Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.

Item# 125692
5ft. x 8ft. heavy-duty trailer is an ideal transport solution and is ready for handling larger loads. Fenders prevent rocks and debris from damaging your cargo. Safety chains and lights with wiring harness connect to your vehicle to ensure trailer safety on the road, even in dark or rainy conditions. Rear Gate No, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 136L x 76W, Fenders Yes, Lights Yes, Wheel Size in. 12, Ramps Included No, Deck Size L x W ft. 8 x 5, Brakes No, Frame Material Steel, Bed Tilt No, Load Capacity lbs. 1,715, Gross Vehicle Weight Rated lbs. 1,980, Assembly Required Yes, Side Rails Included No, Coupler Size in. 2. Overall length is 136in. and overall width is 76in. Payload capacity 1715 lbs 1980-lb. max. GVWR Meets or exceeds all road-ready specifications Includes two 5.30-12in. tires, light kit and coupler Decking not included Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teardrop

,
October 16, 2013
By ruge
from Wahington
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" The 5 x 8 trailer worked out perfect...I change the wheels the fenders and the lights to get the look I wanted. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heavy duty, no problems

,
September 19, 2013
By raybob
from cherokee iowa
" For the money this trailer is a great buy. It hauls my motor cycle, or my lawn tractor, or golf cart with ease, and handles high speed travel with no problems. Although there is the added expense for ramps and flooring it is still a solid investment. Assembly was quick and easy, everything arrived in good shape and fit perfectly. I would recommend this trailer to any one based solely on its values. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Car...

,
September 17, 2013
By MrHanky
from Chicago
" The old Toyota had some other problems. It wasn't just that I'd been tying stacks of lumber, plywood and drywall to it's roof for years, and hoisting my little row-boat on and off a few times every summer. There were mechanical issues as well. 180,000 miles. Anyway, we got a new (used) car, and my wife said I couldn't treat it that way. It was cute, and she wanted it to stay cute.
So, I got this trailer kit and put it together without any trouble, got it licensed, towed the frame to the lumber-yard for some boards and bolts and what-all, made a nice deck and removable rails, and life is good. It'll carry a yard of compost, even. Hard to tie a yard of compost to the roof of your car...
I'm going to have to replace the lights, after a summer's use, and backing down a boat-ramp. But I was expecting that, after reading the other reviews. Also, the license-plate mount is pretty bad. It hangs low, and it's fragile, so I have to un-crumple the plate after every trip. Got to work something else out there, too. And it wants some tie-down loops; the stake pockets I got for the rails don't work very well for that. But even so, I love this trailer. The new car is small, so any trailer weight cuts into the load I can carry, and this is lighter than anything else I could find of a comparable size. And much less expensive. And totally sturdy enough for my purposes. My wife is happy, I'm happy, life is good. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Affordable, easy to build, but some parts missing

,
April 24, 2013
By LindyTools
from Bozeman, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I received my trailer in ripped and tattered boxes. Every one of them was open. Easy to put together and instructions were fine. Missing 2 lugnuts that I had to drive all over town looking for. Trailer looks great and has held up fine. I am only hauling a raft so perfect for that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the price.

,
April 23, 2013
By Stewang
from Seattle, WA
" I picked up this trailer to build a teardrop trailer on. Everything is great about it. I think the only downside is, that they should make a plate that you can weld or mount on the axle to add brakes.
The bolts seem like they would do a decent job holding it together by themselves, but I went ahead and welded up all the joints for extra security.
Overall, i would have no problems ordering another one of these trailers to use for light duty use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trailer!

