
July 20, 2008
By jasper98
"I put one on every trailer. Far better than any pin lock. Works great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

reliable lock

,
April 15, 2008
By Scott123
from Boxford, MA
"functional protection for a trailer. I have seen beefier locks before, but this unit is a good deterent. I saw this exact same model at a local trailer shop for $49.95, so the price here is unbeatable. Works well, opens and closes very easily."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model#UTL 100

,
April 14, 2008
By jbp38
from Millington, MI
"Works well. Secures my trailer in a fashion I expected. Looks good and solid."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good in Certain Applications

,
January 14, 2008
By mifarmboy
from Marne, MI
"The quality of this lock seems pretty good for the price, but it doesn't work on all trailer couplings. It fits two of our three trailers. It will go onto the third trailer, but only to the first detent and you can't get the rod over center of the coupling so I would say the protection it affords is limited. Shoot some white lithium grease into the lock cylinder to displace moisture and provide some lubrication if leaving it installed outside for long periods."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Reese Universal Coupler Lock, Model# UTL100
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By 911boss
from Eufaula, OK
"I found the unit to work great for locking the hitch on the trailer, I was not sure it would work on all the different type hitches we have on all our trailers but it really works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.