,
December 23, 2012
By Bruce64
from Minneapolis, MN
" I am very impressed with this trailer! It is very solid and well made. I hope it lasts as long as my last trailer. Two things that to be aware of:
1) You will need more tools than the 3 or 4 that are mentioned at the beginning of the instruction manual. I would suggest a basic socket set and a basic box end set.
2) No where in the instructions does it tell you to square up the trailer. I did it just before final tightening of the frame bolts. The easy way is to measure both diagonals from corner to corner of the frame and when both measurements are the same, it's perfectly square.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good trailer

,
December 5, 2012
By fkl49
from Central Ohio
" Nice trailer, easy to assemble by myself.
Cons:
The cardboard boxes were both ripped open. The cardboard is punky and low strength. There was some minor finish damage. So far no missing parts.
The shipper brought mine in a 45' semi trailer. It couldn't get into my neighborhood so I had to meet him with a utility trailer.
Tires rated for 45mph
Other thoughts:
Only enough flat washers included for under the nuts. I added flat washers under the bolt heads where possible to prevent finish damage during assembly and use.
The layout of the center support(cross) forces the decking to be two 4'x5' pieces which wastes 3' of a 4x8. Hopefully 4x10 treated is available. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good trailer

,
October 17, 2012
By Andrey
from PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I really like this trailer. It well constructed and durable. Just what I needed. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Trailer At A Good Price

,
October 8, 2012
By Tx1Tek
from Kalispell, Mt
" I was skeptical when I ordered this 5' X 8' Trailer as the frame for a camper I am building, but once I had it assembled, it was clear that the quality was far better than my expectations. The frame seems very rigid and assembly was easy. I would recommend this trailer to a friend. I have my trailer about half way done already because this trailer saved me so much time. Here is a pic of it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist to lift Heavy duty 5x8 trailer for storage

,
October 7, 2012
By Eyeman
from Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Northern Tool + Equipment Heavy Duty Trailer and Electric Hoist
My goal was to provide a landscape trailer that would:
1. Safely transport my 750 lb. lawn tractor with a 60 inch deck for service.
2. Transport other yard equipment, landscape materials and supplies.
3. With removable sides, serve as a means of hauling yard waste, etc.
4. Occupy no garage floor space for storage of the trailer and component parts.
I accomplished the four objectives with Northern Industries 5x8 foot Heavy Duty trailer kit (125692-2206), their 1100 lb hoist (14230-2206), plus stake pockets, tie downs, etc. mostly from their parts bin. The trailer floor, sides and ramp were constructed of three 4x8 foot sheets of ¾ inch plywood with 2x4 inch boards for stakes and reinforcement.
I was very pleased with the high quality and ease of construction of the trailer kit. The black finish was almost automobile quality, the hardware first rate and the instructions clear. Two nuts had the wrong thread count but were easily replaced locally. The hoist was also very well made and readily mounted into the garage ceiling on 1 inch galvanized pipe mounted on 2x6 inch boards nailed and glued between the rafters. When stored, the elevated finished trailer is supported by two 3 inch wide nylon straps anchored to the rafters with lag bolts and hooks.
The advantage of an assembled kit rather than a welded trailer frame is that it lends itself to easy modification. To accommodate the 62 inch outside width of the mower deck, I lowered and widened the fender position with short sections of 2x6 inch lumber. To raise the trailer to the ceiling with the hoist, I placed a sturdy chain down the center of the deck between the two intermediate cross braces that were reinforced with a 2x4 inch board laid flat. The chain gave me infinite locations for the hoist hook insertion so that the balance point could be located after the trailer components were assembled. The chain was also extended at each end to provide a means to secure the lawn tractor for transport. The ceiling hoist can also be used for tipping up the tractor to service the mower deck.
The trailer ramp is a two piece arrangement with a permanently attached 18 inch section with four external stake pockets hinged to the trailer frame. The second section, measuring 3 ½ x 5 feet has 5 foot long, 2x4 inch stringers reinforced with 1 inch angle iron recessed in on each edge. The stringers, when inserted into the stake pockets, provide a very strong 5x5 foot ramp that allows the tractor to be driven onto the trailer when the trailer is secured to the hitch of the towing vehicle. Traction tape strips were added to assist loading. When the trailer is used for general hauling with the 2 foot high sides, a shorter extension replaces the ramp. When the trailer is pulled to the ceiling, neither extension is in place.
The trailer sides and ramp are anchored to the garage wall, so that no floor space is required to store the trailer or accessories parts.
I am a non-professional handyman with a well-equipped woodworking shop.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kayak Trailer

,
September 17, 2012
By kayaktrailer
from Tempe, AZ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Like most others, mine showed up with rough packaging, but everything was there. I put mine together slowly over several weeks. Everything went together fine. The instructions are really pretty good overall, and the diagrams are helpful. After assembling, I made a boat rack to hold my 3 kayaks. I took my kayaks on a 330 mile round trip up to the pines and everything went just fine. The load was pretty light, and I could hardly feel that I was towing with my little pick up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5x8 trailer

,
August 13, 2012
By Anonymous
from Montana
" I was amazed when I finally received the trailer in the mail. The trailer has a very nice powder coat black finish on it, and it is very easy to put together. The instructions aren't very easy to follow, but you figure it out after awhile. The first trailer I built took me about 5 hours to finish. The second trailer that I put together took me about two hours. All in all it is a very nice trailer and well worth the money! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5' x 8' trailer project

,
August 13, 2012
By nwc6250
from mt. vernon,ia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this trailer for a project I found on the internet. I built a teardrop camping trailer and this trailer was the best I could find and the best price I could find. Nice heavy duty steel, easy to assemble, I even ended up using the wiring and lights that came with the trailer, which saved me some money. The trailer camper project took about 2 months of nights and weekends, but I'm glad I finished it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Trailer

,
June 14, 2012
By Proppup
from Portland, Oregon
" This trailer was delivered quickly and was undamaged. Went together without a problem. Very pleased with the quality. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the perfect trailer

,
May 7, 2012
By scottonthemountain
from boulder, co
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" after months of searching, and a near miss on a competitor's similar trailer that was recalled, i found this trailer. when it arrived, the box was almost non-existent, but all the parts made it in great shape. it was easy to assemble and it's the perfect size. i have friends and family now with trailer envy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nices trailer

,
March 12, 2012
By grandpacouch1
from burley idaho
" trailer was real easy to put together well designed had my dought because boxs were ripped up but everthing was there would recommend to my frenids real nices trailer for our atv "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works perfect

,
February 2, 2012
By rac70
from new jersey/florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" i bought this trailer to haul my golf cart from the jersey shore to south florida over 1200 miles 1 way, i take I 95 the whole way and had no problems at all. the trailer did not sway at all. regrease the bearings when i got there and ready to go back to the shore with it in the spring. very pleased. golf cart is 4" wider than stock and 6" taller. plenty of room for my cart. when i tow with my van i forget the trailer is there. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent trailer

,
January 16, 2012
By bgraham
from Maine
" I bought this trailer to build a three foot high enclosed box on and it has been excellent. The trailer came in two boxes and they were both completely torn apart but all the pieces were on the delivery truck and in good condition. The only reason I didn't give this trailer five stars is because the low beam on the left rear light burned out after not even an hour of use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trailer

,
January 9, 2012
By GKNY
from Huntington, NY
" Actually enjoyed putting it together. Had no problem getting it registered with the provided documents. Not sure I'd use it on a long trip, but definitely good locally. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Trailer with 5.30-12in. Tires, 5ft. x 8ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Heavy Duty Trailer

,
July 27, 2011
By ffdeng5
from Cranston, RI
" Bought this to replace an older trailer of the same size. This one seems better built and that it will hold up very well.
The only issue putting the thing together was the U-bolts were a little tight around the axle. I had to bend them back a bit to get them into the spring plate. That was the only slow down putting the trailer together. As has been said it only takes a few hours. The frame squares up on its' own thanks to the front triangular tow bar design.
Comes with incandescent lights I'll switch them out for LED's.
Thanks Northern Tool
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.